Lifesize Reviews

Lifesize

Video, audio & web conferencing platform

4.5/5 (65 reviews)
Travis B.

Overall, Lifesize provides a robust, high-quality enterprise video conferencing experience.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 16/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Lifesize does a great job integrating video from just about every platform imaginable, including Windows, Android, iOS and MacOS, dedicated hardware, and browser-based access. Lifesize also provides a better video conferencing experience than some of its competitors by having a people-first approach by better utilizing and maximizing available screen real estate, regardless of what kind of device you are calling in from. The video quality from Lifesize systems is generally higher-quality and more stable than offerings such as Skype, assuming you have a decent connection.

Cons

The Windows client taxes even well-power laptops, especially when the user is presenting content, leading to poor performance of the app from time to time.

It would also be nice to see the chat functionality gain some maturity in terms of feature set, such as support for rich text, images, etc. If the chat functionality was stronger, we wouldn't need to use Slack in addition to Lifesize.

Similarly, we have recently started using the streaming functionality in Lifesize for hosting webinars with customers. While it is a nice value-add and is super affordable for what you get, it again lacks some functionality and polish compared to more mature options.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Michael C.

Great Company and Video Conferencing Solution

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 05/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We have been doing business with Lifesize hardware and products for close to ten years. They have been responsive and willing to assist with any problems. Their sales team is flexible for individual company needs. I consider Lifesize a perfect size company for providing responsive competitive offerings, without being a red tape mess to deal with for software requests, billing, sales, etc.

Pros

It is very easy to use. You can tell someone is leading the development team that values "cutting friction points". Where one software has three pop ups to do the same task, Lifesize seems to complete it in one or two. They create this easy to use interface while keeping security in mind in the background. My users love the software.

Cons

It would be nice if it had some of the screen controlling features that other meeting software has.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Beth W.

The equipment has helped my company expand our classroom.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

The software and equipment have aided our company in training students in the rural areas of our state, without disrupting their lives and jobs dramatically. We are hoping to start recording the course to use as refreshers for our students.

Pros

With the cloud, the ease of use is great. We have been able to access area's in our state with not the best internet, but the cloud has allow the classrooms to stay connected, and not interupt the learning.

Cons

The maintenance contracts needed to keep the equipment updated, and have access to the technical support, are expensive. The equipment doesn't break down but "just in case" and to get the updates we are at your mercy.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Miguel D.

Great hardware and a simple UI

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We managed to have meetings right away without hesitation , this give us tremendus abilities to adapt our business to make changes on the fly and keeps all the team on the same page.

Pros

These are very simple to use, anyone can just sit in front of a codec and make a video call with just a couple of touch on the touch screen and there you go on an active call with any peer

Cons

they are quite expensive hardware, but they worth it, as they are very robust. we have already purchased 7 codecs from models icon 400 and 600 units witch by the way they have the option to have 2 screens at the time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Average video calling software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 18/01/2019
Review Source: Capterra

While Lifesize isn't perfect, it meets the majority of needs for video conferencing. It also receives regular updates which notably increase performance and ease-of-use. Overall, a good system.

Pros

When it works, it works very well for the basic need of video calling. Person to person calling is very easy and as long as the internet connection is strong, there is little buffering. Picture and audio is clear. Interface on both desktop and mobile are fairly straight forward but you're left with a sense that you could be using the applications much more effectively. If set up for Room Systems, calling into a conference room is straightforward and works pretty well with the Lifesize physical hardware.

Cons

Managing "Meetings" (meeting rooms) can be a through the interface. If not actively managed, Meetings can quickly pile up and you're left with a list of dozens or hundreds of inactive rooms that will not be deleted. This creates clutter and forces the need to actively manage it. Meetings are also identified by both the name as well as an ID. Problem is you can't search by the ID to find the room, although that is often what is referenced by users trying to call in or if they were invited via email.

The hardware, while mostly good, suffers from a slow interface and an extremely long reboot time. If a problem is occurring and a reboot of the device is needed, count on spending 3-5 minutes waiting for it to initialize.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10
Allie S.

Only Okay

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 24/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, this service has been good for us to use. We have used it mainly for educational live videos.

Pros

There are a few functions that I really like about Lifesize. I like that you can download an app, or use a link to a webpage. Having the different options is good for users that we connect with so they can choose how to participate. If you're using it frequently the app is very useful and I find it much easier to use rather than the online platform. Creating a meeting, and a meeting link is very easy. I am able to quickly create it and send it out to those I want to participate. We are able to designate specific meeting "room numbers" for groups that consistently need a video conferencing option, for example board of directors. That meeting link and room number never changes, so that is helpful for consistency. I do like that you can share your presentation along with the live video of you. This has been great for us to offer education.

Cons

I have found the customer service to be less than helpful. It seems like too big of a corporation, or maybe outsourced help. Every time I contact them for help, it has never been resolved and their usual answer is "we need the person with the problem to contact us." We deal with people participating that are very busy and cannot take the time to call in to trouble shoot. I wish they could just give me the info to try to fix it on my own. We also seem to have had a few problems with participants not being able to hear the presentation, they are muted out for not apparent reason.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10
Verified Reviewer

In the 2 years of use it really has improved company communication

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 16/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

What I like most about the software is its ease of use. From the IT professional down to the more IT challenged users this software is easy to navigate, and anyone can use it.

Cons

In the past the biggest issue we have had with the software is its lack of functionality when there is a software version mismatch from host to participants. We experience both lack of audio or video until software is updated. This may have been resolved with the self updating cloud app though.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Full-featured Video Conferencing Solution

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

This is a solid video conferencing solution. We had gotten frustrated with the ever increasing costs associated with our previous Polycom solution. We made the switch over 3 years ago and have not regretted it once.

Pros

Lifesize has very good endpoint equipment for your conference rooms, and has client software for all computers and mobile devices. They are simple to use, even for our tech challenged executives. We have found their Lifesize Cloud service to be a stable and reliable bridge platform. It also integrates well with Skype for Business.

Cons

For those who don't want to install the full Lifesize client software, they only have web app support via Google Chrome. This can be a limiting factor when inviting others to your meetings. I hope Lifesize will expand their web app support to other browsers.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Mark B.

I have been engaged with Lifesize for over 10 years as a reseller and user.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 19/03/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I am able to run a business that is profitable with clients across the globe. I could not do this without Lifesize.

Pros

Software is great, the recent upgrade is fantastic, easy to use and will encourage my staff and guests to use it more.

Cons

The recent changes to the pricing structure will turn existing clients away from Lifesize and may discourage new clients as price increases are significant.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Johannes A.

LS ViCos are having a very good quality and featureset, but the endpoints are not easy to use.

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Recording & Livestreaming is possible and you can join with nearly every device to classical h.323- & SIP-conferences. We had one huge success by hosting one session for our management board via LifeSize Cloud instead of using the system the conference host (european union) offered us, which was not multicompatible.

Pros

LS Software clients are easy to use, especially in comparision to the hardware endpoints. The LifeSize cloud client software makes it easy to join existing conferences or even call other users. The quality is so much better than WebRTC solutions like Google Hangouts or CISCO WebEx especially when it comes to screensharing.

Cons

It's not compatible to Google Hangouts, without 3rd party solutions. It would be great to have an option as a normal user, to see the link of the LifeSize cloud conferences to send a link to new spontaneous participants, so that they can join easily with the link.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Tessa H.

Good overall. Much improved since implementation. We use it nearly everyday!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 16/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Connectedness, from anywhere.

Pros

The ability to meet face-to-face, with decent call quality most times, and from anywhere. The mobile aspect is extremely helpful.

Cons

There can be times where call quality suffers. I'm not sure if it is because of the cloud-aspect of the services, but it can be problematic (as can any product that is web-based!).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Best VC software with great quality and user friendly interface. Cloud vases setup also.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 01/08/2018
Review Source: Capterra

User friendly VC capabilities for remote users and meetings with branch offices.

Pros

Cloud based setup and administration. Reliable hi quality video with ability to connect via phone, tablet, pc, browser.

Cons

Cloud features are reliable but limited. Dial in features some times get delays. Presentation screen arrangement could be better.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Ori G.

What a view!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 05/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

It is a great product, not cheap at all (licenses + hardware) but it is a good investment for a fast growing business.

Pros

Create meeting rooms with the top of the notch hardware from Lifesize! Amazing quality of High Definition cameras and phones, working together flawlessly.
Easy to use, easy to setup, works great with my PBX / SIP protocol.
It's not a must to install the client on your PC, it has a web client inside your browser :-)
Manage your global organization from the cloud!

Cons

There are hiccups sometimes but it is usually due to internet issues. Should be operated with cable and not wireless.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Kelley H.

Lifesize Solutions

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/12/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I love that we are able to utilize lifesize cloud and connect with users outside of the company. Also, we often use lifesize for trainings .

Cons

At this moment, the only con is it can a littel difficult for some people to use who are not familiar with web conferencing software.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Darshan L.

We had LifeSize for many years and not complains. We are running Cloud now.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Great video conferencing

Pros

LifeSize Cloud! Great quality video conferencing. Integration of all the units into one Console and being able to manage easily

Cons

More options on interface to customize. More user friendly interface on the HD phones. Smaller base units for storage purposes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Scott M.

Overall I haven't needed to touch it to much, which means it must be working great!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

the touch screen microphone, its easy to navigate for end users feedback has told me that its been nice and easy to use which is good

Cons

Skype integration, we get a lot of Skype customers wanting to call, and if we had that functionality built in that would be great.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Georg P.

Cool, but expensive Tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy of use, stable, with physical room systems helps those systems us to travel less and get more productive in short time

Cons

The price for the product is too high, the licensing is not easy and finally, the product is not that much compatible as they promise

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Barbara A.

Clear video conferencing and phone calls via computer and lifesize units in meeting rooms

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 04/04/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

You can set up private meeting rooms for repeat meetings, individualized meetings for specific interviews and use it to make calls without a meeting set. Clear crisp picture and ability to have multiple people and rooms join video conferences.

Cons

Expensive compared to other products available, difficult to delete meetings once they are set, the log can get backed up with meetings if it isn't maintained.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Matt M.

good hardware and software. cloud service is expensive

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

ease of use

Pros

ease of use. the software is easy to use for the end user. the software for the administrator is acceptable.

Cons

cloud software is WAY to expensive. cloud software is thousands of dollars a year. competition is few $/m.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10
Aj B.

We use it for staff meetings and tele-medicine.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

When working, the quality is amazing. I like that so many aspects are controllable through remotely.

Cons

It is not compatible with other agencies who use different equipment - and thus has limited use in our field.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Verified Reviewer

the best way to be connected

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 04/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

very useful in a world company and the best way to be connected and be in different places at the same time.

Pros

high quality video connection and very easy to use.

Cons

the software support is very hard and we need to solve by ourselves.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Andy D.

Good quality and exceptional service

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 16/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Most of our Doctor services are done via video conference and most of our crisis services are now done via video conference.

Pros

Being cloud based is a big plus for my company and the ability to assign licensing by user and not machine.

Cons

The UI is a little cumbersome, trying to teach a new user how to navigate around it for the fist time can be a chore.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

LifeSize: A Product for Video Conferencing

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 24/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I am using Lifesize video conferencing in my office. It is very useful for making video conferencing with its user friendly features. The programme can be recorded for future use. Also it very easy to share with the network. The clarity of the audio and video is good. The presentations using PC and smart board could also be shared in the conference presentation.

Pros

It is easy for operation. Audio and video clarity is also good. It supports for multiple screen display.

Cons

Initial set up is very complicated. If it is needed to change the system location or if the settings are changed due to internal problems, it is very difficult to set up again as a user. The support is always needed for this kind of problem. Once the set up is made, as a user it is very easy to use.
It needs a public IP for connecting the remote user. Hence, it is not suitable for individuals but for an institutions it is the best.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Derrick C.

Excellent system that even the C-levels can use

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 19/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Corporate wide travel went way down which is exactly what we were looking for in a product that has clean video and voice for a reasonable price.

Pros

The integration with the library of available conference rooms and users makes it very easy to use. the app for mobile devices works every time and still has full features for muting video and /or audio as needed.

Cons

"Needs" updates a little too frequently. Would be nice if they rolled out patches less frequently unless there is a security concern.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Jonathan K.

Video Conferencing like being in the same room

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/08/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We have to meet with people in different timezones at various places ( home, office, travelling) with Lifesize we have the tools to catch up.

Pros

The ease of use and the easy way to schedule video meetings with the app or software. I use it to keep in touch with my colleagues oversees. Just schedule a meeting and use the 6 digit code in the meeting room that you want to use for the call. Very good audio and video quality

Cons

The user interface can be better and more attractive to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10