Elastic Observability

4.3 (24)
Full-stack observability platform

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(24)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.0/5
Customer Support
4.5/5
Sort by

24 Reviews

Filip
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Essential tool for all my devops needs

Reviewed on 05/09/2018

Pros

I've been using Elasticsearch since early days, with very different things in mind.

I started with simple text search - with some additional tweaks, stemming and other cool features it helped us drive enormous traffic to our website. I can't imaging pulling it off so easily with any other tool.

Every day I use it for web server log analytics. Search and great visualizations make it an absolute essential in work my toolset.

We also run a lot of algorithm analytics on top of our Elasticsearch cluster.

If you're looking for managed options check AWS Elasticsearch Service, or the recently introduced Elastic Cloud.

Cons

My only concern with Elasticsearch is that it might get expensive to run pretty quickly. But with a certain amount of effort put into optimization it's gonna be worth it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Logstash works great with Elasticsearch and Kibana, making it easy to ingest data and...

Reviewed on 04/01/2022

It is a really good product and does what it intends to do well, as long as you are not intimidated by the terminal and configuration files.

Pros

Logstash does a great job of ingesting data, transforming it and then storing in a 'stash' like elasticsearch. It can virtually ingest any data as long as you have the time and patience to set it all up. We use it as part of the process of collecting all logs from a multitude of sources using filebeat (generally application and system logs) on different operating systems, shipping to logstash then transforming and storing that in elasticsearch and having Kibana for dashboards and analysis. It works great for this use case.

Cons

It can be tricky to set up as it is mostly just a command line tool with configuration files. The recent log4j issues also make you think again about all this log shipping, transformation and ingesting in a different way. If there is similar vulnerabilities in the future, it could end up happening way down in your process in non-public components due to the way logs are shipped and processed down the line.

samson
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Review for Elasticsearch

Reviewed on 24/04/2019

Pros

Elastic Search is easy to install
Easy to use as there are loads of documentations present online
Easy to scale up when the need arises
Uses REST FULL API which is light weight.

Cons

monitoring of Elastic Search are complex like wise administration
Installation of elastic search on windows OS is not straight forward

Andrew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Elastic - Very fast moving company and product

Reviewed on 09/09/2021

Pros

Elasticsearch has turned into a solution that you'd typically integrate into another to a fully customizable standalone solution. It has everything in one spot now, with hardly a need to use 3rd party plugins/extensions.

Cons

The licensing models are very confusing. There is a big push to get on their hosted SaaS offering but that itself is also not very clear.

Alternatives Considered

Splunk Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to Elastic Observability

Cost and availability of features.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for indexing a large amount of data

Reviewed on 24/04/2019

We're ElasticSearch mainly to index large amount of logs from several servers. Its makes it very easy for us to index and search logs. Logstash sends the logs and with Kibana we access to logs and create nice dashboards. But, you have to manage your indexes. For our log an index is created every day which we reindex monthly to a new index, then we do a forcemerge and after that we delete the daily indexes. This keeps the number of shards low. If we don't do this we run into problems because if to many shards. But, you can schedule this via curl and with every new version of Kibana/ElasticSearch you can do more and more via the GUI. For us this is the number one tool to index and search gigabytes of logs on a daily base and we're able to keep months of logs and still be able to search through it.

Pros

Indexing large amount of data
Searching data
Very scalable
Creating a cluster is very easy
Ability to send commands via CURL to the API
Creating snapshots of your data

Cons

Managing indexes can be a bit of a pain
Sometimes issues with indexes becoming read only

Animesh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Elastic search’s observability provides a powerful tool for transforming IT processes.

Reviewed on 27/04/2022

It's a useful tool for troubleshooting the problem. We can also monitor all of the servers from a single location, and the best part is that we can use a watcher to alert us to any issues.

Pros

The product is always evolving and producing new tools to ensure that various technologies are monitored and integrated. Furthermore, the open community allows users to find and share solutions for a variety of use cases. Open source code, community support, frequent iterations, and new feature releases are all part of the package. Application call water flow, Drilldown Bundling capabilities with rest of the Elastic Search Stack Open Source providing availability is the best feature of this product.

Cons

Constant advancements necessitate regular configuration changes/maintenance; however, the documentation's quality helps to mitigate this.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Elasticsearch super fast search billion log file in a second

Reviewed on 15/10/2021

before we use syslog with mysql, when mysql reach space to 500GB we can not search faster, we need to delete. but since we use graylog enterprise and also elastiflow to monitor the real time traffic we save alot of time, we can querry million message in a few second only, and space of data are up to 1TB can still search faster.

Pros

well, i have been using elasticsearch more than 3 years already with the graylog, and also with elastiflow too, its very fast, i can search 20 million message in afews second only. i would say very very powerful.
I love the real-time data processing that elastic produce to view the dashboard is so powerful and flexible.
I recommend if you are using enterprise log system, please use with elasticsearch save your time.

Cons

well, it working well already. but it a bit complicate if someone just new to elasticsearch.

Zack
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Best open source search engine, offers fast and speedy search

Reviewed on 11/04/2021

Elasticsearch is an essential part of the our operations architecture.

Pros

Adding elasticsearch to most projects is a great way to have high performant full text or json document search. The common use case is for searching through log files (ELK or EFK stack) which is now the canonical way to handle logging for most distributed systems such as Kubernetes. Installing elasticsearch is not trivial but has been made much simpler in recent years due to being able to run ES in containers (i.e. helm charts). We use ES to accelerate general search, as well as being a core component in our logging stack.

Cons

There are many different configuration options available so there is still some ramp time required. There's also the issue of Elastic changing the licensing from Apache 2.0 to SSPL and Elastic. While this is probably not unexpected due to Amazon's predatory behavior when it comes to OSS and AWS, it doesn't help customers and the community to have two different projects.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Using ELK stack for monitoring and logging

Reviewed on 20/06/2019

It has been really good. We only have JSON data and we stream it to the elastic search. We can search and index data as we need and it is really bast and performant.

Pros

This is the most awesome software stack for data analysis and searching. We stream data to the elastic search and index it so we can search it and analyse what we receive on the fly. It does the job extremely well. On top of that, the software comes as a managed service on cloud providers which means it comes with almost no maintenance overhead.

Cons

Nothing really comes to mind. The only thing is Json is mandatory data format unlike the Apache Solr which is a competitor.

Aditya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Searching made easy when you need it the most.

Reviewed on 18/03/2019

and look for log files and then find the issue. ELK sovles this problem efficiently.During troubleshooting, it is biggest pain to open servers

Pros

A consolidated UI to search and find the patterns in log file. Speed of search return is also very good. The way this product manages the files at the backend, it does conserve a lot of space considering the amound of data it stores.

Cons

Search pattern bar could be more user friendly. When the load increases, serach bar is the first to show impact and starts to deviate from an efficient behaviour. Cursor keeps going away during such times making it difficult to tweak the attern.

Stanislav
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Industry standard for search

Reviewed on 30/10/2020

As a developer, was using it for quite a lot of time for different projects and would say it is almost impossible to find an alternative for this product due to the fact it is the best product in the segment.

Pros

- the overall performance is great, easily handles big amount of data and provides near instant response times;
- fail tolerance and high availability features out from the box;
- open-source;
- elk stack is mostly the best tool to analyze the logs of your applications;

Cons

- could be hard to setup / maintain even for technical people, so probably you will need to use some services which provide support and better analytics
- migration between versions could require some additional efforts due breaking changes

Arbaaz
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

This is the best in the market.

Reviewed on 04/01/2020

Elasticsearch is one of the best in the market, it's efficient and highly scalable.

Pros

It's user friendly, considering the fact it has a complete stack (ELK) associated with it, which not only stores data, but collects log(Logstash) and it's capable of showing those data in it's visualization tool(Kibana).

Cons

I have not come across anything associated with this too that I did not like.

Sam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Elasticsearch Review

Reviewed on 23/02/2021

We really enjoy using Elasticsearch (ELK Stack) in our Kubernetes environment. the ease of deployment is unmatchable compared to other solutions.

Pros

I loved how easy this was to spin up and get going in our environment with minimal research, trial, and error.

Cons

I think to cluster Elasticsearch was my least favorite part about the implementation. there were a lot of "nitty gritty" config details to be ironed out

Alternatives Considered

Coveo Relevance Cloud
Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Elasticsearch is wonderful free software. It is fast, scalable and easy to use.

Reviewed on 07/03/2018

Pros

Free!
API driven
Scalable multi-node architecture.
Easy to understand JSON
Tight integration with logstash and the rest of their stack

Cons

The steep initial learning curve
Their own log format is often difficult to parse
Some features are only available in the paid product.

Thomas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best tool for your logs

Reviewed on 31/12/2019

We are using Elasticsearch along with Logstash and Kibana. This setup provides great tool for parsing and searching through a tons of logs which are centralized in Elasticsearch.

Pros

*Very big community base
*Elasticsearch is open-source
*Very powerful REST API
*Well documented
*Easy to install, just a few commands
*You do not need knowledge of databases
*Elasticsearch can be integrated to 3rd-Party software.

Cons

*For some of premium features (included in X-pack) you must buy subscription, which cost too much money.
*If you want subscription, least number of licensed nodes must be more than 3.
*

Peter
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great solution for searching data

Reviewed on 13/12/2019

Elasticsearch is used as part of the ELK stack and we used it mainly to search logs.

Pros

It's a great tool for managing application and server logs at large scale. Combined with Kibana as part of the ELK stack it is very powerful and extremely useful.

Cons

It can be difficult to understand at first when using it and when setting it up, but once configured correctly it does a great job.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

“It's my favorite search engine ”

Reviewed on 23/09/2019

I used it last 2 year and works correctly. If anyone needs a search engine it's a good choice.

Pros

We are using elastic search mostly with kibana and logstash to build a full stack for log evalutaion and analysis and it's really cool. It works like a charme and it allows you to use a powerfull and compleate search engine .

Cons

Elasticsearch it' complete and powerfull but as cons i see heavy resource requirements. It's also quite complex to learn and require a long path to be able to be able to build complex task.

Surya
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Elastic helped me manage my logs from the web server i created for my project

Reviewed on 21/05/2018

Pros

Easy to use.
indexing helps in increasing scalability.
good online tutorial.
few extensions helps in further personlization.

Cons

Understanding the tool for a beginner would be a challenging task.
Too many features with only a few to be used for a concentrated user.

Srinivas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Elasticsearch

Reviewed on 07/12/2019

If one's main use cases are search and logging with schema flexibility elasticsearch would simple be an ideal solution

Pros

Elasticsearch has a lot of in build advantages, like scalability by sharding, aggregations, schema flexibility and full text search options to name a few.

Cons

Elasticsearch's query DSL is kind of less flexible and less common than other solutions available. Almost everything is indexed by default which is a pain and causes overhead.

Enrico
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use

Elasticsearch and all the ELK suite is the best way to monitor and analyse your system

Reviewed on 04/05/2018

Pros

I love how fast is it. It's possible find text and object in a very rapid way. The ELK suite allow to create a monitoring system in a quite easy way. The beats very useful tool to collect information that come form a lot of different system

Cons

The elastic syntax is not so easy to learn. but with new release the sql format should make it easier.
Some times when you performs particular expensive operation elastic fail with strange error, however with a custom configuration is it possibile solve them.

Diego
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tool for incident management

Reviewed on 29/06/2022

So far it's a great help on daily basis

Pros

It's easy to use and when you combine it with ElasticSearch, it even more powerful

Cons

I cannot think in a Con per se, but I guess that at first you need some time to familiarize with the tool

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very happy with it.

Reviewed on 01/02/2018

Pros

I'm new to elasticsearch but I've used it to build an admin panel that reads my server logs (nginx, postfix ... ) and show detailed informations with logstash and kibana. It's very easy and quick to setup. I see a lot more use cases now that I've made the first step into ES, like converting a big mysql database into ES.

Cons

I don't like how the documentation is made, sometimes I get lost. Other than that I'm very satisfied with ElastickSearch and how it performs. There is a huge difference between it and a normal database.

Aman
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Good for indexing

Reviewed on 16/04/2018

Pros

Logs are very important source of information. Elastic Search makes it easy by converting them into index form in form of documents. Put,post, get methods are releif for search.

Cons

The process and organisation is complex for begineers to understand. Require other took support to work in full capability.

Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Elastic Search

Reviewed on 25/03/2020

Pros

It is a very useful software for storing and searching data. It also logs data for the user. Service provides a complex way at first to store data. Once you understand it, it is easy to use.

Cons

The only thing i dislike is the learning curve. it to be able to use the full service, it is a bit of a learning curve.