Showing 297 reviews of 265

Upserve POS

Restaurant & Bar iPad POS Management System

4.4 /5 (265 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
89%
recommended this app
Showing 297 reviews of 265
Kolby G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Upserve is Second to None

Reviewed on 20/08/2019

From back office functionality to ease of training to customer service my experience with Upserve is rivaled by no other POS system.

Pros

The fact that a new-hire can be fully versed in the software within 2 training shifts is impeccable.

Cons

I do no like that the table view shows all open tables and not tables assigned only to the person logged in.

Blake C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy and Efficient, Upserve

Reviewed on 30/04/2020

I do not have a negative thing to say about Upserve.

Pros

The simplicity of the menu page is awesome. It’s not chaotic or overwhelming, it also allows you to choose your visual style (i.e. listed item, boxed items). Whenever there is a problem, the 24/7 customer service is extremely relieving. They are always so polite, professional and informative. Their customer service employees do not make you feel insignificant, and they go above and beyond.

Cons

The Offline Mode could use a little work. It’s kind of buggy. If there was a way that we could allow customers to tip in Offline Mode, that would be beneficial to all of our employees.

Iannis R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Worst POS I've Ever Known

Reviewed on 03/10/2020

It has been a terrible experience from day 1. We have only used this POS for 2 months and we have had to exchange handhelds in numerous occasions because of software malfunctions and countless other issues related to connections. Because it takes up to 2 weeks to receive a new handheld, we have had to work with limited resources time and again which slows down our ability to serve customers efficiently. In addition to waiting for new products that take so long to come in, we have also spent more money than anticipated on extra equipment that would supposedly enhance the functionality system but never did.

Pros

The appearance is modern-looking and the handhelds are meant to help service.

Cons

Where do I start?
-Tickets double print
-Some tickets don't print at all/delay in printing
-Connectivity Issues
-Credit Card Processor stops working
-Some tables don't appear on the screen
-Switches between wifi connections that are not protected on its own
-Handhelds are not screen protected/too fragile
-Random charges appear on the screen for no reason
-Item slection/organization is not efficient
-bug issues
-software malfuntions

Response from Upserve

Hi Iannis, We apologize that you have had a less than satisfactory experience with Upserve. Our team is currently working with Ji and Hong to replace your mobile devices with stationary ones at no additional cost. We appreciate the feedback and are working together to resolve the main issue.

Anna T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Intuitive, reliable, affordable

Reviewed on 01/12/2019

Overall our experience has been great. Many previous issues with the software have been solved over the years.

Pros

Upserve is an easy point of use system to set up and use. New employees require very little training, as the interface is simple and intuitive. Likewise, setup and admin work is quick and easy to figure out, even for those of us who are not all too tech savvy. It is far more affordable than most POS software/hardware options, is reliable, and has great customer service.

Cons

It should upload to quickbooks without a third party software.

Bill C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Use Upserve

Reviewed on 09/10/2020

It is great, particularly the Customer Service has been the best I have dealt with in 25 year in the business

Pros

I think that the integration of POS and Inventory is great and helps in a big way during monthly inventory.

Cons

Would like to see two way syncing between the Inventory and POS

Brent B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good Product Overall

Reviewed on 16/08/2020

Overall it's the best POS system to use. Super functional

Pros

It is very easy to use and very intuitive.

Cons

Billing functions could be cleaned up. A bit messy.

Nanci L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Customer support

Reviewed on 14/02/2020

The ease of use is amazing. Reports are very easy to run and find what you are looking for. Changing or adding menu items very simple.

Pros

Very user friendly and easy to produce reports

Cons

A few more steps than the last system. Splitting checks takes a bit to get used to

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Streamlined and simple POS

Reviewed on 25/01/2019

Overall it's pretty good for our quick service restaurant. We've used several POS systems over the last 15 years and it has less user-interface customization, but I think that's for the better. Sometimes POS's suffer from *too many* customization options and you end up with a cluttered interface which slows down order-taking. We do not have table service, so those features on the POS we cannot comment on.

Pros

For new front-of-the-house employees the learning curve is easy - if you have ever used an app then you've already started your training in Upserve. Also, equipment replacement (iPads, routers) will be relatively cheaper and much easier than full system upgrades.

As restaurant infrastructure goes it's great not needing a back office computer, and yet reports and menus and setup can still be handled through any web-browser. This is great for those of us who can't always be present.

Cons

There can be connectivity issues, but they're much fewer since this company took over. If you or Upserve are offline then things go into Offline Mode which still is buggy at times - especially with credit cards. Also, Offline Mode puts the onus on you to trust whether a card will be approved or not. But, this is rare. Not a huge issue with us where our average check is low, but high-end places may want to be aware of workarounds and fixes.

Response from Upserve

Hi there -

Thank you for your feedback. Here at Upserve, we're constantly trying to better our solution to fit the needs of the restauranteur. This includes our Offline Mode capabilities. We know that losing WIFI can be detrimental to restaurants, so we released our new Android-based POS so you can hardwire your solution. Along with that, we continue to make updates on our Offline Mode feature to really enhance the user experience. Please continue to provide us with your feedback - this helps us make sure we're steering our product in the right direction.

Cheers!

Connie S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

User friendly and integrates well with other systems.

Reviewed on 31/01/2019

Pros

Upserve has been easy to use since day one. The user interface is set up logically, it has the ability to make changes quickly and seamlessly, and it is very easy to train staff on the system.

Cons

There have been a couple of instances in which we wanted to make a customization, but then found that it was not an item that could be customized. We've been told that it may get added to a future feature, but it hasn't come to fruition yet. It is a bit pricer compared to some POS systems, but it suits our needs and gives us access to a lot of data about our business and customers that it feels worth the extra cost.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Connie!

Thank you for your feedback. We're happy to have Venn Brewing a part of the Upserve family!

As you know, we happily take customer feedback and consider it every time we release new features. One feature that we're excited to release soon is custom reporting, which would provide our customers the ability to built out reporting that specifically fits their needs. Feel free to reach out to your Customer Success Manager who can provide more context about it, and please continue to provide your feedback about our product - you help us be better!

Cheers,
The Upserve Team

Heather T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Happy Upserve users

Reviewed on 10/03/2020

Pros

We've been happily using Upserve for our POS system for a few years now. We originally chose them because they offered to customize the program for our service style (small/shared plates and lots of takeout). Though it hasn't been perfect, their customer service team is always responsive and pleasant both over the phone and via e-mail.

Cons

The toughest time came when we wanted to update our hardware an opted to switch to their Android (as opposed to iPad) terminals. It was a new system and there were many more kinks to work out and glitches than we expected. They worked with us to get the system smoothed out, but in the future we won't be so eager to jump on the latest edition!

Rob G.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to use and set up

Reviewed on 17/04/2018

It takes money from people and puts it in my bank.

Pros

Great Remote access and seamless menu updates especially when added remotely. Items added or changed through our previous point of sale system would have required a two to three minute reboot for the changes to update. The system incorporates comprehensive and useful analytics through breadcrumb hq and upserve. Can see what items are selling/profitable on a customizable timeframe.

Cons

Times of full system updates. time frame. Than that I don't have any major concerns. Some of the hardware does lose its functionality over a short period of time ( ie: having to disconnect the casing to plug in an iPhone cable when the credit card sweeper stops charging the device from an android charger)

Amanda M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Visually appealing reports, but lacks personalization

Reviewed on 12/09/2018

Pros

The mobile app and reporting make immediate data easily accessible. The reports are presented simply & cleanly.

Cons

It's not very customizable. The software or the software developers, are unable/unwilling to adjust to varied needs of different types of restaurants. While this is likely the case for most POS systems, we've found that other software integrations we use are much more readily willing to adjust and make custom improvements that directly benefit our restaurant.

We also found that the on boarding process lacked a bit of personalization. Had our contacts taken more time to discuss with us our needs and understand how we operate, it would have saved us a lot of time and effort in having to redo the way things were initially setup - especially in regards to the menu databases.

Lastly, while this wont be an issue longterm, in our first year using Breadcrumb, it's frustrating that there's no way to import our previous years' data. Rather than being able to compare numbers year-over-year, we can only see week-over-week and are forced to fall back on our old tracking methods such as a separate spreadsheet in order to measure the bigger picture. What seems like it should be a simple data pull that would help us run much more efficiently was shut down by the support team who told us it was not doable.

Response from Upserve

Hi Amanda, thanks for your constructive review! We are happy to hear that you enjoy the mobility and ease of our services!

Ryan P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Breadcrumb Point of Sale review

Reviewed on 14/09/2018

Overall the customer service is usually stellar/top-notch. The program is easy to use and to teach.

Pros

The program is easy to use and functional. Being able to open search for items on the menu is very nice. Easy to teach and it is nice being able to put recipes directly into the menu.

Cons

Creating menu items is a hassle if you're making multiple changes. It would be nice if you added some filter options for creating and editing the menus, employees, and labor options. Separating large checks and collecting payments needs work it is definitely one of the worst point of sale systems in that regard.

Response from Upserve

Hi Ryan, thanks for the constructive review! We are glad to hear that our program was so easy to implement at your restaurant!

Robert C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Fine. When it works...

Reviewed on 16/05/2019

They are a necessary evil.

Pros

Easy to use. Nothing too fancy but we don't need it to be fancy. We just need it to work

Cons

Every time there is a malfunction, it's never minor - it's a trainwreck. And then having to deal with customer service. Multiple times witb multiple people. And they never make it up to you - no credit for the inconvenience, nothing. No effort at reaching out to make things right. I Hate having to deal with it when the POS goes down. I always know it will be fucked up and I will lose money out of it and Upserve wont make it 100% right or whole.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Robert - thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that your experience thus far hasn't been great. I took a look at your support tickets and it looks like our Support team has been able to troubleshoot and resolve your issues on the first call. If there's anything else we can help out with or how we can make resolutions quicker for you, please don't hesitate to reach out. Thanks.

Alex S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

great affordable point of sale system. good value.

Reviewed on 28/04/2018

ease of use for our office and minimal training for the restaurant staff.

Pros

ease of use. constant updates included with the membership. easy to replace hardware. easy to configure new hardware.

Cons

most issues I didnt like got fixed already, however if they could add more 3rd party integrations would be nice.

Response from Upserve

Hello Alex, Thanks so much for the review, and we're glad you're finding Breadcrumb to be a good value. We appreciate your feedback on third-party integrations as well; We're always on the lookout for more technology partners (in fact, we just added Resy). Here's a link to check out all of our new partners: https://upserve.com/marketplace/technology-partners/

Daniel V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Suggestions.

Reviewed on 19/09/2019

Upserve has excellent customer service. The technicians are friendly, useful, and I quite like that they are, I believe, American. Outsourcing us certainly a problem in our country. I just wish we didn’t have to use Customer service as often as we do.

Pros

The reports and back office functions make accessibility from home or elsewhere Easy and useful. In contrast, the app is almost useless.

Cons

The software is not intuitive. It wouldn’t be difficult to include an automatic discount, but we have to enter them manually. Also voids and exchanges are more difficult than they need to be.

Johnnie M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Upserve Review

Reviewed on 05/02/2019

Pros

Upserve/Breadcrumb has come a long way in stability. Customer service is A+ and very responsive.

Cons

From HQ standpoint. Could use a more robust toolset when looking at YTD data. Currently, a little difficult to parse historical data. Would love to see comparison charts over time.

Response from Upserve Inventory

Hi there Johnnie - thank you for your feedback. We're glad to hear that your experience with Upserve has been a positive one. I'm going to flag this to our Success team and see what we can do feature/functionality wise to get you the data you need faster. Thanks again!

Allison P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User friendly and great customer service

Reviewed on 18/09/2018

So far my experience has been very good. I really like to be able to search for items if I am unable to find the item I am looking for instead of having to look through multiple tabs. I also had a great experience calling customer service, they were very knowledgeable and friendly while helping talking me through how to solve my problem.

Pros

Very user friendly when adding or changing menu items for management use. Easy for servers to ring in orders and make notes on dishes to communicate with the kitchen.

Cons

I honestly can't think of anything I don't like. It is much better than previous software that I have worked with.

Response from Upserve

Hi Allison, thanks for the great review! We are happy to hear that Breadcrumb has been so easy for you and your staff. Thanks again for the review!

Zach N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best option available

Reviewed on 30/04/2019

Pros

Across the board the best pos on the market. Customer service, trouble shooting, programming, ease of use. Everything.

Cons

The only card swiper option available is quite cheaply made and typically only lasts us 3-6 months tops. When it won’t read a card and we have to manually enter, the manual entry screen is sluggish and has always been. This is my only complaint.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Zach - thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that your experience with Upserve has been a positive one. I'll relay this information to our Product team about the swipers. As you know, we have a 1-year warranty on all our hardware, so don't hesitate to reach out to our Support team for a replacement. Thanks again, Zach!

Lee C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

A company of callous values - never use

Reviewed on 26/07/2019

Furthermore, our rep did not work to resolve the issue in a caring way

Pros

No pros when this gives you something that any other brand would give...and other brands actually care about the customer

Cons

Terrible company with loathsomely selfish values. They have a known error that can cause you and your employees to lose ALL tips during their frequent offline mode issues. If this happens, it is company policy to not recover a single dime of the money that they have lost. This shows callous and total lack of care for their customers, and shows zero responsibility for their faulty systems. Never use Upserve / Breadcrumb.

Response from Upserve

Hi Lee,

It looks like you called into Upserve Support due to an offline mode occurrence. The Support Team member was able to manually capture the payments for the day in UberGateway with the check amounts for you. As you know, sign-on screen functionality is not supported in offline mode, meaning we cannot legally capture any tips without proof of signature.

The matter was escalated to our Customer Success Management team who offered you a full month's subscription fees even though we typically would not reimburse this as it was not a system error. Your Success Manager has another request in for approval for payment of the full cost you estimated you lost in tips. We will be reaching out to you to let you know the status of that request. Please be kind to our staff Lee, they're continuing to go beyond to show you we care a lot about Five Watt Coffee!

Aaron G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great system for small bars or restaurants

Reviewed on 25/04/2019

System works great and anytime I have questions or help, it is met with professionalism and quickly.

Pros

The ease of changing features is key. The search option for items also makes it easy for employees.

Cons

When things go down, they go down hard. Redundant features need a little more help.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Aaron, thank you for your review! Our team would love to know more about what you mean by "redundant features" and how we can better our product to fit your needs. Let us know - always happy to listen to our customers on how we can improve. Cheers!

Rick T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Solid end to end system for my restaurant

Reviewed on 26/01/2019

Pros

Seeing multiple venues quickly from the app in real time. Uptime, flexablity and reporting is pretty good.

Cons

The bar UE capabilities. Micros and Toast have much better “fast bar” screen capabilities. This needs work ASAP.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Rick -

Thank you for your honest feedback! We're happy to hear that you're enjoying your experience with Upserve thus far. As for the "fast bar" capabilities, we want to make sure we're doing the best we can to provide a system that works for you. I'll go ahead and share this feedback with our product team. Please don't hesitate to continue to reach out your Success Manager and our Support team to relay this info.

Cheers!

Tiffany W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Affordable POS solution

Reviewed on 16/04/2019

Pros

Easy to use, easy to teach new employees.

Cons

Limitations of reports and check entry for multiple tickets

Response from Upserve

Hi there Tiffany - thank you for your review! We're glad that to hear that you find our solution affordable and easy to use. As you noted, we worked hard on our Training Mode ability to ensure that the functionality was intuitive. Let us know what types of reports you're looking for - happy to chat with our product team and see if there's some similar to your ask in the future!

Daniel S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simple, yet enough!

Reviewed on 25/01/2019

Pros

Ease of use > unlike a lot of POS systems, it has everything you need, and nothing you don't.

Cons

For a while, you could not split single items on a check. And it is slightly cumbersome to remove tax from a check.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Daniel -

Thank you for your feedback! We strive to make the use of our product as simple as possible, while still providing all the in-depth functionality you need to run a successful restaurant.

Cheers!

Sabrina B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Customer Support

Reviewed on 22/11/2019

It's a great resource!

Pros

Convenience, easy access to Sales reports, changing menu items remotely and customer support!

Cons

No live support but the customer support is 24/7 and it's great!