Jonas Enterprise

4.1 (137)
Contruction Software

Overall rating

4.1 /5
(137)
Value for Money
4/5
Features
4.0/5
Ease of Use
3.9/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

81%
recommended this app

137 Software options

Gonzalo P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good Job Costing

Reviewed on 02/11/2018

overall this is a solid enterprise software for construction companies

Pros

it is a full enterprise system, it has a nice owner dashboard. the job costing is great and the report writer is also good.

Cons

the accounting side is a bit weak, the balance sheet would get out of balance sometimes. the overall look of the software is a bit outdated.

Jackie P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Commercial/Residential Electrica Contractor. Jonas was the right fit for us.

Reviewed on 24/02/2017

We have been live with Jonas for a little over a year. As with ANY software, it isn't perfect and will not suit every need. It is impossible for a software to please everyone as we all run our businesses differently. We shopped several software options, and for our medium size company with a service department, Jonas fit us best. I agree, the reports are very simplistic in format and do take some getting used to. I had to look beyond pretty pictures and format as what is really important to us is the data.

The Pro and Con to Jonas is it is HIGHLY customizable. With that, there needs to be a very thoughtful process to how you set it up in the beginning. Which is a challenge since you won't know how some things work until you are using it. It is a very robust software for the price, in my opinion, and will take patience and time to learn all it can do. I found that the very basics such as entering A/P, work orders, creating jobs are very easy to learn. The complexity comes when you want/expect to rely less on outside software and spreadsheets.

Our company borders two states, one with a multi-jurisdiction sales tax schedule. Every payroll or sales tax requirement Jonas has been able to handle. Jonas is able to handle multi-state, multi union payrolls. Something we found not very many programs could throw in a service department and it became very small unless I wanted to buy a program that equated us to driving a bus down the road for 3 people while spending 6 figures. No thank you.

Pros

My favorite is the Project Control screen. From there, our project managers can drill down and get all the information they need in one quick and easy place. Each person can customize some of the drill down screens to tailor to their individual needs. AIA/progress billing is easy with the step by step menu. It is also easy to go back and adjust if needed. The ability to set controls across the various modules. Your voice is heard. I have always been able to talk thru a challenge with support and management. They listen and if the demand is there they will put it in the next product update.

Cons

The stock payroll reports haven't fit very well for us. But Jonas is working on that. Cluttered menu items that hang in there because their long-time customers still use them. It is confusing when you are first learning.

R. scott T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Jonas Review

Reviewed on 24/02/2017

Jonas is our third ERP software program we have used in 20 years in business. Learned a lot about selection process' by knowing my experiences with the first two. I also learned none of them do everything, all of them will hiccup from time to time. So my selection of Jonas centered around: 1. Is their customer service responsive (yes), 2. Do they constantly try to improve the product based on customer input (yes), 3. Is the product fairly priced (yes). and is the annual fee structure reasonable (yes). We also needed a strong field mobile platform as we have used wireless field mobile solutions for many years. Jonas has worked very well for us, we continue to get training on new modules and features we can use to make our company process/ better.

Pros

Constantly looking for ways to improve a product and they do not wait until year end to release updates if they are ready they release them. Customer service is very responsive if you need immediate help. Training is very high quality, conversion from our old to the new system was without trouble and well planned.

Cons

Dispatch board does not schedule projects or long term service work well (works very well for day to day calls) but they developed a project scheduler that looks promising for that.

Dustin P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very Satisfied User

Reviewed on 27/02/2017

Our company switched software products to Jonas just over 1 year ago. We had outgrown our old system. We've been extremely pleased with both the Jonas software and the Jonas staff we've interacted with. Our company has just over 100 employees in four office locations. This system can handle our multiple divisions without being too complicated or cumbersome to use.

Pros

The primary issue with our last software was an inability to get good reporting and data from the system, especially for our multi-divisional operation. The report writer in Jonas is a very useful tool, and the financial drill-down capabilities are excellent. We also now have real-time job cost data, and more detailed P&Ls, which has helped our ability to manage construction work.

Cons

No software product is perfect. We've had to adapt a few of our internal processes to fit the way Jonas is made to operate, but nothing has come up that we haven't been able to work around. The Jonas trainers are also an excellent resource we've utilized to make the system work as best it can for us.

Jeremy P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Small construction/service company.

Reviewed on 25/04/2018

Pros

Lots of features and fairly easy to use.
Customer support, when we've needed it, has be good and typically provided in a timely manner.

Cons

Old interface. 15 character limit on inventory items (and having to use alternate part numbers) needs to be fixed. Even the alternate part numbers are too small for many of our parts.
Purchase order numbers, and cheque numbers are too short.
New modules seem like add-ons to the base program, rather than a complete integrated solution.
Inability to access some fields for custom reports. Some built in reports are poorly implemented.

Elizabeth K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software and fantastic people!

Reviewed on 14/09/2017

Many thanks to Jonas Management Team and Jonas Support Staff for fantastic adventure at work during past 5 years of using Jonas Software!

Pros

Logical, intuitive software to work with and timely, accurate reports
Actually able to be creative with Design your own report module.

Cons

I find that Help Docs search is not giving the desired outcome. I like better Video Tutorial Section.

David J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent software with good support at a reasonable price.

Reviewed on 31/01/2019

Overall we are quite satisfied with the product, the people we have dealt with and Jonas' support.

Pros

Fully featured, integrated accounting package. The Job Costing is detailed and the range of reports is extensive.

Cons

Setup was time consuming and the inability to enter field hours and usage without an internet connection is not good.

Deb B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great program - easy to use

Reviewed on 17/04/2019

Overall, Jonas is a very good program, has very knowledgeable staff and fast response times to problems.

Pros

Ease of use. The program is easy to navigate, fast and functional.

Cons

There are modules which you are forced into purchasing in order to upgrade the program although we have no plans to use them.

Eva M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Four companies with Jonas - This is the latest one

Reviewed on 16/03/2015

Pros

It's very user friendly, and they have great customer support. Most users are able to understand the Jonas processes quite easily.

Cons

It is hard to find screens to adjust things on. For this I mean changing user field, etc. Some stuff is in System admin, some in admin, some in the individual module.

Theresa M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Software!

Reviewed on 16/03/2015

Pros

I have worked with several construction software companies and find that Jonas is by far the best. The variety of modules for construction is outstanding. The best part is the availability of reports and information.

Cons

In accounts receivable and payable. When viewing in file setup there needs to be a connection to inquiries instead of having to back out of file setup then going into vendor/customer inquiry.

Joanne M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent program

Reviewed on 16/03/2015

Pros

I love the simplicity of the program and the way the different modules integrate. The program is great for anyone in the construction business who keeps track of job costs. The tracking of hold backs payable and receivable works well. The tracking of the HST and RITC makes filing our monthly HST returns simple.

Cons

I can't think of anything. The product updates address any issues.

Kim Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

TOPS for Customer Service and Training

Reviewed on 03/09/2015

Pros

Jonas support and training has been amazing and such an example of what true customer service is. More companies could learn from Jonas how to properly train and walk alongside a client to offer support, especially through the learning process.

Cons

The learning process is probably what I like least about Jonas right now, and that really has nothing to do with Jonas itself, but just the process of having to learn something new. It is always difficult to make a change, and learning the flow of the product is taking time. The abundant help documents have been useful in some situations, but they don't always have a clear answer depending upon what it has to do with. It is the difference in companies and applications that make it hard to provide clear direction sometimes, but when we (Dorsett's) have asked questions, Jonas is always quick to respond and help us work through issues.

Toya M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 18/08/2011

Ferguson-Veresh, Inc. is a mechanical contractor that does commercial & residential service and installation and has been using Jonas software since 2002. We purchased it because it has the Service Dispatch, Job Cost & General Ledger all integrated within one soolution. We used Great Plains before and the Job Costing for them is a different software called WennSoft which was problematic at times.

There have been numerous changes over the nine years we have used Jonas. I believe it gets better each year. I love that Jonas has set up a place on their website for users to give them ideas for changes or improvements to the software. Jonas is user-friendly and I particularly like that I can give each user access only to the modules they will be using. I also like the fact that I can log a service call with Jonas and attach the screen shots & reports of the problems I am having. This allows them to do some research before actually calling me.

I also use Jonas for a couple of companies that have rent houses and oil & gas wells. The job costing software has allowed me to track cost and income by house and by well. I would recommend Jonas software to anyone.

Lara K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best accounting software in Canada

Reviewed on 08/09/2015

Pros

At Jonas Enterprise we may resolve almost all accounting issues by program, updating on regular basis and great support.

Cons

I'm using Jonas five years and don't have any problems with this product and vendor. Of course, for using this program, you must have knowledge of accounting and GAAP.

Norm S.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Overall a good software but difficult to accomplish some items

Reviewed on 13/03/2018

Improved dispatch ability's to track technicians. This is an improvement over what we had before.

Pros

The dispatch board and emobile are easy to use and keeps us up to date real time. The history that is keep and easy to access when needed.

Cons

Once the call is received by a technician dispatch cannot make any updates to the appointment. Also inventory is very difficult to move from warehouse to truck and account for.

Robin S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Support

Reviewed on 07/06/2017

Unified changes and continuity between multiple company locations.

Pros

Works great for companies that have large or multiple locations that need to have unified information.

Support is very easy to talk to and know their product inside and out.

Cons

Large reports can sometimes takes a VERY long time to run. System is hard to jump into for newer employees without any training.

Daniel D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Highly Recommended!

Reviewed on 09/05/2014

Pros

The best part is the comprehensiveness of Jonas. We do all of our accounting and job costing in Jonas. The best part is that as time passes, the more we can do in Jonas (example: contact lists/document management system).

Cons

What I like least is the lack of ability to drill down to GL detail level (journal entry or Job Cost details from GL). I must add that Jonas has made a huge push in the last few years to encourage users to suggest/vote for/promote new ideas. This allow them to focus on users' "cons."

Anh D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Happy User

Reviewed on 11/03/2014

We've using Jonas for about 5 years. Implementation of the system was relatively easy with the consultant. He was available to us whenever we needed him and the conversion from Aacpac was pretty smooth with all the files being converted to CSV files and imported.
Having a dedicated support person for the first six months was a great help. We called her constantly for small issues and always got a great response and solution.
The support over the years has been excellent with quick responses and fixes.
Not a lot to complain about with the program some small glitches with inventory but that is usually handled pretty quickly and solutions found.
Overall impression of this product is that it does exactly what we need it to do. If you have people who are at ease with technology you will have few issues.

Dennise L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use

Horrible

Reviewed on 10/04/2018

Pros

The one thing I do like is that you can customize reports. This is probably the only good thing about this software.

Cons

Everything else about this software is bad. The customer service us horrible, the accounting system has glitches all the time, Information is hard to find in all of the menus they list. These menus are ones that were customized for other companies but show up on your menus. There are some items within the menus that cannot be accessed because they are old yet they do not remove them. Trying to pay out retention is a nightmare. Do not make any mistakes or have to change anything in parables because anything you do will print on the suppliers remittance slip. Lets not even go into customer service what a joke this company is horrific.

Cynthia B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jonas Review

Reviewed on 09/10/2015

Pros

The ease of use compared to the previous system that we were using. this also includes the reports and views that we get

Our trainer rocked. the VP's that I have dealt with and a few of the help desk staff - they are very patient

Cons

there are too many ways to do things (not necessarily a bad thing except when learning it), I am pretty sure the developers have never used the system as some things are a bit weird.

lack of listening skills

Margaret R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Does the job

Reviewed on 16/03/2015

Pros

The Jonas team has great customer support. They are very responsive.

Cons

It's not really user friendly and difficult to navigate some of the menus.

Maureen M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jonas Construction Software

Reviewed on 24/03/2014

Pros

I like the ease of report creation, the ease of limiting user access, and the short response time after logging a case. There are also multiple defaults to facilitate data entry.

Cons

The initial setup of the system can be involved, but the vendor is most helpful.

Elise J.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

secretary, receptionist, record invoice

Reviewed on 13/03/2014

it's easy to use, can track a lot on information on the customer or the supplier. We use p o so it's easy to find were the part is order from which supplier and for which customer. There is many way you can find a customer example name, addresses or phone number. After you get use to it there is some short cut you can use. When you need help the service is there to help you.

Brett K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good Software

Reviewed on 12/09/2018

Pros

Abilty to mange change orders and keep track of subcontractor status inquiries. Ability to forcast the job and provide accurate records.

Cons

Inability to scan invoices into the software and be abel to review invoices electronically or subcontractor priceing

Sabrina U.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

It is very slow and unorganized.

Reviewed on 30/06/2014

Pros

The only feature I liked better than our previous software was the ability to post multiple days of time against work orders.

Cons

It is slow and unorganized. Reports are terrible, and locating information is next to impossible in any kind of timely manner. Billing procedures are time-consuming and redundant many times.