81 reviews

Mode

Cloud-based BI tool for data analysis and visualization

4.6 /5 (81 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
99%
recommended this app
81 reviews
Mario D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good for operative reporting but not as well as bi tool.

Reviewed on 17/12/2019

Small companies without any reporting tool is good to start.

Pros

Easy to use with technical background. Easy to run a queries analyze the results and built interesting charts to do some exploratory data analysis or follow some KPIs. Also is good subscription by email (or other methods) and great to use python to create some sophisticated analysis.

Cons

It's not easy to use for final user without SQL background. If you are looking for operative reporting or EDA is a good solution but if your final users don't know SQL and wats to do some analysis with data like: drag a drop dimensions measures from data mart and build their own analysis, use "drill down", use some sophisticated filters (or/and) or analysis to compare two sets of data,... it has a great way to go.

Sameer S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Query Tool / Embedded BI

Reviewed on 17/12/2019

We needed a centralized query tool, as well as a tool that provides BI capabilities. Mode provides both.

Pros

Security First - It's clear to us that security a primary consideration for all features they roll out
High Customizability - we are able to skin our reports as we'd like
Great Integrations - we post reports to Slack, via API, etc.
Usability - it's extremely easy to use

Cons

White-Label Feature doesn't seem to be a priority, as it doesn't get frequent updates

Oriol M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Ease of use, strongly recommended

Reviewed on 23/12/2019

Pros

MODE is very easy to learn and really helpful. Since we started using it we’ve been using more and more, making it a MUST for any single area of the company. Connecting to Slack and automating its reports allowd the whole company to know how the business is performing at anytime.

Cons

It would be much appreciated if heatmaps could be easier to implement.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

White Label Imbeds fit perfectly into our software.

Reviewed on 23/12/2019

Overall, it has changed our company. Internally, our teams have data pushed to them daily or weekly. Our end users have significantly more dynamic systems. And overall, our analytics stack has a very predictable cost structure. We love Mode!

Pros

We love Mode's ability to push analytics into Slack for internal analytics.
We also heavily use Mode's White Label Embed capability into our website. We are able to configure Mode's look and feel to be perfectly on-brand. Mode's analytics plug perfectly into our site.

Cons

Mode's Grid and Pivot grids still have a long way to go. We end up plugging DevExtreme into Mode - which accomplishes exactly what we need... but it's a lot of work. It would have been nice to have beautiful pivot grids and data grids out-of-the-box.

Mode also needs the ability to have triggers (only send this report if X>Y). Right now, Mode can only send on a schedule... but many of our needs are warning systems (if X<=0 then send an alert to this team).

Brett D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Mode Review

Reviewed on 26/12/2019

While there are some minor frustrations with using Mode, overall I've really enjoyed the product and would definitely recommend!

Pros

The user interface is intuitive and makes it easy to go from writing queries to creating dashboards.

Cons

1. There are glitches that can be frustrating.
2. There are certain missing features that would be nice additions.

Example glitch:
1. When going from a query to report builder, certain times the created dashboard visuals won't load, which requires a page refresh to make it appear.

Example additional features:
1. Ability to show or minimize all queries (i.e., show/hide the query & associated charts).
2. Ability to set a default color scheme for your account without having admin permissions.

Benson O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

December 2019

Reviewed on 16/12/2019

Overall experience has been great. Mode allows me to create a minimal viable product and share with colleagues and stakeholders quickly.

Pros

I like the Python Notebook. It allows me to wrangle data from many data sources and quickly share results with the rest of the company.

Cons

There may be memory limitations when using the notebook with underlying data sets.

Abedin S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Mode Review

Reviewed on 16/12/2019

A lot of analisys regarding our bussines

Pros

It is super easy to use you can create a lot of queries

Cons

the dashboard tools you can create visualisations the big number etc

Jennifer R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MODE IS GREAT!

Reviewed on 10/12/2019

I really enjoy using it! At my previous roles we had to find this data by ourselves so it speeds up my pre-call research.

Pros

It is so comprehensive. There are so many facets to mode that I am able to use in all of my sales calls. It gives me insights into my prospects most other sales reps do not have.

Cons

It takes too long to load all of the data, slowing down my day to day.

Trupti G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best UI used for SQL

Reviewed on 16/12/2019

Excellent

Pros

I love how user-friendly the environment is. It is used even by the non-techies in my company.

Cons

I wish graphs could be more flexible to use

Jennie W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tool for analyst of all levels

Reviewed on 18/12/2019

Very positive.

Pros

I love that [1] I could get started very quickly [2] easy to write sql queries [3] but have the option of adding more complex features to build cool dashboards.

Cons

The advanced features are cool, but it takes a lot of time to figure out how to use them. The Mode service team is really good at providing support, but you still need a lot of background to leverage the help they give you.

Chris E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Informative

Reviewed on 16/12/2019

Overall, it's a pretty great program. My primary use is to follow, NPS, CSTAT and Resolution rates as well as driver data

Pros

The ability to obtain cross function data from multiple locations

Cons

sometimes the amount of data entered returns less responses

Travis F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 19/12/2019

Fantastic

Pros

Very easy to use and gives a lot of useful information

Cons

Honestly not much. Its a great product that really helps with my job role.

Pamela V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I love Mode!

Reviewed on 16/12/2019

Pros

Straight forward to use. Easy to use. Can do a lot with it.

Cons

Sometimes it crashes but it's not that big of a deal.

Samuel A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Fund-Raising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SQL Editor + Python Notebook

Reviewed on 18/12/2019

I've used Mode to query our databases to investigate basic questions such as revenue generation from each stream of income, drop in user engagement, average cost of client

Pros

The User Interface and the fact that I can perform SQL queries and Python coding on the software are definitely a win. Especially considering the ability to use the query results in the python notebook without having to export and re-import tables.

Cons

The fact that it is an online product that I have to log in to each time I want to use it. It would be nice to use my terminal to launch it seamlessly after a first time log in.

Henry T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Simple analytics and BI

Reviewed on 17/12/2019

Pros

Simple to spin up and share new queries and insights.

Cons

Creating visualizations isn't straightforward, but I may have more learning to do

Makiko F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very good solution for quick and easy analytics

Reviewed on 16/12/2019

Pros

Ease of setting up the dashboard
Data visualization options are really easy

Cons

It's a bit slow sometimes in running large queries

Vern B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent Tool for Data Analysis

Reviewed on 20/12/2019

Pros

Easy-to-digest, multiple views of data.

Cons

Occasional difficulty with connecting into Mode.

Madison H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Mode Review

Reviewed on 19/12/2019

I think the software is great, it helps us show non-technical folks data.

Pros

Lots of visualizations to use, easy for non-technical people on our team to use it.

Cons

There is an issue with PDF exporting cutting off tables and visualizations and i have been asking for it to be fixed for almost a month now and no one has fixed it. It affects my ability to send reports to my co-workers, and that puts the software in jeopardy. If we can't show people in the company that it's great and functional we may lose the software

Roarke A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Mode Analytics - A Review

Reviewed on 19/12/2019

I started using mode with no knowledge of SQL or R and was able to learn some of the introductory information through DataCamp and online which has allowed me to get much more value out of Mode. The other platform we use is Metabase which is great for our Customer Care team because it does a lot of (if not all) of the heavy lifting for SQL queries. A few standardized queries or templates for queries might give less knowledgeable people the ability to get more value from Mode.

Pros

The ability to do queries in both SQL and R programming allow for dynamic data pulls. The ability to schedule reports is also very helpful for the different departments at my company.

Cons

There aren't a lot of holes in what Mode provides. I may not be as informed as I need to be but I often run into issue joining one SQL query to another SQL query.

Herman S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Amazing tool for a data-driven company

Reviewed on 17/12/2019

Mode is a very powerful tool for reporting and visualising insights. It has helped us make key data-driven business decisions in our first years of growth - without it we would be flying blind.

Pros

The UI is clean and simple. I was new to the world of Business Intelligence software and getting used to it was very easy.

Cons

It can work out quite pricey if you have a lot of casual/read only users.

Jeremy H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing tool for easily accessing your data

Reviewed on 16/12/2019

Pros

so easy to connect to your database and query your data. More recently, you can even use jupyter notebooks and write python scripts to easily join data from different databases. this is really helpful for our everyday work with data in different databases

Cons

Nothing, I love Mode and have been recommending it to so many people.

Justin M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great adaptable software

Reviewed on 16/12/2019

I use more to pull and clean data and to create dashboards. Though sometimes it is hard to get the software to do exactly what I want for the dashboards, with the help of customer service I'm usually able to find creative solutions to get to what I need.

Pros

Customer service is great. They get back to me with answers very quickly and are thorough in their responses.

Cons

Some of the built-in reporting tools (e.g. pivot table) are quite limited. For example, you can't create functions in the pivot table.

Ragnar G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A great tool overall

Reviewed on 11/12/2019

Pros

Once you learn how to use its features, it's very easy to use; building the reports, sharing them, and reading them

Cons

I sometimes have to refresh the browser to see the latest changes I made and make certain features work
The graphing options are much more limited than Excel's

Joseph C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Market Research
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Solid Software

Reviewed on 24/12/2019

Pros

The ease of use and comfortable UI makes using mode a breeze. It is a simple user experience and simple should not be equated with bad

Cons

Nothing in particular sticks out as something that is very bad. Perhaps it could be easier to create development tables

Madeline R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Mode

Reviewed on 19/12/2019

Pros

Mode is very easy to use, and it really helps with my day-to-day tasks and projects

Cons

There are some SQL features that aren't compatible with MODE, which has led me to do extra work to complete my queries that could be complicated if that function was available.