PDFTron SDK

4.4 (18)
Changing the way the world works with documents

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(18)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.7/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Support
4.3/5

94%
recommended this app
Sort by

18 Reviews

Daniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best PDF SDK in the market

Reviewed on 28/01/2022

All good so far. Much better than competitors

Pros

Updates, Customer support, Technical Support

Cons

Nothing, I am struggling to find out something negative

Pablo
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Leader in the industry

Reviewed on 15/12/2021

I consider it as a leader in the industry.

Pros

Quite comprehensive product based on the company development with no dependencies -as far as I know- with open source libraries.

Cons

Moving from one version to another is not that smooth process.
The product is rather expensive.

margaret
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Not happy at all with support we are seriously looking at alternatives if support does not...

Reviewed on 01/02/2022

Sales team are good but Technical support not listening to us or not helpful on critical issues. eg.. Digital signature issues,.

Pros

Compared to Adobe it is hard to find anything as good. This was the best alternative at the time.

Cons

Service on issues and features is slow and they do not listen and push back. They close tickets that are not resolved...very annoying issues system.

Response from PDFTron Systems

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that the tech support experience did not meet your expectations. Our support team will reach out to you directly and assist with any critical issues you're facing.

Steve
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Enterprise level functionality but still easy to use

Reviewed on 15/12/2021

The pre-sales technical support was excellent and made it really fast and easy to spin up a POC .

Pros

PDFTron was by far the most feature rich product offering we looked at. Also the fact that they don't just wrap another open source rendering engine like PDFium gave us confidence they had built their product from the ground up and had total control.

Cons

The price tag was on the higher end compared to other alternatives but for enterprise software I think its worth it for all the features they offer. They were also flexible during pricing talks to find a comfortable landing spot that worked for both parties.

Alessandro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Cannot install my perpetual license

Reviewed on 05/05/2022

Cannot move license to a new server if I dont buy a new license. This is the reply from the service:

"
Hi [SENSITIVE CONTENT] ,

Sorry, we can't help you any further here without a current license subscription.
"

I sent them a screen shot with an error indicating that the switched of the license activator server!

Pros

It was the first pdf converter. Now I found cheaper but FASTER alternatives

Cons

Really disappinted about how pdftron is treating old Activepdf license buyers. I have a perpetual license that no longer activates because of not-working service from them.
Contacted the support: they asked me to buy a support contract, that is sold only with a new license. They think I need support, but I only need to move the license to a new server. Online activation return "there was an error parsing the returned data".

Rohit
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PDFTron technical help

Reviewed on 31/01/2022

Excellent

Pros

Annotation types and ease to integrate web and sdk

Cons

It takes time to load PDF if having 20+ pages

Alternatives Considered

Adobe XD and PDF Reader Pro

Reasons for Switching to PDFTron SDK

sales support and pricing
Bryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

XFA Solution

Reviewed on 18/02/2022

We were facing an issue with over a million XFA PDFs in our imaging system. These weren't your normal XFA documents, they were very unique in how they were created. We talked with various vendors. All of them advised that we couldn't automate the flattening of these documents.

PDFTron didn't back away from the challenge. Correy and Johnna did an outstanding job of working with us to come up with a solution utilizing the PDFTron products. I am very impressed with the tenacity at which they approached the challenge. I would strongly recommended PDFTron and the people behind the products!

Pros

Expertise in working with PDFs and Customer Support

Cons

Haven't found any at this point in our project

Alex
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best solution for PDFs on the web

Reviewed on 18/02/2022

Pros

PDFTron's Webviewer is a fantastic tool for working with PDFs in a web browser. The support and documentation is great, and the SDK is very flexible to fit many different use cases.

Cons

The cost of PDFTron is high. The importance to our business justifies the cost, but it was definitely a hurdle for us when comparing this product to other PDF web solutions.

Nathaniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Product Enhancement Review

Reviewed on 15/12/2021

Overall it's a great product and you have excellent customer support. I just need some better transparency and clarity on the pricing and inclusion of our current license.

Pros

The SDK was easy to incorporate into our software and we've rolled out to our application

Cons

The biggest gap is pricing transparency. It's confusing to understand what is included, what we have access to within our account, etc.

Ashish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

PDFTron Doc Conversion

Reviewed on 15/12/2021

Pros

ease of use; easy interface; new features

Cons

Not many issues with the software to mention.

Alex
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great software, but still some work to be done.

Reviewed on 15/12/2021

Pros

PDFtron is a great company to work with. When we started using them there were many features that were missing, however they have continually worked with us to improve the product and make it a better product suite.

Cons

Occasionally support can be lacking and the developers are left to struggle through it themselves.

Christopher
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

PDFTron SDK Review

Reviewed on 28/01/2022

Pros

The vast featureset of the PDFTron SDK makes it a valuable PDF management and document creation tool for any company.

Cons

Bugs do crop up from time to time. Sometimes pretty detrimental ones that should have probably been seen in QA testing. It can take a while for them to eventually get fixed.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

PDFTron has been an outstanding addition to our product offering

Reviewed on 29/05/2018

Pros

We use PDFTron in thousands of instances daily. The solution is used to render creative files and office files into PDF and then to allow us to manage annotation and mark ups.

Cons

the set up of the product takes some consideration, it is important you set it up appropriate for your needs else it will cost you time.

Shikha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Vinnovation review 1/31

Reviewed on 31/01/2022

Easy to use
Vastness of the product is amazing. Still exploring new featured that are being offered and we could use in our project.

Pros

Ease of use & support provided by PDFtron team.

Cons

Nothing, till now everything seems amazing.

Alan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very good!

Reviewed on 28/01/2022

I really like PDFTron

Pros

It's pretty, easy to setup and the tecnical support is very good

Cons

The documentation was not up to date, we need more examples and maybe some project examples would be helpful

Theo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Super easy integration

Reviewed on 15/12/2021

Pros

it was very easy to integrate it in our cloud-solution

Cons

I can't remember that there was something compliacted

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fantastic PDF tool

Reviewed on 02/07/2022

Pros

PDFtron is a fantastic pdf tool with rich product offerings from annotations to signatures, it has got everything covered.
Integration of web and SDKs was very easy.
Support and documentation is also top notch.

Cons

Pricing needs to be more transparent and also it is comparatively on a higher end in comparison to competitors in the market.

Anil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Best PDF Editing SDK

Reviewed on 16/07/2022

So far, updates, customer service, and technical support have all been satisfactory. Much better than the competition.

Pros

PDFTron is an excellent application for working with PDFs. The SDK was simple to integrate into our program, and we have now extended it out to our application. Overall, it's an excellent product.

Cons

It is difficult to configure and integrate the SDK with our software product. The documentation is also out of current, thus embedding takes time.