ABBYY FineReader PDF Reviews

ABBYY FineReader PDF

4.7 (415)
Write a Review!
PDF solution for document editing and digital collaboration

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(415)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support
4.4/5
Sort by

415 Reviews

Pattar and Co.
Pattar and Co.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Extremely valuable tool in fostering automation for my small-sized accounting firm

Reviewed on 25/10/2018

For anyone in the finance industry, it is now simply understood that numbers are no longer...

For anyone in the finance industry, it is now simply understood that numbers are no longer "crunched" by overworked accountants battling customer-driven deadlines. That is all gone by way of automation. The only hang-up to a seamless input into automation is the fact that much of it still is stored as paper, believe it or not. My firm in particular made a push to start digitizing all of our records and in this process, I learned much about OCR technology. There are hundreds of products that say they can OCR, but the fact that ABBYY can process a HUGE variety of documents, fonts, etc. , this saves a lot of time correcting the output and actually getting searchable documents onto file storage. I just hope that this product continues to develop and remains at its reasonable price point.

Pros

It literally helped my firm save HUNDREDS of man-hours of data entry by running all of our scanned documents through ABBYY and relying heavily upon its OCR to produce a variety of formats which we were able to quickly cross verify and enter into the accounting software. In short, the quality and intelligence of their OCR engine is tremendously accurate and fast!

Cons

The licensing stuff is a little TOO strict and often the remote licensing procedure has to be manually restarted within WIndows Services. We eventually bought more licenses after realizing that ABBYY will be a critical component in my firm's efforts to digitize all of our records and hard copies onto our cloud-hosted server. However, for a very small business that may not warrant another license purchase, they will quickly find out that ABBYY is quick to detect multiple sessions of the same serial code and will block both out. A little excessive, but I can understand their strict use and protection of this fine product.

Otis
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review for Otis at PSU

Reviewed on 17/04/2024

Its use is great but I don't understand why it doesn't stay current after I had it paid for this...

Its use is great but I don't understand why it doesn't stay current after I had it paid for this year. Not really happy about this.

Pros

I like the image copy and paste as the images are significantly better than Adobe Acrobat Pro, I like the conversion to a different format. I like the OCR repair of scanned pdf very much also.

Cons

Getting it re-upped. I have paid for the fee and have a receipt but still it isn't done. I now have a diminished service that is of no help to me. I and the University have contacted ABBYY via email and message form.

Megan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best ocr for archival historical documents, but not perfect

Reviewed on 22/05/2024

Good, but wish the ocr were were even better, and correctable.

Good, but wish the ocr were were even better, and correctable.

Pros

Does better than Adobe in ocr-ing messy archival documents for historical research. Still not perfect, though. Don't expect very great accuracy.

Cons

There's no way to correct ocr mistakes like you can in Adobe acrobat.

Lior
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very Good product

Reviewed on 22/05/2024

Pros

The variaty of language one can use when using different litteratures and when scanning and converting documents as well as editing.

Cons

nothing really. It is a simple and efficient.

Norman
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Abbyy-good bang for the buck.

Reviewed on 22/05/2024

Overall…, I keep using it. Best around for the money.

Overall…, I keep using it. Best around for the money.

Pros

Ease of use, fairly accurate and for the cost, a good application.

Cons

Not always accurate. Sometimes it refuses to provide correct answers even after sharpening.

Graysen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Abbyy Reader Review

Reviewed on 23/05/2024

Expensive but saves time and has a great OCR. I would like AI added to improve OCR even more.

Expensive but saves time and has a great OCR. I would like AI added to improve OCR even more.

Pros

Best OCR I have come across. That is the feature I use most. Would like to see AI added.

Cons

The best PDF editor is PaperPort. I wish Abbyy had its features.

Alfredo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Expensive but work

Reviewed on 09/05/2024

Pros

Easy, secure, speed, hard, regulary don't have problems

Cons

It is an excellent product, it seems a little expensive to me but it is good, there is also a lot of complication to restore your program, it should be easier for the customer to recover their product

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Publishing with ABBY FineReader

Reviewed on 23/05/2024

It has been useful to me for scanning and converting old scripts into Final Draft.

It has been useful to me for scanning and converting old scripts into Final Draft.

Pros

I love how easily it converted a script into a special software I use called Final Draft.

Cons

The initial learning curve was not intuitive to me.

Emil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Good product

Reviewed on 22/05/2024

Pros

Ease od use, it is easy to use the product i am happy

Cons

Nothing. Every thing is good snd i like the fine reader

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

OCR for Accounting Documents

Reviewed on 23/05/2024

Pros

I have to convert a lot of PDF accounting statements into tables and ABBYY FineReader helps me do this quickly and in batches.

Cons

It's not very good at reading lines as divisions of the paper

Roger
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

As a writer and teacher, ABBYY FineReader PDF made my job much easier.

Reviewed on 24/12/2022

I compiled instructional material from various sources, formattedl it to suit the needs of my...

I compiled instructional material from various sources, formattedl it to suit the needs of my publication, adjusted to fit if scanned, sharpened if needed, rearranged, and edited it--all with this one bit of software. In editing my own documents, I could add in printed and typewritten documents (The OCR is the best I have ever used.) and thereby use material made by obsolete technology, of which I have quite a supply,.

Pros

I was able to convert docs to pdf (and vice-versa), scan, correct the scan's position and sharpness, perform OCR when wanted, add and rearrange pages, and edit pdfs with one set of integrated software, essentially with one program.

Cons

My use of the software has been somewhat more limited than what one might find in a large corporate business office, but there is nothing about the software that I don't like.

ILKER
Overall rating
  • Industry: Translation & Localization
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ABBY IS ONE OF THE BEST OCR AND PDF APPLICATION

Reviewed on 11/12/2023

I have used this software since its beginning, decades passed away .

I have used this software since its beginning, decades passed away .

Pros

As an Translaiton Office, Abbyy from morning until evening, it is an indispenzable need for running our business.

Cons

Georgian OCR is missing, not available.

Emre
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

ABBYY fine reader is one of the best in the market. But it is limited on Macos.

Reviewed on 14/12/2023

My experience with the Abbyy fine reader has been generally positive, and ocr performance is key...

My experience with the Abbyy fine reader has been generally positive, and ocr performance is key for me. In this way, scanning the texts that were sent as photos and making them readable with e-reader devices made my life much easier. I can even say that abbyy fine reader played a significant role in increasing my productivity.

Pros

Its ocr features are one of my favorites. I think no other ocr reader can beat the abbyy fine reader's ocr performance.

Cons

The fact that its "inverting color option" is not available on Macos bothers me quite a lot. That's why I had to return to other applicatons.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

slow

Reviewed on 24/05/2022

Pros

convertying pdf to excel. pretty good, but not perfect

Cons

way to slow to open pdf file. in converting to pdf and save file, it does not take the file name and put into title. you have do do this manually. the tital is what is displayed at top of screen when pdf opened, not the file name.

Radovan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ABBYY is my second favourite office software.

Reviewed on 09/11/2021

Pros

PDF to EXCEL converting,
Abby screenshot reader

Cons

I like everything. Abby screenshot reader shoud have some editing options.

Response from ABBYY Software House

Thank you for sharing your feedback and for the great review. We are happy to hear about your positive experience. Subscribe to our blog for tips, trends, and use cases to boost your document productivity even more!
https://pdf.abbyy.com/blog/

Sidiki
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ABBYY FineReader PDF: The must-have scanning and OCR software for increased productivity

Reviewed on 10/03/2023

ABBYY FineReader PDF is a high-performance scanning and OCR software that offers great features for...

ABBYY FineReader PDF is a high-performance scanning and OCR software that offers great features for managing and editing PDF documents. Despite the high cost and some limitations in terms of editing features and media compatibility, it remains an ideal solution for professionals and individuals who need a reliable and easy-to-use scanning and OCR tool.The benefits of ABBYY FineReader PDF include superior scan quality, powerful OCR features, ease of use, cross-platform compatibility, and the ability to convert PDFs to other formats. Besides, the software also has many editing features to customize the documents.However, disadvantages include high cost, slow scanning time for large documents, limitations in editing features and media compatibility, as well as the need to have some experience and technical knowledge to take full advantage of software.Ultimately, if you're looking for premium scanning and OCR software with advanced editing features, ABBYY FineReader PDF is a great choice. However, if you have specific media compatibility needs and are on a budget, you may need to consider other options on the market.

Pros

ABBYY FineReader PDF is a high-performance, easy-to-use scanning and OCR (Optical Character Recognition) software. Here are some of its key benefits:Superior scanning quality: ABBYY FineReader PDF software is equipped with state-of-the-art scanning technology that allows you to scan documents with superior quality, especially for images and texts.Powerful OCR features: ABBYY FineReader PDF is able to recognize characters very accurately, which makes it possible to turn scanned documents into editable documents. It supports many languages, including Asian languages.Ease of use: The software is user-friendly and easy to use. It offers an intuitive interface that allows scanning and editing documents with just a few clicks. It also comes with plenty of editing tools to customize documents.Converting PDF to other formats: ABBYY FineReader PDF allows converting PDF to other formats such as Word, Excel, PowerPoint and others. This feature is very useful for editing PDF documents.Cross-platform compatibility: The software is compatible with Windows, macOS and Linux, which makes it very versatile.In summary, ABBYY FineReader PDF is a very powerful and comprehensive software for scanning, OCR and editing documents. Its ease of use and scanning quality make it an ideal choice for professionals and individuals.

Cons

Although ABBYY FineReader PDF is a very capable scanning and OCR software, there are also some disadvantages to consider:High cost: The price of ABBYY FineReader PDF is relatively high compared to other similar software in the market. This can be a drawback for people looking for a lower cost solution.Slow scan time: High scan quality can slow down the scanning process, especially for large documents. This can cause delays and longer wait times for users.Limitations in editing features: Although ABBYY FineReader PDF offers editing tools to customize documents, it may lack some advanced features, which may be disappointing for some users.Limitations in media file compatibility: The software does not support all types of media files, which can be a drawback for users who need to work with media files in addition to PDF files.Need for technical knowledge: Although the software is user-friendly, users must have some experience and technical knowledge to take advantage of all its features.In summary, ABBYY FineReader PDF is a powerful software for scanning and OCR, but it can be negated and have limitations in some editing features and compatibility with multimedia files. Users also need to have some experience and technical knowledge to use the software.

Alternatives Considered

JGID
William
Overall rating
  • Industry: Translation & Localization
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

OCR for Arabic

Reviewed on 23/06/2023

Very satisfied. ABBYY is the standard for the translation industry.

Very satisfied. ABBYY is the standard for the translation industry.

Pros

OCR of Arabic, a cursive language, is the gordian knot of OCR technology. ABBYY has consistently worked this issue over the past decade and is now the undisputed champion of the world (spoken with a [sensitive content hidden]
accent). Their tech support is always ready to take on the challenge if I bring up something that could be improved.1

Cons

While it is very effective, I believe if ABBYY allowed users to selectively train patterns, it would be much more efficient. As it stands now, training a pattern means going through many ligatures that are not problematic to get to the ligatures that truly need training. It would be better to go directly to these ligatures.

Isam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ABBYY FineReader PDF Review

Reviewed on 18/06/2023

This software is great and the experience with it has been great too. This software is saving my...

This software is great and the experience with it has been great too. This software is saving my time and effort.

Pros

I like this software because it offers an integrated features in one package, it offers the converting capability to Excel, word, or Text, OCR with accurate results, and PDF viewer and editor. This software has all features that related to PDF so you don't need to use any third parties and this will save your money.

Cons

I don't have any dislikes about ABBYY FineReader PDF but I this they should work on the OCR outputs and make it more accurate. Also, I wish they could add more PDF editing features.

Jelena
Jelena
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerfull tool for document archiving, document conversion, OCR and digitalization.

Reviewed on 17/05/2018

If you need to work with documents, this is a great tool for recognition, digitalization and...

If you need to work with documents, this is a great tool for recognition, digitalization and conversion. Price is high and it uses high resources on a computer. If you have a high volume of documents to work with, this is a great tool.

Pros

Abbyy FineReader support for almost all languages is impressive. We use many different languages, so it is very important for us to have a tool that can recognize well.
It is easy to use, with the simplified interface, one can work fast, through materials.
FineReader can export to different types which is also a great function.
Convert document formats and make them searchable, from scanned documents, screenshots or images to pdfs and html.
It is very good for creating new documents from multiple files, which can be imported in one project then exported to a new file.

Cons

The price is fairly high for those who don't have many documents.
It crashes sometimes while scanning documents with older scanners or when given more demanding tasks, like automatic scan of multiple pages.
If the scan is lower quality, or font is small, there are some mistakes that need to be fixed manualy, which can be time consuming.

Josip
Josip
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

OCR that works!

Reviewed on 20/07/2019

Pros

ABBYY FineReader is a leader in OCR software and that means that their OCR is the best. It can perform character recognition in any language. I am amazed by all the functions that this piece of software has but one thing is so cool and I use it almost every day to help me organize papers in my office. That is "Hot Folder" - every time you add some document into the desired folder it automatically converts it for you into any type of document you want. It can be editable PDF, Word or any other combination you would ever want. It can do it!
Text is recognized very well and without any errors almost every time.

Cons

Sometimes it is struggling with some special letters from foreign languages like Cyrillic or some letters like čćšđž and many times I found that those are recognized wrong. Also, it tends to keep layout and formatting as the original document but sometimes it doesn't work well. Also, when you are trying to manually select area for the recognition it can be very hard and tiring to do all that manually because the software didn't recognize page properly. Most of the times that is not needed but when you are shooting or scanning in lower resolutions be prepared for that.

Alvaro
Alvaro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Scan, OCR, Edit!

Reviewed on 17/07/2018

Powerful OCR software for both PC and Mac! Works offline, and can do the job in batches hassle-free.

Powerful OCR software for both PC and Mac! Works offline, and can do the job in batches hassle-free.

Pros

I've been using Abbyy Finereader for about a decade now (since I stumbled upon it with a friend who digitized a lot of his readings).

Abbyy is a powerful OCR software! I say powerful, because it captures nearly everything you throw at it, JPG, PDF... and if you're lucky, even handwritten notes are captures (often as image, but sometimes as text too!).

It allows to import directly to Microsoft word for text editing. It even mimics the original scanned document in terms of the page layout and text sizes.

Very useful for digitizing your existing documents (which you do not have a digital copy of). Heck, you can even scan and OCR an entire book! (copyrights apply, of course).

Another good thing for me.... I can use if offline! Modern OCR apps require you to go online (which I cannot always be given the nature of my work and travels).

Cons

Now there are many other alternatives to using ABBYY as an OCR software, and most come as a free service (e.g., Google, Dropbox). It is even made easier now due to the proliferation of mobile phones. Scan a document via mobile phone, then use the online services for OCR, all for free now.

Thomas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Abbyy Finereader has become a daily tool in my workplace

Reviewed on 24/05/2022

Abbyy has allowed us to turn what used to be a very manual task into a simple copy paste method,...

Abbyy has allowed us to turn what used to be a very manual task into a simple copy paste method, meaning we can do far more work every day then we were capable of before.

Pros

The program has an intuitive interface and is consistent and capable when it comes to PDF editing and excel table extractions

Cons

I wish the document combining took less steps

Angele
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic product

Reviewed on 23/12/2022

Fantastic! I was reluctant to switch but now I recommend it to everyone.

Fantastic! I was reluctant to switch but now I recommend it to everyone.

Pros

Great value for the money. It does everything I need and more. Streamlined and easy to use

Cons

There is a slight delay when you select options that took getting used to, but it doesn’t impact useability

Alternatives Considered

Adobe Creative Cloud

Reasons for Choosing ABBYY FineReader PDF

Price

Switched From

Adobe Creative Cloud

Reasons for Switching to ABBYY FineReader PDF

Price for equal functionality
Victoria
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Daily user of ABBYY FineReader PDF

Reviewed on 15/11/2021

I am able to translate documents much faster because of ABBYY FineReader PDF. Because I can make...

I am able to translate documents much faster because of ABBYY FineReader PDF. Because I can make the text editable using the OCR editor, I am able to add the output document to a translation tool and utilize memory and previous translations to work more efficiently.

Pros

The OCR editor is really important to my business. The output is very clean, and I like that the OCR editor gives so many options to help customize and improve the output so that I can use the text in a translation tool. I also really like how easy it is to edit the PDF and digitally sign documents.

Cons

I work with a lot of poor scans or old documents, and I think the OCR editor could be improved in reading documents that have some fuzziness or imperfections.

Response from ABBYY Software House

Thank you for sharing your feedback and for the great review. We are happy to hear about your positive experience. Subscribe to our blog for tips, trends, and use cases to boost your document productivity even more!
https://pdf.abbyy.com/blog/

Jamie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Translation & Localization
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool, well worth the expense

Reviewed on 09/11/2021

I would recommend ABBYY to anyone and I plan to always keep my license active.

I would recommend ABBYY to anyone and I plan to always keep my license active.

Pros

I use ABBYY on a daily basis to perform OCR, edit PDFs, combine PDFs, etc. I don't think I could function without it! The OCR works pretty well and helps me estimate word counts on all my documents, and combining PDFs has become essential as well.

Cons

I was hesitant to spend the money upfront at first, but I can see now that it was completely worth it.

Response from ABBYY Software House

Thank you for sharing your feedback and for the great review. We are happy to hear about your positive experience. Subscribe to our blog for tips, trends, and use cases to boost your document productivity even more!
https://pdf.abbyy.com/blog/