Dotdigital

4.3 (188)
Write a Review!
Omnichannel customer engagement platform.

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(188)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.2/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support
4.3/5

86%
recommended this app
Sort by

188 Reviews

Yusra
Yusra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A MUST BUY SOFTWARE!

Reviewed on 13/02/2018

The landing page builder makes it really easy to build nicely designed landing pages that helps our...

The landing page builder makes it really easy to build nicely designed landing pages that helps our lead generation campaigns. We are utilizing DotMailer to market to the emails we gather at events which we were unable to reach before.

Pros

The interface design is clean and organized making it easy to find what you're looking for. Dotmailer s extremely flexible, it allows creating complex layouts on emails without sacrificing client cross-compatibility too much. The best feature offered by Dotmailer is Email Automation Programs. My organization was able to set up a Welcome email series for different people. The easy editor makes creating emails fun. Great customer service from support. the cost is extremely fair and the account managers are really great.

Cons

Would like to be able to choose a group to send to while at the same time choosing another group to not send to so that any overlapping emails would not get the email. Other than this, NONE. A MUST BUY!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Paper & Forest Products
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good email marketing platform for a reasonable price

Reviewed on 20/11/2018

Dotmailer helped us send much more effective marketing campaign emails. Audience segmentation is...

Dotmailer helped us send much more effective marketing campaign emails. Audience segmentation is easier than before.

We're now sending personalized triggered campaigns to customers.

Our transactional emails are now templated and much easier to update.

Emails view better on mobile devices.

Company was overall pleasant to work with through onboarding process.

Pros

Full-featured email platform at a cost lower than most competitors.

UI is straightforward and functional, relatively fast. I don't have much trouble finding what I'm looking for.

Onboarding, knowledge base, and technical support meant I learned the platform pretty quickly. Technical support has always replied quickly and is usually helpful.

Program builder for triggered emails is easy to use, and powerful.

Segmentation tool works well.

Able to template and send all our transactional emails at no additional cost.

Cons

Reporting could be improved. We can't figure out how to link to our Google Analytics account.

Easyeditor for emails is OK. Would prefer something more robust with more even more features.

Sometimes pages load slow through the UI.

Colton
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Dotmailer Review 2018

Reviewed on 24/08/2018

Pros

-Ease of use
-Mostly works well with related platforms
-Clearly displays information

Cons

-Email builder is template-focused and not efficient or as user friendly if your creatives are designed externally
-Certain default options (automatically applying padding to every image block inserted into an email, for example) make setting up emails tedious and more time consuming and can't be turned off.
-Asset gallery in the email builder has poor UX -- there are visual glitches and creating and organizing folders / organizing assets is not intuitively designed. You are also unable to see the full name of each asset.--Project managers have been generally unhelpful in rectifying issues regarding the email builder.

Jackson
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Dotdigital Has Great Capabilities

Reviewed on 14/03/2024

Pros

I love the effective capabilities of Dotdigital.
Dotdigital is highly reliable.

Cons

I do not dislike Dotdigital at all.
Dotdigital is the best.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Plays well with Magento 2 and is relatively inexpensive but lacks bells & whistles other ESPs...

Reviewed on 02/05/2018

for basic blast campaigns it works fine and integrates pretty easily with Magento.

for basic blast campaigns it works fine and integrates pretty easily with Magento.

Pros

Integrates well with Magento 2, relatively straightforward workflow tool and WYSIWIG email editing. Creating custom segments is fairly straightforward too.

Cons

Needs better personalization options. Lacks machine learning for customer segments & LTV tools which other ESPs like Listrak and Emarsys have. Very poor implementation of time-of-day optimization feature -- you still can't schedule an optimized send in advance which makes the feature essentially useless in practice.

Murray
Murray
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Good software spoilt by arrogant company attitude

Reviewed on 03/11/2018

Dotmailer used to be great software, leading the way with WYSIWYG editors and simple automation and...

Dotmailer used to be great software, leading the way with WYSIWYG editors and simple automation and segmentation tools. Over the past 2-3 years, others have caught up and overtaken Dotmailer. Their response is to focus on large companies with big budgets, as a result of which they have priced themselves out of the market for smaller businesses. When dealing with anyone except tech support, the attitude is often extremely arrogant and unhelpful. There's other software available that does the same thing, with better support.

Pros

Easy to use, intuitive interface
Great features - although many of these are very expensive add-ons
Automation
Superb technical support

Cons

Unhelpful and incompetent client managers
Very expensive compared to similar products
Lack of interest in SMEs
Unwillingness to write connectors to other software packages

Simon
Simon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Email Marketing Managed.

Reviewed on 28/09/2018

Pros

I cannot sing the praises of Dotmailer enough, by far the best email marketing tool out there. All our outbound promotional email marketing is managed through the portal along with several of our clients too

Cons

Not being able to create our own bespoke auto responses without contacting Dotmailer themselves to do it.

Jonathan
Jonathan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

DotDigital is a great email marketing suite

Reviewed on 30/01/2023

I've used dotdigital for many years now across a couple of businesses and its improved massively...

I've used dotdigital for many years now across a couple of businesses and its improved massively over the years, while always building off the basis of a simple to use drag and drop interface.

Pros

Building emails is very easy through the drag and drop interface, and sending They are continually adding in more features (SMS, transactional emails) though a lot of these are additional cost add ons, and sometimes not easy to understand to a new user.

Cons

Image management is one of the main areas that could do with improvement - it can be incredibly clunky to use and time consuming to drop in new images, or delete old ones.

Ryan
Ryan
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Functionality is pretty good but have had a few unresolved issues where work arounds were...

Reviewed on 15/02/2018

We were able to send strategic and successful automated email campaigns to engage our customer...

We were able to send strategic and successful automated email campaigns to engage our customer base. We were able to design cleaner and more attractive templates than we have ever had before.

Pros

Ease of use and template designer. Ease of contact and segment management. Support was always ready and willing to help even if they could not resolve issue. Pricing is very affordable for what you get as well.

Cons

No way to track ROI, for our account at least. Issues with Outlook 13 and Outlook web compatibility.

Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very Simple and easy to set up email campaigns

Reviewed on 15/02/2018

Pros

Very simple to use interface. The emails are simple to create. Segments are easy to maintain and implement users into specific category. Much cheaper rates than a lot of competitors out there.

Cons

Sometimes the emails seem a little slow to load. Images most specifically. Otherwise the software has no other issues that I see using it on a daily basis.

Rudy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Excellent Email Automation for Magento

Reviewed on 17/08/2018

If you are looking for a simple to use email automation system with Magento, it is probably one of...

If you are looking for a simple to use email automation system with Magento, it is probably one of the top choice. However if you are handy and like to create your own logic and unique segmentation from your email interaction, it may not be sophisticated enough.

Pros

It works well if you are using Magento as your e-commerce platform. It is easy to use and the integration logic with Magento is very simple to execute. The package also comes with survey forms, SMS and ability to create landing pages.

If you are new to email automation, this system may be a good start to get you familiar with logics and scheduling.

Cons

The integration is nice to setup, however it may slow down the overall system. If you like to run various dynamic values, the system may give up (you will receive email from the admin if "your campaign has been cancelled"). The issue is there is no warning when you setup the logic if it may cause issue. It just happens when you set the schedule and let it runs.

Another issue is the survey form only allows you to send the acknowledgment to 1 email address only.

Lastly the system integration to other platform is not as fluid as to Magento . It claims if it works with Salesforce, Shopify etc. However they are limited on data integration and capabilities.

Mohammad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent campaign management and engagement platform

Reviewed on 10/06/2022

Pros

- It is very easy to use with great UX/UI.
-Drag and drop builder for landing pages and emails
-Support is another great thing about dotdigital
-Straightforward marketing automation, nothing too complicated
-I like how easy it is to segment the data (audiences)
-Great for AB testing campaigns

Cons

-Does require a little of knowledge for CSS for managing custom designs
-Very basic forms
-It is expensive as compared to other competitors providing high-quality features and competitive pricing than dotdigital
-Limitations on customization for the reports

Tom
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Dotdigital works for us

Reviewed on 07/02/2023

Personally I have had a great experience with Dotdigital

Personally I have had a great experience with Dotdigital

Pros

Dotdigital is a fantastic platform for digital marketing and communication. Its user-friendly interface allows for seamless integration of various marketing channels such as email, SMS, and social media. The automation features make it easy to create and execute targeted campaigns, saving time and increasing efficiency.

Cons

While Dotdigital offers a variety of useful features for digital marketing, there are also some drawbacks to consider. One potential downside is the cost, as some users may find the pricing to be on the higher side compared to similar platforms.

Carly
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easy to Use Editor, Endless Custom Targeting Options

Reviewed on 15/02/2018

Pros

I love the Easy Editor. That is where I work the most creating the visual aspects of the campaign so this is really important to me. Moving things around is very intuitive and yet allows for complex designs. I love that I can create personal building blocks, so that I can duplicate a design from one campaign to the next without having to redo everything. It makes your own content reusable.

Cons

The revenue reporting is buried in the reports. In other email software, it's right up there with opens, clicks, etc. At the end of the day, it doesn't matter how many people opened my email if I can't see how much revenue the campaign made. Other email software shows revenue much better.

Sean
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Very pleasent

Reviewed on 15/02/2018

Pros

easy to use email design feature. I can design and personalize my emails without the support of a creative department.

Cons

testing features. I would like to perform a 50/50 split on the entire mailing effort. Dotmailer only has an A/B test split up to a certain percentage, then the winning effort is sent to remainder of list. I know there are ways around this but they are not convenient. Give an option to split 100% of the entire list.

Susan
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I've been a DotMailer user for years, and have found this system to be one of the most...

Reviewed on 26/09/2017

Pros

Ease of use, and reliability. I like the automation features. Support is readily available. Well priced.

Cons

I'd like an easier way to resubscribe people from the unsubscribed list. We have people forget they unsubscribed, and getting them back into the system is a lot of work. Also, we're having issues on how emails look when we forward them. The formatting gets all wonky.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Powerful with Some Flaws

Reviewed on 20/11/2018

dotmailer is a great platform that allows for some powerful means of mass messaging/emailing. It...

dotmailer is a great platform that allows for some powerful means of mass messaging/emailing. It took my company quite some time to get onboarded because of the degree of difficulty in setting up the automated campaigns. It would be highly recommended if the interface was cleaned up a bit and the overall UX was better.

Pros

dotmailer has the ability to do most of what you will need out of a marketing automation platform. It can send automated campaigns via email, SMS message and even Facebook Messenger. Once the programs are up and running it is a powerful tool in a company's marketing mix.

Cons

There are two areas that need some improvement. The first is the overall UX. The interface is clunky and sometimes difficult to navigate. Once a user gets a feel for it things get easier, but anytime there's a new functionality I need to explore it takes some time to get the proper feel for it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Overall Dotmailer is an extremely user friendly platform. It also helps that their team is...

Reviewed on 15/02/2018

The Marketing Automation program has been amazing in building our email subscriber list over the...

The Marketing Automation program has been amazing in building our email subscriber list over the past year!

Pros

The drag and drop ability. and the analytics dashboard. Those two features make building emails and analyzing data super easy.

Cons

I wish we had the ability to add multiple links to one image. Being that I work for a makeup company, we push images of models wearing makeup. It would be nice if I could have the lips of the model link to lipsticks and the brows to push to our eyebrow products etc.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Paper & Forest Products
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Competitive pricing, flexible API works with our custom CRM, responsive customer support

Reviewed on 15/02/2018

Much better email personalization.

Much better email personalization.

Pros

Includes most features competitors offer but at a lower cost. GUI is straightforward and easy to learn. Good API support that works with our custom CRM. Customer support replies quickly and always seems knowledgeable. Online knowledgebase is comprehensive. Campaign reporting was recently improved.

Cons

WYSIWYG email editor is sometimes cumbersome to use. Tracking sales results requires linking the account to Google Analytics, would prefer something built-in. Servers based in the UK caused some timestamp issues for our US-based business.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Very good, when we are experiencing issues, it doesn't matter the day or hour, the support...

Reviewed on 15/02/2018

Pros

Its drag and drop feature is very helpful, also saving templates is another feature i like about the program.

Cons

reporting are to general, i wish the report could be seen by a specific time frame, this helps check how our users react to our emails in the long run.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Advanced email software and easy to use

Reviewed on 13/01/2018

Pros

Amazing features and functionality like split testing, geolocation reports, dynamic content and easy to use templates.

Cons

It is expensive when you start integrating the product with your own CRM system as you have to pay a separate synching fee.

Melanie
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Best i've used, but does need some updating.

Reviewed on 26/09/2017

Pros

Super easy to use. Love how I can add as many images as I need. Great ability to edit the images inside of dotmailer.

Cons

Need better feedback on bounces and then a solution on how we can fix those. Spam check should be included in price too.

Christen
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easy to use, but wish there was more cross functionality

Reviewed on 02/05/2018

Pros

It is very easy to use... just drag and drop. The pre-done work flows help out a lot when trying to set up new triggered emails.

Cons

You are not able to add in a background image, the emails sent out look boxy and not modern. The only way to accomplish a modern design it to create images of the whole email that ultimately gets put in the junk bin due to the amount of images.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

a breath of fresh air

Reviewed on 20/11/2018

The main issue was the platform itself. We used to run our emails using an outdated email platform
(...

The main issue was the platform itself. We used to run our emails using an outdated email platform
(crowd goes "how outdated is it?")
... So outdated that the only way it could run successfully was on classic Internet Explorer with ActiveX controls enabled. Meaning whenever had to be sent out, you will have to fire up a Windows 7 virtual machine that was solely used, to send out marketing emails. And in days when we were in a pinch, and something had to go out immediately, and there was not time to fire up the VM… We had to code the email on sublime text, then copy/paste onto the editor itself… Which was quite laborious.

Let's just say dotmailer solved the usability issue very well

Pros

Mostly it's about customer service. Dotmailer has always met us halfway in being communicative and thorough with us when it comes to providing the solutions to our requests and helping us getting acclimated to the features. It's this kind of tailor-made customer service, that has allowed us to be able to become more acclimated with the system that has allowed us to reach to our constituents and corporate partners with some of the most professional and well-thought marketing campaigns I've seen in years. I also want to give a special tip of the hat to support team from dotmailer.

Cons

That we did not discover the service sooner :)

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Dotmailer Allows Us To Automate Our Email Marketing Campaigns!

Reviewed on 30/05/2018

Automated email marketing campaigns.

Automated email marketing campaigns.

Pros

We recently switched from another service to Dotmailer because it allowed us to connect it to our shopping cart and build automated programs that send emails out to users depending on certain criteria. We were able to easily build a program that monitors abandoned carts and post-purchase follow ups.

Cons

It's rather expensive. Unfortunately we have a very large catalog so the cost to sync this data to Dotmailer is quite high.