Cisco AnyConnect

4.6 (919)
Virtual private network (VPN) to secure remote access

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(919)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support
4.4/5

94%
recommended this app
Sort by

919 Reviews

Bruno
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best and most stable VPN solution I've used so far

Reviewed on 29/10/2020

My experience with AnyConnect has been great and it really helped me a lot during this period when I'm working from home, but I need to be connected to the company's secure network to be able to access the internal tools.
I can work from anywhere, needing only an available wifi network and my laptop.
With just 1 click I am already in a secure connection and with access to all the internal tools I need.
Another extremely high quality software developed by Cisco.

Pros

AnyConnect is a very easy to use application.
Its configuration and usability are simple due to the clean and intuitive interface.
I can connect with the security of an encrypted connection from any internet network with just 1 click.
The application does not disconnect easily, which allows you to work smoothly and without connection problems.

Cons

I can't see any weaknesses from the user's point of view.
If I had to point out something, it would be about the very few times that the application disconnected during use and did not issue any alerts, however this has only happened to me 1 time so far.

Ravinder
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Cisco AnyConnet - A reliable and safe VPN service

Reviewed on 28/04/2020

We are happy with the product so far. Work from home and from client locations has become an easy task with this software.

Pros

We use Cisco AnyConnect to connect our office laptop to the corporate network so that we can access corporate network sites and servers without any hassle while working from home or any remote location at the client site. It is easy to set up a VPN service and the connection is reliable and secure. Using this tool, our IT system can track endpoint behavior in a better manner. The tool provides security against viruses, malware, rogue websites, and other online threats. It can easily be integrated with other 2-factor authentication tools to provide enhanced security. Installation and configuration of the software are easy and user interface is quite simple to use.

Cons

The prices are on the higher side, but the tool is worth the investment. Other features such as one click-connection, storing login details would be advantageous. It shows error in connection sometimes.

Lee
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Horrible software package -

Reviewed on 09/06/2020

Horrible. This will loose connectivity constantly and go in to a lock up into a loop that requires shutting down / restarting to close it. No other method can close it. This is the same problem for the most rudimentary user to the Tier 3 help desk personnel.

Pros

Simple. Otherwise, nothing. Oh, so have to say something good apparently. It is simple and utterly for many of us.

Cons

Simple, very poor at maintaining connections. When it loose connection and attempts to log back in, typically it locks up or spins into oblivion. Using it on government computers connecting to government servers it definitely not a good situation, but this vpn is horrible - again horrible. Any other VPN should work better for whatever your use is. It is shameful to have sold such a HORRIBLE piece of software to anyone including the government.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple and powerful VPN tool

Reviewed on 29/06/2022

It's a great and powerful tool for VPN in a professional environment.

Pros

I have been using AnyConnect since I started working remotely due to the pandemic in March of 2020. I never have had any issues with it. It is fast, the UI is simple and straight-forward. It just works. It works with DUO 2-factor authentication which is great.

Cons

For my case specifically, I have to re-connect every 24 hours, which can be a little annoying because I tend to leave my work computer on during the work week so I don't have to re-open everything where I left off. If I get disconnected from the VPN, it will exit out of all of my windows explorer windows so I have to be aware of that before I stop working for the day that I don't forget any windows I left open.

Scott
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Effective protection for remote PC's

Reviewed on 29/06/2022

I have had very good luck and am able to safely use public wifi with this product. I like that I can safely log in and then use local laptop software in public places without the hacking threat on high!

Pros

We primarily use AnyConnect to enter our network from outside the company firewall. The tool creates a secure VPN link to allow us to work remotely or in a public place with safety to prevent bad actors from gaining entry. It is very easy to use, which is important because it is deployed to all users carry laptops.

Cons

Really it works nearly every time I use it, and I have never had a security breach while using the software.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Vpn Secure

Reviewed on 09/08/2022

I can say that I am quite satisface with this product.

Pros

I like the fact that it reconnects automatically if the signal or the network went down. I also like the fact that it remembers the Networks that you logged on.

Cons

When I was hired at the company that I am currently working for I had a lot of issues in the sense that it got connected and disconnected over and over again. I found out that it was a very unsual issue: my router was not compatible to the Anyconnect. In the end I had to reconfigure the router in order for it to work.

Christopher
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Telecommuting made easy

Reviewed on 14/07/2022

Pros

With Covid forcing a lot of our staff remotely, this gave us the opportunity to connect remotely to our secure networks. This enable us to work seamlessly from our homes or our work PC's. We felt safe using this product no matter how sensitive the wok flow was.

Cons

There is sometimes an issue where the the software states it is connected but it would force you back to the login screen. After a 2nd login in seems to work as intended.

Alex
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Gets the job done, still learning

Reviewed on 28/07/2022

Overall I've had no issues with this.

Pros

It's easy to use once you get set up and is fairly easy to use.

Cons

It's hard to set up and can be difficult to use when you first use this.

Razvan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very good

Reviewed on 12/05/2022

Used daily, very useful software for what it does.

Pros

That will keep you a safe connection, without interruption.

Cons

I like the software, I didn't have any issues using it.

Kuldeep
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

It was a best VPN I ever used in past

Reviewed on 12/03/2023

Pros

After the successful installation, it starts automatically while windows starts. No need to find from windows search, it reflects in shortcut panel near the battery icon.

Cons

In my organization, we switched to the other VPN because it still runs with some old configuration.

jimmy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Cisco AnyConnect review

Reviewed on 30/05/2021

Cisco Anyconnect is pretty easy to install on OS image and push through manage engine(deployment software).

Pros

Cisco AnyConnect works pretty well with Cisco Firewall/VPN . It has a pretty trusty interface with easy client deployment and push updates. It also works on MacOS. That is a plus.

Cons

Cisco AnyConnect typically matches the firmware version of the firewall It forces IT to deploy a new client version when the FW firmware is updated.

Alternatives Considered

FortiClient

Reasons for Choosing Cisco AnyConnect

Migrated the Sonic wall firewall to Cisco FW

Reasons for Switching to Cisco AnyConnect

We run a Cisco shop. AP, routers , switches and phones are Cisco.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Secure VPN connection

Reviewed on 30/01/2020

Cisco AnyConnect is the best VPN client out there. It is simple, safe and with a stable connection.

Pros

The connection to AnyConnect is simple, secure and stable. Unlike other VPNs, Cisco AnyConnect keeps the connection stable. In addition, it provides security for the company, through secure connection to the endpoints of the company's corporate network.

Cons

It is sometimes difficult to register the VPN client using the registration code received by email. This code only lasts a few seconds.

Gabe
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A solid VPN client platform for technical and non-technical alike

Reviewed on 06/02/2018

Enterprise-class product for VPN access to maintain productivity and security from remote or insecure network locations.

Pros

- Stable software that is polished and minimalist.
- Vendor-supported software; If you have problems, Cisco offers enterprise-level technical support channels for enterprise application managers.
- Apple/Windows support, with very similar feature and interface parity. Sometimes this is not the case for some cross-platform applications.
- Provide integration for multi-factor authentication (Duo, RSA, etc.)
- Flexible design to support multiple VPN profiles, should you need to manage multiple access profiles.
- Client software updates are automatically deployed from VPN servers to client end-point installs, making it a very elegant solution for non-technical and technical users alike.

Cons

- Successful and reliable VPN access is built upon a robust network and a VPN server configuration. Updates pushed to AnyConnect software provided by the company I work for have caused issues for users periodically. This is not necessarily the fault of Cisco AnyConnect, but rather, an issue with communication and coordination of changes between VPN support personnel and end-users.

If VPN personnel make changes to the VPN server infrastructure that impacts end-users, its important to consider when and how to coordinate those changes so as to minimize the impact and frustration to end-users.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Any connect vpn

Reviewed on 29/03/2020

I heavily relied on this software of multiple reasons. It never.let me down. If even worked well over my cell data connections.

Pros

The overall speed and simple setup for a end users connection. When using a VPN for IT needs I find this product is the most reliable for structure ad speed of the connection. I have used other VPN as well and have ran into issues with tunneling. But with this application it has been the less stress causing in the VPN world. Also running my applications from my pc via vpn connection on any connect runs just like you are connected to the original network vs VPN. No lag or delay.

Cons

The gui interface install on the user side could be a bit more user friendly.

Richard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Using Cisco Any Connect

Reviewed on 29/04/2022

This application is used every day, with just a few clicks.

Pros

This software is very easy to use with only a few clicks. I log in to work using VPN on a daily basis. I usually work from home, but I have used Cisco Any Connect when having difficulty with our network at work. There is some setup involved to enter the VPN, but that is relatively easy the first time using the application. I have also added additional VPN addresses which is also very easy. The current setup at work has multiple VPNs to choose from on a dropdown list.
The application is also easy for support to check and is easy for the user to check as well

Cons

Not this software but having to sign in every day. The current "clock" is set for 15 hours so there is basically no interruption.
If I am unable to connect to the VPN, I do not know if it is a specific connection to that site, or a problem with my Internet connection

Nathan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy, easy, easy

Reviewed on 08/01/2019

Pros

I'm not a firewall expert, but even I can get AnyConnect setup on a Cisco ASA 5XXX series in about an hour. It's a pretty straightforward process with lots of guides available. Installing it on the client is even easier, and the best part is that it's only two or three mouse clicks to get connected, so it's very easy to teach to an end user. The connection is rock solid, I've never had issues with connectivity.

Cons

Licensing anything with Cisco is confusing, and this is no exception. Even though I've done it several times, it still takes me more time than I'd care to admit to figure out the correct SKU for the software license I need. It's also annoying that many ASA's need to have a 512MB RAM stick installed before AnyConnect can be used. Configuring AnyConnect to use Radius is also pretty confusing for me, although this more a function of the ASA than AnyConnect.

Khan Nida Khanum
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good vpn client tool to connect to company network

Reviewed on 10/08/2021

Overall it is a good, secure and free vpn client provided by Cisco use by many organization employees.

Pros

It is a good vpn client that allows you to access company resources through vpn. It is easy to configure with minimal efforts. Most widely used daily to access any resources in company network

Cons

It is free software and easy to use. No cons so far.

Sean
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

CiscoAnyConnect for VPN

Reviewed on 26/11/2021

It's overall a good product and I have no complaints. I look at the bottom line: can I access the shared drives at work from home? It makes this possible.

Pros

My organization uses Cisco for our VPN services. They provide a very simple setup script which gives us all the setting we need. It works quickly to load, and is very reliable. I am a worker who like to do remote work when possible; having a VPN access is a lifesaver.

Cons

My biggest con of the software is that I would have no idea how to adjust settings if I needed to. I'm sure I could figure it out, but that aspect is not user friendly. It may be that our admins do not want to share that piece with general users. In an older version I could not get it to cooperate with my home printer. The latest versions have been flawless there.

Oleg
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing Product

Reviewed on 04/04/2022

Cisco AnyConnect is doesn't have any issues - once I connect in the morning - connection is stable till end of day. There are no differences in my computer performance - everything works as fast and secure as if I was in the office. This was not case at my past employments using different connections. Connection would often get lost, and would take a while to disconnect. It is also 100% secure.

Pros

Cisco AnyConnect is fantastic. I used a number of other software at my previous jobs for VPN connection, and they were always faulty, I would often loose connection every few hours, it would take long to connect, sometimes several tries, which could be very annoying if you have a meeting or a deadline.

Cons

I have not experienced any issues with Cisco AnyConnect.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Simple, Stable and Powerful VPN Software

Reviewed on 15/04/2021

The overall experience has been satisfactory for Cisco AnyConnect. There are not much issues apart from the internet speed drop. If your internet speed is good enough, the VPN software will work like a charm.

Pros

It is a very good VPN software. The connectivity speed is also good. You can securely connect to any of the VPN options available. It works very well when you have a closed organization network and want to connect to the company resources. AnyConnect provides various functionalities to connect to the internal network securely. The interface is also very simple and easy to use. It also does not take much resources of your system.

Cons

The most common issue about Anyconnect is the Network speed drop. The speed of your internet connection will drop significantly once you connect to the VPN. Apart from this there are not much issues. You need to have a good internet connection in order to use AnyConnect.

Arunabho
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A much needed app for working from home

Reviewed on 13/07/2020

Great

Pros

Once set up, it can connect to your office network at startup automatically and unlike vpn services, it doesnt toggle speeds.

Cons

Configuring the settings might be overwhelming with all the technicalities and no easy to use guide, but once its set up, its definitely well worth it.

Joshua
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

This product does an excellent job of connecting me to my work's WI-FI network.

Reviewed on 03/07/2018

Pros

What I like about this product is that it is a very "hands-free" product. What I mean by this, is that AnyConnect once installed and set up on one's PC basically does not require much tweaking or adjusting or essentially much manipulation when it is being used. It stores networks in its memory along with security details and connects automatically and quickly to those networks and only prompts the use when there are no recognized network connections available.

Cons

What I like least is the way that it disables the default network connection software. Sometimes when there is a network issue or a network connection issue, the computers standard network software is the best tool to use to troubleshoot network errors. With AnyConnect, it essentially hi-jacks any capabilities the computer's native network software has which in turn does not allow for troubleshooting unless Anyconnect is explicitly disabled. I would like to see this product work a bit more smoothly with a computer's native software and network settings, or at least for more popular operating systems such as those by Apple and Microsoft.

devaun
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Defacto standard for VPN works nearly flawlessly

Reviewed on 10/01/2018

just works. always, anytime, every time.

Pros

Compared to other Mac VPN packages I've used, AnyConnect is so easy. As a user, you can connect anywhere to get your work done. AnyConnect has never crashed, and is so reliable even if the internet connection is not. I rely on AnyConnect to get my work done and I truly appreciate not needing to drive into the office. I can leave work on time, and finish up in the evening after kids are in bed.

Cons

On VERY unreliable internet connections, AnyConnect will give the impression you are still connected when the connection has indeed gone done. It will sometimes be able to auto -reconnect your VPN, but not always. In those cases, you need to close and restart once you stabilize your wifi. (Move closer, etc.)

pradeep
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Average VPN software

Reviewed on 25/08/2020

Overall, I think this is an average software because there are many other better VPN software options in the market.

Pros

This software is easy to set up and use with a simple user interface for the everyday user. For an expert user there are advanced settings and statistics that can provide good details about connection issues in case troubleshooting is needed.

Cons

There are two issues I faced with this software:
1. If a connection is cancelled while a connection is being made then the only way to get the software working is to stop and start the anyconnect service again which is a pain in the rear.
2. When I go to a new location I have to select the new wifi connection - wish anyconnect would auto select wifi (known) connections.

Meliksah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The application that brings office network to my home and allows me work at home

Reviewed on 06/09/2019

What is to be expected from a VPN application? That it must have low delay and high bandwidth. That's pretty much it, no configuration or customization or UI is neccesary. The user needs a simple button and that's it and that's what AnyConnect offers just fine. I connect to company network to use our GPU Server even when I am at home and I don't feel any delay or lag at all. It does the job just great.

Pros

It provides low ping, high bandwidth, very simple yet job doer user interface with simple and single connect button. These are all I need.

Cons

There's nothing I dislike, it does the job just fine. There's something I had trouble with but it's about the other application rather than AnyConnect. When I used MS Office applications with AnyConnect, Excel sheets often crashed.