JobBOSS²

4.2 (855)
Shop management for shops & made-to-order manufacturers

Overall rating

4.2 /5
(855)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.0/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support
4.4/5

87%
recommended this app

855 Software options

Elliott M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Product

Reviewed on 29/07/2021

We are happy with the software and look forward to the future. The consistent upgrades are promising and encourage users to stay, but we hope that the price does not go up exponentially with the merger with ECI.

Pros

The software is powerful and easy to use a majority of the time. Support is helpful and readily available. We use E2/Jobboss2 for all of our estimating, order management, quoting, purchasing, scheduling, and more. After 6 years with the software it is definitely sustainable and a needed tool in our shop.

Cons

The homepage user interface is difficult to look at. There is a lack of customization options concerning fonts, text size, etc. Right now we have to use third party extensions to try and adjust fonts so some of our users can read the text properly. These extensions tend to cause problems with the logos so navigating becomes a little more difficult if you aren't familiar with where the buttons are. Implementing higher contrast homescreens would be beneficial and/or having an ingrained option for text size customization.

Kate D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Small Business Looking for Shop Control

Reviewed on 28/07/2016

Pros

Experience: We are a small family owned business that needed to get ISO certified as a requirement by our customer. We did our research and E2 was the best company to offer shop control and offer ISO certification. We have been using E2 since 2012, we have been ISO certified since 2012. We were eager and became ISO certified within 6 months (take a lot of work and dedication to get it done quickly).

Overall E2 has been a great resource for us.

Pros: The software is easy to use, the information that you are able to get from reports is helpful (only as good as the information put in).

Easy for all employees to use with all computer skill levels.

ISO documentation was extremely helpful with becoming ISO certified.

Customer service is always helpful, you always get a real person to help you with your needs.

Cons

Software does not allow you to do multiple things at once, it is very simplistic which might be best.

Difficult to customize it to you specific needs, it can be done but there is a cost for that. If you are a start up company this software would be great to get you going with all aspects, if you are an established company you might need to adjust how you do things.

We still do all of our accounting and customer quoting from QuickBooks as that works best for our company.

We do not use E2 for scheduling as we are a fast pace job shop and things change on the fly and difficult to schedule within the software.

Heidi R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good for Shop Management, Has Some Quirks

Reviewed on 10/05/2019

Pros

-This system does work well for managing active jobs as well as keeping all the historical information on jobs run in the past. It's easy to look up jobs in the system, see how much you've charged in the past, see what machines you ran it on, see how many times you've run it, etc.
-The visibility between the shop and the office is very helpful - we use the data collection function, and the office can look at any job and see where it's at in process and who has scanned into the job.
-System links well - you can capture labor, material, machining and outside services all on the same job easily and efficiently.
-Integrates well with quickbooks for invoicing.
-Customer service is easy to contact and fairly knowledgeable (some reps are better than others, sometimes I've had to call multiple times for the same question but I do eventually get an answer)
-System design is clean and straightforward.

Cons

-The system has a lot of quirks that you can work around but just seem inefficient (ie you can't make a machine or work center inactive. This doesn't make sense for shops that upgrade machines and get rid of old or malfunctioning ones.)
-The reports are helpful to a point - basically they are helpful if all of your information is entered exactly how JobBoss requires it to be entered. Sometimes you don't know you are entering something wrong until the report comes up looking very wrong, and it can be tricky to figure out where your settings need to be adjusted for the report to come out correctly. Once you know how to run everything, it's easy to repeat.

Vickie P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Why E2 is the software choice for Taylor Manufacturing.

Reviewed on 20/11/2019

Overall E2 is great. Due to the job and cost tracking capabilities of E2, we are able to stay on top of our prices that we charge our customers. We can monitor the labor expense of our machines and setup times which allows us to find new processes to maintain our original quotes. These savings are passed on to our customers which benefits our company's growth and success rate.

Pros

The thing I like most about E2 is that it is so user friendly. The process of training new employees is very simple due to the ease of E2. E2 is very functional. It works wonderful for all our departments: AR, AP, Quoting & Estimating, Receiving & Shipping, order entry & purchasing, job tracking and all accounting and inventory reporting. The online forum, tutorials and customer service alone are reasons enough to purchase E2. Their customer services is top rated. I have always received help and been completely satisfied with the results each and every time I've contacted E2.

Cons

The thing I dislike about E2 is orphans. Orphans are little glitches that are caused when something goes wrong. E2 doesn't go backwards very well, meaning you have to be very cautious when undoing / unwinding things. Some of my fellow employees fail to unwind things the proper way so we get an orphan occasionally. Although I must say, orphans are an easy fix for E2 customer service reps.

Dave R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

An invaluable and integral tool for our business growth and success

Reviewed on 07/04/2016

Pros

We have been using E2 in our shop for over ten years, and it has proven itself worthy of the investment time and time again. It is a thorough and well rounded system which assists us in successfully tracking our work load, material inventory, customer database, etc. Utilizing the scheduling tools, such as the Whiteboard, has become essential for evaluating our WIP, providing an overview of jobs in process and tracking due dates. The time tickets and performance summaries are extremely beneficial in measuring employee efficiencies. We are in regular communication with technical support, customizing the individual modules to accommodate the evolution of our business practices and constantly growing and changing capabilities. They have helped us create custom reports and summaries which allow us to categorically track productivity and expenses across the board.

Cons

The major issue we have with the software is the cost of additional seats. Our company has maintained strong, consistent growth over the past decade and as we have expanded, it has been difficult to justify the cost of additional users. As we tend to hold out on purchasing new seats until absolutely necessary, it would be nice to see some price breaks as we continue to add users.

John S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

E2 SHOP SYSTEMS HELPED US ADVANCE

Reviewed on 26/08/2019

Overall we are very happy with the way E2 has modernized our shop and helped us grow and advance our operation.

Pros

E2 Shop Systems is intuitive software. It is very user friendly.

Cons

I wish the graphics were a little better and you could open multiple windows at the same time.

Alternatives Considered

Kinetic

Reasons for Choosing JobBOSS²

Epicor was too cumbersome for our operation.

Switched From

Kinetic
Vernon J.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 17/08/2011

Qualastat Electronics, Inc. has been in business since 1986, specializing in the manufacturing of electronic cable and wire harness assemblies.

Included in our product line are RF assemblies, including phase-matched and time delay and fiber-optic cable assemblies. When the company reached the point where we could not adequately track inventory nor easily quote new assemblies, we decided to install an ERP system. We looked at a number of software packages that could be adapted to our organization but selected E2 due to its comprehensiveness, cost and ease of use. Prior to installing E2 we used a hodgepodge of programs including DBA, Databases and spreadsheets.

We quickly found that we could stop using everything but E2. Our quotes became more complete, which prevented us from leaving out tooling, NRE charges, minimum purchase costs and helped us instantly become repetitive with our quotes. We found that with the use of job costing, using barcoding the the manufacturing area, we could review closed jobs and make quick changes to our estimated labor before quoting the same or similar items in the future.

We now are able to analyze manufacturing processes by each individual operator and can determine what training needs to be done to improve efficiencies. The quality module made ISO-9001 certification much easier to obtain. Almost everything needed to become and stay compliant with ISO requirements are contained and provided inside the E2 program.

Our customer satisfaction and vendor quality are now easy to measure, which helps us to continually improve our business and product. We found that the savings we realized and the ability to see our true costs enabled us to see a two year payback and now everything is just more profit or savings to our customers.

We sent most of our staff and management personnel to get classroom training and have also had a local representative come into our facility for more specialized training and to provide refresher training. This has proven to be very effective and everyone was able immediately to run with the program.

Shoptech has proven to be a very supportive organization. Our employees enjoy the ability to call in and immediately resolve problems or issues they face. Nobody has had an instance where the customer support person could not help, which is uncommon in our industry.

There may be a better software package available for us to use. If it exists, I have not seen it and I would be very skeptical about any other software coming close to providing for us what E2 gives us on a continuous basis. I would highly recommend any job shop type organization to purchase the whole program and not leave out any modules since they all complement each other and make the whole program cost-effective and useful.

Bobby H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 05/04/2012

A.C. Horn & Co. is a custom sheet metal manufacturer (job shop). We will make almost anything from a customer's drawing. We specialize in food processing and packaging equipment. We also have our own line of popcorn and peanut processing equipment. Our owner’s grandfather in Dallas, circa 1907 as a tin shop, founded the company. Our old manufacturing software was complicated and very inflexible, plus was no longer going to be supported by the small company that wrote and developed it. This was a good opportunity for me to recommend to the owners that is was time to change. I wanted software that was more user friendly, menu driven so it would be easy to learn, and more flexible. Also, payroll and time entry had to be clean and a single entry.

Before E2 Shop System, we used a company called Caelus, based in the northwest. It handled payroll also and is very detailed in the accounting area. That was acceptable, but it made our company "accounting-driven", instead of "manufacturing-driven"... we make our money in manufacturing, not accounting... We use the 7.2.14 release. I just noticed that .15 has been released and I will install it very soon. We purchased the software in the fall of 2010, and implemented it on the first workday in 2011. Implementation was a ton of work, long hours, and much trouble-shooting and phone calls to the technical help number. I know changing any software is a monumental task, so in my opinion, the implementation went well.

Everyone on the help desk was helpful, and I especially leaned on the accounting team because that is an area I am not familiar with. Most of my team learned the software fairly quickly, but some who are not as computer literate struggled. I had some issues with a few who tried to "force" the software to do things it was not designed, nor capable of doing. That took some time to sort out, but it helped us learn the limits of E2. I still call the support line (although not as frequently), and it seems the first person who answers the phone is sometimes less knowledgeable than I am. Usually, if I have a real problem or question, it will get kicked up to another level.

The benefits we have realized are in the organization and planning of our proprietary equipment. It has much greater flexibility than our previous software. The system is much more open in the estimating area. Our AP and AR persons like the easier processing in this area. Accounting, however, is still a challenge. I think we are still fairly new users, having 15 months under our belt. We have not even touched the scheduling feature, and only two or three of us are using the quote feature (which is great), so we still have more steps to take to fully utilize the software.

Al F.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 18/04/2013

We operate a precision sheetmetal shop in NJ. We fabricate simple parts to large complex multi level assemblies and everything in between for our customers. They demand a high quality item and when we went shopping for a new software system, we knew we needed one that would be up for the challenge.
Our company was loosing control of raw inventory. We could not easily connect costs associated with a job to that job. Tracking jobs live on the floor was a chore also. Our old system was supposed to help us manage everything from order entry through the shipping, but it was just not up to the task. We spent more time working for our system than the system did working for us!
We had looked at several companies before making our decision. We chose E2 because they had a system that could do all of what we needed and more. You are told how good a system is, how capable it is, all the typical sales talk. Well, believe it when it comes to E2 software and it's people. First of all, the folks are top notch. From the salesman to the service and training folks. They walked us through the implementation preparation. We were nervous about the impementation set up. Listen to them and take the time to set it up right, it may seem daunting but the extra hours you put into the set up will make for smoother sailing after implementation. From the first phone contact to implementation we felt comfortable with the folks at E2. Secondly, the software does what it says! Not only have we gotten accurate raw inventory counts for a full year, we were pleasantly surprised with other aspects. Purchasing has become much easier and less time consuming using the Job Requirements Report. Tracking jobs and connecting costs to the job are a breeze. You can even connect a cost that was not associated with the original estimate! The ability to "drill down" for information, both historical and present time is awesome.
One area we would love to see a change in though, would be the material calculator. We need to do a little more off line calculating than we'd like to. Besure to go over that area with your sales rep. No reason not to buy E2 what with all the ease the rest of the system has to offer.
We have been operating E2 for 14 months now and are happy we made the choice to partner with them. We have seen better control of all facets of our manufacturing process: raw inventory, finished good inventory, parts lists, purchasing, real time tracking and cost analysis. The software is terrific, but the people there to help you are even better. What more could you ask for, it's a great product with great service! Thanks E2 Team!

Ryan P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

E2 Review

Reviewed on 13/10/2017

We use this system every day to manage our manufacturing, warehousing, and distribution activities.

Pros

Our company has utilized E2 for 18 years and I have been a user for 13+ years. It is a robust system. We have had virtually no downtime due to system related issues. We started with the MDB version and migrated to SQL about 7 years ago. No issues with either. The support team has always been superb - - easy to get a hold of and not in a hurry to hang up. I appreciate that.

Overall just a really good software package and a great company to deal with. If you invest in this software, do yourself a favor and get Crystal Reports and write your own reports for data retrieval. System is open to allow for this functionality and will make the use of the data even better.

Cons

The ability to customize is limited in regards to functionality. The company prefers to keep the backbone "vanilla" and I do understand it. However there are times that we could get a big gain from a tweak and we are just not able to get it done.

Ed W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

E2 Software User Evaluation

Reviewed on 16/08/2016

I have been using this software for the past six years in a small, make-to-order machine shop. I use it for everything from the estimating process through invoicing and financial performance reporting. In general, it serves me very well. We do not have sufficient bandwidth to use it to it's full potential, but hope to grow to the level where we can. Shoptech also does a good job of support, which is key with any business control system.

Pros

Relative ease of use. I like how the modules work together as you create estimates, add them to quotes, and ultimately, convert the quotes to orders. If you spend your time doing a thorough job on the estimate, the rest of the process flows easily from there.

Cons

Some of the canned reports and screens aren't well laid out.
Lack of multiple routing capability for an item.
No part where-used, which is important when you are using multi-level bills.

Greg R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good value for small manufacturing business

Reviewed on 05/03/2020

Has been a good system to run business with.

Pros

Relatively simple ERP system. Has most of what you want in a system to manage and operate a business. Not necessary to add bolt-on software. As with any software, keep it clean, up to date and organized and it will provide the appropriate output.

Cons

Needs a few items for specific tasks. Should be able to zero out inventory in mass using specific parameters (for a physical inventory). Some screens don't link enough details together ie., Quick view should have invoice, receiver #, PO # all on one screen. Same for orders. Screen should have Cust PO, Job #, Pack list, Invoice #. All for quick "1 screen reference".

William K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Controller

Reviewed on 06/05/2019

Very, very good. I'd been aware of E2 for many years hoping to have an opportunity to use it. When I joined a company that had it in place, about 9 months ago, it met all my expectations. It covers all the vital operational and accounting / financial bases that a make-to-order business requires drawing focus to critical activities and reporting.

Pros

Well targeted and designed product specific to the custom, make-to-order manufacturing setting. Software that helps "show the way" rather than "get in the way" (with complexity). Relatively simple, yet powerful. Solid fundamentals. Well conceived and well developed - everything is there. Very intuitive interface, short learning curve. We've used the web product for the past year and the speed is outstanding along with great convenience. Screen driven help and training information are extensive and well done.

Cons

A statement of cash flows report should be added to the income statement and balance sheet financial statements.

Ben S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sporting Goods
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Using E3 in a small mfg business

Reviewed on 14/05/2019

Overall E2 has been a huge improvement for us that has allowed us to increased our profitability, improve quality control metrics, and improve our customer satisfaction.

Pros

Before we purchased E2 our outdated database software lacked functionality and flexibility and therefore limited our ability to see what jobs we had running on the shop floor and track their costs up to the minute. E2 has allowed us to set job costs during the estimating phase and then track those costs through the life of the order from start to finish. This has made us more profitable by showing us which jobs we made money on and which ones we didn't.

Cons

The scheduling application is far to complex and we have not attempted to use it in the five years or so since we installed E2. I believe if it was setup more like an app on an IPAD that I can click on jobs and move them around on a schedule with my mouse or finger it would make things much easier.

Michelle J.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Rickard Metals' E2 Review

Reviewed on 03/04/2012

Although we struggled with implementation and initial system setup, overall E2 is a great system and a huge value for dollars spent! Again, as the quality system administrator, the E2 quality module affords the ease of giving auditors a quick view of the effectiveness of the QMS and does the document organization for me. Charts and graphs are quickly generated with clear data points. The quality section does not give the appearance of an "afterthought" as many, many systems' quality modules exhibit. The CFO here is still very partial to Quickbooks but I believe that we could function very well using E2's Accounting module alone.
This system was clearly built by people who understand manufacturing processes and challenges and that has clearly made all the difference!

Pros

Ease of use
Windows type appearance
Consistent menu appearance
Very user friendly, most functions are very intuitive
Great variety of reports and queries available
Quality module (auditors love it!)
Accounting module is very easy to use
Great graphics in Executive Overview
Easy to use copy functions
Job traveler layout is very clear
Very good order/part documentation capability
Very easy to flow from part generation to quote to order to billing
Document attachment function for engineering

Cons

Too user lenient, only on/off menu functionality
Audit trail does not reflect what was edited.
Text-based description box allows editing without unprocessing.
Report style is very bland and altering appearance is not optional.
Triggers and customized queries are not easy to generate and results are not consistent.
Job cost analysis does not calculate invoiced amounts when PO amounts differ.
Restricted editing of purchase order when partial quantity has been received. Suggest moving demand to 2nd line item so that PO can be altered for next release instead of moving quantity to new PO. Would also like to see document attachment in Receiver so that certs and inspection documents could be attached by user.

Chris R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

JobBOSS Daily User

Reviewed on 21/02/2020

JobBOSS is geared toward small job shops. The software interface is not intuitive and is frankly unrefined. JobBOSS will suffice for a small shop running simple jobs. But if you are a larger organization with any level of job complexity beyond the most basic, look elsewhere.

Pros

JobBOSS functions well for generating basic jobs, quotes, routings, and bills of materials. Basic raw materials and purchased components can be managed as well.

Cons

JobBOSS is job centric, not part centric. If you are a manufacturer running repeat parts or part families, this software is lacking. The interface is cumbersome, and often lacking in basic functionality. For example, there are areas in the software where once you start an operation you cannot back up if you've made a mistake. You can also lose data you've typed in without realizing it until after a report is created.

Ian F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Serious Bang for your Buck

Reviewed on 14/02/2019

Top Notch. The support is really terrific. It was super smooth in the set up (I mean it was real work to switch, but it was smooth) and even today the tech support is really terrific.

Pros

Its the right scale and fit for my company. There's more than enough functionality, without everything being layered and burdened with too many features, options, process. It fits. It works. Its sophisticated enough for a power users, but easy enough for non technical people to get up and running quickly and smoothly.

Cons

Honestly, most of the things I didn't like are gone. That's the advantage of web based software. I point out an issue, its gone in week. I complain about a function, it gets fixed. I'm not waiting on a fix next year in a product release that I have to buy, and I'm not stuck with clunky software that never improves.

Web based is the way to go.

Alan A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Paper & Forest Products
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

E2 Shop System!

Reviewed on 21/05/2019

Very good experience! It has made day to day activities a little more streamline

Pros

Software was very easy to implement after being on regular E2. The new inventory app works great for us and we use it to keep a "live" bin location for our material that gets update daily as we move items around the shop. I like the flexibility due to be able to log in from home and see who is working on what job and who is punched in or out. Overall it is user friendly

Cons

There are some bugs we had when using a regular desktop for data collection were operators punch in and out. We were using internet explorer and were constantly having issues. We have switched to google chrome and problems have become a lot fewer. Having updates on Friday during the day, become a pain and we have issues with employees punch in & out. Inventory app could be a little more user friendly for our new operators, because you have to put in exact "name" of material to find it, there is not a partial search.

Julie S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

E2 Petrel Review

Reviewed on 05/03/2020

Customer Service has always been very helpful. I get very frustrated with so many companies customer service these days but not with E2. Always great about getting back to me if they need to research a problem.

Pros

For the most part, the software is easy to use once you learn it. There are a few things that take a little research to figure out how they work like the pricing of material and the markup feature and how the price carries over into the quote.

Cons

It would be nice to have the tab feature take you from one field to the next (in order). Also, after entering a field, now you have to move off of that field for that figure to factor into the quote. If I move from the routing tab to the general tab, the amount does not get factored in.

Jim H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

JobBoss in a Mold Shop

Reviewed on 16/08/2017

We have been using JobBoss for many years in a Mold shop. It takes a little time to learn the software and it's full functions, but it has been very good in our environment. We are using data collection!

Pros

East of use and Customer Support are the best in the industry. The quoting to Job to timekeeping to invoicing the job is easy to follow.
We didn't get all components of the system, but we have gradually added pieces, we added Data Collection and are very happy with it. Our goal is to have the ability to better understand the time spent on each job.

Cons

Current PAYROLL module needs to be replaced soon with replacement Red Wing Accounting Software. Users get "stuck" as logged in once an a while, and have to be logged out by Customer Support.

Chad M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Not Pleased with E2 shoptech

Reviewed on 16/03/2019

Pros

Being its cloud based that's great because it keeps you virtual anywhere anytime. The system randomly glitches and shuts down and when it does if you haven't saved your 3-5 quotes or orders all those hours of work is all lost.

Cons

The system isn't streamline. There aren't many good things to say. It's been a horrible experience.
Sales team over sold us on the product. When we launched with their cloud based system it was still in BETA which we where ok with at the time because they made us a deal to work with them while their in BETA and they wont charge for user maintenance thoughout the duration. Next thing i know problems still arent resolved and its out of BETA. That was 8 months ago when we found out, guess what problems still arent solved and they dont expect them to be for quite a while. Nor could they promised it would be solved.
Here is some ex's: You cannot download any CAD/CAM documents/drawings on their cloud based system. It has to be a image such as: PNG.. NOTE i said PNG and not PDF, DWG, DXF, STEP, etc. That really hinders our flow of operations from the office to the floor.
OVER WORKING YOURSELF: Every step takes 2-5 steps to complete. Such as: Making a simple print, whether printing piece of paper or emailing or viewing a document.
There accounting software is a joke. You cannot take Ccard transactions. We use SYnc option for QB's pro, That doesn't work at all. When it did work it wouldn't close out the invoice on shop side once its been transferred. Believe me when i say this ppl stay away there are MANY more problems than what was listed. I was warned before we bought it and should've listened.

Ala P.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

We've had this for 7 years and the more we utilize it the more problems it has

Reviewed on 15/08/2017

Pros

This program is very basic so if you learn how to use one part of the system you can learn how to use the other parts of the system because they all look the same

Cons

This software does not allow for any changes to be made, and if you want to make a change you have to pay hundreds of dollars to do so. It is very set in the way it was build and you cannot change anything to make it easier for your company. First the shop floor doesnt account for scraps, they assume you will remake them so if you have any scraps and want to throw them out and move on to the next step of production then it wont count that step as being done. Then the accounting is put into many steps and the system gets easily overcrowded. the general ledger is done in too many steps to be accurate. The system will not work for orders of more than one line because if you want to unprocess an order in a second line after the first one was shipped, you cannot. Youre stuck with this floating error in your system that you cannot get rid of.
I personally do not recommend this to anyone. The system isnt very helpful, i feel like you could organize your data much better even on excel sheets than this program does. Finally their customer support do not know anything, as an experienced user of this i call them and ask for help with some easier things and they cannot provide me with an adequate answer, then through trial and error on my own part I find what i was looking to accomplish. Overll I am very dissatisfied with this system;the way its run, the way its reports are made, and how easy it is to create errors but its nearly impossible and in some cases impossible to correct them.

Thomas M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

An easy way of keeping track of what is going on with your projects and in production

Reviewed on 12/12/2018

Regardless of the Accounting module issue (maybe it is updated by now): E2 is our most important tool for estimating and keeping track of our projects, progress and extra work that was done. We also use it to track our invoicing on all our projects. E2 is very easy to maintain and to keep up to date. If well maintained E2 becomes a 'Treasure Box' for the company. We are glad we made the step and bought this system, we would do it again.

Pros

Easy to use, operates flawless since system installation almost 5 years ago. Creating reports is very easy for everything that is important in a business environment.

Cons

The Accounting module does not work for the Canadian market and is useless for a Canadian company. We bought it without knowing that we cannot use it.

Brad S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Long time user

Reviewed on 19/09/2019

Pros

The software flowed in a very similar fashion to how we processed our work right out of the box making it very easy to implement.

Cons

I wish the custom reporting was easier to set up at times.

Lisa B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Been a user for 15 years

Reviewed on 18/06/2019

E2 has great customer service. The response time is quick and they are open for part of the day on Saturday which is excellent.

Pros

Fairly easy to use once you get used to it. I appreciate how easy it is to change permissions for users when needed. Quickview is extremely helpful for quick referencing.

Cons

Scheduling is not an easy module to learn. I would like to be able to see a schedule view of work orders as opposed to line items. I’m sure i can figure something out to get me close to this but i have not had the downtime to actually do this. We may have 100 open orders but over a thousand line items.