Open DevOps

4.5 (265)
Open DevOps is mission control for your DevOps toolchain.

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(265)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
3.9/5
Customer Support
4.1/5

94%
recommended this app
Sort by

265 Reviews

Richy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Bang For Your Buck

Reviewed on 25/03/2020

It's the best software out there to manage a team so overall I am very happy and so are all of my developers.

Pros

Jira makes it super easy to manage a team and helps each developer stay on top of their tasks, keep track of everything they are doing, and easily communicate with other team members.

Cons

Maybe a bit of help with integration would be amazing for anyone that has no idea what they are doing but otherwise it is AMAZING.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Project

Reasons for Choosing Open DevOps

Github was not nearly as advanced as Jira when it came to managing a team and collaborating.

Switched From

GitHub

Reasons for Switching to Open DevOps

I tested both of them and Jira was more user friendly.
Sourabh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

JIRA enables business to add velocity to their service management tasks and workflows

Reviewed on 07/09/2021

JIRA is a modern take on a ITSM solution. It is feature loaded yet has a very intuitive User Experience. It has good User Interface as well. JIRA acts as the common interface between Developers, IT ops and business teams and helps different parts of the business colloborate better. It acts as the source of truth for all involves parties and does its basic tasks quite well. It adds velocity to the overall process of task management irrespective of the industry it is used in.

Pros

1. Great User Interface and User Experience.
2. The ability to create custom queues and automatically re-direct issues to these queues saves a lot of time. 3. The inbuilt SLA management and the option of integrating it to third party alert and notification software is impressive.
4. Adding attachment, links and other resources to JIRA ticket is easy and straightforward.
5. It has great audit trail tracking and can act as a source of truth for all parties involved.

Cons

1. The issue search feature could have been a little more customizable and faster.
2. The options available to format the comments on an issue are limited and not very intuitive.

Alternatives Considered

Zepel

Reasons for Choosing Open DevOps

We moved to the Atlassian Ecosystem.

Reasons for Switching to Open DevOps

Jira was more cost effective and fitted our needs better. It better integrated with other Atlassian products that we planned to buy. Jira certainly is the most proven modern Project Tracking software out there.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Functional for specific purpose but confusing

Reviewed on 25/01/2019

Jira is a great tool to track progress of a Product Team with Developers and Engineers. Seems like it was built with the intention to help a Dev/Engineer team really thrive on tasks within an Agile workflow. Because of that, there are no bells or whistles. The Design is pretty vanilla and doesn't really wow. In fact, I find that the design actually makes too much of the functionality blend with each other that nothing really sticks out as a Go-To feature in this market. There are so many updates that come with Jira that with the steep learning curve, you're almost always wondering what you can/can't do. Atlassian also makes Asana which is essentially the same tool but geared towards Product/Design. Seems like it doesn't make sense to split half your team here and half your team there. There should be just one tool.

Pros

Once you get passed the learning curve, it's fairly simple. Ability to keep in sync with a Dev team is probably the best overall Pro. Devs seem to be able to understand the features and flows here more than anyone. Integrations with other software make it a consideration. Ability to track in kanban style.

Cons

It's not Aesthetically pleasing at all. There are a lot of features and capabilities that are in-line or buried that aren't evident. There is a pretty big learning curve with Jira and it's purpose. There are SO many capabilities, integrations and functions that are constantly being changed or updated that by the time you catch up to the curve, something changes and you're behind again. Support team also is not super clear on communication.

Carlos David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best Project Management and SCRUM Board Tool

Reviewed on 29/08/2022

Overall I'd say that JIRA has been a key part of the success of almost every IT project for which I have been part during my 12+ years of career. Issue tracking, bug/defect tracking , road map features, notifications, etc. Are all the things you need to successfully conduct your team through the hard process of delivering a well developed product.

Pros

With JIRA you have access to a variety of tools and functions that allow you keep track of your Software Development projects. It is especially designed to work with AGILE so it is only natural that almost all IT software companies are using it.

Cons

Permission management can be quite tricky sometimes.

Dilip
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My Review of JIRA

Reviewed on 03/02/2022

As a software developer, I have used life cycle software for many software developments. For more than two years I have been using JIRA in software development. I found it really helpful to address daily developments using this Agile software development model. I have used JIRA software to develop multiple software while using the Agile approach to work for faster software development with continuous development and bug fixes. I found it really helpful to work with JIRA.

Pros

JIRA is one of the best known software used to develop and track software using the Agile method. Using JIRA is easy to track application usage and easy to assign to developers tasks. I have been working with JIRA in software development for over 2 years. At JIRA we used to develop software on the basis of continuous integration and continuous development.

Cons

Honestly, I haven't found a feature or functionality of JIRA that I dislike because it comes with multiple features that are really useful when communicating on a project with team members on the stories.

Alternatives Considered

ProofHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to Open DevOps

I choose JIRA because it's the overall package that is provided by Atlassian. In JIRA it is easy to maintain multiple projects, assigning stories, tracking issues, and moreover the user experience. It's easy to use and interact with the JIRA.
Waqas A
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jira, the best technical task management tool!

Reviewed on 28/04/2022

Overall, it was a great experience using Jira. We're still using it, exploring it and learning that how to improve our development processes and make ease for both management and the developers.

Pros

- Easy for devs to understand
- Easy to integrate with bitbucket
- Easy to integrate third party apps like slack, zephyr and many more
- Help employees to manage their tasks and track their production time
- Help management to keep track of progress of the project and also to get an idea of employee's performance.

Cons

A bit lengthy tool, for new users, one should be able to use it once s/he will spend 1 month on it.

Alternatives Considered

Asana

Reasons for Choosing Open DevOps

Because of features and ease.

Switched From

Smartsheet

Reasons for Switching to Open DevOps

Because of having more functionalities, and flexibility.
Edwin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great innovated tracking tool

Reviewed on 09/07/2022

All our users/developers having no bad experience provide us and quickly access of what we need to do.

Pros

This jira web application has a lot of features to manage or agile projects from small teams to big teams from more than 20 people. Great connection with other applications like confluence.

Cons

Sometime it can be very slow when a lot of users using this portal. Or when there is a bug in a new version of jira when we cannot save or update tickets can be very annoying in a production project. Make sure that the update doesn’t brake anything.

Alternatives Considered

monday.com

Reasons for Switching to Open DevOps

Provide a lot of features and grateful for corporate companies like banks.
Arshad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to start with and plenty of features to explore

Reviewed on 31/03/2022

We use it for project managment with our code repository linked to it and its working excellently for us. All what we needed.

Pros

It is very easy to learn. When I started first I thought it will be difficult but this wasn't the case. There are loads of features and options to explore and work with that makes your daily job of project management so much easier.

Cons

Integration tools need a little more work.

Alternatives Considered

Teamwork

Reasons for Choosing Open DevOps

The price is cheaper and there are plenty of options.

Switched From

Teamwork
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best tool for Project & Product management

Reviewed on 22/03/2022

Very useful , easy to use and track and monitor project management activities

Pros

We used Jira every day for development and Product management for creating, assigning and updating tickets ,user stories and tasks.

Cons

Though it's A very useful and easy to use and riched with features but scrum methodology I think Azure devops board is far better in sprint management

Syed Amir
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

JIRA - Project Tracking tool

Reviewed on 03/03/2022

We manage the Robotic Process Automation lifecyle with this tool, overall project tracking, managing the tollgates, code deployments and so on.

Pros

It is very user friendly, ease of tracking multiple task in a project such as timeline, hug tracking and so on.

Cons

Sometimes customisation is not that easy as compared to Azure Dev Ops, otherwise it is an amazing tool

Piotr
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Everyday task management for everyone.

Reviewed on 08/07/2022

As a tester, I am using Jira daily. My main activities are creating/updating bug tickets, updating task statuses, arrange and planning my future work. Jira is a great tool, on a basic level, it is intuitive to use. A huge amount of functionalities that are built in and integrated make work much more efficient. Bug and task tracking are easy and quick. Everyone with access can check what is the progress or the latest updates on a selected topic. Customization of features is amazing, Jira admin can adapt almost everything to the company's needs. If anything is not clear, customer service is happy to help and assist with all queries. In case the existing functionalities are not enough, it is a possibility to install external plugins from the shop that can extend capabilities.
On the other hand, Jira can be problematic. It is a huge software with a large number of modules that can interfere with each other. Especially if modified by an inexperienced admin, e.g. a small change in a workflow can affect all projects that are in the company. It is vital to know what are you doing as an admin. Also, if users need new functionality, it can be reported in the Jira forum, which is tracking similar requests - unfortunately, a lot of them are there for years without updates, despite users constantly asking about that. I assume this may be because of the software itself, but explanations would be nice.
All in all, it is an amazing piece of code despite the high price and minor problems!

Pros

A great number of functionalities.
On the basic level is intuitive.
Vast possibilities for adaptation and customization.
Rather easy to integrate with other apps.
A huge number of plugins.
Customer service - in terms of personal help to do something

Cons

Some features are limited (e.g. filtering)
Customer service - in terms of requests to add new/change existing functionalities.
Rather high price

Carla
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Jira is Great for Development, but only Good for Creative

Reviewed on 14/01/2022

A great way to track deadlines between silos and especially developers.

Pros

Jira is out of the box free, and it's amazing because it works with everything by the same company. It also allows for easy organization of projects and silos, which intersect with each other. You can easily hand off tasks and allow people to collaborate.

Cons

Jira has a very development based angle, so if you're trying to manage a hybrid team, it works well. But if your team is marketing heavy, it's very anti-user friendly unless a person has familiarity with code or databases. It's just sparse and less user friendly.

Alternatives Considered

Redmine

Reasons for Choosing Open DevOps

Wanted more customization

Switched From

monday.com

Reasons for Switching to Open DevOps

It had nice integrations like Trello and was easy to share between developers AND marketers.
Boris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best way to track time and tasks

Reviewed on 15/03/2021

I have used Jira in a few projects and every time it proved to be a reliable and productive solution. Mostly we use Jira to keep track of our developer's time in the Kanban board. It is a great tool that allows the developers to actually show us how hard they work and what tasks they tackled. Jira has increased productivity in all projects I used it in.

Pros

Tracking tasks is a time consuming effort, and one that is easy to forget. Luckily, there is Jira. Jira lets you track your tasks and time spent on them without encroaching on your day. It is easy to set up (once you know what you are doing), easy to use, and a delight to look at. It provides the time tracking and issue tracking tools that any serious project requires.

Cons

It is hard to set up the first time. You need to know which functions you need and which you should remove. But once you set it up and know how it works, it is a treat to work with it.

Alternatives Considered

Asana

Reasons for Choosing Open DevOps

Trello is a nice idea organization board, but for true time tracking and issue tracking we needed Jira.

Switched From

Trello

Reasons for Switching to Open DevOps

Mostly because it seemed more customizable of the two.
Prince
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Fantastic Tool that is ESSENTIAL for Agile

Reviewed on 25/08/2020

Since Jira has been introduced, it has allowed the company coming closer together and break down the previous silos that were prevalent for quite some time. This assisted the architects, UI/UX engineers, developers, testers, and all of management/leadership to take a peek at different parts of the entire overall lifecycle of development. Automated scripts took this a step further which allowed reports to be generated and key points to be communicated across. I believe this tool or any other tool will suffice for your Agile needs however Jira is considered one of the more widely used and best tools available.

Pros

Jira is an essential tool that will greatly improve traceability, task management, and planning for any organization. It is incredibly intuitive when it comes to the reports that may be generated for any user. Giving the business greater control and vision into the finer details of each day (if process is followed by users), a company or organization can drill down into details of what teams and resources are working on. You can step back a level and see overall features and implementations to be delivered by any set of teams/individuals. It truly is a well thought out tool with lots of available customization.

Cons

One thing I've always disliked about Jira is the lack of UI customization such as applying themes or having certain sections stand out more than others. You will see much of the UI is plain and ambiguious. I am not sure if this is customizable from a different permissioned user however, I have never seen the ability to have a nicer looking interface from my accounts within my organizations. Yes it is much more powerful but lacks creativity in UI design.

Aaron
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Powerful, enterprise software that might be more than you need

Reviewed on 25/09/2019

We use Jira as a kanban/agile project management tool in software development. The workflow is well understood by most developers and onboarding new team members into our system is a breeze. It is good at tracking projects and managing sprints.

Pros

As an SDLC management tool it excels. It's designed from the ground up for tracking user stories, tasks, epics, sprints, etc. in large organizations. It is excellent for cross functional team collaboration and really shines in a mature environment that doesn't change frequently or quickly. It is continuously improving and it is obvious that the JIRA team is very proactive and dedicated to staying ahead of the competition in features and services.

Cons

It is overkill for smaller teams or products that are very early in their life. When projects and teams are very dynamic, Jira projects become bloated, cumbersome, and fragmented. This product really is suited for larger, mature organizations that already have strong procedural discipline and rather monolithic approval/decision making. I know it's supporting agile methodology but really it's rigidness is more aligned with waterfall type management.

Alternatives Considered

VersionOne

Reasons for Choosing Open DevOps

Rally was slow and outdated, many PM's complained about lack of features and cumbersome set-up.

Switched From

Rally

Reasons for Switching to Open DevOps

Feature set, confluence integration, pricing model
Gabriel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Expensive but extremely effective for project management

Reviewed on 11/01/2019

In a few words JIRA is a task tracking software that makes life easier when working on a project.

Once the initial setup is in place (easy to do for common scenarios ) all is left for an administrator is to manage the list of projects and user accounts.
Note that parts of the process (e.g.: customizing workflows) need to be done up-front, since this will become more complex once one or more projects are configured and in-use

As for usability, it is one of the best tracking systems I've ever used: as a developer/QA you can easily update the status of your work in a user-friendly way. As a manager, you can always get the overview you need by just opening a screen or a report (most of what you need is in place by default)

What's best about it is that as long as it is installed on-premises, it can be used as a central point of information for everyone involved with a project. The fact that it can be integrated with other common software industry tools adds further benefit from this.

In the end, I should probably add that I've been using all kinds of bug tracking systems for about 15 years (starting with ancient tools like redmine going through PivotalTracker or VersionOne or JIRA) and almost all of them were either missing features that I deemed important or "spartan" usage/layouts that constraint the usage.
JIRA just provides everything that's needed in completing a project out-of-the-box (whether it's Agile, Waterfall or Kanban or whatnot)

Pros

- Overviews & quick access to information
- Possibility to integrate with most commonly used systems (it integrates with pretty much all mainstream tools, nut just the ones from Atlassian) - you can integrate it even with continuous integration tools or test management tools (e.g. TestRails)
- Security control (everything is fine grained, tools to configure fine-grain access are already integrated
- Comes out of the box with the most common work scenarios (client onside/offsite, development only/development + product management, etc)
- Reporting (easy to extract the things that matter (whether this is worked hours or development velocity)
- Version management (easy to manage what features are grouped in a release, or what fixtures were done for which version)
- Workflows can be customized to match just about any real-life usage scenario
- Allows for both on-premises (self-hosted) installation and cloud usage.
- Configurable dashboards

Cons

- Pricing - it is prohibitively expensive for small companies, although they are making steps to minimize this with the new pricing models (e.g.: a few years ago they started allowing up to 5 accounts per project and unlimited projects, for a fixed yearly fee).

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

I have used Jira both as part of a team of developers and also as a Project Manager managing a...

Reviewed on 14/06/2018

Jira helped us to more easily manage multiple teams of software developers and gather feedback from end users for several large applications that we were developing which were at various stages of completion and usability. We were able to use our available resources in a much more optimal and seamless manner, which helped us to complete projects and resolve issues more quickly, easily track the status of specific tasks across multiple projects/teams and monitor productivity at various levels. Ultimately, this allowed us to both reduce development costs and complete our projects more quickly which in-turn increased our business revenue.

Pros

Jira is a very powerful tool for managing teams of software developers working on one, or even multiple projects simultaneously. It is very robust and feature-rich, with features such as setting up/managing individual tasks, coordinating development efforts across tasks/developers to maximize team productivity, managing/tracking issues & bugs, gathering feedback from non-technical users via Jira user stories and managing project backlogs. There in also embedded support for Scrum & Kanban boards, although I haven't personally worked with those features. The custom workflows allow users to setup and manage their projects & teams according to the needs of their business and their preferred software development framework and management style. Jira is a very comprehensive, all-in-one tool for managing smaller teams of only a few people, all the way up to very large teams of 100+ stakeholders.

Cons

Given the robust features and functions that Jira supports, there's a lot of depth and breadth to the software, so it can be somewhat complex and confusing to newer users, especially those who haven't worked much with project management tools previously. For project managers who are leading multiple teams simultaneously, things can get a bit overwhelming because the email notifications and project alerts can quickly start to become excessive, and there's no way to consolidate notifications across projects/teams.

Sivajee
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

One of the best tool for Project management

Reviewed on 23/07/2022

I loved everything about Jira. It's a one tool every developer knows and one tool everyone should use

Pros

The customization and features it has are awesome. We can do lots of project management things with Jira. Definately one should try for their projects. This is the best among all project management tools

Cons

I really don't like much their UI. It can be improved. Especially in latest version of their UX, the navigation sucks.

Alternatives Considered

Trello

Reasons for Choosing Open DevOps

Previous tool is not optimized or wont cover all requirements

Switched From

Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to Open DevOps

It providers better features and many companies are using it
Zach
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Zachs Review of JIRA

Reviewed on 16/02/2020

A lot of developers integrate JIRA with their development cycle and consider it a necessity. Also we have many support teams in the organization that utilize JIRA as well.

Pros

JIRA tickets are easy to follow and it’s not clunky like r”Remedy or Siebel. The ability to integrate with GitHub Crucible etc is also nice.

Cons

Enabling some plugins causes performance issues in our system and Atlassian wasn’t able to help us get root cause. I wish you could comment to specific comments like in Microsoft Teams within a JIRA ticket.

Alternatives Considered

Siebel CRM

Switched From

BMC Helix ITSM and Siebel CRM

Reasons for Switching to Open DevOps

Ease of use. Not as clunky. Multiple uses (not just help desk management)
Achal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

JIRA

Reviewed on 01/12/2020

Jira is itself a technology I will say. I have been using this software for more than 5 years now. With both as a user and JIRA developer. With almost more than 5 years of my career, JIRA helped me in each and every project no matter what process you follow KANBAN, Agile all the tasks, projects,users, tickets can be managed by using JIRA.

Pros

JIRA provides a solution for almost all project management issues. A lot of companies are migrating from Service now to JIRA software due to its pricing and features. Jira has a lot of subsidiaries and compatible with third-party plugins and apps.
Easy to use, customizable to list a few.

Cons

No cons as such but yes with the complex features provided by JIRA software will require good knowledge or hands-on to go with.

sanjana
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent tool for Agile Project management

Reviewed on 30/03/2020

Overall it is beat suited for an Agile development team to track their stories being completed smoothly in a sprint cycle if your team follows Sprint SDLC.

Pros

It is easy to customize your own team board for managing the user stories/bugs during a Sprint. It helps to keep the development team and Product team on the same page about the progress of the sprint. It is easy for the product team to view the history of a ticket and tag people in their comments if they have any update or questions. The flow of ticket and child-tasks across the board from "To-Do" to "Done" is very easy. You can create your own dashboard and offers built-in bar graphs or pie chart demonstration. The mobile version is smooth to use as well. Defect management is very easy. It's integration with TestRail, Confluence, Octopus and TeamCity works like a charm for the need of my project.

Cons

The UI gets a bit overwhelmed because it tries to display all your columns in a single landscape view. Accessing an old completed story or a closed story can be a pain.

Mohd
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Jira Software for Agile Team to Track and improve

Reviewed on 03/03/2019

I have been using Jira for the past 3 years both as an administrator where I manage and optimize its performance and on the other hand I have also creating projects, workflows, screens and users. Jira is very helpful for those organizations also who wants to track their releases whether its small or big, or short term or long term. Jira provides facilities through which users can log in the timeline of their work and invites other developers in the team to provide their inputs. This will make your project to be connected at one place and moreover this connection in now not only limited to companies site Atlassian also offers cloud based solutions too.

The best part of Atlassian Jira is they always ahead in the race which gives you more options to expand your creation, I have implmented few projects in Jira where I have implemented full automation of logging the task and reporting it through Jira, and then assigning to right person. This whole process works very easily in the JIRA

Pros

Supports integration to most of the developer's tools
Complete freedom to design your own workflow and screens
An automated ticketing system can also be generated with its Command line interface and workflow
Customer Support is one of the best in the corporate industry
Multiple tools have given at user end to make admin changes easily like, Restarting tomcat, re-indexing or integration with SVN, git.

Cons

Expensive for businesses who are medium size
Upgradation of the software from one version to another requires real IT skills
If you want to keep Jira running smoothly it has the indexing feature to make it faster but sometimes those index gets corrupted and no one can help in restoring those data.

Morgan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Jira is a great intro to agile

Reviewed on 23/04/2022

I have used other project management software before and Jira is very simple and clean. It looks modern which is a big benefit that it has going for it.

Pros

I like that Jira is very easy to use and intuitive for the most part. It is easy to set up and explain the features and functions on a basic level. Within the week, even tech illiterate people could use it well.

Cons

Some of the terms (“story points”) etc seem superfluous. There are a lot of functions in Jira that are nice but aren’t necessary.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Asana

Switched From

GitLab
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Commercial Real Estate
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent ITIL tool

Reviewed on 14/03/2021

Excellent cloud tool available for service desk tickets/ resolving and customizing the needs

Pros

It is a brilliant tool for both tech savvy or even otherwise and We have been using in our company over few years and we have customized to suit our needs very easily and good customer support

Cons

Integrating with external tools could be tricky and not much support available online and could be done better

Alternatives Considered

Dynamics 365

Reasons for Choosing Open DevOps

Cost effective and ease of use

Switched From

Azure DevOps Services

Reasons for Switching to Open DevOps

Best cloud tool and much easy to custmize
Gokul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Atlassian JIRA Software Review

Reviewed on 23/01/2019

My Overall experience in JIRA is 3 years at this point and we started using it from the Year 2016. This is used in an project called recovery with the count of 25 developers from India/USA/Canada and several business end users on the same. The stiry was easily created and went thruough several phases till deployment. I would say JIRA ease my works in managing the stories since I am the PO for whole board and connecting developers/business end users for moving the stories and completing the same.

Pros

Basically there are lot of likes about this software:

1. Clear Tracking of what is going on in the project along with version needs to be deployed.
2. Ability to Use Kanban, Scrum and other Agile methodologies in JIRA Software.
3. Ability to flag the stories which is in impediment which will show to everyone on when it was started and when it was impended.
4. Easily keep tracking of Backlog for future works and deployments that needs to be made.
5. Ability to bulk update the stories for certain categories like version, points or any others.
6. Easy in terms of reporting to generate using JQL (JIRA query language).

Cons

Some of the cons in JIRA are:

1. Some times it was ended with deadlock leads to slowness. This happens when certain users running the report across the JIRA.
2. Security is less since we can see any ones board and get to know the statuses across the enterprise.
3. JIRA is costly since it per user licenses and whole organisation have to pay according to the usages.