Sisense

4.5 (370)
BI & dashboard software for multiple, large data sets

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(370)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support
4.6/5

95%
recommended this app
Sort by

370 Reviews

Greg
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Able to get BI up and Running from Multiple Sources relatively easily

Reviewed on 31/10/2017

Value for money solution

Pros

Able to get a demo up very quickly - basically a full functioning demo product.

Sisense is used in our organisation to perform the following tasks:
- Bring together data from multiple data sources (mysql databases, google spreadsheets, google analytics, web analytics tools)
- Dashboarding - various sales/metric dashboards are displayed around the office on large plasma screens. Individual users also have access to the dashboards.
- Adhoc reporting - we also use Sisense to perform adhoc reporting and do data extractions across different sources

The product has a long way to establish a single source of truth for our sales data, but to also allow for the quick and timely extraction and presentation of data in dashboards which was previously done in a very laborious way.

Once you bring in your data from multiple sources you can use custom SQL language to bring all data sources together. This is a great way of doing things

Drag and drop dashboarding

Sisense support was also excellent and they were able to provide us with a cloud solution as a one stop shop.

Very solid solution for the price.

Slick interface.

Cons

Drag and drop dashboards also mean there is less customization of dashboards. Not as flexible as Tableau.

If you get your data model wrong the product can hang - you need to self-verify your work. Which you should.

Not sure how it performs with truly big data sets.

austin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Periscope was amazing in its time

Reviewed on 03/10/2019

I was at an adtech company running millions of reads and writes a month and we needed insight into our data. At the time periscope was the most robust option. And whenever a problem happened someone was there to help remediate the issue.

Pros

Ease of use, caching features, and customer support were all top notch. Absolutely nothing to complain about besides the price point. If you are well funded, you will not be

Cons

The price point is very steep if you are a startup or if you wanted to use Periscope for a home project.

Alternatives Considered

Cluvio

Reasons for Switching to Sisense

These products didn't exist at the time, but these product would be what I recommend to smaller companies.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Powerful tool, not a great fit for everyone.

Reviewed on 24/02/2022

Overall, our team decided to part ways with Sisense for more flexible and cost-effective options. We can certainly see the value, but perhaps it makes more sense for much larger companies with more staff specifically focused on embedded BI, perhaps as a full department.

Pros

When adopted, Sisense met the criteria we had set out for embedded analytics for our end users and some internal business analytics. The pricing was initially agreeable.

Cons

When exploring options, it was suggested to be low/no-code, which was not the case. As we got the ball rolling, we found their tools and visuals to be powerful, but very hard to customize, format, and match our brand. Support was one of the worst aspects. Many issues we brought up that blocked full deployment were not prioritized and left us seeing it as very overpriced for our use-case and business needs.

Angel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

User-friendly software that I would recommend to others!

Reviewed on 18/09/2019

Easy to use and the team will help you for setting up with anything.

Pros

User-friendly! It can integrate with most of the software that my company is using.

Cons

It is not broadly integrated with certain software. No hotline for customer support for urgent issues.

Alternatives Considered

Looker, Qlik Sense and Tableau

Reasons for Switching to Sisense

The interface, good presentation from the Sales team and they can fulfill my needs.
Denis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

High performance and great usability

Reviewed on 18/02/2019

Our company developed an OEM and white-labeled version of Sisense, providing advanced analytics mostly for retail companies in Brazil. Our clients are very satisfied with our solution, and we are growing fast supported by Sisense.

Pros

High performance with huge amounts of data and multiple tables, scalability for thousands of users, very simple to create and publish advanced data models and dashboards, no need to pre-aggregate data, no need to use additional ETL tools or to create an external and expensive data warehouse. Support is fantastic, if required they would literally access your server and take control of mouse and keyboard to help you solve any problem or to create any thing.

Cons

There is always room to improve and Sisense use to release new versions and functionalities every quarter or so, but I can say I am pretty satisfied and impressed so far.

Courtney
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great platform with even greater customer service

Reviewed on 08/02/2018

As a company, we have been able to refine our data analytics and business intelligence offerings vastly through our experiences with Sisense. This is an affordable option and great for empowering end users to make decisions using their data across platforms and sources.

Pros

The Sisense customer service team is great. You will typically get a response within 24 hours and they are always willing to stay on the call until your issues are resolved. You also tend to get connected to the same support team members, so they already have context about your account, and where you might be having issues. The platform itself is fairly easy to learn and our onboarding process took about 1 month. So far, our clients have been very satisfied with Sisense, not only for its dashboarding capabilities but other features including Pulse notifications. From an agency perspective, you have the ability to easily brand dashboards with client colors, and out of the box widgets are fairly easily to style. Dashboards are clean and modern, and the support team is committed to helping you make the data as actionable as possible for end users.

Cons

Currently, it can be timely to pull data in from social platforms. While completely possible, there is a learning curve if you have not previous connected to these platforms via an API connection. I would also love to see more text editor options, including selecting a specific font size, or choosing from a wider range of fonts and styles.

Nick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Sisense is a great tool that has advanced our BI capabilities significantly

Reviewed on 30/08/2018

The front end is easy to work with and can produce impressive looking metrics within a very short space of time. Users love the way the platform looks and find the agility in terms of filtering provides insights which they wouldn't have looking at figures stored and presented in their traditional ways (in spreadsheets). Pulse alerts mean that some users only look at the data when it's needed - which is helpful for those employees in the business who aren't going to be spending time analysing the data themselves. The Elasticube manager (~back end) is pretty easy to work with once you get used to it and you understand the required behaviours when making changes. The possibility to write SQL statements in the Elasticube manager is a huge enabler and this functionality makes it much easier to produce the data we require - in comparison to some other BI tools which sometimes have more ~"specialised" language or custom expressions / formulas that are difficult / not so intuitive to work with. There is always room for improvement and there are features that you would expect to be available that are not. I suppose though one of the good things about Sisense is that there is an active community around the tool - where plug-ins, work-arounds and feature requests are logged and discussed.

Pros

User experience. People are always impressed when new dashboards are made available due to the excellent look and feel.

Cons

When working in the Elasticube manager there is no way to download the data, you always have to go into Sisense and create a dashboard and widget for the data you want to examine. This makes it more time consuming than it should be to test and validate the data in the Elasticube manager.

Tristan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A BI and innovative toolset that keeps on surprising

Reviewed on 26/04/2018

A BI tool that can be controlled by non developers although the developers are not 'neglected' as new features are delivered in a high pace ;-)

Pros

First encounter with Sisense for me as a product manager. The way this product is embedded in our application is very much a seamless experience.
Sisense does not stop at the traditional BI tooling, they innovative and (to me) are leading the BI landscape into new opportunities every release

Cons

Not fully cloud based (getting there but not there yet)
No support for Elastic Search
Somewhat pricey

Peter
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fantastic BI Tool!

Reviewed on 07/07/2019

Pros

Sisense is easy to use because of its nice and intuitive UI.
The drag and drop feature is a very easy way to create great looking dashboards.
It's very fast when it comes to pooling data from different sources.
It's easy to customize it using custom Javascript plug-ins.
Sisense has one of the best support. They are always ready to help with any issues.

Cons

The mobile version is not as good as the desktop version and really needs to be improved.
It's not easy sharing dashboards with other users.

Robert F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Thoroughly enjoyable. Sisense software is intuitive, fast and powerful.

Reviewed on 11/05/2018

Pros

Using their tag line.. we are beginning to understand the benefits of having a single source of "truth". The ability to pull in separate sources of data is huge for us. User adoption has been infectious.

Cons

Exporting to Excel would be improved. We still have a lot of users that just want to do that. It would be nice to have some more "advanced" joining capabilities in the cube designs. The auto joining works great, but there are occasions you want to force a left join.

William
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best product on the market in terms of feature set and support.

Reviewed on 05/03/2018

Provides great visualizations to ease the understanding of complex data sets.

Pros

Developing widgets for a dashboard (even complex ones) is far easier and faster than it is with competing products. User community is a strong asset. Elasticubes are able to accommodate many different files types with ease.

Cons

The initial set up turned out to be complicated and required IT investment, but perhaps that is due to the unique nature of our company's setup. Product is a bit costlier than Power BI, but the feature set and ease of use makes the cost well worth it. Though Sisense is Elasticube allows the software to quickly pull large data sets, it's difficult to create for the average user and requires a lot of technical expertise. In many cases, users must write SQL code, even though Sisense promotes its codeless reporting. However, to get to this codeless reporting you must have a very technical person to write the SQL to build their Elasticube and there are some limitations such as join types and such that create difficult workarounds. We have had former Sisense users complain to us that they experienced a lot of errors getting the Elasticube to load, and because the system relies upon the cube, Sisense won't work if the cube isn't working.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Sisense Great for Small Business

Reviewed on 14/02/2019

We've been able to produce dashboards that help our clients (many of whom are small businesses) reduce wasted time on repetitive reports and increase productivity, in addition to assisting them with altering their sales practices to improve performance. We've also been able to use Sisense for a number of internal projects that help our company come up with simple answers to complex questions.

Pros

One of the most impressive parts of the software has been its flexibility. With ever widening options for data sources, the ease of rapid dashboard development/design, and the fantastic Elasticube manager tool, we've found even more possibilities with the software than originally anticipated.

Cons

There's not much at all we don't like about Sisense. Initially, coming from other BI software, learning the structure and methodology behind designing Elasticubes to meet our needs was a bit difficult, however the experts assigned to our business made the process go pretty quickly, and gave me a great foundation to start developing analytical content for our clients. We've had a couple instances where we'd wished for more prompt support, but those issues were quickly resolved by getting in contact with our Customer Success Manager. All in all, it's been a great experience, much better than some of the other big players in the industry.

Naveen
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Amazingly easy, fast & powerful. Great for focused insight creation & deployment. Mobile...

Reviewed on 13/05/2016

Sisense distinguishes itself from an increasingly crowded marketplace with a phenomenally easy to use, fast, seamlessly integrated product. Its Elasticube server/database provides a single point ETL, Data warehouse and semantic layer rolled into one. Building a usable data model is a cakewalk compared to other products out there. Transparency and flexibility of the model is outstanding. You can easily see underlying data, create custom calculation fields using traditional SQL, preview data at will, and make changes quickly without worrying about "breaking" the data warehouse.

Sisense Elasticubes accommodate multiple concurrent data sources from a variety of database types including traditional, cloud and big data. Not to mention, you can join on key fields even from Excel and CSV flat files. You may run into some slowness based on data volumes and refresh frequencies.

Installation is a breeze. Download the package from their website, tweak your installation parameters and let it go. No additional scripts or components. No additional servers to be set up. This is a single machine-install that uses every drop of juice your server can provide. Make sure you choose upper end of processor and memory specs.

Sisense's single web interface for designing individual visuals (charts, graphs, tables, etc) and dashboards is a pleasure to use. Whether you prefer building bottom-up or top-down, this is a truly easy interface to use as master. Filtering capability is remarkably well developed and scope/type of filters can be regulated without leaving the web page you are on. Visuals look great as they are, but if you want to tweak the look/feel and behavior of individual charts, all you need is a working knowledge of Javascript. Their website is remarkably rich with customization scripts, plugins and API libraries for most applications.

If your company uses Unix based servers, may be a challenge to use since primary install package is Windows. Your mileage may vary with their scalability and governance architecture - for purists and traditionalists their approach is not "conventional". I think they have eschewed clustering for a different approach. Confirm if this works for you - especially if you expect a growth in volume/users/complexity. Fidelity of report export format and scheduled report emailing need some polish. I hear the newer versions have fixed these issues. If these are important to you, check first. Definitions of Enterprise Class vary.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

SiSense allowed me to have the flexibility to have an internal and external portal easily

Reviewed on 08/05/2018

I am able to scale easily

Pros

The software enabled us to have the ability to be flexible enough to meet the needs of my external and internal customers. The amount of data that can be available to the end user, the ability to drill down and be notified of changes is incredible. The beauty of this functionality is the end user has visual dashboards to run "queries" and then download all the data from the results easily.

Additionally, we needed the security it provides to keep data from being "mixed" between customers. The structure of the system allows for global changes and the ability to modify customers dashboards in a singular location.

Cons

It is not a data warehouse. While there is an incredible amount of data available it is not a data warehouse and you cannot do ad-hoc queries on data residing in the application.

James M
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best full stack BI solution on the market

Reviewed on 21/02/2018

100's of thousands in cost savings from automation and resource redundancies.

Pros

Quick to deploy, easy to use, and you can manage both the front end and the back end from a web portal. No more vpn into a server somewhere! We throw millions of rows of data at Sisense and it still keeps working like a champ! Having tried Domo, Tableau and others in the past Sisense was the first real full stack solution that got us out of our data issues and into a centralized source of truth with reporting. We have effectively saved 100's of thousands of dollars each year in automation and efficiencies alone!

Cons

Would love to see more widgets and customization options in the future. Some of the administrative features could be more robust as well.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

SiSense Customer Survey 12-04-2018

Reviewed on 04/12/2018

For what is it, it strike a good balance of functionality for the price. It did not require a lot of in depth training or professional services to get the software up and running.

Pros

The ease in setting up the software and future software upgrades. The use of the software is pretty straight forward. The use of webinars and 10 day startup program made it fairly easy to get started and become successful. The user support though the use of additional plug-Ins to improve functionality is a great way to enhance the usefulness of the product without a lot of time and/or expense.

Cons

They should include a report writing feature, that will allow users to create formatted reports beyond graphical dashboards. Also I would like to see a more varied color palette for the charts beyond the basic color palette. Some competitors include both these things to which make for a more robust product.

Wendy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful tool, constantly improving, but with a few 'growing pains'

Reviewed on 02/12/2020

Sisense is highly engaged in monitoring and supporting their customers needs and success. Their documentation and training options have grown a great deal, and the quality and content of those resources has improved significantly.

Pros

This is an extremely valuable tool because if offers many types of functionality, for users with varying technical skill levels. The evolution of this application, in just the 3 years we have used it, is also impressive. It is continually expanding its set of features and capabilities.

Cons

As with any product that is aggressively growing its suite of components, platforms, and overall degree of usefulness, some new offerings need corrections before achieving full implementation in certain environments. E.g. it is a little frustrating to see an awesome new capability (like BloX), but have to wait for it to be fixed for Linux, but that will hopefully be resolved soon.

Diego
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great software

Reviewed on 31/07/2019

Pros

Sisense is constantly growing and adding new capabilities

Cons

Being constantly changing, the software presents bugs frequently

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Power BI
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SiSense Review

Reviewed on 20/09/2018

Our overall experience can be described as excellent. The given support is superb and our CSM helped us every step of the way. As an OEM SiSense offers the right functionalities to distribute and scale. Furthermore there is plenty of whitelabel documentation ready for distribution

Pros

What I like the most about SiSense is the easiness of use and how quick we were able to be up and running. SiSense is a feature rich application, which can be even "richer" by using community build plugins and scripts.

It must be said that the Customer Support is sublime. They take Customer Succes to an entire new level

Cons

As an OEM user management is bit of an hassle. With alot of users and groups it takes a while to do this manually. They do have a rich API, but you need to develop an application to use these apis properly.

Sharing dashboards among users and groups could also be more user friendly. Batch sharing dashboards or a folder is not possible at this time

Stefanie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Power, flexibility, and easy to use

Reviewed on 13/09/2018

Pros

Sisense is a great BI tool that allows for a quick implementation and powerful data rendering. It enables users to quickly build advanced dashboards with its out of the box standard functionalities. Building data structures is fairly simple and can be done without writing queries. However, it is still possible to write queries on top of your data.

I also love how flexible it is. There is a standard set of widgets, sure, but by making use of plugins, javascript, and the API you can edit the widgets to fit your need. There is also the option to white label the system to fit your brand.

Overall, Sisense is a great tool that really helps to deliver business insights to your user fast.

Cons

The API connector documentation and connection process could be improved and some basic functionality could be more robust.

Elliot
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Awesome tool, great service

Reviewed on 15/07/2019

Our business is empowered to be more nimble. With our users having access to data immediately instead of waiting on others to provide it for them, we are making more proactive decisions.

Pros

Sisense has enabled our organizations to leverage data to identify and solve business problems quickly. It was easy to set up, build data connections, and create custom visualizations.

Sisense support is super helpful and extremely responsive. I fell like whenever I have a problem, it is being resolved quicker than I expect.

Cons

There are some formatting things that could be easier (in one row of widgets, have a columns that has two widgets stacked vertically, for example), but honestly its great.

Savu
Overall rating
  • Industry: Gambling & Casinos
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use, good end user experience

Reviewed on 26/03/2019

Prior to Sisense, we used to make charts in excel to have some kind of data visualization.This was an issue, because there are a lot of reports, and it's not easy to jump from one excel to another. Now we have dashboards that have the data updated at every hour. The top management have all that data that they need in a single application, that can also be accessed from the phone.

Pros

Easy to create a cube (basic SQL), to design a dashboard with no prior experience in dashboard design.
The visualizations are great, the dashboards are very appealing to the end user. The customer support is also great.

Cons

there are still some ideas that we couldn't implement in dashboards, but hopefully this will be fixed soon.

Susan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A BI tool for the non-developer

Reviewed on 14/02/2019

Pros

Sisense makes it very easy to go from data connection to actionable insights. Their customer support team is the best I have ever worked with for any business system or platform. They continue to build more connectors to make seamless integrations even easier and expand the platform's capabilities to increase it's flexibility and ease-of-use.

Cons

It's very rare I find something I am not able to create and connect in Sisense.

Susan
Overall rating
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Sisense as a Survey Reporting Tool

Reviewed on 06/06/2018

The Sisense support team is responsive and has been helpful in getting things resolved. Sometimes there is a tendency to simply ask for .dash files and tell us to turn all widgets off....and that usually means the person hasn't read the issue properly. It wastes time and is frustrating. Other than that, I have found everyone sincerely wanting to get to the bottom of things and be supportive and helpful.

Pros

Great design - dashboards are looking wonderful and clients love them. The interface is generally simple and easy to use - don't have to be a coder or developer to use it.

Cons

There have been some bugs. Some "normal" functions seem harder than they should and require extra time and programming skills.

Markus
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Exceptional value for our business

Reviewed on 02/05/2018

Pros

I get very valuable visualizations from ERP data which are indispensable for our sales management and sales people. Easy to use and customize, e.g. get data from different data sources (even from Domino database), create dashboards, synchronize update intervals, manage user groups. Very flexible dashboard use: via web browser or embed to ERP, great mobile application to see own dashboards. Good documentation. The best part is unparalleled customer support.

Cons

You have to invest your time to learn the concepts of BI (same for all BI tools) and to setup data sources. It is essential to plan what you need to show and how. I investigated all major BI software and I am very pleased with Sisense. Not cheap but the value for money is great.