VSDC Video Editor

4.5 (80)
Video editing software for designers

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(80)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

95%
recommended this app
Sort by

80 Reviews

Djordje
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for (serious) beginners

Reviewed on 29/03/2020

The longer I work in VSDC, the more satisfied I am. I learned how to go around some quirks and hot to get most of it.

Pros

I am not a professional in this field, so for me, the best thing is that I was able, reasonably fast, to grasp the concept, and to start using the software. Later, as my understanding of the video production was growing, I did recover more zip and trick on how to use VSDC

Cons

The free version is somewhat limited, but the limitations are not well explained. The Pro version is top.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

VSDC Free Video Editor is a force to be reckoned with... too bad it's only for Windows

Reviewed on 13/12/2018

The experience has been great when it comes to features, so-so when it comes to general user-friendliness. I would recommend this to any Windows owner looking for a robust alternative to paid software suites of the same type.

Pros

The pros of VSDC Free Video Editor are overwhelming. The program has all of the basic features of video editing software. However, it has many features that are uncommon, especially among other freeware. First of all, the software lets users adjust the size of videos on screen and move, or animate, them through the use of "sprites." This inevitably takes some getting used to, but it's a nifty feature nonetheless. Secondly, VSDC makes it possible to remove the green screen background from footage (aka chroma key). Finally, VSDC Free Video Editor is part of a greater suite of software backed by the same company. This integration means users can go beyond the power of the program and do things like video conversion with only a few clicks. Also noteable, the software's interface looks modern and intuitive.

Cons

The interface looks beautiful on the outside, but in reality it's a bit clunky. This shows through with the choppy render previews and lack of "snapping" in the video timeline.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

VSDC Regular Usage Review

Reviewed on 13/05/2022

My Overall VSDC experience was not really that well.

Pros

I like this software's various features and its abilities.

Cons

I dislike this software's features; the accessibility and the useability of the features.

Kobie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

VSDC is a full featured (free) or advanced (pro) Video editor you can grow with

Reviewed on 30/11/2021

Overall VSDC is a great full featured (free version) and great advanced (Pro subscription) video editor for those looking to start in video editing with the tools they can learn as they grow to more advanced stages.
It is a remarkable video editor for either the free price or the pro price. For the cost of about 4 McDonalds meals per year, you can have a great video editor.

Pros

I liked the initial ease of use, and vast array of options such as being able to highlight text with custom colored boxes, circles, ovals etc.

Cons

To make most advanced adjustments there's no sliders. You have to know the equation for X, Y and Z axis and adjust the parameters by changing numbers with no visual scale or slider. I'm a visual person working with a visual focused (video) software so the decision to omit sliders is an odd one.

Pragya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best Free Video Editing Software

Reviewed on 09/02/2021

Best Free nonlinear video editing software available right now. Every tool for beginner-friendly to intermediate video editing is available. It also supports screen capture and voice-overs. Text processing and rendering are fast. Works on almost all PCs.

Pros

1)It's a FREE video editing software that supports nonlinear video editing. You won't have to leave the application because the trial period is over nor you have to deal with a huge watermark that makes your videos ugly.
2)Screen Capture Function: Despite being free it offers a ton of features like screen capture, audio improvement, voice-over support, effects, and transitions that are generally not found even on paid software.
3)It supports all popular audio and video codecs. Unlike other free software, I didn't have to convert videos to a suitable format to import in this software.
4)Chroma Key: Yes, we can make green screen videos with this free software.
5)Lowest system requirements needed – It works even on outdated PCs!

Cons

1)For Professional tools like motion tracking, stabilization, and beat syncing we need to switch to VSDC Pro which is paid.
2)No Video Stabilization tool in VSDC.
3)Audio waveform and hardware acceleration features are not available in the free version.

GLOUYTH
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Video Record gets cracked

Reviewed on 21/04/2019

Overall i will give thumbs up for this app, i was using this on my video vlogging for a year and a half and this software is awesome. I will highly recommend this software to all.

Pros

I like it much because its user friendly and easy to understand even without knowledge in video editing specially those who just started their vlogging

Cons

Recently, its been 3 days now, whenever i do a screen record, when i tried to play it the record is always cracked and i need to do it over and over again until it wont crack. Its hassle in my part and i dont want to change another software because this one is easy to use. I hope this issues will be resolved.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Most beginner friendly video editing software

Reviewed on 26/01/2021

Overall, VSDC Video Editor is an amazing software for those who have a limited budget. It is inexpensive and allows users to create high quality content with ease (if you know what you are doing).

Pros

What I liked most about VSDC is that you did not need to purchase it in order to be able to edit and create a video. It allows users to use majority of their feature for free. VSDC is very simple to use. When it comes to video editing all I had to do was select a video I wanted to edit from the folder where my video was saved. VSDC also enabled me to crop videos, add audio, text, effects, transitions, and much more. This allowed me, a student with no video editing background, create flawless videos.

Cons

What I disliked most about VSDC is that they did not have a tutorial available to watch the first time using their software. As a user with no video editing background it was overwhelming to use at first. I had to go out of my way and learn everything before being able to use the software.

Shakkhar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Video editing software to test paid features in free

Reviewed on 24/07/2020

Well, I'm a professional freelancer and I was once looking out for a free video editing software for promoting my services by making videos. But most of the video making software programs are gives paid selections or 7 days free trial version. Then in the end I find the software via youtube and the most interesting thing is that it offers me to test many paid features in free.

Pros

[1] Offers paid features such as video converter, disc burner, 2k/4k video supporter.
[2] Also provides a free screen recorder and video capture.
[3] Provide video tutorials for making the software user friendly.
[4] Consume low memory(RAM).

Cons

I used its VSDC Screen recorder during taking my online classes in ZOOM, but it makes my PC slow to work. Also when I click on start drawing button and attempt to move the VSDC screen recorder bar, its got stuck & didn't move if I not stop the drwing option .

Gonzalo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

VSDC As an entry level software for editing videos

Reviewed on 01/07/2021

In our company, we were required to create a "virtual tour" through some local plants.
Recordings of video and voice overs were recorded, split and put together with this software, making life easier.

Pros

I enjoyed the ease of use of this product, since little knowledge of video editing is required to produce great pieces of content.
Effects of audio and video are a righ-click away.

Cons

If you are using the free version, the render is slow.
There is a significant but not huge difference on the render speed if you use the paid version.
Effects are very good, you get what you pay for.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A video editor with a lot of useful features

Reviewed on 10/11/2019

The overall experience of using the video editor is quite favorable as it provides a wide variety of useful features to make amazing videos. Even the free version of the software contains lot of useful and amazing effects and other editing options that can help to create interesting and beautiful videos. The paid version contains even more helpful features. Therefore, VSDC video editor is a good recommendation for a beginner level video editor to get to learn and use the basic video editing techniques.

Pros

VSDC is a Windows based video editor that provides a variety of useful features for a beginner in video editing. It provides the user a variety of video and audio effects, filters etc. Further it has the ability to capture screen recordings, audio recordings as well as to save video files in numerous formats. It has a rich set of online tutorials that are quite useful for beginners as well. Further, the user interface of the software is very easy to get familiar with and easy-to-use.

Cons

The diversity of the provided video effects is a bit narrow. It would be much helpful if there were more number of different video effects to be used for editing so that videos can be edited more creatively.

Kyle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome software!

Reviewed on 04/11/2022

Absolutely love this software, I would highly recommend it.

Pros

I loved that there are so many features that come with the free software, as well as many ways to tweak things further with the Pro version. Also loved that there are so many help videos online!

Cons

I wish the software was not a subscription model. I would prefer to outright purchase the software and maybe have it include a couple updates only, rather than be locked in to a constant subscription if I want to keep using the Pro version.

Kris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful, yet easy to use

Reviewed on 08/09/2019

I've been able to create high quality videos for inclusion in the video games my company produces thanks to VSDC, and don't have any plans to switch to another video editor anytime soon.

Pros

VSDC combines an intuitive interface with powerful features designed to allow the end user to create remarkable videos, complete with animations and even includes professional Hollywood type features such as chroma-keying, more commonly referred to as the "green screen" effect. The program does a great job of combining powerful video editing features with easy of use, and really helps to streamline the entire multimedia editing and production process.

Cons

Earlier versions of VSDC seemed a have a few software bugs here and there when performing certain features, however, these wrinkles seemed to have been ironed out in the most recent releases.

asanga
Overall rating
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

easy make videos

Reviewed on 05/03/2020

very power full this VSDC video i make easy to make videos instant make videos. my videos jobs quality good. I teal more video editors used this VSDC videotor.

Pros

This VSDC video editor is very powerful video editing animated, creating videos making. very easy handling this VSDC video editor. good mixing control colour balancing. sound very good and effects / time to cutting videos easy. audio effects / slide videos / little knowledge ok VSDC video editor use.

Cons

i like i make my music videos. very easy i make my youtube channel music videos and entertainment program editing used this VSDC video edotor.

Dragan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very good video editor

Reviewed on 09/10/2020

Creating and editing videos like a PRO!

Pros

VSDC video editor is a program that someone without previous knowledge like me can use, edit and create excellent video content!

Cons

Voice recorder could be more implemented with video editor (preview of video while recording voice-over).

Alternatives Considered

Shotcut

Reasons for Switching to VSDC Video Editor

Ease of use.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The video editor I always use!

Reviewed on 04/03/2022

Pros

Personally, I find it hard to find a video editor that has every feature I can look for. Other video editors are either very expensive, or is hard to download for me. But I installed VSDC Video Editor with ease and on top of that, is inexpensive. It has all the features I can ask for. For instance, putting texts, filters, creating slideshows, screen capturing, etc. I always use this video editor to edit my videos to be submitted to my school, and always get high marks along with it.

Cons

When I first started with this application, I honestly found it hard to navigate through and to use different kinds of their many features. I think using VSDC for beginners can be quite hard and frustrating at times. But VSDC Video Editor actually has their own Youtube channel and website anyone can visit to help out with that.

Adnan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best tool for Editing and Creating Videos

Reviewed on 31/10/2020

I really like the interface of this software, because it's really easy to understand and use. I have a great experience with VSDC Video Editor. I have edited and composed a lot of my professional videos in this software.

Pros

You can edit your family video or your company presentation video in this VSDC Video editor. There are lots of audio and visual effects, you can apply to your videos. You can edit your videos from scratch to the advanced level.

Cons

The software allow us to create videos with a small efforts and we can export stunning quality videos. As I know, I never faced any cons. For me VSDC Video editor is awesome, without cons.

nilusha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

my review to vsdc software

Reviewed on 23/12/2019

i am a part time you tuber. i have used so many software s to make my video, in august of 2019.i found this vsdc video editing software.. since that i am using this software to edit my videos and making videos . now i am satisfy about my uploading videos those are very eye catching clips and good resolutions.

Pros

This is the software that i am using to edit video making video making slide shows,screen captures , etc...
and very easy to use this software.
nice theme.
there are more tools in this software .
good rendering time actually it is good

Cons

open display is not creative . but software is good.

archie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Vsdc

Reviewed on 14/03/2022

Pros

The features and the quality of the software it is easy to use and it is for free

Cons

So far i didn't encounter any problem with rhe software.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A Useful, but Unintuitive Solution

Reviewed on 20/12/2019

We turned to VSDC while trying to finish some hurried video work, after encountering a fatal technical glitch in our standard video-editing platform. While we appreciated some of the unusual features of VSDC, and its modest resource-load, we were ultimately grateful to leave the UI and workflow behind when the glitch with our other solution was resolved.

Pros

It’s free.
It consumes fewer computer resources relative to some competitors.
Stacking effects and transitions into each clip allows for some unique editing options.

Cons

The interface was jarring.
The workflow was significantly different than other industry-standard platforms like DaVinci Resolve, Lightworks, or Premiere Pro.
Figuring out how to do things required a time-consuming process of watching YouTube tutorials.

Will
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

VSDC Video Editor is nice, free video editing software

Reviewed on 27/02/2019

Pros

It is free. As far as free applications that do what it does, I cannot think of many. Features are somewhat lacking but that is expected with free apps.

Cons

Depending on what you are trying to accomplish, it may not have enough features and levels to it. In which case you will need to go with a paid editing system or application.

Laura
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fabulous Video Editing Software

Reviewed on 20/07/2021

I tried so many different video editing software programs that didn't have what I needed or were very difficult to use. I was relieved to find VSDC and be able to efficiently use it to get done what I needed to. I will continue to use it in the future when I need to create videos.

Pros

My favorite thing about this software was that it was easy to learn how to use and it allowed me to easily layer videos and edit them to create multiple split screens.

Cons

There's not much I disliked about this software. The only thing I can think of is that every time I opened the program, I had to set up my preferred icons at the top for easy access. It didn't automatically save them.

Terry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Libraries
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use for beginners

Reviewed on 04/12/2018

Easy to use and easy to learn!

Pros

Our library is now offering green screen technology both for our internal use and to offer to the public through our makerspace and this program is easy to use and great for beginners. The chroma key is a big plus!

Cons

I wish the audio portion of the program were a bit more responsive, especially when we blend several different video clips that have different audio levels.

Taylor
Overall rating
  • Industry: Luxury Goods & Jewelry
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

What's Not To Love?

Reviewed on 15/08/2020

Pros

This software has tons of great features for absolutely free. You can pay to get the upgraded version, but the free version fit my needs perfectly. Tons of options!

Cons

Not super user friendly, especially if you've never edited videos before.

Seth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good video editing software

Reviewed on 11/04/2020

I have tried multiple video editing softwares but this one is definitely a standout.

Pros

I am not the most computer savvy individual so I like that this software is easy to use for beginners. The screen grab feature is also a plus.

Cons

I have ran into a few bugs while making some videos. Nothing huge, have not had any big problems with this software.

Saurav
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

NICE TOOL FOR VIDEO EDITING

Reviewed on 23/09/2019

I was editing a video of conference proceedings and it was easy to do so with VSDC considering I have never used a video editing software before

Pros

It was very easy to learn how to edit a video using VSDC video editor. I had to edit a 15 minute long video and make it somewhere between 2-3 minutes in terms of duration. I just saw some online tutorials and was able to self teach myself to do it in 2 hours or so.

Cons

I did not come across anything that I would consider as a strong negative. The interphase does have a lot of options and sometimes a new user might get confused but the online tutorials could be of great help in this regard