DaVinci Resolve

4.8 (205)
Video editing software for post-production processes

Overall rating

4.8 /5
(205)
Value for Money
4.8/5
Features
4.8/5
Ease of Use
4.0/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

99%
recommended this app
Sort by

205 Reviews

Cristhian Josue
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Davinci resolve, an oscar-worthy video editor

Reviewed on 01/09/2021

Davinci resolve, meets all my needs, it's a powerful editor that doesn't require a lot of effort to...

Davinci resolve, meets all my needs, it's a powerful editor that doesn't require a lot of effort to learn how it works, but it can help us to create very large projects, it's good, cheap, and powerful.

A great video editing software

Pros

Davinci resolve is not expensive, compared to other alternatives, this video editor gives us the software license and updates FOR LIFE, for a single payment, maybe the initial investment isn't cheap, but it will last forever.

This video editor has been used in great movies and projects, so it will undoubtedly help us to create the best version of our final cut, this video editor also offers us the opportunity to use a downgrade version with the essentials to create good montages.

Davinci resolve is an alternative that everyone should try at least once.

Cons

This being such a powerful software can have its disadvantages, Davinci is designed for video editing professionals, so it may be too much for you, if you are looking for a simple software, which only occupies to cut and paste video sequences, there are much cheaper alternatives that will meet what you are looking for, so I invite you to look for more basic video editors before buying this one.

Vladimir Azariel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

DaVinci Resolve, the all in one.

Reviewed on 02/02/2022

I started using DaVinci Resolve because I was starting to run out of space on my hard drive due to...

I started using DaVinci Resolve because I was starting to run out of space on my hard drive due to the storage being taken up by the software I was using and the size of the files they were creating. When I started using DaVinci Resolve I realized that I couldn't put it down again, and although I occasionally go back to using some software that I used in the past, it is true that DaVinci is superior in many aspects, and no, I am not exaggerating. It's easy to use, easy to implement and very, VERY cheap if you want to use the studio version, because yes, on top of everything, DaVinci has a very complete version that is FREE

Pros

In davinci resolve it's much easier for me to implement all the functions that I need to edit or create a video.
For example, whereas before I needed to "process" my video into montage, editing, colorization, and special effects creation using different programs, with DaVinci Resolve it's as easy as flicking from one tab to another.
Not long ago I made a 3D title in DaVinci 50% faster than I did using 3 or more programs.

Cons

To be honest, DaVinci is very close to being perfect, seriously, it even seems like such an unreal program because of the number of functions it implements.
Perhaps sometimes this software is limited since it implements functions that should be dealt with one software at a time, but with time and discipline it's possible to perfectly master the virtues and the few defects that may arise.

Alternatives Considered

VEGAS Pro, Adobe Premiere Pro and Adobe After Effects

Reasons for Switching to DaVinci Resolve

For the price compared to other software and because it had all the functions of these in a single presentation.
Stephen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

No way a novice can use this.

Reviewed on 07/07/2023

As I stated above: CATASTROPHIC FAILURE!

As I stated above: CATASTROPHIC FAILURE!

Pros

I have found nothing that I like about DaVinci Resolve. I can't figure out how to use it. It is very difficult to even attempt to do things with this program that I can easily achieve on Clipify. DaVinci sucks. May be great for pro's, but a layman...no chance.

Cons

EVERYTHING! Each thing I attempted to do ending in catastrophic failure. I lost videos. I mangled videos. Why is this so much more difficult that Clipify? I can upload, add too, edit, clip, finish and post a video in a couple of hours.

Mike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Davinci Resolve...there's no other choice

Reviewed on 13/06/2023

Absolutely fantastic. It can edit, design, and create alsmpt anything you can think of and for the...

Absolutely fantastic. It can edit, design, and create alsmpt anything you can think of and for the best price in the industry.

Pros

It's the most bang for your buck, its user friendly, it has a vfx studio built in with the Fusion tab, it has a full audio editing tab, and all withing the one program for only $299. It's outrageous that anyone would even think of using something else.

Cons

I wish the customer service as a bit more widespread and easy to work with but I've only had one experience and it wasn't because they weren't responsive, it was just the response was asking me to do code related stuff and It didn't make fixing the issue very easy but that was also 3+ years ago

Xorla
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best of both worlds.....amateur and professional video work

Reviewed on 27/05/2021

My experience with Resolve has been 110%. Around Resolve, I have been able to develop myself into a...

My experience with Resolve has been 110%. Around Resolve, I have been able to develop myself into a professional video creator to earn a second stream of income. And all the feedback I have ever gotten from clients about work I have done with Resolve have been positive. Finally, considering I have only worked with free versions over multiple updagrades, I really have nothing but praise.

Pros

Da Vinci Resolve is an extremely comprehensive product and offers an unbelievable range of utility and functionality. What I found most amazing was how intuitive it was. Unlike other professional video software, you don't get particularly overwhelmed on your first attempt if you've only previously worked with amateur software. The interphase is neatly designed to tuck away all the advanced tools and features just within reach as you progress, but not so upfront that you get overcome. Also, for a program whose free version far outperforms paid versions of its competitors, the amount of guidance resources and free tutorial material readily available is awesome.

Cons

The installation process can be quite tedious. They could improve it by automating the entire process. Available plugins for additional features could also be better packaged. But honestly, compared to how great the product is, I feel like these minuses are quite petty. Haha

Alternatives Considered

PowerDirector

Reasons for Choosing DaVinci Resolve

For my first try at semi-pro video production, I needed a software with more to offer than the very basic functionality of Movie Maker.

Reasons for Switching to DaVinci Resolve

The others had most of their sophisticated functions reserved for paid versions. And also, the reviews I read helped me make the decision to start off with Resolve.
Mersen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The BEST VIDEO EDITING SOFTWARE Money Can't Buy- IT'S FREE

Reviewed on 13/10/2020

Overall, I love it! It has everything a $0 film maker needs to put their creativity into fruition....

Overall, I love it! It has everything a $0 film maker needs to put their creativity into fruition. It gives small filmmakers like us a tool that professionals still use and that has never happened before. Minus the major movie stars, we're almost on the same playing field now. I've edited videos on it for 3 years and I don't think I'll be switching anytime soon- if I do it will probably be to the full paid version Davinci Resolve Studio.

Pros

Firstly, it's free. It has everything anyone would ever need to make a film. From sound editing to colour correcting, all the tools it provides are professional and easy to use. Did I mention that it's free? Another great thing about the software is that it actually uses your GPU. I also particularly like its trimming tools as I find that there aren't many free video editing softwares that give you the ability to make such precise cuts on a video. This is especially useful if you're a video creator who HAS TO cut 'that scene' at just the right moment else the whole film is terrible. Yes, I'm that video creator. Visual playback isn't too shabby either- it does lag sometimes but a feature called optimized media reduces that. Lastly, the thing I probably like the most is the endless options for editing the actual video appearance. You can zoom in on it, crop it, stretch it and keyframe each change to create an animated effect.

Cons

It's system requirements. The software needs AT LEAST 16GB of DDR4 RAM to run smoothly. I currently run it on just 8GB which is fine if you don't mind lag and random software crashes. Davinci Resolve also comes with the default settings for Autosave being off. I learnt that one the hard way. It also sometimes has problems with audio output, particularly when you use more than one output device (like headphones and external speakers). Sometimes it doesn't automatically change to the system device. Another thing I noticed is that, for some odd reason, it randomly outputs mono audio from a stereo audio file but this does eventually fix itself.

Sean
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best NLE you can get your hands on

Reviewed on 07/09/2022

Pros

Pay once model, no monthly overhead and free updates after that.
Far superior editing model compared to Adobe's clunk dynamic link.

Cons

Understanding some of the concepts of node based editing can be tricky at times, however once you understand that you're flying.
It can be a bit resource intensive.

Alternatives Considered

Final Cut Pro

Reasons for Choosing DaVinci Resolve

Pay once model, tired of endless crashing with Adobe products.

Reasons for Switching to DaVinci Resolve

If I moved to a Linux or Windows machine in the future I do not have to pay for another editing suite, with Final Cut I would be tied to a Mac.
Brendan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

DaVinci Resolve converted me from the Adobe CC

Reviewed on 25/08/2022

Resolve has just sped up my workflow and has also provided tools (the colour tab) to make my...

Resolve has just sped up my workflow and has also provided tools (the colour tab) to make my content look even better. I now only user Adobe for AE, but once Fusion is fleshed out a bit more, I can see myself spending the time to learn it and make the switch.

For a more detailed breakdown of features, read that section of the review.

Pros

- It's speed and performance in comparison to the competition
- Multiple application windows in the one application. Bouncing between areas is seamless
- The colour correction and grading. Nuff said
- The pricing. Production software like this IMO is a tool and not a service. I can't stand that if you stop paying for Adobe's CC, you get locked out from using the old tools that you've spent thousands on rather than just not being able to download future updates. Resolve's buy once and own for life is perfect, especially since you can also download almost the full program to use for free anyway

Cons

I don't really have any complaints, other than sometimes I have technical issues and rendering is sometimes impossible without corrupted artefacts. I'm running a fairly old graphics card (980ti), and it can be really frustrating when certain updates and fixes are relegated only to the new card architecture.

Klavs
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best free and the best paid

Reviewed on 15/10/2022

I'm really fond of Davinci Resolve, it contains everything I need and I love the workflow of the...

I'm really fond of Davinci Resolve, it contains everything I need and I love the workflow of the program.

Pros

The fact that it's free to use and you get a free studio license if you buy a camera, is just amazing. But the main reason for using this product is that they update it quite often and I my system doesn't get breakdowns.

Cons

The audio editing in Resolve is not as great as it could be. BUT for me the video editing is the most important. Non-movable windows within the program.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe Premiere Pro

Reasons for Choosing DaVinci Resolve

cheaper, easier workflow, ATEM switcher project workflow (makes my day)

Reasons for Switching to DaVinci Resolve

It's generally easier to work in Resolve with the Blackmagic ATEM recordings.
Guillermo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The simplest yet most powerful professional video edition software

Reviewed on 29/09/2022

I came across DaVinci Resolve in early 2020, during the pandemic. As an amateur musician and video...

I came across DaVinci Resolve in early 2020, during the pandemic. As an amateur musician and video editor I was able to produce very decent videos in less than a couple of days using phone video takes. The vast offer of tutorials and effects make it very easy to create nice results with minimum effort. Still use it. I don't regret have made the switch from Adobe to Davinci.

Pros

All in one. Easy to use, Intuitive, professional tools and effects, vast library of tutorial material on the web
Up and running in hours.

Cons

It is very difficult to me to find something that I dislike so far.

Ifeanyi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love - Hate with DaVinci

Reviewed on 15/09/2022

In spite of all the hangups, I love DaVinci resolve. It really pops when it gets going. The...

In spite of all the hangups, I love DaVinci resolve. It really pops when it gets going. The learning curve especially for subs like fusion can be very steep, but regardless, it's an excellent product.

Pros

It really is a full feature app with every conceivable video editing tool. But it's also power hungry and crashed way to often if the system specifications are anything but perfect.

Cons

Crashes so often once conditions aren't ideal. Stability is a major issue with DaVinci resolve.

Mohammed
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

it does half the work for you before you even start

Reviewed on 15/06/2021

For a startup project with sometimes unreliable cashflow, it helps to have resources we can access...

For a startup project with sometimes unreliable cashflow, it helps to have resources we can access for free but still deliver excellent results. And that is what DaVinci has been to us. Courtesy Resolve, I was able to quickly learn video editing and production. A skill which now allows me to produce our success story videos and partner engagement video content. Often from videos shot with poor cameras, but with Resolve, the finished product is always beautiful.

Pros

my personal favorite is the wide ranging LUTs available for use, even in the free version. With these freely accessible presets, I save a whole lot of time from not having to do the all the tweaking and adjustments manually. Additionally, I can make changes to existing presets and customize them to my own preferences.

Cons

What I dislike about Resolve is that the audio mixing and mastering features are quite limited. So I always had to do the audio separate before merging it with the video in Resolve. And the downloadable third party plugins have always ended up crashing my system. I wish they had more advanced audio features in the free stock version so I wouldn't have to rely on the third party sources.

Richard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Partially-Free Editing Software

Reviewed on 26/03/2022

Overall I really like this editing software because it is easy to use it and it gives you a very...

Overall I really like this editing software because it is easy to use it and it gives you a very high quality end-product. Also, the workflow is quite fast and smooth.

Pros

I strongly believe that DaVinci Resolve is the best partially-free editing software out there for the following reasons:
1) It has many free features.
2) There is no watermark on the export of the video.
3) Nice environment to work and and edit your videos.
4) Cool transitions.
5) Supports many formats of materials.
6) It has a one-time payment to buy the full program and is quite cheap.
7) Easy to learn it and many more.

Cons

The only think that I liked the least about this program is that when you hover over some Pro features with your mouse, a window will pop-up that says that this is the limit of free version and you have to buy the full version so that you can access this feature.

Milton
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful and free

Reviewed on 22/04/2021

It's been great, totally recommended. Effects, transitions and overlays that I never thought of...

It's been great, totally recommended. Effects, transitions and overlays that I never thought of doing in other applications.

Pros

I was looking for a powerful, professional and cheap editor. Incredibly I stumbled upon this totally professional recording studio app and it's free of charge. Professional controls that edit down to the smallest detail, multitrack, with multiple effects, transitions, etc...
Everything you want to edit a video and give it a totally professional look.

Cons

It has a slow learning curve and you must also have some prior knowledge of video aspects. You cannot come to this application from scratch.

Alternatives Considered

OpenShot Video Editor

Reasons for Switching to DaVinci Resolve

Having installed all of them, there was no doubt that the graphical interface, price and professionalism left all others behind.
Géovanny
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Davinci Resolve the complete and efficient video editing software

Reviewed on 15/02/2023

Pros

I find Davinci Resolve to be a very comprehensive and free software for video post-production. It offers an intuitive user interface and ease of use that allows for editing, color grading, special effects and audio post-production tasks. The color grading tools are particularly advanced and accurate, allowing for fine-tuning of colors. In addition, the software can process videos in 4K resolution and higher, with fast performance thanks to the use of the GPU for effects processing. Finally, it is available for Windows, Mac and Linux, making it accessible to a wide audience.

Cons

I found that Davinci Resolve has some drawbacks. For example, the learning curve is quite steep for beginners due to the complexity of its features. Also, it may require powerful computer hardware to work effectively, especially when handling large files or very high resolutions. Finally, some advanced features are only available in the paid version of the software, which can be expensive for some users.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best in Color Grading.

Reviewed on 20/03/2022

I've used the program for more than two years, and I think it's a good option to start working...

I've used the program for more than two years, and I think it's a good option to start working with, considering that it has a free version.

Pros

It is true that there are many programs that enable you to Correct Colors ,Color Grading, add effects and make an integrated montage, but so far no program has been able to reach accuracy and make color correction very professional like Da Vinci Resolve, which has the best and most powerful feature I have seen since it started Work in designing videos that are Color Grading ,Correct Colors and in my opinion, he specializes in this thing more deeply than other programs.
The beautiful thing about the program is that it is very easy to use, and you can use it perfectly in a few days, and at the same time, you can get great colors.
Keep in mind that DaVinci Resolve has a free full version, which will be why you don't hesitate to use it in your projects.

Cons

If the Da Vinci Resolve program is your first choice to get started, it will be easy to work with as I told you
But the problem is when I switched from using Adobe programs to Resolve, it was difficult for me to use the user interface and get used to it, it is completely different from what I used to use.

John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The most comprehensive product for video editing and color grading

Reviewed on 04/02/2023

Davinci Resolve is an all-encompassing piece of software that offers users an array of powerful...

Davinci Resolve is an all-encompassing piece of software that offers users an array of powerful tools and features. From color correction to audio mixing to compositing, this software provides a vast range of possibilities for filmmakers and videographers.Aside from its technical capabilities, it's extremely user-friendly and encourages creativity amongst its users. With plenty of tutorials available online, users can pick up the basics quickly and start playing around with their projects in no time at all.

Pros

What I appreciate about Davinci Resolve is its simplified yet powerful interface. As a long-time user of another competing software, it was quite refreshing to see how easy it was to get up and running with Davinci Resolve. With just a few clicks, I had access to all the tools needed for professional-quality videos such as color grading, audio mixing, and advanced effects. The fact that Blackmagic design took the time to make their software so user-friendly really impressed me.

Cons

Switching from one video editing software to another can be a daunting task, especially when faced with the complexity of Davinci Resolve. Despite its many features and capabilities, getting used to the different interfaces takes time and training. For new users, it may not be so intuitive at first glance. However, with patience and practice, users will begin to understand how this powerful program works. The design is well-organized thanks to its various menus and layouts that allow for easy navigation throughout the timeline. It provides extensive tools for color correction which allows editors to tweak colors accurately in order to achieve a desired look or feel for their projects. Overall, Davinci Resolve offers an array of options that give users greater control over their edit process but it does require some adjustment before you can start using it effectively.

Jackson
Overall rating
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

All of the Features, None of the Price.

Reviewed on 01/12/2022

Overall, I am extremely happy with Davinci, especially considering it is a free software.

Overall, I am extremely happy with Davinci, especially considering it is a free software.

Pros

I have working knowledge of the common upper-end editing suites, and have extensive experience with Adobe Suite and Premiere. The transition to Davinci was relatively smooth. Because Davinci allows you to do so much within a single editing suite, there was a decent learning curve, but the tools and UI are customizable and relatively straightforward. Once you develop a workflow, it is smooth sailing.

Cons

Some things are a little too adjustable/customizable for my needs. For example, it can be a headache to set up audio capture, linking audio sources to tracks, etc.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe Creative Cloud

Reasons for Choosing DaVinci Resolve

Adobe Creative Cloud is a large expense.

Reasons for Switching to DaVinci Resolve

The free price point is hard to pass up.
Matteo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

THE Post-Production Solution

Reviewed on 31/05/2021

AMAZING, solid, robust and (if well calibrated) unmatched!

AMAZING, solid, robust and (if well calibrated) unmatched!

Pros

EVERYTHIG AMAZING.
Media Pahe is really clear and useful, Cut Page is really fast, Edit Page is perfect, precise ... few shortcut but never confusing, the Color Page is Industry Standard ah really rich of functions (before Resolve I never think i would be able to colo grad in that way!).
Fusion Page is practically an other software (compositing software) for VFX, Fairlight Page the same (a complete audio solution) and Delivery Page a semple, clear export function.
I showed it to other professionists and ALL af those switched to Resolve.
Oh.. and it's Cross Platform (even on Linux!!!)

Cons

not for all, or maybe... NOT for all amateur... it has a particular learning curve.
Especially for Project Management.
It need a High performance machine... especially GPU.

Stella
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A full post-production software

Reviewed on 05/05/2022

A lovely day-to-day basis video editor tool

A lovely day-to-day basis video editor tool

Pros

With DaVinci Resolve, I can perform multi-cameras editing, insert animations, and add legends and titles to the new videos. There are many other editing features including multi-user collaboration tools. In a few words, this is a professional-grade software!

Cons

In some versions, you are allowed to work in a very short range of bits, which can give you some problems while using some camera models.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe Premiere Pro

Reasons for Choosing DaVinci Resolve

Price

Switched From

PowerDirector
henly
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Game Changer and it is FREE!!!

Reviewed on 30/06/2021

I have been using Sony Vegas because it fits my needs. The latest version was bugging and kept...

I have been using Sony Vegas because it fits my needs. The latest version was bugging and kept crashing. I'm a creature of habit and the thought of switching into a new software irked me. I had no choice and boy did I score big time. Firstly I won't ever have to pay the 70 dollar yearly upgrade (DaVinci is free). Secondly it is a much more powerful platform than what I was previously using. I am completely happy with this software sweet and I may even consider purchasing the "Pro" version as well.

Pros

Davinci Resolve is not your typical video editing software. For one, its entirely free, and its loaded with features that rival of Final Cut Pro and Adobe Premiere. If you are looking to edit a video without cutting corners this is it. If you are looking for software that will do more than your typical iMovie type of software, Davinci Resolve gives you the tools and ability to edit professional, high-quality videos. Including 4k. Need to make TikTok edits, you can! Need to submit footage for professional use, you can? All in all this softtware sweet enables you to be legitimate without spending a dime.

Cons

Its a bit different in terms of navigation that other software titles. It takes some getting used to (timeline) but because there are 100's of applicable youtube tutorials out there, just about every question you may have is available on youtube to learn step by step what to do. You can't go wrong because of the public contribution.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

If You're Considering Making The Transition To Resolve, Just Do It

Reviewed on 31/08/2022

Terrific.

Terrific.

Pros

I was scared of making the transition at first but after using it for just a couple of hours I was hooked and there was no looking back. It was amazing how I didn't even have to watch any tutorial to be able to edit a video. Of course, with more ambitious projects I found myself having to look for extra information and the more I learned about the software the more I fell in love with it. Resolve seems to have an answer for every problem you'll come across in videomaking: syncing audio from different videos automatically, incredible possibilities when editing audio, etc. All of this in just one program. No need for additional software or anything. It's your studio in just one place.

And last but not least: constant updates and improvement. The DaVinci team really listens to the users. I think that's why it got so good in the first place.

Cons

I don't dislike anything about DaVinci Resolve.

Xavier
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It is free!!! Use it!!!!

Reviewed on 26/06/2022

Overall I had a great experience with the software. Like everything it takes a little time to learn...

Overall I had a great experience with the software. Like everything it takes a little time to learn the software.

Pros

That you can use it for free and it has everything that you would need. Why pay a subscription when this is free!!!! I have thought about paying for the program but have not need to because all the tools that I need are there for free. When I need the paid tools I would be happy to pay the one time fee.

Cons

I would say the least I liked about the software is that sometimes it is hard for me to find the tool that I needed at certain moments.

Fernando
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Forget Adobe Premiere or others, THIS IS THE BEST OPTION

Reviewed on 20/10/2022

Pros

Very fast and uses GPU & CPU at the same time, which reduces tons of hours of video editing.The free version is very good, and the Pro version costs $300, and it includes upgrades for life (pe: I bought version 16, and I'm able to update it to version 18).

Cons

Lack of a support team, but it makes sense because of the very low price, and it can be solved thanks to YouTube, BlackMagic's tutorials, and many courses.

carlo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

be a professional for free

Reviewed on 01/06/2021

i am an architect, but i do many videos for showing my projects, or some music videos, i play...

i am an architect, but i do many videos for showing my projects, or some music videos, i play music as a hobby.
resolve is a very professional software, when it come to editing the color, adding some effects, synchronizing many frames, it also includes music editing, and loads of other great tools.
the interface is ok, user-friendly enough. some option can be hidden but i directly got used to them. resolve can also be very practical in the way it manages the video parts that you are adding to the timeline, they are easy to manipulates, and to replace keeping the same effects and editing. those are some minor tips that makes lot of difference!

what it lacks: as an architect, sometimes i need to draw some lines, or add a colored frame to my animations, and those are not directly doable. it end up adding many layers, and switching between them is annoying for editing.

so yes, download davinci resolve, try it, because i am sure that whatever you are working or studying, animation is great way to impress and sell ideas to the client.

using it in dual screen is very recommended!

Pros

this software is free, so i don't see any reason not giving it a try.
open YouTube, and you'll get tons of one minute tutorials for this software. I learned this software by my self.

Cons

to work on this software, you need a good pc, it is understandable, but it limits the accessibility to many that doesn't have the adequate hardware.
another con is that some important tools are not available, it it made my work slow and tricky.