Microsoft Lens

4.5 (248)
OCR solution for businesses of all sizes

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(248)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support
4.3/5

93%
recommended this app
Sort by

248 Reviews

Jim Paul
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Scanning Made Easy with Office Lens

Reviewed on 05/11/2020

Microsoft Office Lens is a reliable tool that provides scanning services for free but with maximum...

Microsoft Office Lens is a reliable tool that provides scanning services for free but with maximum quality. On top of all these perks, it's just a click away from your smartphone. I use it during meetings when I don't have with me my laptop, or at moments when I need to take a super clear shot on any document such as memos, announcements, or even receipts at supermarkets or hardware stores which I could use as a proof of purchase or for reimbursements.

Thanks, Microsoft!

Pros

Microsoft Office Lens solves the day whenever a need for crystal-clear scanning of photos or documents arises. It's the go-to application when you're out and suddenly feel the need for a handy mobile scanner, realizing that it's an application in your smartphone.

The tool is easy-to-use although the walk-through tutorial upon installing it is of great help too. The buttons' functions are simple yet so powerful. I use it a lot in scanning documents and taking snapshots of words written on a whiteboard.

It's also a recommended software for taking random shots whose quality are at par with those of other top applications out in the market, or maybe better.

Cons

The scanning feature is one of the best and it's so reliable when used. If I may suggest though, the focusing task is sometimes a little annoying especially if the correct shape or outline is not easily met. But overall, it's best at what it does which is performing like an actual scanning machine.

Ouattara
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A really great digitizing app

Reviewed on 19/02/2023

I sometimes use it to digitize visual media in order to obtain a high-quality rendering. You can...

I sometimes use it to digitize visual media in order to obtain a high-quality rendering. You can scan documents in high quality, convert handwritten text into digital text, and edit it in Word, PowerPoint, or Onenote. I highly recommend it

Pros

Microsoft Lens is a really great app. With Microsoft Lens, it is very easy to convert a physical, visual medium into a digital file. With a single click of your smartphone photo, you transform your visual support into an editable digital file. I like its scanning accuracy and its sharing and integration features with Microsoft Office applications. It integrates very easily with other Microsoft Office tools such as Word, Onenote, Powerpoint, etc. Or, with its scanning accuracy, you can simply keep the rendered file or share it. Also, it is possible to process a file already in its gallery to make it editable. Microsoft Office Lens is an application to try at least once

Cons

I have not had any particular problems with this product. I don't have any recommendations to make at this time

Jessica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Confusing Set-Up

Reviewed on 19/11/2019

Took months to get set-up all the way completed as there was an issue with the Microsoft customer...

Took months to get set-up all the way completed as there was an issue with the Microsoft customer service reps not being able to assist with set-up or integration. Very frustrating experience.

Pros

Microsoft is one of the world's leading software's, so it integrates with most other products nicely.

Cons

The customer service for set-up was awful, took weeks to get everything properly set up and the customer service reps don't seem to know what they are talking about.

Desala
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Microsoft Lens : A super application for scanning documents and materials.

Reviewed on 19/07/2023

I like how Microsoft Lens can effortlessly scan any written content.

I like how Microsoft Lens can effortlessly scan any written content.

Pros

I enjoy this application since it is simple to use, scans documents and photographs correctly, and allows me to effortlessly send to OneDrive or sharing with friends and family.

Cons

It may be difficult to set up, particularly in case that you maintain a private Microsoft account as well as a Work or School account (Office 365) on your smartphone or tablet.

Turan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Your Assistant in Your Pocket

Reviewed on 25/12/2022

Since the day I met, I can solve almost all my needs from a single point. I no longer need all the...

Since the day I met, I can solve almost all my needs from a single point. I no longer need all the physical equipment I need. one software and dozens of features.

Pros

An excellent app that works like a real assistant. Especially creating, editing, changing, rearranging the document record, getting the data you want from somewhere and finally getting it in the format you want according to your needs. Its mobile app is a convenience beyond perfection.* Instantly select an area and transfer it to your phone,* Cut the image, straighten it, change the resolution* A seamless translator with multiple language support* convert to pdf, word, powerpoint types you need* Instantly backup to the desired area or send to the specified destination* Ability to work like a browser* Retrieve, edit and republish data from a field* Applicable and manageable for all platforms,* Easy setup and management support* Free structure for mobile users* Ability to extract text from images* QR scanner feature* Ability to upload and modify ready-made documents* Awesome debugging software* OCR support

Cons

It must be integrated into Office365. In this way, it will completely eliminate the need for third-party software.

Esad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Streamline your workflow with the power of OCR in Microsoft Lens

Reviewed on 22/12/2022

The platform's OCR technology allows the users to accurately extract text from images and documents,...

The platform's OCR technology allows the users to accurately extract text from images and documents, and the platform's integration with other Microsoft apps, such as OneNote and Word, makes it easy to organize and share scanned documents and images. Microsoft Lens is a valuable tool for anyone looking to digitize and manage physical documents and images.

Pros

OCR allows Microsoft Lens to accurately extract text from images and documents, even in cases where the text is partially obscured or has unusual formatting. This makes it an invaluable tool for digitizing physical documents and converting them into digital formats, such as PDFs and Eod documents. The accuracy and reliability of the OCR technology are what make Microsoft Lens a standout tool in my opinion.

Cons

Microsoft Lens allows users to extract and analyze data from images and documents, but the visualization options may be somewhat limited. Adding more advanced charting and graphing capabilities could make it easier for users to communicate insights and trends derived from the extracted data.

Nihilkumar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MS Lens Review

Reviewed on 28/02/2023

Pros

One of the best scanning app that I have used. Once you login with your onedrive all the files that you scan will get synchronized and will be available in your onedrive which can be accessed any device with onedrive logged in.

Cons

It perfectly works for all my needs, I mainly use this for scanning the documents as PDF.

Prathima
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Simple tool for pdf conversion and good for microfot users only because has limited tools

Reviewed on 23/02/2023

overall i feel like microsoft lens is good for microsoft users only who need very simple pdf and...

overall i feel like microsoft lens is good for microsoft users only who need very simple pdf and document converter with minimal interface and with text editing and full text speech options.

Pros

the interface is very simple and minimal and has very limited tools though. the text extraction is good and the data capture and transfer is also very fast and efficient. the full text speech is also helpful and so is the text editing tool too.

Cons

there are very limited no of tools and personalization options. also the sharing options are even limited. the conversion to pdf has very limited tools which are so many when compared to other apps.

Lily
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very simple and straightforward software- useful for students of all levels

Reviewed on 18/04/2023

This is such an exceptional time saver. No more time needs to be wasted by mindlessly copying out...

This is such an exceptional time saver. No more time needs to be wasted by mindlessly copying out work from paper to digital storage

Pros

Very simple to use- just point at a sheet of paper and shoot and let the software do the rest. The software makes it easy to copy and paste the text to whatever document you like.

Cons

Sometimes taking photos or uploading photos of the textbook or printed work that you want to extract text from can be difficult. Sometimes the size of the image to extract text from can be difficult

James
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for receipts

Reviewed on 01/12/2022

Pros

I've used this for years for scanning receipts for expenses. So easy to use and create PDF to submit expense records

Cons

Can be a bit fiddly on documents with a border within the page, just takes some adjustment of positioning

Pavel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A removable scanner that is very practical to use and transport

Reviewed on 24/12/2020

Microsoft Office Lens has always been able to fill the gap when I needed a scanner at the office or...

Microsoft Office Lens has always been able to fill the gap when I needed a scanner at the office or on the road.

The application is very well managed despite some bugs that are still quite rare. I therefore recommend Microsoft Office Lens at 90% to scan all your documents in emergency or not as well as to scan business cards, flyers and other documents.

Pros

Microsoft Office Lens is a reliable tool that offers free but high quality scanning services.
In addition to all these advantages, it is available on your smartphone.
Microsoft Office Lens solves the problem whenever you need to scan photos or documents in a very clear and precise way.
When you are on the move and suddenly feel the need for a scanner thanks to Microsoft Office Lens you can scan everything you need.
The functions of the buttons are simple yet so powerful.
I use it a lot to scan documents and take snapshots of words written on a whiteboard.

Cons

Despite all these advantages, Microsoft Office Lens also has some drawbacks such as a loading time that is sometimes too long.
Or the difficulty to scan the entire document even if it works well most of the time.

Albertus
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My thoughts on Microsoft Office Lens

Reviewed on 12/01/2023

Scanning images and documents is made easy with the Microsoft lens. Nevertheless, it can be...

Scanning images and documents is made easy with the Microsoft lens. Nevertheless, it can be challenging to manage a large number of scanned documents.

Pros

The scanned photographs have excellent quality. While snapping the picture, the app can display the cropping area. They don't reveal the crop area while taking the picture; they only do so subsequently. A preview of the final image can be seen by displaying the crop area while the image is being captured. The crop area can be automatically detected, which is superior to many other programs.

Cons

There is no choice to simply choose a few images and export them as a PDF. I was unhappy with the way the scanned files were managed. It is challenging to scan a large volume of pages, likely multiple pages.

Alejandro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A completely free sw to store images of important data like blackboards, documents and pictures

Reviewed on 24/09/2019

Excellent software to take quick pictures and share as professional documents and scans.

Excellent software to take quick pictures and share as professional documents and scans.

Pros

Absolutely free, no need for Office 365 to use it. You just have to have a normal outlook or live account. Or a Microsoft account. Great alternative to AdobeScan and CamScanner.
Automatic recognizance of documents, blackboard, pictures and business cards to store it to the optimum quality.
Automatically fix the document angle in the picture to make it look like
Cut or fix the picture to the size you want. It uses snaps to easily and faster image cutting.
For business cards, the infomation is extracted and can be shared as .vcf or store it in your phone.
All the pictures can be store in OneDrive as .docx (as OCR document), jpeg/png (in your phone gallery), .pdf, pptx, or in OneNote.
When saving to a document, the original and if it applied, the layers of the picture are saved.
For blackboards, the images are saved as picture and as drawings /stencils, so they can be copied and pasted to other documents or emails.
View the images saved in your phone and share.
Take pictures in bulk.
Change the resolution of the picture to take. By default it uses a medium resolution. Around 5mpx.

Cons

Sometimes slow but I can accept it because it is recognizing a lot of information in the picture, figuring out what is.
No document can be saved locally, only the pictures.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Most Well Known Word Processor Service: Microsoft Office Lens

Reviewed on 09/11/2020

Microsoft Office Lens was a requirement to use in college as it has Word Processor ability abs it...

Microsoft Office Lens was a requirement to use in college as it has Word Processor ability abs it is the only Word Processor service in the college computer lab. I used this service multiple times to create book reports and to write college English papers.

Pros

Microsoft Office Lens has a wide range of features to assist a writer. The word processor is very detailed and so much more easy than type writers, without delete buttons or cloud storage providers. The software lets you easily choose a template and format your creation. Within your creation you can choose font style, font size, font color and even change in mid paragraph within the same document or Word creation.

Cons

The cost of Microsoft Lens is the only negative aspect. It is only used if purchased usually within Microsoft Office Suite which contains multiple computer programs within.

marta
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

reliable mobile scanning app

Reviewed on 01/05/2023

also can scanning documents with handwritten notes or signatures.

also can scanning documents with handwritten notes or signatures.

Pros

A mobile scanning application that allows to digitize documents.I have found this app to be extremely helpful in managing and organizing important documents on-the-go.Allowing extract text from scanned documents and save it in editable formats such as Word or PDF.

Cons

is great for scanning and extracting text, but it may not be the best tool for extensive document editing.

Rajnish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best app for scanning and compiling documents

Reviewed on 24/11/2022

My overall experience with Microsoft Lens is excellent.

My overall experience with Microsoft Lens is excellent.

Pros

The thing that I liked the most about Microsoft Lens is that it can automatically detect the edges of a page in a photo, due to which it is extremely easy to crop out certain photos. This feature is unique and is not found in other scanner apps. Another thing that I liked is that there a many filters that can be implemented to images. Adjustments can be made easily even if photos were captured in a dark environment. Another good thing is that the files can be converted to a few forms such as jpeg and pdf in just 2 steps. Also, Microsoft Lens is compatible with other apps, due to which I can directly add the scanned files to cloud storage. Also previously scanned files can be modified easily.

Cons

I did not find any issues with this app.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microsoft Office Lens -

Reviewed on 10/02/2020

Pros

I have been using MIcroosft Office Lens for a long time and I am very satisfied. It is excellent to scan papers and documents in a fast way. It is really helpful and easy to use software. You can crop and edit your documents on the go and upload it on your cloud. I use it on a daily basis for my job and in personal life.

Cons

None. I like everything about Microsoft Office Lens.

Adriana
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love Microsoft Office Lens

Reviewed on 18/02/2020

I am saving my company a lot of time by using Office Lens. This is a very fast and easy way to send...

I am saving my company a lot of time by using Office Lens. This is a very fast and easy way to send PDF's.

Pros

I love that i could scan stuff very easily by just taking a picture it automatically crops it for me, and it's ready to go. Easy as 1 - 2 - 3.

Cons

Theirs nothing bad to say about this application.

Abhijeet
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Scanner on your phone.

Reviewed on 29/06/2021

I highly recommend office lens as the defacto software for its ease of usage.

I highly recommend office lens as the defacto software for its ease of usage.

Pros

Easy to use,
Auto selects the document area using AI
Colors are correct
Documents get almost zero glare even when using flash

Cons

It forces you to login into Onedrive every now and then.
Pdf can't be created offline.
A bit slow at times.

Chikadibia
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Scanner App

Reviewed on 20/02/2021

I have used and fell in love with this software that I find it difficult to pinpoint a thing I...

I have used and fell in love with this software that I find it difficult to pinpoint a thing I least like about it. Generally, the software has been wonderful and a time saver and stress reliever. I cannot remember the last time I went to computer shops for scanning.

Pros

Office Lens is the best scanner app I have used. It is worth 5 stars. The premium android version can copy out text from sheets, read text directly from scanning and save documents in pdf and other formats too.
This app is recommended for all students and office workers for best obtainable portable scanning without depending on traditional scanning machines.

Cons

It is difficult for me to find what I do not like about this software.

Fardos
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

easier than a scanner with a good quality

Reviewed on 28/07/2021

I used to scan all my documents using my HP scanned which is great but very time consuming to...

I used to scan all my documents using my HP scanned which is great but very time consuming to finish all my work, one day I downloaded Microsoft Office Lens and it was extremally easy to use, very fast and gave a pretty good scan !! (might vary with different phones and cameras).

Pros

The app offers a lot of features and I didn't need most of them, but I very much like the ability to pause the scan to modify or check the pic before moving on, the algorithm that detects the page is almost flowless and gets it right every time and the ability to change the colors and modify saturation and stuff was very usefull.

Cons

A lot of the scans were over exposed to light and the app even add more saturation making them hard to read, you can always turn off the automatic enhancements in case you see it messing up.

Yash
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

MS Office Lens Review

Reviewed on 30/05/2021

It helps create pdf's without the use of a scanner which is very convenient.

It helps create pdf's without the use of a scanner which is very convenient.

Pros

It's very easy to create different types of documents through this app (I have used it primarily for creating pdf's).
The app is very easy to use and saves the files within the app.
Files can easily be shared through all the options available in the phone, like WhatsApp, Gmail, etc.

Cons

The app is fine but the major requirement to create good pdf's is that the smartphone's camera should be good.
If the camera is not clean or isn't a good one, then the user will encounter problems relating to the clarity of pdf.

Ludovic
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very good pocket scanner

Reviewed on 18/04/2020

Scanning documents or paperboard is now very simple !

Scanning documents or paperboard is now very simple !

Pros

Microsoft Office Lens is very easy to use. It is efficient for scanning documents with a smartphone or to backup paperboard for further use. It is fully integrated with OneDrive.

Cons

No great defaults for this product. OCR function sometimes needs manual correction, but this is accpetable for this kind of (free) product.

Barış
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Life saver app!

Reviewed on 23/09/2019

Pros

As a worker in which paper works basically occupies half of the practical work you do, Microsoft Office Lens is a totally life saver app. It saves lots of time of your scanning stuff and never let you down. The quality of the PDF files it produces are always great. Lastly, it is such a good thing that the app is not forcing you to put watermarks on your scanned pictures in every mod like other similar apps in market.

Cons

First of all, the editing options are limited in this app. There should be more editing features on the pictures you scanned. Even the brightness is prefixed. Also, there should be saving option to google drive as well, not everyone is using the same cloud.

Haley
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Service

Reviewed on 10/12/2019

I loved using Microsoft Office Lens because it really helped increase my overall productivity at...

I loved using Microsoft Office Lens because it really helped increase my overall productivity at work throughout the day.

Pros

I loved using Microsoft Office Lens. I recently switched to a new service due to company policy but i really prefer Office Lens because of the diverse array of options for completing activities throughout my day.

Cons

Like many Microsoft products, Office Lens is not always compatible with Mac or Apple products. I often experience logouts or glitches when working on my iPhone or Mac computer.