Amazon Aurora

4.6 (9)
Relational database management system for MySQL & PostgreSQL

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(9)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Support
3.8/5

100%
recommended this app
Sort by

9 Reviews

Ajmal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best RDS Solution

Reviewed on 05/04/2020

If you are looking for a best solution in cloud or hybrid environment, go for it.

Pros

Amazon Aurora is a wonderful Relational Database Solution in the AWS Cloud, it can provide you with up to 15 read replicas, it is amazingly server-less. You don't need to worry of capacity and performance.

Cons

It is a bit expensive as to the other available solutions, but considering its features it is a good choice.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Aurora - if you're on RDS, you should definitely give it a look

Reviewed on 29/05/2022

We had been on RDS for a number of years, happily running mySQL, when Aurora came out. The timing felt good: Oracle was just about buy mySQL (I think - not 100% sure on timing), so we were already feeling a bit edgy about what future support for mySQL was going to cost. It was hyped as a cheaper, faster alternative to mySQL -- and once we dipped our toes in the water, we discovered that's pretty much exactly what it is. We run a number of enterprise-class websites on an RDBMS backend, and we migrated from mySQL to Aurora within a few weeks. It was as simple as running database dumps, importing them into Aurora, and changing the pointers. Really. The interfaces are all identical, we didn't have to change any code at all (except for one thing -- see below), and once we cut over, it just worked. Which is basically what you want from your database. I'm very happy we switched over, and honestly, I still just kind of think of our database as mySQL. I use mySQL GUI tools to connect to it, write regular mySQL SQL queries to interact with it, and everything else just feels like the mySQL I grew up with. Only it's significantly cheaper, and feels faster. Win. The only caveat: there was one plugin we had in our mySQL install (it was a thing that let you do Levenshtein distance calculations) that was incompatible with Aurora. The plugin didn't exist. If you have a SUPER customized mySQL setup, look into whether Aurora supports all you do. But for us we never looked back.

Pros

* Pretty much a one-for-one swap with mySQL, only faster and cheaper
* Not any learning curve
* Super reliable

Cons

* If you have a seriously customized mysql installation, there may be some plugins that don't work

Alternatives Considered

MySQL

Reasons for Choosing Amazon Aurora

Amazon offered Aurora to us at a significant price discount on our RDS mySQL install, and claimed it would have (which it did) performance improvements as well.

Switched From

MySQL

Reasons for Switching to Amazon Aurora

Aurora delivered on its promises: almost 100% compatibility with mySQL, super reliable and stable, cheaper, and faster.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Cloud Database System

Reviewed on 16/09/2022

In a project I did as part of the AWS course I took, I pulled tweet data from Twitter and saved it to the AWS Aurora database. I performed sentiment analysis by taking the data from the database and saved the results back to the AWS aurora database.

Pros

It is a very good feature that the application is cloud-based. You can connect remotely and run a query with many software languages. It is also quite simple to create the database and the machine. You can increase or decrease the hardware features at any time.

Cons

Amazon Aurora charges per hour worked because it is Amazon's web service. The fare here may seem a bit expensive. The cost of this system should be compared with the on premises system and should be selected accordingly.

Kayes
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

MAke Services Esier

Reviewed on 17/07/2020

Pros

everything on one platform thats the most amazing things.

Cons

Hard functionality. find out other option is hard

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

No concerns for speed or our SLAs

Reviewed on 29/06/2022

Years ago, as our product and userbase grew enough that basic RDS wasn't cutting it, our IT team was surprised at how affordable the move to Aurora was, considering all the improvements. We've never looked back and don't have to spend nearly any working hours on scaling, migrations, and backups. We couldn't do what we do with out it.

Pros

The reliability, speed, and ease of scaling that Aurora offers are unmatched at their price. RDS was great when we started out, but with our software's growth, moving to Aurora was an easy decision.

Cons

The software has pretty much checked every box we have for managed database solutions. The only *ding* they get is for some often slow support response times/solutions.

Alternatives Considered

Amazon RDS and Cloud Management Platform

Reasons for Choosing Amazon Aurora

Growth. They managed our AWS Linux (EC2) instances for a while, but we had to make some staff changes. With very little effort we saw how RDS/Aurora would take the load off our crew and also give us better scalability and reliability.

Reasons for Switching to Amazon Aurora

Throughput became an increasing concern with the growth of our product and our staff. Just having to not worry about keeping staff to just babysit and manipulate our EC2 instances meanst our time and money would both be better spent improving our software.
Trent
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Solid basis for any cloud database needs

Reviewed on 24/03/2022

I've enjoyed my experience using Aurora. It's a really nice database system and supports both MySQL and Postgres, which is a plus. Connecting it to EC2 is really easy by just making sure the security groups are happy. I like it and plan to use it a little for my own personal projects.

Pros

- Support both MySQL and Postres
- Available in both serverless and server-based varieties
- Easy to connect to via EC2 instances

Cons

- Reading/writing via external (i.e. not on AWS) applications is.... difficult. At least, it took me a while to figure it out. Maybe I was doing it wrong though.

Lonwabo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

How easy it is to use Amazon Aurora?

Reviewed on 18/06/2022

Keeping all my data is the best thing that it has done for, i have lost somedaya before but now i know it's safe and i can store it and recover it if lost.

Pros

Amazon Aurora is a very easy to use platform to store data and transfer it, i like everything about it and mostly that is very affordable.

Cons

It hasn't been improved for a while there some features that are missing i just with they could add them like the storage size.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Awesome Relational DB for cloud

Reviewed on 16/04/2021

Overall great product.

Pros

This software is built for Relational DB for cloud, it is one of the best database engines out there. It gives high performance and reliability.

Cons

A bit costlier compared to other similar products, feels bit unpolished and clunky sometimes. The interface could be better, other than these no much cons.

Munir
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great managed remote desktop services by Amazon

Reviewed on 06/06/2022

Pros

The best part of Aurora is that it is managed, which makes everything easier for setting up. The data is encrypted which helps the data to be secured completely. It is way faster than other databases such as Oracle.

Cons

It's not user-friendly which makes it difficult to use at the beginning. The support is not the best when compared to others in the market.