GitLab

4.6 (1,098)
Write a Review!
Complete DevOps lifecycle management

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(1,098)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

1098 Reviews

Adam
Adam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Extremely powerful and robust Git repo solution.

Reviewed on 11/02/2021

My experience with Gitlab has been great. It's become my main repository solution and I've even...

My experience with Gitlab has been great. It's become my main repository solution and I've even migrated my Github repos to Gitlab.

Pros

One of my favorite features is the GitLab's feature flags. It's really easy to setup and associate with issues. Additionally there are a ton of client libraries for different platforms that make it easy to integrate into existing applications.

Cons

Gitlab has CI/CD features that I would like to use to automatically build and host composer packages and nuget packages, however it's difficult to setup and understand and I've found the documentation lacking.

Lilantha
Lilantha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

GitLab Review

Reviewed on 26/09/2019

GitLab resolved our version controlling problems, code review problems. It helps to maintain our...

GitLab resolved our version controlling problems, code review problems. It helps to maintain our code standards very easily. We can setup It on our local server also very easily. It is free anyone can try it.

Pros

GitLab is a superb source code managemanet provide. It is free. We can install it in our privet server also. As well as we can use their server with a free account. We use git for version control. GitLab provides awesome support for version control. It is a very easy tool. Anyone can use it very easily If someone has no more knowledge about versioning but He can use GitLab very easy. We can maintain our Repositories/Branchers. User access level also there. Currently, We use GitLab. We maintain feature branches, dev branch, and master branch. Everyone does not allow to merge code to the dev branch. If someone add merge request to the dev branch, our one-person review code and merge. Then we use GitLab it is easy for us. GitLab provides superb dashboard it very easy to review code. It shows all code changes with file by file. Easy to compare. As well as we can compare two branches vary easy. It provides a clear, unique, user-friendly dashboard. GitLab also supports CI/CD process. It's superb we can recommend for anyone. If our commit has some conflict it shows how to resolve that step by step.

Cons

When I add a new commit. If the file is large/have many lines. It not showing code changes directly. It shows a message file has many lines cannot show changes that kind of message. Sometimes when we compare two commits. It not more clear. Some times confusing. If I show some file history only show commits. not showing code changes by commits. We want to go and check every commits to show changes.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

It's free. We can setup on our local servers. It provides an easy, powerful, clear, and userfriendly dashboard. Its same thing wants for version control. Its there on GitLab.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Source control is made easy with gitlab

Reviewed on 22/10/2019

We need to control our source code. We need to know exactly who has changed what line of code at...

We need to control our source code. We need to know exactly who has changed what line of code at what point. And git, nice though it is, needs a GUI. Gitlab provides us that GUI.

Pros

The software is stable.
Updates come out regularly.
SSO integration with our AD is very nice.

Cons

We are using gitlab not only for our source code, but also to control the configuration of all of our servers and firewalls. It would be nice if we could schedule scripts on gitlab to run automatically. We are now 'abusing' the pipelines for this purpose.

Alternatives Considered

Helix Core

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

It's quite unfair to compare gitlab to visualSVN. Gitlab is an integrated issue tracker and source code management system.

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

The staff just wanted to use git and gitlab. We did not want to host in GitHub since we want to be in control of our own data.
Deepak
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best tool for source code repository

Reviewed on 25/03/2024

Pros

Easily manage the versions
Able to create ci/cd pipeline

Cons

Na.

Gregory
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

A good product if you stay within its limits

Reviewed on 09/01/2024

I would not choose Gitlab over Github if I have a choice because the CI system on Github is better...

I would not choose Gitlab over Github if I have a choice because the CI system on Github is better and so many people know how to use Github that it's just a better place for open source software I believe. If I am working on closed-source software and Gitlab has already been selected then I wouldn't object, it'll get the job done well.

Pros

I like Gitlab in most ways. It has great task management that integrates well with code changes. As a Git server, it does everything you need. It's relatively easy to administrate. If you stick with the well-supported features then Gitlab will serve you well.

Cons

The technology is showing its age and can be frustrating to use. Integrating custom runners can be shockingly painful. I have run into UI bugs that allow tasks to be run before their dependencies are met which has caused serious release problems. Designing pipelines without a system like Github actions is incredibly fiddly and error prone.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

The choice of my employer, made before I joined the team

Switched From

GitHub
Erle
Erle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

An excellent Source Code Tool

Reviewed on 05/05/2023

Quite happy with it. Coming from a very strong technical background myself, there were the usual...

Quite happy with it. Coming from a very strong technical background myself, there were the usual set of core features I was expecting, and it does those well. Plus, it allows me to have a good overview of things at a higher level (since I do know the tech stuff), without having to compromise the repository in any way. In brief, suits my needs well.

Pros

Does what one would expect from any modern code repository and does it with a great intuitive interface. This is often an overlooked requirement, which GitLab does very well. The interface is intuitive and allows the user to do their job with minimal fuss and just get on with it.

Cons

The commercial pricing tiers can be a bit on the high side, and it can add up with many users - which can be just a bit daunting for growing organizations, but it can be handled if properly budgeted. Also, at times it can be slower than expected, but it's a fairly minor annoyance in my experience.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

It offers a fresh new take on things, a great interface with good flexibility and the team were eager to move in a new direction.
Adolfo
Adolfo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Gitlab as a source code management tool

Reviewed on 02/12/2021

Gitlab has enabled analyst programmers to carry out a centralized versioning of applications. And...

Gitlab has enabled analyst programmers to carry out a centralized versioning of applications. And it has allowed us to manage the projects.

Pros

Gitlab allows us to have a centralized repository of the source code of the institution's applications

Cons

We would like gitlab to have greater integration with other tools on the market.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

It allows us to have an on-premise installation, instead of a service.
Shubham
Shubham
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

gitlab - aptly as they say that the world stores its code and provides features.

Reviewed on 02/02/2023

my experience has been a productive one.

my experience has been a productive one.

Pros

what i like most is that it is a integrated platform for web development and distributed version control system which powers superior developer experience.

Cons

what i like least is the security features which are inbuilt are confusing to configure during authentication and no analytics for pipeline tracking.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

For it's user friendly and it's easy to use in CICD.

Switched From

GitHub

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

For it's user friendly and it's easy to use in CICD .
Paul
Paul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Helped us to get our private repository center

Reviewed on 06/06/2020

Pros

Easy to install, easy to upgrade. Never encountered any bug or error. CI/CD easy to set up.

Cons

I never succeeded in installing ssl for it , maybe I missed something but that's not so important right now

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

You could install gitlab on a private server for free
Antonio
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

One in all SCM

Reviewed on 26/02/2024

Pros

This is a good solution for those who want an SCM that covers the entire life of software development, including task management.

Cons

Some aspects should be improved, such as task management or static code analysis.

Dennis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One stop shop for planning, development, and operations

Reviewed on 12/10/2019

Making it easier to build quality into the software development lifecycle without sacrificing...

Making it easier to build quality into the software development lifecycle without sacrificing speed. Let the computers do the heavy lifting of building and testing the changes. Bake in DevOps best practices by default.

Pros

Integration of CI/CD and Kubernetes for easily developing and running custom apps. Fantastic collaboration features like discussions, visual diffing. Some of this stuff you don't even get on desktop apps that charge big bucks. Frequent updates that inch its capability and usability forward. Good documentation. Wonderful community, welcoming atmosphere, pleasant to work with all the employees I've encountered.

Cons

Sometimes things break. When things are broken, sometimes it can take some time to be fixed, if you're not willing or able to fix it yourself. One of the consequences of such broad scope and feature development velocity. It would be advisable to keep another copy installed separately for testing updates before applying them to the live edition, if your IT has the capacity to do so.

Alternatives Considered

Redmine

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Nicer user interface, more frequent updates, larger community, more features. Helm chart deployment gets me all the things I need in my Kubernetes cluster to develop and deploy any and all web apps (or run existing ones).

Switched From

Redmine

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Everything in one, better user interface, open source
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A discrete item in your toolkit

Reviewed on 10/03/2020

It is easy to use and don't impose itself it's own way to proceed.

At some point gitlab.com had...

It is easy to use and don't impose itself it's own way to proceed.

At some point gitlab.com had big performances issues, it was very slow. Even posting a simple issue was a pain. Those issues got fixed and it is now very fast. In case of maintenance or temporary issues, they have a very transparent way of proceeding and we always receive alerts and/or post mortems.

Pros

You just forget about Gitlab. As it provide a whole devops toolkit, it integrates discretely in your workflow. It doesn't require training, and if needed for advanced use, it got an extensive documentation as any open source tool should have. The UI makes it easy to use without thinking about it. What you don't understand first, you'll find an usage if needed on day.

The fact it got integrated CI/CD is incredible. I am very reluctant to Docker technologies and wouldn't beat myself to deal with them, but I really like them the way they are integrated in the CI/CD: it makes possible to test the applications in a very efficient and simple maneer and improve the overall quality and security of my products.

Cons

What I really don't like is that, if it is possible do deactivate some feature of a repository because you don't use them, there are some that overload the UI and you cannot remove them because Gitlab use it as a way to make you upgrade to the next plan.

Corentin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Git Super powers

Reviewed on 25/01/2021

I enjoy using GitLab everyday, whether it's at work or at home. It saves me lot of time with its...

I enjoy using GitLab everyday, whether it's at work or at home. It saves me lot of time with its CI/CD and allows me to have my private projects hosted on my own servers which is a must in term of privacy.

Pros

GitLab is an awesome tool to use everyday. It is simple and easy to install on premise. The free tier is enough for any small business / team.

What really makes GitLab stands in front of the competition are its awesome CI/CD workflows. GitLab CI is incredible, you can do anything you want with it from building your sources, checking your code quality, deploying your projects... It is possible to make connections between various pipelines and have multiple repositories connected together to build your final "big" project.

Cons

Even if GitLab is simple to use, it's a big piece of software that can sometimes become slow on the web user interface.
Moreover the review system is sometimes not so easy to use compared to other competitors. Hopefully their are great browser extensions that solves this issues.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Needed better CI/CD.

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Free and open-source, easily host-able on premise.
Marc
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Customizable management system for any project

Reviewed on 24/02/2022

GitLab is overall a better alternative to GitHub and clearly suitable for experts who already have...

GitLab is overall a better alternative to GitHub and clearly suitable for experts who already have experience in versioning processes. Especially for academic processes, in which small steps are important, versioning through GitLab is easy to integrate into technical work processes. Likewise the adaptability to own needs is extremely simple by the CI. Particularly when it comes to the area of machine learning, for example, the registry or the CI enables the integration and management of trained models or, through the integration of GPU servers, the training of these without having to use a new platform such as Google Colab.

Pros

GitLab is easy to use and offers a versatile range of applications. GitLab can be used not only for software development projects. Especially in the academic sector, institutions can use GitLab to persist the respective work steps and research data, data in general, and workflows. Version control is particularly helpful in this regard, as it allows each step of a work to be traced, and errors to be undone directly without having to do a great deal of extra work.
In addition, GitLab can be customized and the respective instances can be easily transferred to one's own infrastructure. The development team is also always open to new ideas and actually incorporates them.

GitLab is therefore not only suitable for software development, but for any form of project in which it is a matter of the step-by-step tracking of work steps.

Cons

GitLab can be quite overwhelming. It is particularly difficult for non-experts from the non-software sector to get to know the processes of GitLab, as GitLab is less focused on gamification aspects compared to GitHub. Therefore, a high level of preparatory work and expertise is required in GitLab. Likewise, GitLab is often very technical, which is understandable, but it would be quite conceivable that especially in the area of testing and CI, modular principles, like for websites, would be conceivable and desirable.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Google Drive

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Compared to GitHub, GitLab is much more customizable and suitable for experts. Compared to Google Drive, the versioning principle is convincing. Google Drive as a pure data storage is insufficient for larger, more traceable projects.
Jörg
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A powerful foundation for any software development need, which is trivially self hosted

Reviewed on 28/08/2023

Despite my gripes with debugging and monitoring, GitLab is a mind blowing software offer with an...

Despite my gripes with debugging and monitoring, GitLab is a mind blowing software offer with an unbelievable feature set for a platform that is effectively free for many setups, not forcing a subscription or pro features by crippling its basic product but by providing additional value for paying customers instead of extorting users for critical features.

Pros

The pipeline system is by far GitLabs most important feature, though the extensive offering of supporting services such as project wikis, hooks and integrations make it a flexible control center for all needs of software development.

Cons

Debugging pipelines seems to be less than an after though, with minimal support and no indication of being in anyone's focus. Monitoring seems like a lackluster proof of concept released to the public, with many issues being ignored for years and all around extremely poor support unless the only thing you want to do is monitor the default setup for the default metrics in the default view.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Travis CI

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Stagnating movement, fragmented development, lack of project oversight/direction, and the wish to unify the different moving parts.

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Inability to host on premise
Istvan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Gitlab: A Feature-full alternative to Github

Reviewed on 06/08/2019

We are utilizing gitlab to handle our code versioning and our continous integration and delivery...

We are utilizing gitlab to handle our code versioning and our continous integration and delivery pipeline. This includes our whole workflow from writting code to building it, testing it and deploying it to production.

Pros

- Excellent UI that is easy to understand: many of our developers are migrating for the first time from other software (github, bitbucket) and a constant comment is that the ui is intuitive and easy to understand compared to previous software. The transition is always smooth.
- Feature-full product: Gitlab offers a variety of features that I have found to be excellent and of high quality. The code-review process in gitlab is always smooth with the ability to resolve or re-open discussions, address specific comments or the whole of the discussion, the ability to suggest and even apply and commit code from the ui is also a huge plus. The IDE is decent and the file editor is also decent. The CI/CD integration with gitlab runners is smooth, the notification system is great. I get an email whenever a test fails. All from the gitlab ecosystem, i do not need to go to circleCi or some other provider for all of this, which allows the ui and experience to be consistent.

Cons

At this very moment there is no feature or issue that I have found to be detrimental to my experience.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

At the moment of the switch, Gitlab offered free private repos. At the moment both Github and Gitlab have this feature; however, I would not switch back to Github due to the ecosystem i've grown accustomed to in gitlab.

Switched From

GitHub

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

At the moment, mostly private repositories. Over time, it became a matter of more bang-for-the-buck: more features, a friendlier Ui, more polished software.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The All-in-One orchestration tool for CICD

Reviewed on 11/02/2021

Overall, I am very pleased with the GitLab experience since it provides a single stop window for...

Overall, I am very pleased with the GitLab experience since it provides a single stop window for developers and admins

Pros

GitLab provides all-in-one capability for developers to do Source Code Management, CI/CD automation, Security and coding standards checks. Earlier we used to have separate tools for each of the above functions, but moving to Gitlab we now have a single stop-shop for all our Application Development and Automation needs. I see many other companies are trying to follow the gitlab methodology but gitlab is way ahead of the competetion.

Cons

Project and Portfolio management can still have improvements to provide Roadmap and Grantt views in future versions

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Moving to a single stop window instead of disparate tools

Switched From

Jenkins and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

GitHub has just started GitHub actions and will take at least a year to provide similar capabilities
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A must have tool for version controlling and software development process

Reviewed on 18/08/2022

GitLab is my everyday tool which I use for my course project management. I am really happy with its...

GitLab is my everyday tool which I use for my course project management. I am really happy with its simple and easy-to-use open source support.

Pros

Gitlab has features to set up project wiki, deployment, CI/CD pipeline and managing the project with role management with adequate space for personal projects.

Cons

The documentations are bit confusing and third party plug in integration is bit difficult and confusing.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Open source and easier to use.

Switched From

GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Gitlab is easier to use compared to GitHub and BitBucket.
Londou Jacques
Londou Jacques
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

GitLab one of the best code versoinnig tools

Reviewed on 03/05/2023

GitLab has a large and active community of contributors who help maintain and improve the platform

GitLab has a large and active community of contributors who help maintain and improve the platform

Pros

GitLabprovides a complete end-to-end solution for software development, from source code management and version control to deployment and monitoring. This can be very convenient for teams who want to consolidate their development workflow in a single platform.

Cons

One potential limitation is the complexity of the platform. While GitLab's comprehensive feature set can be a strength, it can also make the platform more challenging to use and configure, especially for smaller teams or organizations.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome Git Service

Reviewed on 02/05/2019

Pros

GitLab is a great place to host git repositories - for both private and commercial use. With its pretty and intuitive design, GitLab offers a great experience to work with. Collaboration is managed in a really great way.
Their pricing is also amazing: it's mostly free to use. We've had multiple private repos on GitLab for years now and haven't had any reason to upgrade to a paid plan so far.

Cons

GitLab's customer support team is really slow at responding to support requests. However, since I'm on a free plan, that's okay and I think they probably allocate all of their support resources to their paying users - and that's totally fine.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

We first hosted all our repos on Bitbucket, but GitLab allowed us to add more users to our repositories for free. It also offered more integrations such as Sentry which was a big selling point for us. GitHub didn't offer free private repos at the time which was the main reason we went for GitLab instead.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very solid Git server

Reviewed on 18/07/2019

Very satisfied and will consider it also for the next professional projects.

Very satisfied and will consider it also for the next professional projects.

Pros

The installation is pretty straight forward and easy. It's the only free git server solution I found that offers LFS support. We started our project without the support of Git LFS but as the project grew, we had to find a solution and transfer our repository to an LFS ready server. GitLab offered the perfect solution, allowing us to keep our existing SSH keys for authentication, existing LDAP users and transfer our existing project pretty easily. Since then, we never ran into issues and the server is running smoothly since the first day.

Cons

The server is based on RoR so it's heavier than a simple Git Server. You need to make sure you have enough resources to get it to run properly.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Git

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

SSH authentication + LFS, installed on our own server.
Damian
Damian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GitLab is the best for its CI

Reviewed on 10/06/2019

Pros

GitLab CI is by far the most valuable feature of GitLab. Travis CI was the first one to offer a YAML-file based build system - but it's GitLab CI to make pipelines very flexible and expressive. While Travis was okay for most popular languages in open source projects. GitLab made it possible to run enterprise-grade pipelines with many stages, each having multiple simultaneous jobs. This, plus git repository, Docker registry, and several other tools, making it a complete solution - starting from an early development cycle, through build, to deployment and monitoring thereof.

Cons

Several pages perform bad, e.g. pipelines list in big projects. Some pages don't have search and sorting. These are minor issues though.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Lack of proper, tightly-integrated CI.

Switched From

GitHub
Piotr
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best git management tool on the market

Reviewed on 24/08/2022

I was using GitLab for a year and a half and I have to admit that it was the best git management...

I was using GitLab for a year and a half and I have to admit that it was the best git management tool I ever used. Everything that is needed by the user is already built-in. CI/CD is handled brilliantly and can be quickly set up without a lot of training before. The whole app is intuitive and easy to use (especially if a user has some experience with similar apps). Documentation is big and contains not only facts but also examples, which allows saving a lot of time during debugging or introducing new functionalities. GitLab is well known around the internet, so community support is also good. If a user has some problem, it is probably resolved inside documentation or in one of the web forums. The flexibility of GitLab is huge. It can be easily adjusted to a company's needs without any problems. Processes may be set up differently in various projects and integration between them is almost seamless.
On the other hand, the price per user is quite high, especially on better plans, so GitLab can quickly become expensive in bigger companies. The second disadvantage is that some less-known tools cannot be integrated with the app. However, the list is being extended and devs are listening to a community so the more some app integration is needed, the more likely it is.
In my opinion, GitLab is the best git management tool I ever used - particularly because of CI/CD. If you can afford the price, it is worth it!

Pros

A huge number of features.
Intuitive and easy to use.
Extensive documentation and good customer service.
Flexibility of customization.

Cons

It can become expensive, particularly if the company has many users.
Some less-known external tools cannot be integrated.

Martin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Cheap source code management tool

Reviewed on 21/02/2023

Perfect choose if you need cheaper and open-source source code managing tool.

Perfect choose if you need cheaper and open-source source code managing tool.

Pros

The most important feature is source code managing tool. App provides interface for GIT client. Creating a merge request is easy and you don't need to use console, it is possible to achieve this goal also on mobile! Another most important feature is CI/CD integration. Gitlab provides its solution to do this. You can define configuration and run tasks on GitLab runner, which can be easily installed on any server.

Cons

It provides a less functions than other software and a UI is a bit non modern.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Cheaper product.

Switched From

GitHub

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Cheaper product.
Noel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful version control with a confusing UI

Reviewed on 13/10/2020

Overall I have enjoyed working with GitLab. Our build pipeline was very customized so that it...

Overall I have enjoyed working with GitLab. Our build pipeline was very customized so that it matches the exact process we wanted, and when there is a build issue, the problem is easy to identify and correct. The UI is a bit cluttered and unintuitive but it just takes a bit of extra time to get accustomed to.

Pros

Gitlab has been a great collaborative tool for us which allows for very customize-able build pipelines and easy issue tracking. The ability to add comments to code snippets and open up un-resolved threads allows you to stay on top of suggestions. Having to manually resolve those threads on your code comments before merge means that you are unlikely to accidentally push code forward without addressing those suggestions. There are also a good number of settings that allow you to control options such as how you want to handle merge commits, giving you complete control over your repository.

Cons

The main issue I have with GitLab is that the UI can be confusing and unclear. I am not a fan of the stacked diff view when comparing code changes. Compared to another version control system like BitBucket, I find it a bit more work to sort through the changes in a merge request. It's something you get used to, but initially is a bit unintuitive and less enjoyable.