Bitrise

4.9 (69)
Mobile continuous integration with customizable workflows

Overall rating

4.9 /5
(69)
Value for Money
4.8/5
Features
4.8/5
Ease of Use
4.7/5
Customer Support
4.8/5

100%
recommended this app
Sort by

69 Reviews

Sven
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best CI for mobile apps by far

Reviewed on 27/08/2019

For mobile developers bitrise is a dream come true. With their focus on mobile they take out all the hassle from the setup process so that even users new to CI should find it easy to setup up their app with bitrise.

Paired with the many predefined and community-provided steps there are very few use cases which can't be covered by bitrise workflows. And if you happen to hit a roadblock their team will aid via Slack or forum.

I have used bitrise on all mobile projects across multiple companies for over three years and never looked back to high maintenance self-hosted solutions like Jenkins. I'll wholeheartedly recommend it to every mobile developer I meet.

Pros

- extremely customizable
- supports yaml for configuration
- super friendly team overall, very developer friendly specifically
- support via Slack and forum
- generous free plan and fair and simple plans overall
- support open source and contributors
- huge steps library which you can use as building blocks for your build workflow
- anyone can contribute workflow steps
- good documentation
- SSH onto build machines for debugging
- initial setup just takes a few minutes and is highly automated
- lots of free open source apps for monitoring bitrise on desktop and mobile
- high availability
- hosted in the cloud -> no maintenance
- supports iOS and Android native as well as flutter and react native

Cons

- storing the configuration in your repository is a hassle and comes with several drawbacks, unfortunate as this would be my preferred way to do config
- workflow management can be cumbersome at times
- workflows could be a tad more flexible
- webapp sometimes could load faster
- API could be more extensive (e.g. they don't have any user login endpoints as of now)
- iOS builds could be faster

Kyle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Changed our Clients' Businesses

Reviewed on 23/08/2019

Bitrise totally revolutionised my clients' workflows. We do testing releases daily because the overhead of uploads & App Store/Google Play submission is all but eliminated. Especially for multi-flavour or multi-target projects, it is absolutely indispensable.

Pros

Reliable, mobile-focused build automation: it is easy to set up, highly reliable, provides the technical depth needed for extremely customised builds & is intuitive.

Cons

In some cross-platform projects using Ionic or React Native, it's easy to get to the build time limit & the pricing tiers ratchet up quite a lot when you get to the levels necessary to support that. That being said, the system more than pays for itself every month.

Alternatives Considered

Travis CI

Reasons for Switching to Bitrise

I found other CI products to be insufficiently focused on mobile development, unreliable & cumbersome.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

It helped us streamline our DevOps

Reviewed on 02/11/2021

Pros

The Build Log feature made the team really organized and in the loop about what to build next and which task to prioritize.
It's always feels Meta to talk about software helps you build other softwares but I am sure that your DevOps will be streamlined with Bitrise.

Cons

The lack of Deployment Management, API and Approval Workflow.

Alternatives Considered

Travis CI

Switched From

CircleCI
Amar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best CI/CD tool for build generation

Reviewed on 29/10/2022

Pros

Bitrise has number of quite great features . I used CI/CD for android and IOS build generation- Generating build from bitrise using branch and tag- generate build and can directly upload to play store. this i liked most- Running test case - generating build in very less time as compare to local machine

Cons

There are few issues which i faced in bitrise build- unable to find SHA1 for debug builds for android

Adam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Program Development
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best CI tool I have ever used

Reviewed on 08/05/2019

We are automizing all of our mobile services with Bitrise and the process could not have gone smoother. Way easier and more fun than the competitors.

Pros

GUI workflows that have easy to add/setup steps, links with most major services and business chats easily, can set a custom stack for each workflow, the UI/UX is really intuitive and constantly improving.

Cons

The build machines are a little weak but at the price I cannot complain

Alternatives Considered

CircleCI and Travis CI

Reasons for Switching to Bitrise

Because the overall user experience and ease of use was miles ahead at a much better price.
Menno
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Ease of use++

Reviewed on 05/05/2019

I really enjoy working with Bitrise. It makes my day to day job more fun and a lot more streamlined.

Pros

Bitrise is very easy to setup especially when projects contain a Fastlane configuration. It has a nice style to it and great support for advanced questions turned out to be available at the click of a floating action button.

Cons

Pricing change for organisation's versus developers may be a bit steep for tiny startups.

Alternatives Considered

CircleCI and Travis CI

Reasons for Switching to Bitrise

Ease of use + recommendation from a well respected developer.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A dream for mobile CI/CD

Reviewed on 16/07/2019

Bitrise has helped us simplify our mobile development process, keeping the builds and deployments to app stores easy without relying on dedicated, on-site hardware.

Pros

Bitrise has completely solved our CI/CD needs for mobile app development, taking any complexity away and replacing it with easy to understand, repeatable pipelines that can be understood by any of the team. It was quick and easy to set up, get people on board and a tool we can now rely on.

Cons

Still a young platform, so things are sometimes a little shaky or slow.

Alternatives Considered

CircleCI and Microsoft Azure

Reasons for Switching to Bitrise

Bitrise's ease of use combined with complete flexibility , letting us simply customize our workflow to our exact needs.
Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Quality of Life Improvement...at least at work

Reviewed on 12/08/2019

Spent a lot if hours (days, weeks, months, ...) with CI just to get it to run. Used Bamboo, Jenkins, CircleCI and right before switch to Bitrise Gitlab CI. Thanks to Fastlane it was getting way easier but not as easy to setup as with Bitrise. Requirement for us was to move it to the cloud and well, that is just about it. Moved now to Bitrise, worked within an hour and now everyones happy. We plan to take more advantage of some of the features offered soon, looking forward to it. For now though, got different workflows running for our branches and no real problems so far. All failed builds were my fault so far :)

Pros

-Tailored to the need of mobile developers. Less hacks necessary.
-Fast Support, helpful with Setup as well if needed
-Price sounds high but well...not really. You get a lot for that :)
-Fast reaction to new beta releases from Apple

Cons

-Did not find it sooner

Thats about it. Sure, got some wishes but i am optimistic that those would be handled fast once requested. Not missing anything for daily work.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing replacement for Buddybuild and AppCentre

Reviewed on 30/03/2021

Excellent experience!
We had been looking for an alternative for building our iOS and Android app as we weren't happy with BuddyBuild and AppCentre, and with BuddyBuild dying quite soon, we found bitrise and are very happy with it so far!

Pros

Loved the incredibly easy workflow builder experience, which meant I was able to just choose what things I wanted to happen, and not have to fuss around with a bunch of yaml files and commit every change to see what's happening.

Incredibly easy to debug your workflow as well, as you get very verbose information about what's actually going on!

Also, very easy to setup a project, as they're smart enough to know what are good sensible defaults are for different types of native projects. This meant that once we imported our project from github, we were up and running in minutes, and just had to tweak some specific functions that we'd like to do!

Cons

Default experience was a bit slow, but after talking to their support, it does seem like there's ways to speed up our builds.

Alternatives Considered

Codemagic

Reasons for Choosing Bitrise

BuddyBuild is being shut down, and we weren't happy with our experience from AppCentre.

Reasons for Switching to Bitrise

Seemed like the best overall product!
Dave
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesomeness! CI/CD Made Simple

Reviewed on 05/05/2019

Great overall! Docs are pretty simple to comprehend too!

Pros

How simple it is to wire up your mobile apps with this CI/CD platform. I'm really glad my tech lead introduced us to this platform, especially since we migrated from a platform that wasn't as mobile app friendly. For instance (and coming from an Android-client background), it's simple to run Gradle tasks to automate the builds to the point where it's easy to deploy it to the Play Store. Also, I love how easy it is to integrate UI and unit tests for each build workflow!

Cons

Coming from an Android-client background (and I'm not sure if it's our iOS engineers that could write the scripts better), but the iOS builds usually take two times longer than Android's. I was told particularly that the reason for that was due to it running on "Mac boxes" or something like that, and also because it's the Apple ecosystem after all. Either way, I'd like to see faster builds for iOS, if possible!

Milen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The most amazing CI/CD platform

Reviewed on 07/05/2019

As overall, Bitrise is the best platform i've managed to find for mobile CI/CD.
2 years ago, i've got the chance to do a deep research about cloud based CI/CD mobile solutions. I've came across several solutions and personally tried them all.
Bitrise was the best one, giving enough flexibility to fit almost all use cases we had.
With time it prove that it had a great support and was evolving and following all up to date technologies.
Even that it has a little bit longer learning curve, it proves that it is worth it to spend all the time you can to understand and make use of all of its powerful features that it can provide.
I can honestly recommend it to anyone with all my hands, legs, hearth ....
I've managed to win an internal company competition with ease, about comparing and choosing cloud based CI/CD platforms, which prove to a lot of peoples that this is THE platform for mobile based CI/CD solutions.
And even more - it has the capability and flexibility to go beyond mobile.
I'm looking forward to see how it will continue to evolve and the short and long future and hope to see it step into other platforms and crash the competition with ease.

Pros

+ the overall flexibility
+ the rich steps library
+ the ability to contribute to the steps
+ the ability to create your own step (haven't done this yet, but will definitely look into it in case i don't find what i need)
+ the amazing and fast blazing support
+ the competence of the support
+ the support for open source projects

Cons

- it requires some effort to initially get into and understand how workflows and steps works
- newcomers i've worked with, find learning the platform and understanding how to setup workflows, somehow difficult, but with enough time, they get used to it. I would rather blame the peoples, rather than the tools, because its like you get a powerful sport card, without even knowing how to drive :)

Phanit
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to setup CI/CD

Reviewed on 15/07/2021

Overall, I had a great experience with Bitrise. I didn't have CI/CD experience before this, but their UI is very intuitive and I was able to easily hook up Bitrise to my repositories and set up my applications for continuous integration. I was able to add the necessary artifacts and configure the CI/CD. Overall, very positive experience with Bitrise.

Pros

The workflow is easy to set up. Nice live view of the apps being built. I can add multiple apps, and see where your build is in the process. I can modify workflow with intuitive UI. I can easily connect Bitrise to my Bitbucket and Github pages and when I make a commit, I can configure Bitrise to run my tests, make my builds. I save a lot of time to let Bitrise do the work that would take a long time to do manually (including archiving the app).

Cons

Bitrise already has a pretty generous allowance for their free tier (Hobby Plan). It lets your play with Bitrise before committing to a paid plan. Maybe it can give more builds and longer build time on their hobby (free) plan.

Alternatives Considered

CircleCI

Reasons for Switching to Bitrise

Their UI seems most easy to use and set up.
Victor
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best CI tool

Reviewed on 30/07/2019

Here is a list of issues we could solve with Bitrise:

- Releasing new updates without using our machines. The team helped us with code signing and auto sending builds to the App Store Connect.
- Automatic builds running on different workflows with custom triggers
- Unit testing before merging branches
- Automated UI tests with reports

Pros

Bitrise helps us using automated builds with different workflows whether we want to create a new release or run some tests before merging. The scheduled builds allow us to run UI tests nightly which is very useful.
They also have excellent customer support :)

Cons

Sometimes it can take a while to get a build running but it's part of the CI integration ;-)

Alternatives Considered

CircleCI, GitLab and Jenkins

Reasons for Switching to Bitrise

Easy of use, price & customer support
Alexander
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Bitrise: A godsend for iOS CI/CD

Reviewed on 02/07/2019

With a small development team, our company was looking for ways to increase engineering productivity and CI/CD was a place where a lot of dev cycles were being spent. Bitrise allowed us to offload what could've been a sink of time dealing with security updates, ensuring macOS systems were up late at night for our team in India, etc. It also allowed for us to create new automated workflows easily that would've taken engineering significant amounts of time to achieve (such as Slack command initiated builds on CI/CD & Slack alerting).

Pros

+Open source & detailed documentation that allowed for our engineers to make custom integrations that served our purposes (nightly builds, Slack command triggered marketing screenshot automation, automated localization upload from source, etc.)

+Architecture of Bitrise CLI with Bitrise SaaS platform makes it easy for our engineers to reason about what's going on in Bitrise's servers & test proposed workflow changes on their local machines.

+Simple, but incredibly detailed tools for iOS provisioning & code signing. Anyone who has had to deal with iOS code signing with Travis & CircleCI knows the struggle.

Cons

-Lack of email notification customization. As a larger org with engineers & management from various departments all wanting to have access to certain builds, certain workflows, etc, we quickly found that many people needed access but didn't want email notifications but there were no controls on the user-level to disable this, just the big app-level controls.

Corey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best mobile continuous integration services out there!

Reviewed on 02/07/2019

We use Bitrise at Under Armour to consolidate the plethora of build infrastructure we had scattered across all of the different teams. By moving everything to a single platform, we're able to share knowledge and insights to help better each other. We now build products more consistently, and we've increased our productivity levels immensely by not worrying about build system infrastructure.

Pros

Bitrise is super simple to set up. Since it's focused on mobile continuous integration, the tooling and support they have make it really easy to configure workflows and install tooling that's needed for iOS and Android.

Cons

The hobby tier unfortunately is a bit difficult to take advantage of, with how long builds often take with iOS and Android. If the time were increased for free projects by a small amount, this would make it more viable to use for beginning developers (or people just working on tiny things in their spare time).

Julio
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The more flexible build platform

Reviewed on 31/08/2019

We've used Bitrise for CI and CD in our team for years.

Pros

Bitrise offers Mac, Linux and custom docker environments. It has various ready to use build steps and a very intuitive editor for your build scripts. The price is very fair when comparing to other solutions

Cons

Managing build and projects might be harder than it should, since there is no API for creating projects.

Alternatives Considered

CircleCI and Travis CI
Shane
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

THE Must Have Tool for iOS Dev

Reviewed on 12/08/2019

Over the weekend, while on vacation, I was able to manage a full release cycle of our iPad app from testing, to staging, to production, all from my iPad. This was made possible entirely by Bitbucket. It's just an awesome product that is a joy to use.

Pros

- Ease of setup
- Endlessly configurable workflows
- Integration with all the tools we use (GitLab, Slack, ... )
- Always up-to-date stacks for building
- Great support team
- Helpful documentation and support resources
- Great logs for debugging failed builds

Cons

Builds could be a little faster (I think).

Eric
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A powerful plug & play CI solution focused on mobile needs

Reviewed on 04/06/2019

This is AFAIK the best tool out there for mobile CI needs. The rest of our company uses a different solution for the other apps, but Bitrise covers our needs so well that we got no incentive to move to anything else

Pros

Ease of use. you can plug your repo in a couple minutes, then just start defining simple workflows in less than that.

It's very solid/reliable, yet with enough flexibility to cover pretty much all your needs.

Cons

I guess the error reporting could get some more love, but you got access to the output of the command and that's what really matters.

I'd love to see additional options, like a private maven repo for your artifacts.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great CI/CD for react-native apps

Reviewed on 06/05/2019

Works well as CI/CD for react-native apps. Due to high customizability you can use it for your backend as well. We build docker images and deploy to aws thanks to custom bash scripts, as a result we don't have to use multiple CI/CD platforms.

Pros

- highly customizable, you can run any bash script and even use your own docker image for build environment
- supports monorepos using selective builds by path
- many integrations out of the box

Cons

- Because of high customizability it takes more time to setup then appcenter
- iOS automatic codesigning isn't ideal. Autoprovision step didn't regenerate provision profiles when new device was added and it didn't generate development profile when new capability was added causing build to fail. However you can use manual codesigning or fastlane match if you please.

Lucas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

CI for human beings

Reviewed on 20/07/2019

Pros

Straightforward and beautiful interface

Cons

Logs sometimes take some time to load and the interface gets laggy.

Atsushi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple & customizable CI / CD

Reviewed on 10/05/2019

Automatic test
- Just push PUSH to Github and it will run the test automatically, so the quality has improved without spending time

Pros

Ease of customization
- It is possible to add, delete and change steps on GUI
- A wealth of standard step functions
- I can also prepare your own step by script
- Can edit steps on code with yml (Easy to deploy on other projects!)

Cons

Run multiple workflows
- I want to execute multiple workflows with one trigger, but the setting is difficult (if the workflow gets longer, it will take longer and it will also be difficult to change the workflow)

Nicolas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Bitrise works

Reviewed on 03/05/2019

Basically I build mobile and react-native apps. I love the "steps workflow" editor and the way we (me and my team) can edit and manage credentials.
This is more than a CI.

Pros

Builds app it's super easy, you can manage to connect app center, app store connect, google play store, slack and even more. I found Bitrise super useful in my daily basis.

Cons

The only thing that bothers me about Bitrise is the free trial. Machine are super slow. A single build can take up to 20 minutes, but I use Org Standard and that works like a charm.

Response from Bitrise

"This is more than a CI" - Your quote just made the rounds around the office. Thanks! The machines on Org Standard are actually the exact same as the ones on the free trial, but we've upgraded that hardware quite recently. That might explain the difference in experience there. As far as the free hobby plan goes, we're actually looking to make some changes there soon. Happy to hear you're happy, though!

Pablo Isidoro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Bitrise and react native

Reviewed on 02/09/2019

Easy to use CI service for multiple projects

Pros

- Easy to setup thanks to starter workflows
- Allows to reuse workflows easily
- Good tutorials

Cons

- Lack of stack customisation
- Slow compilation times

Alternatives Considered

CircleCI and Jenkins

Reasons for Switching to Bitrise

Combination of price and features
Alexander
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Bitrise is at least one of the best solutions on the market

Reviewed on 20/08/2019

We are using Bitrise as remote builder and uploader for iOS installation packages (ipa) and it is quite satisfying. Not sure what can I add as the product is good for needs we have. Just try it to make your own opinion if you have doubts

Pros

It is customizable and relatively easy to use product both as builer for installation packages and as sotfware. It also has intuitive web interface which can be easily accessible from mobile device which is convenient

Cons

That is easy, but not unexpected, the price. We that it is a bit over than it could have been, but Elite package is Elite package, right?)

Adrien
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best tool against iOS build nightmares

Reviewed on 06/05/2019

Love it

Pros

We chose Bitrise 3 yeas ago for our iOS builds and have never looked back. Maintaining the iOS build stack is a cumbersome task and Bitrise made it some much more simple!
They also have a great support, really fast and always to the point.
You can choose them without a second thought

Cons

Nothing particular in mind, I am not the onde using it daily now