36 reviews

Meisterplan

Project Portfolio and Capacity Planning Software

4.7 /5 (36 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
97%
recommended this app
36 reviews
Paul S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Our Vision “All project information visible, tracked and managed on a cloud based Portfolio...

Reviewed on 03/07/2015

MeisterPlan helped us get to grips with our client delivery projects, allowing us to identify and track our key milestones, manage our resource planning, forecasting and actuals using the financials. The product is simple and easy to use and the support and people are second to none.

Pros

Simple and easy to use
Missing data can be entered manually at any time
Supports the decision-making process of the Management Board

Cons

Users report out-of-the-box

Dieter W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Powerful yet easy to use

Reviewed on 23/07/2015

For a long time I was looking for the right tool to support a method called "project management by autonomous systems". Years later I found Meisterplan to be the exact electronic counterpart.
My customer uses Meisterplan to show the huge amount of projects going on and to prioritize according to company- and IT-strategies. Resources are planned to about 80% quality (Meisterplan is NOT a project management tool, but a strategic decision making tool!) which is totally sufficient and gives an excellent overview.

Pros

ease of use, easy to setup if internal processes are prepared beforehand.
Very good customer support.

Cons

currently no possibility to change basic data inside the system natively. you have to take an import-xls and re-import changes. Should be fixed with the next version...

Benjamin K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easy to use resource planning application

Reviewed on 30/10/2015

Until now we used Excel for resource planning. With Meisterplan it was so easy to import our existing excel planning that we could start with the solution in less than a day.
In this version we still need Excel. But we know that Meisterplan will solve this dependency in the next version.
With excel we could not easily assign projects and resources and business goals. Meisterplan was the only solution that could help.

Chris N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Complex and well-rounded software at a good value

Reviewed on 25/10/2018

Pros

Complex and detailed interface that is extremely useful once you get the hang of it. I also appreciate the affordable cost of this product.

Cons

In general this is a particularly difficult software to get started with when you are dealing with multiple team members with varied experience levels with enterprise-level software.

Michael S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Best resource management solution

Reviewed on 30/10/2015

We took Meisterplan for planning our consultants and external projects and found it quite helpful. It's so easy to assign resources to projects and to see what happens with their capacity. At the end we improved our planning accuracy and the communication with our customers.

Marie G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Facilities Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 17/06/2015

Bredon J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Nothing else like it for the money

Reviewed on 13/07/2017

Pros

Meisterplan filled a significant gap for us in understanding how we are utilizing our capacity. We now have a much better idea when we need to either say no to new projects or adjust timelines and team members assigned to projects. We use a couple of other project management tools, but nothing that gives us a high-level view of things like this. It brought our stress level down to manageable levels.

Cons

Meisterplan is a very complex, feature-packed tool. This steepens the learning curve on the user interface a little bit. However, I think it is the easiest to use of any of the tools I've been exposed to. At a fraction of the price of many enterprise-level tools, I'm not complaining.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Very good extension to exisiting project management

Reviewed on 16/11/2015

We run our own self-developed project management solution. Meisterplan helped us to save this investment because it only puts the interactive portfolio management on-top of it. This give us more agility and flexibility.

Pros

Better control and analysis of existing projects. Portfolio and Resource Management

Cons

It's really useful and we didn't found any need for improvement

Michael E.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use

Excellent solution

Reviewed on 09/07/2015

We used Meisterplan to clarify our efforts and values in all planned project. By using Meisterplan we could prioritize the most valuable projects and focus our resources on that. By doing that Meisterplan saved us lots of time.

Pros

very easy to use, integration of Excel projects fast and simple, outstanding personal support

Cons

pricing model not transparent

Heiner V.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Meisterplan is an eye opener for resource bottlenecks

Reviewed on 03/11/2015

After a very short on boarding process we imported our own data and only a few moment laters we have seen where we have resource bottlenecks and overloads. That was impressive.

We would like to have some more option for the daily planning of resources.

We ever wonder where we lost time in our projects. Meisterplan visualize and analyze the resource allocations very easy.

Dirk P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

simple and effective interactive PPM solution

Reviewed on 19/06/2015

I used this solutions for prioritizing our internal projects and
found it very helpful. It is easy to use and offer a wide range of planning
capabilities to find the optimal project portfolio. This saved at the end
a lot of costs and also supported an efficient resource management.

Pros

easy to use, dynanmic and interactive portfolio planning, very easy
alignement of business goals and strategy with projects

Cons

some collaboration features missed

Johannes W.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Fast implementation and return

Reviewed on 03/11/2015

With Meisterplan we easily can align our projects with business goals, resources and financials. This led to fast and reliable business decisions.

Frank G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 28/10/2015

Thomas W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Everyday a Meisterplan Day

Reviewed on 22/02/2017

Thanks to the simplicity of the product and its excellent usability the Project Portfolio Process PPM was wholistically optimized and strategic decisioning for projects ensured. Eager to further enhance maturity of PPM with Future releases of the Product.

Rogerio S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

It was good.

Reviewed on 19/09/2015

You should increase language and browser compatibilista in order to get more customers.

Response from itdesign

Thank you for your comments. With our future releases, we will increase the number of officially supported browsers and languages.

Thomas M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Only Option in it's class

Reviewed on 23/07/2015

This is the only tool I've found that gives us the insight we need to make important decisions about when to start projects and when to hire. If you operate staffing for an agency you'll know that it can be difficult to determine exactly how many people of any given role you'll need 3-6-12 months out. This tool can help you align your hiring needs with your sales pipeline. Help you to determine when to pull the trigger with clients as well as new hires. The insight this tool provides has proven invaluable to our organization.

Pros

The only tool in it's class that provides capacity planning and projections to help coordinate hiring and sales leads.

Chris D.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Meisterplan is an excellent Resource Management tool

Reviewed on 09/01/2018

Pros

The visual interface makes the software intuitive to understand and use. For Resource Management, I have found few other tools that can match the capabilities of MP. Definitely love the scenario comparison function. While it is pretty easy to get up and running, you can get more complex the more comfortable you are with the tool.

Cons

There isn't much not to like, although more robust and out of the box integration with other tools would be helpful. Just keep in mind that this really excels at resource management.

Youngjae K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good experiences for this service.

Reviewed on 19/10/2017

Pros

This service was easy and simple to manage my mutiple tasks. It help me build up my multi-tasking ability.

Cons

Design was not satisfied with my expection. i want more colorful and to customize this service page.

Erich K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Meiserplan experiences

Reviewed on 20/07/2015

Upon completing a POC with real data, this was the only tool for Portfolio Planning (PPM) that was consumable by my partners within the organization, and enabled this functionality for the first time. The GUI allowed it to "actually stick".

Pros

Systematically it was essentially turn-key and customer support was some of the most direct and highest quality that I have ever received.

Cons

Not yet tested the full range of scalability for human resources, but do expect more overhead when dealing with "all those moving pieces" . . . still a better alternative

Adrian D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Very usable for enterprises with large number of projects to prioritize

Reviewed on 15/06/2015

Meisterplan was designed to help PMO's and resource managers to find the best fit in the project portfolio. The software is easy to use and as a SaaS solution easy to implement. the user interface is really simple but offers a lot of useful functionalities for project planning, prioritization and resource management.

Chris H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Meisterplan simplified our resource management

Reviewed on 28/10/2015

Great too to streamline your complete resource management which will save you lots of planning hours and avoid misunderstandings. You always see the current allocation of your resources and with simple drag-and-drop you move projects and recognize the changes for your resources and financials.

Jürgen W.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easier and quicker overview about a Projectportfolio

Reviewed on 23/02/2017

The most professional "tetris" for projects and resources. No other software can support valid decisions in such a short time.

Eddie M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great Product for Project Management

Reviewed on 13/10/2017

Recommend!!

Pros

A great way to follow total project and also each tasks. Easy to follow up with teammates and could help you to get success on the project.

Cons

Some uses, like my coworker, had little hard time to follow the project. But it's his personal issue, not really about product.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Meisterplan simplified our resource management

Reviewed on 28/10/2015

Meisterplan is a great tool to streamline your complete resource management and save you lots of planning hours and avoid misunderstandings. It's super easy to use, has an intuitive interface and many interfaces to exisiting planning tools so you do not need to enter data twice.

Pros

You always see the current allocation of your resources and with simple drag-and-drop you move projects and recognize the changes for your resources and financials

Cons

The planning of part-time resources could be improved

Anton Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Best product for portfolio management with resource bottleneck

Reviewed on 07/03/2017

I've chosen Meisterplan among 50+ PM tools due to easy-to-use resource allocation and project aligning features. Most suitable for high-level roadmap planning having limited resources for project development.