NordLayer

4.7 (28)
Dynamic network access security for modern workforces.

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(28)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.7/5
Customer Support
4.3/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

28 Reviews

Mas Idayu
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Remote workstation is great with NordLayer

Reviewed on 09/08/2022

Pros

iPhone, Android, Linux, and Macintosh are all supported devices for this VPN, which allowed me to run the same VPN across all of my gadgets and get an excellent connection. Even during a trial version, NordLayer offers the most reliable IP address selection from various countries.

Cons

Currently, the only details accessible are a detailed description of the remote device's CPU and RAM and its connection time. Counting the time spent on a machine or in a group over a given period is problematic. Last week, it was impossible to identify whose computers had been accessed.

Fred
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Fantastically easy to use but support not always helpful with backend issues

Reviewed on 08/12/2022

With all staff suddenly working remotely, we needed a secure option that allowed a dedicated gateway for remote staff to use. NordLayer allowed us to configure 50 staff easily and without any major disruption to business thanks to useful team admin interface and ease of setup/installation via the Windows and Linux client.

Pros

The online user interface and the software interface itself are easy enough for all staff to navigate, in particular admin can restrict settings within the app to ensure correct use and reduce tickets from staff having issues connecting.

Cons

Downtime on our dedicated UK Gateway has been frequent enough that we had to provision a backup server located in France which we end up using several times a month. Support not always helpful and tend to refer to basic troubleshooting when clearly a server issue.

Alternatives Considered

Perimeter 81

Reasons for Choosing NordLayer

Went from having a small number of staff who needed remote access to the entire workforce and Nord was much easier to scale for the whole team.

Switched From

PureVPN

Reasons for Switching to NordLayer

Based on a recommendation from a partner and our sister company were also making the switch to Nord at the time.
Lawrence
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good VPN but lacking features and customisation

Reviewed on 05/12/2022

Pros

User interface is very simple and straightforward. Easy to install and deploy. Team management is also easy.

Cons

Having used NordVPN, it seems it has less features. Customer support is very unhelpful. When trying to use other protocols, they don't always work.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Package/Freight Delivery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Doesn't get in the way of your day today work

Reviewed on 30/11/2022

Excellent. Easy to setup. Easily forgotten once connected. I never think; will I be able to do my work today? Will I be able to complete my work before the VPN provider kicks me off my dedicated IP? I haven't needed to contact support. As far as I know, we've only had a handful of issues connecting which were solved by a local (home) router reboot.

Pros

We as a team love that NordLayer doesn't get in the way of our work. Previous VPN providers we used were constantly causing issues. Once connected to NordLayer's VPN, you forget that you are connected. This is, in our opinion exactly what a VPN should do.

Cons

The software delivers on everything we need. There's nothing to complain about.

Benoît
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Useful and secured VPN - used for security in a banking software environment

Reviewed on 08/12/2022

Easy to setup, easy to deploy, easy to manage, and secured.

Pros

Easy to setup, easy to manage access for teams and members.The dedicated VPN server with static IP address.New members joining the team are activated with only a few actions and are ready to work within a few minutes.The security is really important to us, and we rely on NordLayer to access protected IT resources securly.We also appreciate the availability on multiple devices (smartphone, Windows, Mac OS...)

Cons

Sometimes, the network fails to establish connection and we need to reboot the computer to get network back - mainly after application updates.But it seems that since latest versions we don't encounter this issue as much as we did.

Alex
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Nord Layers is great for our business needs.

Reviewed on 13/12/2022

This has been really useful for allowing our international workers to easily connect to and user services inside the US, since many websites and services block international connections. Since this is our major use, our experience has been mostly great. Occasionally it appears that the IP our employees our using seems to get blocked by some sites, so they have to disconnect and reconnect a few times to try and get onto the site.

Pros

This allows us to easily manage VPN connections for remote employees without having to run a dedicated VPN service in our office. This keeps our bandwidth needs in office lower. It’s also super easy to manage our users using this software. Very customizable, with us being able to add dedicated IPs as needed.

Cons

We had a unique situation where we wanted to connect some of our multimedia devices to this service (Firestick, Apple TV), but we were unable to because no app was available to connect these. I know a NordVPN app exists on these devices, but it would be nice if a NordLayer one did as well. Or, if we could sign into NordLayer through the NordVPN app.Also, I can’t seem to find a way to request the app cycle your IP to another address. We have had issues where websites we connect to seem to have blocked the IP address currently used.

Sean
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to Buy, Easy to Use

Reviewed on 05/12/2022

This allowed us to get a VPN up and running quickly to provide secure access to our systems during the pandemic.

Pros

The ease of setup allows you to get a VPN up and running for your company within minutes. Getting a gateway means you'll have a static IP for all of your VPN users, making it easy to poke holes in your firewall/add IPs to your cloud allowlists to get your users connected to your assets securely.

Cons

The app requires updates constantly, which is annoying to end users and tech support. A third party app is required to manage updates silently.

Kate
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best VPN I've used and recommended

Reviewed on 13/12/2022

NordLayer is the best VPN I've used so far especially when I started working remotely. As the Admin Lead of our organization and the EA to our CEO, security is our topmost priority so the peace of mind that this software provides us is the number one selling factor, followed by its competitive price point.

Pros

Ease of installment and deployment and adding team members

Cons

Failure to connect to the internet when VPN is on -- does not happen as frequent though and is usually resolved by restarting the application

Harsh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Nordlayer vpn

Reviewed on 13/12/2022

Pros

Nordlayer VPN is good, only used to connect to DC.

Cons

Sometimes connection is intermittent....

Mario
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Samsung SEAD review

Reviewed on 08/12/2022

Daily usage for remote work and access to restricted servers from home. All admins and agents working with the Nord Layer are very happy

Pros

Ease of setup, how easy it is to obtain a static IP address in a country that we needed. Very easy for all users to use the software. Great customer support that replies in a short time and answers the questions.

Cons

Nothing to note, we didn't find anything so far that we don't like.

Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

NordLayer VPN

Reviewed on 25/01/2023

Overall, the experience has been good. Could be improved with more fine-grain settings that provide more control which is needed in an enterprise environment.

Pros

NordLayer integration is fairly easy. The App is straightforward and easy to use on both computer and phone. Seamless login with Azure AD SSO.

Cons

More control over how the admin settings apply to users could be improved. For example, I may want a subset of users to see only the dedicated VPN Gateway and have another group of users able to see all country gateways. Some settings are all or nothing and it would be better to be able to have more control. Having to download the MSI package for an RSS feed is a little wonky. It would be an improvement to be able to easily preconfigure settings and have a custom-built MSI for mass deployment in an enterprise environment. For example to be able to set the Protocol to IKEv2 instead of Automatic. Have had issues with Automatic Protocol since it pretty much defaults to NordLynx which doesn't seem as stable. Most issues we come across are resolved by switching the protocol off Automatic (NordLynx) to IKEv2. Lastly, it would be nice if setting the Automatic update setting would just automatically update the app instead of notifying the user that an update is available. Users without admin rights on the machine can't perform the update and are continually prompted that there is an update.

Taylor
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Affordable VPN for remote needs

Reviewed on 29/11/2022

Enabling Remote Workers to access work resources that are not typically available in their country has been incredible. Our alternative was a cloud based private VPN solution that was going to cost $6k to deploy and hundreds per month in operational fees. NordLayer does it for less than $100 a month.

Pros

The ease of use for both the admin configuration and the end user setup portion. Inviting new users is easy and teaching them how to connect to the VPN is quick. The network quality is also impressive. Our primary use is for our VoIP system, and there are no latency issues compared to local workers.

Cons

I don't have any cons. NordLayer has met all of our needs and I have never needed support, the product has just worked as advertised.

Raymond
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Fast VPN, Mac App need some improvement

Reviewed on 06/12/2022

It has been good and done the job for our company. The service is extremely fast and works all around the world (which has been tested by our staff).

Pros

Super fast VPN, we are able to host and stream with no issues and very little delay. Straight forward user panel and very friendly support.

Cons

The Mac App though the Appstore has caused me some issues in my MDM environment. The start with computer start features turns off sometimes and it is recommended to add the programs manually to the start up program on System Preferences. Also is there a way to link the app and the device so it will not sign out on occasion. Dropbox app has a way of doing this, and it remains signed in, even if your Mac Keychain is reset (in the case I user gets locked out of Mac and needs to use recovery / FileVault keys to gain access).

Florian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great and reliable VPN service

Reviewed on 28/11/2022

Pros

I mostly like the ease of use and the pro features like having company gateways with dedicated IPs in different locations worldwide.

Cons

I have to re-login from time to time on my devices. But I'm not sure if this is something NordLayer is responsible for or the OS.

Madhav
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Why NordVPM Teams

Reviewed on 21/01/2021

My overall experience with NordVPN is very good. I use NordVPN whenever I need to change my IP address.

Pros

NordVPN Teams is my favorite VPN because the data security and online privacy feature provided by this VPN is the best.We can change our IP adress and bypass geoblocks easily with Nord VPN. Online gaming experience is best while using NordVPN.

Cons

The internet connection gets reduced to a great amount while using NordVPN.

Response from NordVPN Teams

Hey, Madhav! We appreciate the comment and thanks for the feedback.

Jaime
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Nice Product

Reviewed on 28/11/2022

Really good opinion about the product. We use the VPN every day, easy use and Multiplatform. We need to dig more about the other options like Remote Desktop etc. But for the moment we will continue using NordLayer because is a product that fit perfect with our daily business.

Pros

We made an extensive search looking for products like this. Finally this was the selected one, because it fit perfectly with our needs, and besides is really easy to use, Multiplatform and nice price.

Cons

Sometimes we have some issues depending on the computer and we need to modify the settings on the app. Minor issue.We need to dig about more possibilities like the Remote Desktop, now only made a heavy use of the VPN.

Deborah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

NordVPN for Protection

Reviewed on 10/06/2021

Pros

I am a personal user of NordVPN. Although my home router provides security, I wanted an additional layer of security for myself and my family. This allows me to feel safer, particularly when we use our smartphones outside of our home Internet connection.

Cons

It's annoying to keep having to connect each time and there is a bit of a slowdown in data on smartphone, but it's a "con" that I will live with in order to have the security I want.

Abhishek
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best VPN so far

Reviewed on 29/11/2022

I am overwhelmed by this VPN. Highly recommended.

Pros

It is very easy to access the vpn with NordLayer tool. VPN gateways can be changed within a second.

Cons

There are so many updates and sometimes it it slow.

Ned
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Implement a company wide VPN easily and inexpensively, with great support

Reviewed on 05/12/2022

Pros

NordLayer makes it easy to implement a company VPN and secure company communications and traffic at a reasonable price. Great customer support makes it even easier.

Cons

Monitoring reporting is very limited, requiring the use of other tools if that’s important to your organization.

Raymond
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

VPN for Everything!

Reviewed on 07/08/2021

Overall, for users that need a VPN for light work free trial can be the best option. However, for anyone that needs a VPN for heavy work, a Subscription is needed. Both of the options are very good.

Pros

This VPN is available on IOS, Android, Windows, and macOS. That help me to install the same VPN with a great connection for all of my devices. Even for a free trial, NordVPN gives the best stable connection for the user from many countries to select as the IP address.

Cons

The free trial only provides several countries that can be select. Sometimes in free trial mode, the speed of connection can be really slow.

Brandon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very happy with Nord for our Team.

Reviewed on 13/12/2022

Pros

The UI is very nice and easy to use. Easy to setup and remove access. Works well on all devices.

Cons

The seperation of nord and teams is a little confusing. You can't tell at a glance on the device which "service" is being used.

Luke
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

VPN Software - NordLayer

Reviewed on 29/11/2022

Pros

I love the easiness of adding new users, and adding subscriptions. Simple billing and online portal.

Cons

I feel as if the customer service and custom options could be improved (i.e. bulk discounting)

Leonardo Jr
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best VPN for remote work

Reviewed on 08/12/2022

Our employees connect to our overseas clients that have requirements to have the IP coming from the client's region

Pros

Easily manage user access and a breeze to setup

Cons

No negative experiences as of the moment.

Greg
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Nord 2022

Reviewed on 05/12/2022

good experience

Pros

easy vpn usage, was easy to roll out with team

Cons

pricing is a little high, I heard from staff they sometimes get kicked out of VPN

Andreas Dreyer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Great

Reviewed on 28/11/2022

.

Pros

It works. It is easy to install and runs on both Mac and windows.

Cons

Configuring new gateways. The documentation for Azure is outdated.