AppDynamics

4.6 (27)
Application Performance Management (APM)

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(27)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.7/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support
3.8/5

93%
recommended this app
Sort by

27 Reviews

sonal
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

This tool is amazing in terms of performance bottleneck analysis and user friendliness

Reviewed on 17/10/2017

Integration with load runner

Pros

The good thing about the tools is its integration with the load runner tool for performance testing
We can get the exact method and class names from the code which helps in finding the bottleneck

Cons

Some flex calls cannot be captured with the appdynamics so cannot be used for the flex coded developed applications. Extra license cost for the database monitoring can be more structured

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

AppDynamics - why to choose it

Reviewed on 25/05/2022

I was able to keep monitoring the performance of a complex ecosystem. Thanks to the product I have a clear vision of the full architecture including the communication/flow between different services part of the solution.
With the alert notification, I am able to keep monitoring the performance of the system (I can immediately understand if something is going bad after a delivery for example) and the error. Moreover I can check the status of the servers running the solution.

Pros

The possibility to go into detail in case of error. You can arrive to the line of code having the issue. At the same time, in case of bad performance, you are able to know what was happening at that moment.
I would add also the alert section, it helps you to trigger alarm when it is needed. That may be fantastic for the team managing the operation / support h24. This team may be also helped by the dashboard that the users of AppDyn can create.

Cons

Setup of the Agent - there are other products doing better this part (the concept of OneAgent available for example in Dynatrace).
Setup complex in case of SAP ecosystem.
Real User Monitoring - the products specialized on this topic (doing only this) are better than AppDynamics. At the same time, with AppDyn you can have the monitoring end to end (from the final users to the specific server)

Alternatives Considered

Dynatrace and New Relic

Reasons for Switching to AppDynamics

The set of features leads the decision. This was the main driver, AppDynamics is one of the best solutions in the market.
Daniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 08/06/2016

Shaun D
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Skeptical at first and now speechless and client ecstatic!

Reviewed on 29/04/2018

One platform that allows you to view key metrics of any "online store/service" in one pane. In a digital economy now and more people embracing the "cloud", which comes at a premium......it's great to be able to "see" in real time not only your infrastructure performance but the performance of the users and the apps and allows you know EXACTLY where the change is needed. Which gives organizations the option of freeing up staff, thus freeing up "salary" and putting it back in their bottom line.

Pros

Single pane viewing of what matters most. Simple click of a button and I can view infrastructure response, user "click thru" i.e. completes to weekly/monthly reporting taking only minutes instead of hours or days. We were able to view what percentage of users visited/clicked thru with device and time of day and able to see their drop point. Immediately saw a trend and got our app team on it and saw almost immediate uptick in customer completes/orders. What sold me was the agentless monitoring of the databases so we could actully see in real time what days/times we needed to apply additional CPU resources.

Cons

I guess I really can't state a "plausible" con......the software goes above and beyond what we had envisioned and actually made everyone's duties easier to complete which we were able to turn reports and analytics around quicker.......so if I had to complain about something.....maybe the price??? But isn't always about "price".

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Application Monitoring and Management

Reviewed on 06/02/2022

AppD can monitor all kinds of applications, it provides real time user traffic details on the applications and how much data is being fetched, what is the server capacity, provides over the period statistics about user load which helps us adding extra servers on the busiest days of the weeks helping end customers with more reliable and efficient service with respect to response time. It also provides details on the very minute level which helps with debugging of issues on production and many issues can be resolved without involving L2 or L3 support. It requires a little learning curve in the beginning but it has a very user friendly dash board and things gets easy when you have spent ample amount of time on this application. It is less cost effective but given the use of it, I would highly recommend Appdynamics to other businesses out there.

Pros

Appdynamics, is a great application monitoring and management tool. It can monitor any application, server or database. It provides user traffic details, servers capacity, response time in real time. It helps resolves more than 90 % of server side issues by checking the appdynamics reports as it provides in depth details to the strategy calls.

Cons

Needs a little bit of learning curve to get started and its a little less cost effective

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

AppDynamics - Monitor your traffic

Reviewed on 15/03/2022

I have been using AppD for little over a year now. It shows a great map of servers and databases, provide your the flow from where the transaction traffic is moving to which side. Provides periodic details on server health, disk usage, memory leak, Network and Disk I/O, CPU utilization etc. It generates logs to very minute level, which makes things hassle free when it comes to RCA an issue. It also keeps you up to date with respect to the top process classes which are consuming CPU and Memory. It is one of the best application monitoring tool. Highly recommended.

Pros

1. Real time monitoring of your servers, databases.
2. Provide in depth details on which process classes are consuming the memory.
3. Continuous alerts on servers and data bases.
4. Transaction trace.
5. Server Health, Disk Usage, Network I/O, Disk I/O.
6. Server logs available to RCA issues.
7. Transaction and Traffic reports can be customized as per need basis.
8. Best part is the Map Flow.

Cons

Nothing much to add except the cost. Its a little expensive.

Satish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One of the best Application performance monitoring tools

Reviewed on 05/05/2020

Awesome product to analyse transactions

Pros

Easy to drill down to ground zero, helps in faster triage of transaction failures.

Cons

A little complex for novice users. Too many steps to follow

Alternatives Considered

Dynatrace

Reasons for Switching to AppDynamics

AppDynamics features
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great insights into application performance in real world conditions

Reviewed on 24/07/2018

Proactive management of software performance/ issues in production

Pros

We started using AppDynamics in 2012 when we inherited code in production that was built by someone else. The level of insights it provided helped us address the production issues quickly and we started using it for all new development and deployment. It helped us move from being reactive to proactive in identifying and managing issues/ bottlenecks

Cons

Like any complex piece of software it requires some learning. However, given the amount of information it generates out of the box it is easy for people not to make changes to configurations. That might result in more noise than news

Anuj
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Best in class, Slowness in major concern

Reviewed on 09/01/2019

Pros

The functions of projects are great, drill to the issue to root level and this makes it easy to resolve issues.

Cons

Slowness, it takes time to respond and granularity of data reduces with time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

AppDynamics Review

Reviewed on 10/10/2020

Monitor applications to make sure they are in a good and healthy state.

Pros

Automatically discover and monitor applications that are deployed.
Get notified when there are health rules that are violated which you can setup yourself.
Capture errors automatically with certain error codes and error logs.

Cons

There are many different tabs and links to click on but most of the time you don't know what they do.
Only use a very small set of features in the overall app due to its complexity

Vikas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Emerging and must deploy tool in the APM world

Reviewed on 04/07/2021

Fantastic , no one say no to this tool, must deploy tool

Pros

Real time instrumentation with complete drill down analysis for all the transaction our app makes.
This tools makes life easy for not only developer, but Performance engineers, PS and ops team .
Single tool for everything

Cons

Customization of alerts and suppression is tricky. No access to get AppD DB for capturing specific things.
Scenario - I want my URL or API to be send in the app d alert but there is no provisioning , i raised ticket as well, but so far no provision. By clicking on errorneous BT and opening in appd resulterd in the errorneous API which is sometime time taking process.

Alternatives Considered

Dynatrace

Reasons for Switching to AppDynamics

Strategic tool from Org
Arpan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An amazing tool to monitor an application's performance over an extended period of time.

Reviewed on 26/11/2018

I use it everyday to track down following on SQL server:
- SQL statements or stored procedures that are consuming most of the system resources.
- Statistics on procedures, SQL statements, and SQL query plans.

Pros

- Simple and easy to use interface.
- Provides complete visibility on the application's performance (Application Monitoring), database performance, and infrastructure performance ranging from 1 day - 1 year.
- Provides tons of information which can be used to resolve an issue quickly.

Cons

- Although the interface is easy to use, but still it is very hard to find the valuable information quickly many times.
It is highly recommended that a beginner must go through a training program before using this software.
- Some parts of the software still use flash.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

AppDynamics

Reviewed on 23/05/2019

We use AppDynamics to monitor the performance of our servers and applications. It helps us to find the reasons for the slowdown in servers. Monitoring current servers was not enough for us. Appdynamics made it very easy to find the problem.

Pros

The user interface so everyone can understand. Especially the graphics showing the flow of network traffic between our various monitored servers is great.

Cons

Learning all the features of the application can take time.

Zachary
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

AppDynamics has saved us so much time!

Reviewed on 10/02/2017

It's not the easiest APM out there to use by far. And manually instrumenting non-web software is the pits. But it pays off in droves. We've cut support times by 80%+. Before when we had issues, it involved a lot of trial and error, randomly looking at diff server logs, and manual hunting for problems. Now we know right where to start, and most of the time, even know what exactly is causing the issue. Root cause analysis is quick and easy. Database traces, full cross-app traces, it's all there now and it works amazingly. Now they just need to make it easier to use, because anyone outside of IT is instantly lost.

Pros

Deep, useful analysis of performance of applications. Makes for quick troubleshooting.

Cons

It's not user friendly at all. And instrumentation of non-web apps is a slow painful process.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My experience has been great. It is a one stop shop for many monitoring and analytical needs.

Reviewed on 09/01/2018

Monitoring and analytical

Pros

Appdynamics supports many platforms, and it's set up is relatively easy. It also supports customized monitoring, and allows you to build what you need.

Mayura
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

It waseasy earn this learn for new user.mapping of the loadrunner with this tool is easy

Reviewed on 25/12/2017

Pros

It is easy to monitor the server side and client side performance metric.Easy to identify the bottleneck at application and database level.

Cons

It adds licenses to be installed as well as the cost brings limitation for use.

Patricia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Tool For Monitoring My Applications

Reviewed on 08/07/2020

As I have started developing our own systems and web applications internally, it has become essential that I have consistently capable tools for monitoring the effectiveness and engagement of my apps. AppDynamics has provided that capability and much more.

Pros

Wide breadth of services and function coupled with firs class customer services. They've been in the market for a long time, so there's a firmly established user community.

Cons

Some of the data that I need gets lost on all of the functions. Curse of the blessing, I guess. Otherwise, I have no issues.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good admin tool for cloud foundry products

Reviewed on 15/11/2019

Software monitoring, event logging, overall status of applications.

Pros

I like that it is really easy to implement, add AppDynamics agent to your code manifest and it starts to monitor your application. Easy to set up triggers for events which should be monitored.

Cons

Sometimes for same url applications it tends to not find requests between multiple applications, but give it some time and it should work as expected.

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great application performance monitoring

Reviewed on 22/10/2019

Pros

The UI is fairly intuitive making it easy to find what your looking for. Integration is also fairly easy through the use of setup wizards for their agents.

Cons

I wish therer was better logging integration and corillation between logs and APM

Anuruddha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A great tool to analyze applications.

Reviewed on 10/12/2018

Pros

AppDynamics provides great reports to analyze performance of applications. Dashboards provide simple but effective data to get an idea of the application's behavior.

Cons

Price of the AppDynamics is high. But it has many valuable features. This is not for small businesses.

Md Muhibbul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

AppDyanamics review from T-Mobile employee

Reviewed on 11/02/2019

Overall it's above average.

Pros

All app and machine agents can be viewed. We can create dashboards as well for all server performances that gives us overview of how quickly we can identify issues.

Cons

User Interface. Not very user friendly. In addition, sometimes user interface respond slowly.

Pankaj
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Its a great tool to capture the performance

Reviewed on 27/06/2017

performance metrics, alerting and notifications

Pros

auto detection of environment connectivity, I don't have to do anything to configure my connection patterns which is amazing

Cons

none as of now, the only thing I could think is the cost, other than that we should check on integration with ticketing tools

Gavin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Utilize AppDynamics to monitoring PROD Java applications

Reviewed on 08/02/2018

Able to see JVM memory usage, garbage collection, JVM error, and applications error per tier to associated systems.

Pros

Easy to install, configure, and manage. Just straight agent that you need to install on your systems and add it as part of your JVM process.

Cons

Nothing to do not like it. Sometimes could be difficult to troubleshoot it if they agent cannot start with JVM process.

Sophie B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Free Lite Version covers many tasks

Reviewed on 14/08/2012

The freemium version of AppDynamics offers many useful tasks for smaller websites. I think to a certain extend it can also be useful for larger ones. Right now, I am using the free version and I think I can get along with that for some time. That´s great!!!
One negative point that I can see is that the Lite version records data from only the last two hours, that´s not enough.

Pankaj
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Fantastic Tool

Reviewed on 07/02/2017

Pretty new to this tool, but its already impressed me with the auto detection of nodes.
still exploring for more options.. but this tool could be one stop for all monitoring