Waydev

4.5 (37)
SaaS codebase analysis platform and engineer output tracker

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(37)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support
4.9/5

92%
recommended this app
Sort by

37 Reviews

Dragos
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Waydev is enterprise level quality software

Reviewed on 07/02/2020

Pros

Clean UX helps me understand the work of my engineers (and my own).

It's easy to get the big picture but also you can go in detail.

Cons

The UI could use a little polishing, but nothing major.

Alternatives Considered

Pluralsight Flow

Switched From

Pluralsight Flow

Reasons for Switching to Waydev

More value for the money.

Response from Waydev

Thank you very much for the review!

Deryk
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We switched from Pluralsight Flow (GitPrime) and so far really love it

Reviewed on 01/04/2020

It's easy to use, provides helpful insights on how to support developers. Their support is VERY fast, which I love - ask a question and one of the founders is there to help. They have a robust feature set - probably too much for what we need, but good that we can grow into it.

Pros

It has pretty much all the features we used at Gitprime, plus a few more that are even better. Gitprime was just too expensive for us, and we didn't see any evolution in the features. Waydev has a better dashboard and it has a great timecard view where you can see commit timing for each contributor. Comparing both, their impact calculation seems quite similar. Gitprime was also getting slow and harder to use. The only issue I had was onboarding, getting my organization repo to setup, but I used a different option with the help of their support and it's fine now.

Cons

They just added the review feature, so that solves the one problem I had. They don't seem to have a Jira Integration, but honestly we left Jira for ClickUp have love it! So again, not an issue for us.

Alternatives Considered

Pluralsight Flow

Reasons for Choosing Waydev

Gitprime was too expensive, they were somewhat flexible with pricing for our small team, but as soon as Pluralsight bought them, they became totally inflexible.

Switched From

Pluralsight Flow and GitClear

Reasons for Switching to Waydev

Combination of price and feature set. Waydev seemed to have the right set of features at the right price.

Response from Waydev

Hi Deryk, Thank you very much for this review. We're really happy that you consider Waydev a better tool than our competitors.

Zuber
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Helps track developer productivity, but needs some time to adapt with the process

Reviewed on 13/11/2019

Waydev was a way to showcase the productivity of our developers to senior management. This was a way to check if the team is getting more productive. If not, identify the root cause of the problem and address it. At times when we do see the scores dropping, there have been some legitimate reasons for the same. Some times however, issues in the development process have been identified which the teams need to resolve. Overall, it does give is an insight, but more time is needed to make it a core part of the process.

Pros

The interface is simple and clean. The tool gives a good representation of the productivity of the developers, and a high level view of the work being done.

Cons

It has been hard to utilize the metrics provided by WayDev in a meaningful way. Even though we have been using it for more than 6 months, we haven't been able to make use of it to understand the productivity and effectiveness of the developers. Further, it needs some more high level reporting. For example, a chart that shows the impact scores by month. We can figure it out, but have to circle through multiple months.
At times, we had issues with commits not reflecting which the support team help address.

Alternatives Considered

Pluralsight Flow

Switched From

Pluralsight Flow

Reasons for Switching to Waydev

Pricing. GitPrime is way too expensive for what it provides. WayDev in that sense is better priced.

Response from Waydev

Hi Zuber,

Thank you very much for this review, we're working now to add more screens that will help even better to under the output of your team.

Thanks,

Alex Circei

Cenk
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool for engineering managers. Very comprehensive analytics!

Reviewed on 19/01/2022

A platform that helped me and my company fully understand what’s happening inside our software development processes. It’s an amazing investment for anyone who wants a clear view of what the teams are doing and spot any bottlenecks.

Pros

We can zoom into teams’ progress, see what’s happening inside sprints, and how the code review process is going - all in one platform. Also, the customer support is excellent, always answering in a matter of minutes if we have any sort of question.

Cons

I couldn't find any can other than it's expensive for small teams.

Alternatives Considered

Pluralsight Flow

Reasons for Switching to Waydev

Most integrations, comprehensive, great customer support, and constant new updates and features added.

Response from Waydev

Thank you so much!

Alexandru
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent product

Reviewed on 21/10/2020

We save each month a lot of money, we understand better what out development team is doing and we generate a lot of interesting reports so we could improve our team and also give them bonuses.

Pros

They had an incredible support team but what I like the most about Waydev is that we save a lot of money every month

Cons

It was very hard to find these type of tools. All the other companies that we use before, they have big brands but not a good product. What I personally like least about Waydev is that they don't promote themselves so we must search a lot for this tool....

Alternatives Considered

Pluralsight Flow

Reasons for Choosing Waydev

Because we test Waydev and Gitprime become useless

Switched From

Pluralsight Flow

Reasons for Switching to Waydev

Because we test the product and we compare the prices, the way it works and....we just did it. And we are happy, that's why we are losing time writing a complete review

Response from Waydev

Thank you very much!

Pablo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

With Waydev you can see a lot !!!

Reviewed on 19/05/2022

Pros

- Easy integration with all the tools that we use
- No additional learning or overhead added to engineering team
- Very good information and insights about individual contributors and teams
- It allows you to identify rockstars, top performers and to improve the development lifecycle

Cons

- We didnt have any downsides or negative aspects in out experience

Response from Waydev

Thank you so much!

Gerardo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It is the code analysis tool that focuses on the team and the code to ensure quality and...

Reviewed on 15/09/2021

An excellent product with extraordinary customer service, they make it an experience to accompany building world-class software.

Pros

The focus on the team, quality and the learning generated by each event to find how to improve the development process in addition to the quality of the product

Cons

Some rare sync issues with repositories and refresh dashboard.

Alternatives Considered

CodeScene

Reasons for Switching to Waydev

The user experience, value in the metrics and the cost benefit of the investment.

Response from Waydev

Thank you!

Dmitry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Waydev - not yet many features anyway robust tool for engineering manager for acceptable price

Reviewed on 09/11/2019

Pros

- major feature to measure engineering performance are in place
- fast and responsive support
- reasonable price
- regular software updates

Cons

- lack of day timeline to understand when exactly dev made commits
- poor work with pull requests stats

Alternatives Considered

Pluralsight Flow

Switched From

Pluralsight Flow

Response from Waydev

Thank you very much for this review! In the next couple of weeks, we will launch more stats for code reviews.

David Felipe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good tool to understand your team dynamics

Reviewed on 26/11/2019

Pros

Waydev has proved to be a very useful tool for me to understand how my team is performing.
I use it as part of the feedback on 1-1 meetings, and it helps me to provide feedback valuable to developers and ask questions about certain trends shown on their code.
It's really easy to use and I practically don't need to do anything to use it.

Cons

It's a little bit expensive, and I am sticking to the free version because it adds enough value for what I am using it

Alternatives Considered

Pluralsight Flow

Switched From

Pluralsight Flow

Reasons for Switching to Waydev

free version

Response from Waydev

Hi David,

Thank you very much for the feedback!

Simon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Affordable and great alternative over the competition

Reviewed on 06/11/2019

Pros

The affordability was the biggest plus as the competitors require longer-term commitments and about 3x more expensive. The overall UX is perfect for what we need for our company.

Cons

Doesn't have as many features as it's competitors and not as polished yet but I am sure that will come with time.

Response from Waydev

Hi Simon,

Thank you very much for this review. We're working very hard on improving the product.

Thanks,

Sergiu
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A very good tool for our company, 100+ engineers

Reviewed on 23/10/2021

Now we can improve the performance of our teams by measuring good metrics

Pros

Waydev changed the way we're tracking the work of our engineering teams, now we can measure objectively without any issues

Cons

All good, the UI can be improved in some parts, usually for the filtering part.

Alternatives Considered

Pluralsight Flow

Reasons for Switching to Waydev

Better support & a better price

Response from Waydev

Thank you so much!

San
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Investment. Good for the company, Good for the team, Good for the engineer.

Reviewed on 25/03/2021

Pros

Waydev has given us incredible insight of the work that our team are working daily. The metrics provided by Waydev helped everyone in our company from the executive level until the engineer on who, what, when and how of the tasks are done.
Waydev should be a MUST on every company that develops software.
The onboarding was excellent. Thank you [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]

Cons

Currently it is not working with Kanban on Jira. However, soon it will be available.

Response from Waydev

Thank you so much!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Saves me and my developers a couple of hours everyday

Reviewed on 03/11/2020

Waydev helped us reduce the overall friction between managers and developers, because managers can now see what each engineer is doing daily. Its positive impact can be seen in the throughput of our teams. It also helped during our mid-year performance reviews, which generally, took hours to prepare.

Pros

I like the fact that it has an easy onboarding. We also had several real-time coaching sessions where they helped us debug our teams' metrics (which seemed a bit overwhelming at first), and provided recommendations on how to use each of their features. I love their responsiveness on the live chat.

Cons

It's expensive - more than what we pay for Bitbucket + Jira. It would've been nice to have more insights into ticket activity.

Alternatives Considered

Pluralsight Skills

Reasons for Switching to Waydev

Romanian Product

Response from Waydev

Thank you so much!

Varun
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

An amazing tool for engineering teams

Reviewed on 30/05/2022

The experience was great overall and their team is quick to help troubleshoot with issues should any arise. I'd had pleasant interactions with the team, and the experience with software has simply been straightforward and eliminated some pain points for us.

Pros

The simple set up and immediate return on value for data was simply impressive. We were able to immediately get value from this platform. Week to week we easily get awesome auto generated reports and actionable insights on engineering velocity and cost of impact/mistakes. We wish we had access to something like this much earlier!
I really recommend Waydev to other engineering managers or startup technical leads to improve their build velocity. We now integrate some of the insights from waydev in our 1-on-1 weekly meets to help improve and lead other engineers on our team.

Cons

Because there is so much functionality, features, and data being processed, I'd only request some more walkthrough turtorials, and documentation to speed up the self on boarding process, and to just generally know how to maximise what waydev platform offers!

Response from Waydev

Thank you so much!

Hamza
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User-Friendly Dashboard

Reviewed on 09/09/2019

It is in the developmental stage now, but I am seeing it bring great success. I hope they upgrade it, so it works well with big numbered teams and a better correlation between data and reports.

Pros

It has a user-friendly dashboard and allows maximum visibility into the performance of engineering teams. It helps team leads understand the relative performance of team members and assess their decisions on code base and ensure error-free integration of bitbucket/GitHub projects. Our management has found it truly effective in analyzing work patterns of multiple teams at once.

Cons

I found it a bit pricey considering the limited features. The loading speed is often challenging, and I am unable to set goals with notifications/update.

Response from Waydev

Thank you very much for this awesome feedback!

Maximilian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Visibility that improved the way we manage our teams

Reviewed on 11/02/2022

Waydev helped us move a lot faster because we saw where we could improve and we could take action in real-time.

Pros

I think I like best the fact that I can see any blocker in my team’s software development process in real-time and solve the problem before it begins to slow down the team. The platform really helped us save a lot of valuable time.
I feel like we deploy code much faster now because we know when something isn’t right because we actually get alerts for that.
Also, the support was great! Whenever I got a problem, someone from their team would help me right away - in a matter of a few minutes.

Cons

We don’t have anything to complain about.

Response from Waydev

Thank you so much!

Erik
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Software and Support

Reviewed on 15/02/2019

It has been fantastic as I have been involved in the beta and have watched the product grow and mature, providing more and more detail on developer work.

Pros

- Ability to provide high level information on development each week.
- Ability to review at more granular level
- Excellent Support
- Dedicated development team and ownership

Cons

- Awaiting more features, however the team there has been quick to identify new features and implement

Response from Waydev

Hey Erik,

Thank you for these kind words, creating Waydev it is an amazing and joyful experience. Regarding the features, in the next few weeks, we will add more features. Anytime you want to upgrade feel free to ask me for a coupon, you will have a 20% discount for life.

Thank you!

Jorge
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very good to evaluate your team performance

Reviewed on 19/12/2019

I was trying to understand how my team was performing during the development of new products so I can improve my estimates. Usually refactoring and bug fixing of previous features slow down new ones. With Waydev I was able to identify why the new development was delayed and how much time my engineers spend on rework of old code.

Pros

The feature to calculate the performance of the team versus previous sprints are awesome. Also, you can easily identify if the role of your engineers is accordingly to the job done.

Cons

The learning curve to interpret correctly the graphs is high. However, once you understand how to read the graphs, the rest is easy.

Response from Waydev

Hi Jorge! Thank you for this review!

Evan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great dev analytics

Reviewed on 11/03/2020

Pros

Simple to set up, meaningful metrics in minutes. Uncluttered interface, easy to understand visualizations. New improvements released frequently.

Cons

Would like to see integration with issue tracking systems.

Response from Waydev

Thank you very much for this kind of feedback, in the next couple of days we will launch our Jira integration. Check it here https://waydev.co

Patrick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Waydev

Reviewed on 05/11/2019

Pros

Very helpful in providing metrics to truly measure the development team's performance. Once you get a hang of how the metrics are measured it can be very helpful in evaluating your team and even individual engineers.

Cons

Some times exactly what the platform is measuring exactly isn't always clear, but once you get the hang of it it's clear enough

Response from Waydev

Hi Patrick! Thank you very much for the review! We're looking forward to helping Wolf increasing the engineering team's productivity!

Franco
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

waydev is a must for Lead Devs

Reviewed on 05/07/2021

Neat, nice

Pros

The metrics such as "impact", is great. Also the specific separated metrics for new work and legacy refactor

I use the Team Compare feature, to compare my team results agains the results from las period

Cons

it is a bit slow
i don't use all the features

Alternatives Considered

SonarQube

Reasons for Switching to Waydev

Because ease of use on cloud

Response from Waydev

Thank you so much!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome Tool for Managing Remote Teams

Reviewed on 05/11/2019

Overall, Waydev has been very helpful and its now part of our routine when doing daily stand-ups.

Pros

It was super easy to configure and it produces valuable metrics that we are increasingly relying on everyday and week. I

Cons

Honestly...there is nothing to dislike. It may seem expensive but if you are investing in remote devs, its a small investment that is well worth it in the long run.

Response from Waydev

Thank you very much for this awesome review!

Tharindu
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Feature review

Reviewed on 20/07/2021

Pros

Easy to setup/ configure
Developer working summary
Developer commits analysis
AI recommendation

Cons

Daily Email Alerts were atomatically sent

Response from Waydev

Thank you so much!

Ram
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Waydev improves mangers insights into groups productivity

Reviewed on 19/01/2022

Overall happy with the product thus far considering it’s a little bit inexpensive compared to the other product.

Pros

Ability to gain insight into a developers productivity. A detailed analysis on code commit patterns and recommendations on how to get better with best practices in the industry.

Cons

Missing integration with AWS code pipeline and code commit

Response from Waydev

Thank you so much!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

An emerging product that adds value

Reviewed on 15/02/2019

We will watch this product as it matures. The pricing is attractive over GitPrime (our current solution) but missing valuable features we use in GitPrime. They are probably on your roadmap.

Pros

Price is better than competitors in market.

Cons

Setup was buggy and I received several 500 errors during the process. Was not clear if it was working or not for a few days. Not as full featured as GitPrime (our current solution)

Response from Waydev

Hey! Thank you for the review! Unfortunately, due to our last Product Hunt launched, we were not prepared for this high number of new accounts and he had some issues with our AWS; hopefully we've managed to fix the issues, and now everything works fine. Regarding our features, we're working very hard to release new features in the current period, here is our roadmap:

- A new dashboard - 1 - 2 weeks
- Four more screens (work: volume, trend, retrospective, average) - 1 - 3 weeks
- Project history regarding the impact - 2 - 6 weeks
- Developer history regarding our metrics- 2 - 6 weeks
- Comparing your project with other projects - 4 - 7 weeks
- Multiple teams - 5 - 8 weeks
- Pull Requests - 6 - 18 weeks

Thank you for trying our service, and I hope you will consider us in the future.