Sumo Logic

4.6 (23)
Unified Logs & Metrics for Full App Visibility

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(23)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Support
4.4/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

23 Reviews

Prasoon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Hassle free integeration with AWS

Reviewed on 08/01/2019

I have generated multiple Dashboards for real time analytics of cloud watch logs.
We were able to carve out business trends and it led us into process improvement.

Pros

Sumo logic is very flexible and easy to integrate with different cloud providers. But it's specifically easy to work with AWS.
I had to create an IAM user and provide the credentials to sumo logic collectors which started pulling in data from S3 buckets immediately.
Option to generate variety of Dashboards from real-time streaming data.

Cons

I didn't like the tabular interface. you have to scroll all the way to the right to find your tabs.
It could be have been made more user friendly.

infant
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Excellent log analysis tool if you are affordable in pricing.

Reviewed on 19/06/2022

Application logs pushing to a centralized location & analyzing the logs , troubleshoot using dashboards which solves our application related troubleshooting in a easier way.

Pros

FER Creation , dashboards are most impactful for us. Product is not very much esy to use (need some skills).
Integration with our business process are not easy , it takes some time..but once we understands about sumologic features
it gave us a major relief in application log analysis. One word excellent tool but if we know how to use it.

Cons

It's not user firendly, need some study before working.Especially the costing of frequent/infrequent/contimuous tier.
Integration is bit difficult , but our folks worked together to integrate sumologic for pur business needs.
The major drawback is it's support , currently there is no support number we need to send mail only & the support team
works in pacific timezone which is not suitable for indian time like us. For a support case it takes around 2 weeks to close.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Not intuitive for data retrieval

Reviewed on 28/12/2018

Pros

There are user guides at-hand for doing data searches, following best practices. You can quickly access these guides and find what you're looking for in gathering specific information for the data fed to the system. There are also many awesome options for taking data found in your log dive and putting it together to become more useful information (such as seeing how many times a specific event occurred in a specific time frame, etc).

Cons

The way data is stored and retrieved is not intuitive: key words for items allow for a faster search than specifically picking out the exact value of a parameter you're looking for. For example, you know for the purposes of your search that abc="123"; however, searching for that exact thing will take longer to search for then simply searching for "123" ... which will also find values of "123" for parameters, def, ghi, and jkl if they exist. I only want to find values of "123" for parameter abc. ... yet for some reason, there's no good way to retrieve that information, even though we've fed the data to the system, and it exists. This is more of a problem if you actually need to search your data for specifics on a regular basis; if you're just managing the data and only searching for real time data, it may not be quite as important.

Charbel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

This sumo helped us fight our way to visibility

Reviewed on 26/05/2022

Pros

Ease of use. I can easily ingest data with alot of SaaS applications supporting sumo out of the box

Cons

It is on the more expensive side. You get good features and great service but it isnt cheap.

Alternatives Considered

IBM Security QRadar and Splunk Enterprise

Reasons for Choosing Sumo Logic

Night and Day difference between Elk stack and a SIEM specific SaaS

Reasons for Switching to Sumo Logic

Easy of use and CSE product
Abner
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Heavyweight in monitoring

Reviewed on 01/08/2018

Pros

I like the fact that it looks like a mobile app, it is very simple to use, setting up your dashboard is very simple, real-time monitoring is reliable and being able to add a different filter to every running job, gives makes monitoring very simple

Cons

the "live mode" button sometimes you open up the app and you forget to switch it on, it would be better if the app is always on live mode

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A Powerful Tool

Reviewed on 26/09/2020

Overall this tool fantastic. It's powerful and is approachable by both the experienced and inexperienced. Once you get into the deeper functionality, you can do pretty much whatever needs to be done with this tool. Just make sure you set it up correctly and what the potential billing pitfalls and your business will be better for having this tool.

Pros

You can search in complex or basic queries so it is good for both new and experienced users. Searching is powerful and fast and user data can be shared with the organization. We have developers create complex searches and share them with support teams and users that are not as familiar with the tool.

Cons

Pricing can get expensive depending on how you use the tool. Also, although queries can be shared, the original author is the only one who can edit them. It would be nice if it was made more collaborative in that regard.

karan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent logging integration with Sumo Logic

Reviewed on 03/08/2018

We are handling logs of our several applications at the same time and making a map for common occurrences. This is good for analyzing where we need to improve. It has helped in monitoring of our servers and finding the faults fast.

Pros

It is very navigable and offers perfect ui which is very intuitive. You can write any type of query , sumo logic will have answer to that type. We can easily search and export. You can configure it the way you want it to behave and give you the readings in the real time. You can know the properties of a running job from all the jobs on the dashboard which is a great plus from the similar softwares.

Cons

Sometimes it is very hard to reach customer support , you may have to wait till someone can come to your rescue on an issue.

Jamie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Powerful tool to help you get the most out of your application logs

Reviewed on 10/09/2018

Pros

Easy to use. Powerful tools for analysing logs and extracting useful information. Variety of different reporting methods and a good quality log exporter.

Cons

There are many competitors with subtle differences so choose carefully.

Doug
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

we are able to look at our ELB logs and make decisions

Reviewed on 28/06/2018

Pros

low price, ease of use. The service does the work for you. Always good to have AWS do the work for you.

Cons

Almost feel this should be free but maybe I need to look at it differently. It could be cheaper than it is.

ArunSanthoshKumar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Continuous analytics Software does the log reporting better.

Reviewed on 12/04/2022

It was a great product to do continuous analytics with the large data ingested.

Pros

data insights and the reporting of the application.

Cons

documentation on API has to be simple and more example-oriented to get started.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Flexible and detailed log analysis software for System Administrators

Reviewed on 02/11/2018

I use Sumo Logic to ingest logs across a fleet of about 125 servers, including Windows and Linux servers. Setup was pretty straightforward. Documentation is detailed and complete. Customer support and tech support are mostly competent and cooperative. I'd definitely recommend this product, especially to smaller startups or businesses that can't or don't want to implement their own logging server infrastructure.

Pros

Extremely flexible search and reporting
Log ingestion from essentially any source
Good support for major operating systems
Decent technical support
Good communication with customers
Continuously improving the software in all areas
PCI/DSS qualified

Cons

Some very poor UI design decisions
Poor account management
Performance can be very bad for searches over large data sets or long timeframes
Expensive

Joel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Sumo Logic Review

Reviewed on 07/06/2019

An ideal solution for scaling up things when it comes to cloud operations and analytics.

Pros

Surest mean to effectively run diagnostics on your servers to root out any faults that may be causing unexpected hitches. With so much flexibility, you can get just anything. The search feature works pretty fast giving you reports whenever you need info.

It has a rather simplified interface that makes you just think of a mobile app. You can use the dashboard to manage logs of various applications. This lets you see areas where you need to make adjustments for improvement. In addition, you can analyze every log and mine all useful data.

It integrates seamlessly with cloud providers and you get the most done with AWS right by your side. Also, if you're stuck at any point, you can reach out to customer care and have your issue addressed in good time.

Cons

The live-mode feature should be made such that when you start the tool, you are automatically switched on because it's easy to forget to switch it on every time you're starting it. It would be such a good thing.

Satbyul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Very Clear Dashboard

Reviewed on 07/06/2020

We use Sumo Logic to monitor our web-based application. This comprises of a monitoring and alerting tool for engineers and visualising usage spikes for internal display to stakeholders.

Pros

The Sumo Logic dashboard is very clear for engineers, and also has a presentation mode that is ideal for display on a large wall monitor for other stakeholders. API integration for simple counts, creating alerts, and setting thresholds is simple enough and easily achievable by following the online documentation and examples.

Cons

The API integration can be difficult to leverage the more advanced features, such as log monitoring. Drilling down to raw numbers for a given time range is not as easy as I would like.

ramesh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

SumoLogic is very help to analyse the log as a centralized place

Reviewed on 13/10/2017

Pros

1. The recent changes for custom time option made easy to change the time
2. The Library and manage section is useful to search the recent queries and collectors.

Cons

1. Not able to query with single and double quote and it needs lots of time to parse the message to get the expected output.

cauvery
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent software

Reviewed on 25/06/2020

Pros

I am using this regular now and cannot think of using old fashion ssh into server for logs. one tool for all servers

Cons

so far no issues. Need some expertise and practice to learn the queries, but not that hard to learn

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great tracker for internal logs

Reviewed on 18/03/2019

Pros

I am able to track using our current date api events that a user did. We were really able to make this our own.

Cons

I wish there was a hot list of calls to run or a simple format to search

Nakul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good Way to Visualize Logs

Reviewed on 18/04/2019

This is a very good value for money log searching tool for startup and small businesses

Pros

Really good user interface
The speed of the search is decent

Cons

This is not really a 'con' but just a reality - free version only provides you with 500MB per day. So if you are an enterprise, chances are that you will need to get a paid version

Sean
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 15/02/2016

Ayush
Overall rating
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Really good Logger with robust features and much recommended for All team sizes.

Reviewed on 20/02/2018

Pros

1. Adding and parsing Elastic Load Balancer's access logs is just easier.
2. Very straight forward and easy maintenance .

Cons

1. More features would be really beneficial like Graphical and More of Charts
2. Support for more cloud is a way better way to increase Growth i feel.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Not many out of the box dashboards

Reviewed on 23/08/2019

Pros

The flexibility to create your own queries and form dashboards on this is great. You just have to play around and understand the data. Can also receive pings based on logic.

Cons

Not many out of the box dashboards like other software.

Shintaro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 05/10/2018

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product for logging

Reviewed on 26/04/2019

Pretty good overall

Pros

Easily query different log sources to identify and monitor issues

Cons

Doesn't allow simply copy and paste: requires first to right click, then choose as an option

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Logs Made simple

Reviewed on 04/11/2018

Pros

Easy to lookup logs using SQL like queries. Great knowledgebase to lookup those queries too.

Cons

The queries can be difficult to compose sometimes.