Microsoft Power BI Reviews

Microsoft Power BI

4.6 (1,657)
BI visualization and reporting for desktop, web or mobile

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(1,657)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support
4.1/5

95%
recommended this app
Sort by

1657 Reviews

Andrew
Andrew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

There are plenty of competitors, but Power BI is tops

Reviewed on 25/08/2019

Power BI allows me to manipulate data and present it in visually appealing and flexible formats.

Power BI allows me to manipulate data and present it in visually appealing and flexible formats.

Pros

I have used Tableau and Google Data Studio - among other alternatives. Nothing has seemed to compare to the functionality that Power BI offers. Everything about the program is made with the full spectrum of analysis in mind - from the designer to the data 'wrangler' to the end consumer (ie. others within the enterprise). In this way, Power BI is extremely powerful because it can be used for so many different types of projects; the data-analysis intensive to the more visual 'data-presentation' dashboards.

Cons

Sharing dashboards and reports in Power BI is easy and it has a lot of options for doing so. However, the requirement that all users must have a Pro Account to view dashboards created in Pro is a bit of a hindrance in a global organization where it does not make economical sense for every employee to have a Pro account. It seems like it would be a great addition to allow limited sharing to everyone - even those without a Pro account, as most of my internal team does not have an account.

Katie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Our trusty BI tool for all-things data

Reviewed on 26/11/2023

I've been a huge fan of Power BI since we switched to it from Excel. We use it to create dashboards,...

I've been a huge fan of Power BI since we switched to it from Excel. We use it to create dashboards, set up automated reports, and anything else that requires reporting. In the years that I've used it, I've very rarely ran into bugs or performance issues. It's relatively easy to set up, has very advanced reporting capabilities, and tons of integrations you can set up pretty easily to pull data from different places. You can't fault it for BI.

Pros

We used to use Excel but switched over to Power BI for the more advanced features. And they've been very very handy for us. The data cleaning works a lot better, there's tons more cutomization options, and some integrations have been made much easier compared to just Excel.

Cons

The imterface isn't the best to be honest, especially compared to stuff like Tableu. But gets the job done nonetheless.

Alternatives Considered

Tableau

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Power BI

Excel worked pretty well for us as well, but we decided to move to Power BI for the advanced charting options.

Switched From

Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

We were already pretty used to MS tools, and Power BI looked like it would be easier for us to move to, so we decided on it.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

A pretty reporting tool for some (!) Microsoft Products, but pretty much useless outside of...

Reviewed on 18/03/2017

In light of the hype around this "Tableau destroyer" in recent months, I want to highlight some...

In light of the hype around this "Tableau destroyer" in recent months, I want to highlight some fundamental flaws in data connectivity and reports maintenance of Power BI, which the Product Team so far has turned down as "not in scope". In practice, though, this renders Power BI pretty useless for getting dara from any 3rd party products, in the cloud in particular.

This review reflects Power BI as of mid March 2017. I have gathered my knowledge from testing, community interaction and a dozen tickets with Power BI Pro Support. The focus lies on getting data via Web Services, much aligned with Microsoft’s «Cloud First» Strategy.

1) Power BI Online is in the cloud, but does not allow for HTTP calls. Power BI Desktop allows for HTTP calls, but only with static authentication parameters.
First of all, a distinction needs to be made between Power BI Online and Power BI Desktop. While Power BI Online is the "master" that ultimately allows you to share and publish your reports, user experience in design is diminished by HTML limitations (you may know from Word or Excel Online) and more importantly, data connectivity (Get Data) is limited to SQL Servers on Azure and about 20 to 30 plugins from 3rd party solutions at present. Take note that on Power BI Online, you cannot select or manage your Gateways, either.

This brings the attention to the Power BI Desktop client. Updated every one to two months, the Desktop client brings data connectors necessary to connect to a larger number of data sources.
With the Web connector, HTTP calls been configured, although with just static headers and parameters and Basic and Windows authentication only. Importantly, though, Power BI Desktop includes Microsoft Power Query, which you may know from Excel 2016 already. With M Scripts, you can script and customise in many ways and most interestingly, convert it into table form quickly. This is where Power Query shines. However, Power Query does not seem to call on methods for nonces and timestamps required in token based authentication (OAuth for example). (Should this be incorrect, please please let me know. I have been browsing the fora and nagging Support too long already.)
What’s really amusing here is that Microsoft Azure uses OAuth 2.0 themselves. So, you cannot run any reporting on Microsoft’s Azure AD or Resource Manager database for example, a notorious blackbox. Back to Powershell. (Power BI does not accept Powershell feeds.)
In short, while Power BI Online does not allow to get any data out of the web (except for those 20 to 30 plugins, mostly Microsoft Products), Power BI Desktop allows for Web calls, but only with static parameters and thus, basically with your user credentials.
That’s a big limitation in Data Connectivity.

2) With Power BI Online being the master, the HTTP calls cannot be scheduled or refreshed in the cloud.

Now that you have configured your HTTP call (with risky user credentials), you want to publish your report and have it refreshed on a scheduled basis, say every day.
Tough luck.
While you can publish your Report to Power BI Online and subsequently a broader audience, it’s a static image of your Desktop data. You cannot schedule a data refresh in Power BI Online (because there is no Web feature anyway) and you cannot even refresh the data manually as this requires republishing the Report anew.
You risk your management looking at outdated data whenever you forgot to republish your report and sneak the new URL into your dashboards and iframes.

3) The On-Premises Data Gateway is pretty useless for Web Services.
Yes, there is the On-Premises Data Gateway. Yes, you can configure Web Services in the gateway, although it’s pretty ironic to route web calls via on-premises infrastructure.
But did you ever try it? That is, you cannot specify any HTTP headers fort he calls at all, lest writing a Power Query script. And thus, we are back at authentication via Basic and Windows only and writing REST scripts in the data source for every single HTTP call because with no Headers and Body, all parameters need to be coded in the URI.
Will you do that?

At the end of the day, Power BI is Microsoft's long overdue acknowledgement that Excel and some Dynamics Reports do not cut it for Reporting purposes. Indeed, for reporting on SQL Server, Dynamics 365 (if you want to afford it), and Excel and Access databases stored in your OneDrive, Microsoft Power BI does a neat job.

However, as soon as you want to integrate with 3rd party systems or via web services in particular, Power BI presents so many limitations in authentication, Header and Body configuration, scripting, and scheduling that you need to configure an entire SQL Server environment (on Azure or On-Premises via feature poor Gateway) and write a SQL CRL interface or buy Azure Data Factory to get that data in.

For some pretty reports, do you really want to buy and customise all that BI infrastructure on Azure?

My advice to Microsoft: Work on Data Connectivity, especially in Power BI Online, rather than more visuals for those limited data sources. Your Microsoft clients will consider Power BI a given for the utter lack of reporting in Office 365, Azure, or Dynamics 365 (yes, pushing it there).
My advice to Users: If the connectors are not listed, look somewhere else. (And make sure it’s your use case that is listed. Power BI announced an Azure AD connector, but rather than reporting on Users, Groups, or Enterprise Apps, you can only see on a nice map where the last logins happened.)

Is it a Tableau destroyer? No. It’s a long overdue acknowledgement for necessary reporting with the potential of being a solid Business Intelligence solution ONCE focus comes to lie more on data.

Pros

pretty visuals
Power Query
On-premises Data Gateway
responsible Pro Support

Cons

lack of data sources
pretty useless for 3rd Party Web Sources

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Trusted BI Solution for Our Manufacturing Operations

Reviewed on 15/12/2023

Microsoft Power BI has been a trusty business intelligence tool for us. We use it to report on our...

Microsoft Power BI has been a trusty business intelligence tool for us. We use it to report on our machines' performance, creating active reports for employee-related data, finance dashboards, and more and more. Considering the scale we're using it, it's pretty impressive how little technical maintenance it requires. All in all, if you're looking for dependability, you can't go wrong with MS Power BI

Pros

Microsoft Power BI is far more dependable and performs higher over a long period compared to most of the other BI tools out there. It's performed very well in our security tests, and we very very rarely see any issues with it (mainly issues with fetching data from other tools.)

Cons

There isn't anything that'd lead us to start looking for another tool, but I guess my one concern would be the aging interface. It's a lot easier to use as we all know the familiar design elements, but I think it's starting to lag behind their competitors a bit.

Md. Tanvir Bin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful analytics with an intuitive user interface (UI) and outstanding data visualization...

Reviewed on 13/11/2023

In one convenient spot, Power BI gives me excellent access to all the data sources and data sets I...

In one convenient spot, Power BI gives me excellent access to all the data sources and data sets I generate when creating the reports. I have various devices at my disposal to access the data at any time, anyplace. By using easy clicks, users may highlight features, apply filters, and interact with the dashboards.

Pros

Power BI enables users to work together and share dashboards and data with other people. Reports and dashboards can be shared by email, social media, and web publishing, among other methods available to users.
To ensure that sensitive data is protected, Power BI contains robust security features. In addition to controlling access to data, reports, and dashboards, users can create rules for preventing data loss.

Cons

Data that Power BI can ingest is limited in size. The free version must be extended to the paid version if I want to import data bigger than 2GB. It can also crash while processing huge datasets with complicated measurements, which makes using Power BI stressful at times.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Teams

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Power BI

For us to use primarily, Tableau is typically more costly.

Switched From

Tableau

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

I may download the free edition of Power BI Desktop and begin creating reports on our computer right away.
Stephen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I do not know of another tool that does this job so well

Reviewed on 27/10/2023

I use it daily for my for tracking everything that can be measured in a delivery process, weekly...

I use it daily for my for tracking everything that can be measured in a delivery process, weekly for planning and monthly for business reporting. It is my everything data tool. I have been involved in exploring other options but it feels like Power BI stands alone in this field.

Pros

For a tool to be this powerful and complete at this price level really does make it almost impossible to beat. If you have any experience with the Microsoft Power Query platform such as in Excel then Power BI is a natural next step for upping your BI and reporting game. The integration with the Microsoft Office system is seamless and it makes querying external data sources a doddle.

Cons

It can feel a bit clunky and slow if you do not have a high powered client - but the deployed dashboards take this issue away from everything except development. The only other issue I have encountered is in deploying this to a non-Microsoft environment but the tools are available to make it work, it just adds an overhead that you need to be aware of when evaluating the tool. Even with this overhead we have found Power BI to still be preferable to other options native to our non-Microsoft infrastructure and that is really impressive!

Alternatives Considered

Trevor.io, Tableau, Amazon QuickSight and Google Data Studio

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

It is the only option that gives us the complete package and it is astonishingly cheap in comparison to many other options that come closer.
Joe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Warehousing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Get Awesome Looking Dashboards and reports.

Reviewed on 23/11/2023

Overall its a great tool to use in your arsenal if you great at analytics and want to impress with...

Overall its a great tool to use in your arsenal if you great at analytics and want to impress with dashboards and visuals. Takes some time to getting used to, but there's tons of community support online.

Pros

After using many other reporting tools, Power BI stands because it does a fantastic job of having powerful analytics from multiple data sources displayed using beautiful data visualization components.

Cons

Great for more simple reports and data visualization but not designed for heavy data processing (dependent on data source). Also huge learning curve to make things look the way you want them to look.

Alternatives Considered

SAP Crystal Reports

Switched From

SAP Crystal Reports

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

I still use both, but I use Power BI mostly for dashboards and visuals
Imi
Imi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Excellent tool for small offices and datasets but can lead to frustration overtime

Reviewed on 14/03/2021

I am generally satisficed with the product, price and ease of learning with lots of YouTube video ...

I am generally satisficed with the product, price and ease of learning with lots of YouTube video and the Power BI community, there is always something new to learn and implemented to improve or help meet your reporting requirements.

Pros

Easy to get started with Power BI if you are on the Microsoft 365 platform. Power Bi provides an easy to connect and interactive method for pulling data in real time from data collection system such as the SharePoint online, MS Excel and others. The ease of connecting with SharePoint is the strong point for my review.
Having the Power Bi connected to the SharePoint system provides the opportunity to have real time dashboards and dynamic reports for any small organization that is wishing to provide real or near to real-time reporting without the heavy upfront implementation cost for software, training and human resource.
Microsoft has indeed liberated the Dynamic Reporting with Power BI, and has also allowed for some very elegant web reporting to be created by non technical users.
My simple work flow , SharePoint for data collection, PowerBi for reporting.

Cons

The main issues are around the changes that are made by Microsoft, this will always be a learning curve for the users.
The lack of consistency on certain actions will be the biggest issue.

Alternatives Considered

Tableau

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

Cost, Familiarity and given that is is a free offer within the MS Offfice 365 or M365 platform, it leads to an easy choice.
Nida
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Transforming unprocessed data into insightful visuals using power BI

Reviewed on 23/10/2023

It has been a very smooth transition from old reporting solutions which were limited to tabular...

It has been a very smooth transition from old reporting solutions which were limited to tabular representation to Power BI with it's wide range of visuals which can be transformed and adapted as per the end user need

Pros

Easy learning curve, user friendly interface, cross platform integration and compatibility, ability to setup custom logics.

Cons

DAX has a steep learning curve and power can be optimised to handle large volumes of data .

Sai
Sai
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Strong visualization platform

Reviewed on 28/07/2023

Experience with Microsoft Power BI was really good and their support is a strong plus

Experience with Microsoft Power BI was really good and their support is a strong plus

Pros

Microsoft Power BI is very versatile with creating dashboards and reports. Controlling access levels is efficient

Cons

Microsoft Power BI is not that easy to use when compared to Looker. Looker has stronger features and capabilities.

Deepak
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The visualization and analytics product that is constantly evolving - for the better

Reviewed on 07/02/2020

With Power BI we identify patterns, issues and opportunities in sales, marketing, operations,...

With Power BI we identify patterns, issues and opportunities in sales, marketing, operations, supply chain, people management and finance data. The ways to look at the data and the drilling capabilities make this a wonderful tool

Pros

1. Improves with new releases every two weeks
2. Powerful insight management
3. Integration with MS products
4. Online forums and learning zones

Cons

1. Not as intuitive as packaged applications, but getting there
2. Not a good IDE for Python / R
3. Connectors to social media need to be improved

Alternatives Considered

Domo and Tableau

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Power BI

Power BI is evolving faster and with better options and integration

Switched From

Spotfire

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

Deeper integration with Microsoft tools online and offline.
Virgil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Moderate cost for a moderate experience for medium sized enterprises

Reviewed on 12/02/2021

So so. The dashboards and reports are limited in visual design, so they all look the same and quite...

So so. The dashboards and reports are limited in visual design, so they all look the same and quite ugly. Because of the difficulty sharing reports/dashboards to external individuals and the lack of a Google sheets connector I couldn't use PowerBI for most of the solutions we need, but will use it for some since it integrates well with the rest of the MS office ecosystem.

Pros

The thing that most sets PowerBI apart from comparable business intelligence solutions is the lower cost of multi-user deployment within an organization. PowerBI is part of a Microsoft Office 365 subscription package for businesses and you only need to pay an additional 15USD/month for each additional admin/analyst account you add. This is a stark contrast to similar solutions like Tableau, which charge a monthly fee for each user and has a minimum user count that equates to roughly a 15,000USD/year license cost as minimum. If your organisation is already invested in the Microsoft Office ecosystem this could be the ideal solution for you if you need to keep costs down.

Cons

It can't connect to google sheets and every other business intelligence platform can. This can be really limiting if your business uses a variety of SaaS solutions since many offer the simplest data integration options via Google sheets.

PowerBI also has real issues with external sharing of dashboards/reports. You only have the option of publishing internally (visible to your organization's users) or publishing publically (indexed in search engines). There is no option of sharing dashboards and reports to individuals outside your organization via a login, like what is done with Google Data Studio.

PowerBI also has a steep learning curve and uses 3 coding languages (DAX, M, and SQL). It's more complicated than it needs to be but it's relational database modeling has proven a good one and competitors have copied PowerBI's approach in recent years (Tableau).

Alternatives Considered

Tableau and Google Data Studio

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

For the unique cases where I will use it, I'm chosing it because it is part of the MS office ecosystem which my organization uses and it will be easier to deploy and share products with colleagues who all build in PowerBI also. I won't use PowerBI exclusively though since it can't do everything I need.
Nikhil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Power BI - A platform above the rest

Reviewed on 05/12/2022

Pros

Power BI is a valuable tool for data modeling in addition to being a visualization tool. Here, two or more tables must be joined while taking into account their cardinality. Power Bi gives us the ability to link a variety of sources, including live data warehouses and massive data lakes, to import our data. It also provides us with the option to export the dashboards through PowerPoint. Ad hoc reporting within the user hierarchy is essential to a business analyst's role in order to deliver findings to C-suite executives and decision-makers. The platform speeds up execution compared to other visualization tools because of how simple it is to use. The way everything is set out in Power BI makes it easy for the users to understand which data type fits which visualization and how it will affect the way it is perceived. The formatting available is also simple to understand and locate. KPI monitoring is extremely important and directly proportional to the setup in Power BI. Compared to Tableau I feel Power BI has a big edge.

Cons

I have switched to this product from another one and prefer this. I believe this is the best visualization tool in the market right now.

Warren
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Power BI For Business

Reviewed on 05/12/2022

PowerBI was easy to start to use, and you can expand with it as you go. It really can be as Indepth...

PowerBI was easy to start to use, and you can expand with it as you go. It really can be as Indepth as the time you're willing to put in.

Pros

The ease of use and wide range of data sources is fantastic, and allows for complete customisation.

Cons

Unless you're willing to pay the premium license, unfortunately you are restricted to a maximum of data refreshing every hour.

Alternatives Considered

BrightGauge

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Power BI

We found PowerBI to offer more attractive features.

Switched From

BrightGauge

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

The fact that PowerBI licensing was included with our Office 365 package was the main reason.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Overall the best Dashboard software at this moment

Reviewed on 03/02/2020

Part of our dashboards were developped using Power BI. Although the UI is not as perfect as...

Part of our dashboards were developped using Power BI. Although the UI is not as perfect as Tableau, Basically it can achieve all Tableau can do, (maybe not as quick or few steps as Tableau).the modelling, the strong ETL support, the Power Query and integration with office can offset the drawbacks.

Pros

1. The wide and deep design and full support for upstream and downstream systems;

2. Excellent query engine with well design data modelling principals (which is better than Tableau);

3. Seamless integration with other Microsoft data integration products such as SSIS, SSRS, SSAS;

4. Excellent knowledgebase community and support;

5. Quick update to the Azure cloud support

Cons

1. UI design is a little bit inconvenient comparing to Tableau.
2. DAX is a bit complicated for power users.

Alternatives Considered

Qlik Sense, Tableau and IBM Cognos Analytics

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

Overall strength on UI, Modelling, integration, etl support and good price. Integration with SQL Server, SSIS/SSRS, Azure and office.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

New to Power BI but love it

Reviewed on 03/12/2019

Overall I love the software and would highly recommend it. Not only does it help visualize data...

Overall I love the software and would highly recommend it. Not only does it help visualize data but also helps to keep it updated in real time with the ability to connect to a server. The automation of pulling the data on a schedule and importing it directly into the visualizations solved a huge problem for our company.

Pros

I love how easy it is to make really powerful visualizations. The ease of use in order to basic visualizations is similar to Pivot tables in Excel. If you have a basic understanding of Pivot tables you will be able to open the software and get straight to visualizing. Once you take a deeper dive into the queries and data transformations you will uncover an entirely new world of analysis.

Cons

The software is easy to use for basic functions but when you get into more detail it can be difficult. It is also really hard to share your work with someone that does not pay for the service. Without paying for a Power Bi Pro account it is basically impossible to share the visualizations that you have created. Also, the Arc GIS feature only works within the software. If you try to post a map visualization to a website through an embed it doesn't work.

Alternatives Considered

Tableau

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

We chose Power Bi because we had an enterprise with Microsoft already.
Katerina
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Intuitive and very customizable. An all-round fantastic visualisation solution

Reviewed on 02/11/2023

Excel and Power BI have been in my software toolkit almost since day one. I think the best thing...

Excel and Power BI have been in my software toolkit almost since day one. I think the best thing about it is that it opens the door for in-depth data analysis without using code or SQL, which means that SMBs like ours can drive insights from data as well. Other than that, there are a lot of chart types available, and you can easily add custom elements. All in all, would definitely recommend.

Pros

I think it's great that the interface takes most of its elements from Excel. As a person who has used Excel for pretty much the whole of the last two decades, it was much much easier to pick Power BI up for me in the beginning because I was used to most of the visual elements anyway.

Cons

Not a huge issue but it would make my work so much easier to have the live support option as they offer in some of the other BI tools.

Alternatives Considered

Tableau

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

I was already used to the MS environment so I was a lot mor einclined towards Power BI rather than Tableau.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Outstanding Report Tool

Reviewed on 09/06/2021

Having switched from excel recently, Microsoft Power BI has been of great help. Having good visuals...

Having switched from excel recently, Microsoft Power BI has been of great help. Having good visuals for data is a plus to us as an organization for they help do comparisons at a glance.

Pros

The ability to do data linking from different data sources and doing relations and end up developing organized and analyzed data for easy decision making.

It provides the ability to break down data to a level that is easy to understand.

The creation of dashboard in Power BI makes the reports appealing and data presented friendly to interact with.

Cons

Loading Microsoft power BI takes quite some time especially the desktop version. I don't the reason behind it but it could be better if it is looked into and a solution found will be of great help.

Alternatives Considered

Tableau

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Power BI

Microsoft Power BI makes work easier for it has features that Microsoft Excel does not have.

Switched From

Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

Microsoft Power BI has added features that our organization required.
Merve
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Enhancing University IT Systems with Microsoft Power BI

Reviewed on 17/08/2023

Microsoft Power BI is widely regarded as a powerful and versatile tool for data visualization and...

Microsoft Power BI is widely regarded as a powerful and versatile tool for data visualization and business intelligence. Its capabilities in transforming complex datasets into interactive visualizations and reports are highly appreciated by professionals across various industries.

Pros

Power BI allows for easy sharing of reports and dashboards with colleagues and stakeholders. This promotes collaboration, as everyone can access and interact with the same data. The interactive features of Power BI dashboards enable users to drill down into data, apply filters, and explore different aspects of the dataset. This interactivity enhances data exploration and analysis.

Cons

Data Refresh Limitations, Limited Offline Access, Advanced Analytics Requires Expertise. Power BI heavily relies on online connectivity for data retrieval and sharing. Offline access to reports and dashboards is somewhat limited, which can be a concern in certain scenarios.

Alternatives Considered

Tableau
Caroline
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Microsoft Power BI is an descent alternative tool for Data Analysis by Microsoft

Reviewed on 19/07/2023

Overall, Power BI is a great tool for data analysis and visualization helping provide you with the...

Overall, Power BI is a great tool for data analysis and visualization helping provide you with the necessary insights for faster and informed decision making.

Pros

The awesome attribute about Microsoft Power BI is it allows you to import data from various sources including Microsoft Excel, SQL server, Oracle Database, IBM database, etc. This shows the level of compatibility that was built on to the application to ensure it can be used diversely. In addition to this, you can also do a data merge of data from the various sources that are supported. Power BI has a variety of data visualization tools column charts, funnels, pi charts, donut charts, KPI visuals etc. Any possible data visualization you can think is included in Power BI. The interface is also quite user friendly with a few drag and drop functionality enabled.Another awesome feature about power BI is the fact that it can also be accessed via Android and IOS. You can access your data and make decisions from anywhere.You can also use natural language query to 'Ask Questions' to your data in Power BI. It can understand natural language.As expected, Power BI works well within he Microsoft Ecosystem, so if you company is already intensively on Microsoft Products, this is a seamless transition.

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve involved to be able to use Power BI effectively. Your organization needs to employ the services of someone who understands how to use the tool properly.

Dan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best gets better

Reviewed on 06/10/2020

It's easily the most feature rich overall. Other products like Tableau and Qlik have their...

It's easily the most feature rich overall. Other products like Tableau and Qlik have their advantages, but I'm hard pressed to find much fault with Power BI, other than the premium licenses being ridiculously expensive. The word is Microsoft is addressing that issue later in 2020/2021.

Pros

The features and ease of creating visualizations are top notch. Also integration with all other Microsoft products as well as pre-built connectors to many of the most popular software is hard to beat.

Cons

There are many features not available unless you pay for expensive premium capacity.

Alternatives Considered

Tableau

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Power BI

We needed more advanced analytic solution.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

Features, pricing, community support.
Thomas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great, Simple Vizualization Tool!

Reviewed on 22/12/2020

Overall I have had an excellent experience with power bi as someone coming from a Network engineerin...

Overall I have had an excellent experience with power bi as someone coming from a Network engineering role into data science and visualization. Power bi does a great job with ease of learning the product.

Pros

Free desktop tool for modeling is great to try out for anyone. Excellent customer support. Using the power bi web dashboard is a great way to gain the visibility that you need to make this Business intelligence valuable. Being able to send reports on a schedule makes it a great tool for displaying and sharing data. The level of features and third party visualization also makes this a versatility tool that any data driven groups could benefit from. Publishing from the desktop to the web version is extremely simple.

Cons

When creating measures and columns there can be some slowness or odd reactions while using the measures/columns as filters. Not able to choose a theme for the background colors.

Alternatives Considered

Tableau

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

Price Point and ease of access.
Akshika
Akshika
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User-friendly and with a relatively quick dataset load time, data-driven business insights

Reviewed on 18/12/2022

Pros

The greatest business intelligence and data analytics software is Microsoft Power Bi Desktop, which guarantees that accurate data-driven insights are retrieved for corporate decision-making and smooth implementation. We can analyze, analyze, and even build dashboards using data in a variety of formats that have greater processing capability for rows and columns than Excel. Additionally, the visuals are considerably more exquisite and diversified. When I get stuck with DAX code, Power BI community articles and the DAX language's simplicity come in handy. Power BI is far more user-friendly and intuitive, in my opinion. I would strongly advise any organization seeking a BI solution to use this.

Cons

Power BI's inability to produce bespoke infographics as quickly as Tableau is its main drawback. Direct connections may be made between Power BI Desktop and PostgreSQL DB. However, we are unable to directly link PostgreSQL DB with the Power BI service. Additionally, the cost of the program has to be drastically reduced so that more small and underutilized enterprises may benefit from it and use its features to their best potential.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Power BI Helps You Tell the Story of Your Data

Reviewed on 07/10/2021

I love Power BI. The time and energy I've invested in learning it have been well worth it.

I love Power BI. The time and energy I've invested in learning it have been well worth it.

Pros

Once you get your data in, within just a few moments of looking around or following a tutorial, you can see how easy it is to shape, slice, and show your data in a huge variety of ways. It takes seconds to just try out a visualization and see if it works for you. It takes just a few seconds more to slot in all the data fields you want in that visualization. Don't like something? Drag it back out or click an X, no big deal! Your confidence will grow the more you spend time in the platform, and soon you'll be arranging informative, visually-pleasing dashboards that tell the story of your data.

Cons

I would prefer that individuals not directly involved in Power BI didn't have to have a Pro license just to view/do what I'd consider to be still Basic tier things. And at first, figuring out where/how to get the data into Power BI can be a learning curve. Lastly, it's not a true upload of data into Power BI as if I move, rename, or delete the source file that is still on my computer, Power BI Desktop can't pull up the report that I'd previously created from it.

Susan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Dairy
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An analytical tool for business analysis and understanding.

Reviewed on 26/10/2023

Getting to know how pur business is performing has been a great achievement and we give all the...

Getting to know how pur business is performing has been a great achievement and we give all the credit to Microsoft Power Bi. It has been super productive to us. With Microsoft Power BI, we have been able to analyze our business operations and relate the insights we get with our initial goals and this gives us a clear working point to help us focus on improving our performance.

Pros

Microsoft Power BI has very powerful analytical tools which makes it possible to run full analysis on our business in order to understand our performance and the position we are at comparing it to where we want to be. The reports are easy to read and interpret and has very accurate insights about our business. It makes it so easy for us to pull business data from all over our working infrastructures in order to have a full review of the entire business operations.

Cons

Personally, i didn't find it much easier to use but am glad i was able to get assistance from the available self support articles.