CircleCI

4.5 (85)
We build CI/CD so you can build the next big thing.

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(85)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support
4.4/5

98%
recommended this app
Sort by

85 Reviews

Luis Carlos
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good for CI/CD and also for automating smaller tasks

Reviewed on 24/03/2022

We use CircleCI for our CI/CD pipeline almost every single day. It manages and runs automated tests for all the remote branches, so we can catch issues before they escalate. When ever something gets merged into our dev, staging or master branches, it auto tests, builds and deploy all the infrastructure with Terraform and pushes the newer version to docker.

Pros

The pipelines can be broken into different steps, which makes debugging, managing and approving individual phases way easier. Also, looking at the logs and being able to share static permalinks to them is quite useful when you have larger teams. We all can see the progress of the building pipelines in real time and can debug and manage them. Great tool over all.

Cons

Sometimes it fails and doesn't immediately let's you go to debug the issue. Also, some settings for the VMs are tricky to set up right.

Alternatives Considered

Jenkins
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

CircleCI - For Simple, Easy & feature rich CI/CD

Reviewed on 06/10/2022

Overall I love CircleCI UI, ease of deployment & it is feature rich. Availability & execution parameterization can be improved.

Pros

Best part of circleCI is the ease of continuous delivery feature it offers, it's very easy to integrate it with GitHub too. Another pro of CircleCI over other CI/CD tool like Jenkins is the simple yet feature rich UI. For beginners or pros, this workflow management tool is pretty simple yet futuristic.
It also makes running automated test cases for different branches really easy before deployment.

Cons

There is room for improvement in areas where Jenkins is already winning, like skipping parts of execution stages that are not required every time new change is pushed.
Another one would be the execution time, using it with terraform to run plans & eventually apply, it can take hours if your infrastructure is complex & there is no way to actually divide it in stages.
Better central monitoring & dashboard for different projects can be helpful, somewhat like Jenkins shows rainy, cloudy or clear skies signifying project health.

Alternatives Considered

Jenkins

Switched From

Jenkins

Reasons for Switching to CircleCI

Better UI, reviews & average cost. Futuristic & continuous development is there from the team.
Jeffrey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Does the job, but lacking in features

Reviewed on 06/05/2022

Pros

It's relatively simple to get started. I like that you can pick between Docker and VMs. It integrates with GitHub nicely.

Cons

The Docker in Docker paradigm doesn't work for us since we use containers. We end up using VMs anyways. I think the configuration language is not that great to use and can quickly get unwieldy for larger CI workflows (especially when repeating jobs with different parameters).

There are also outages at least once a quarter.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Top 2 choice for CI/CD

Reviewed on 19/09/2022

Overall experience is quite positive - it was easy to set up and configure, easy to get team buy-in, and easy to maintain as our codebase grew.

Pros

The Github integration made migrating our workflows to CircleCI quite seamless. We use the same integration for access control to ensure only certain team members can view/deploy.

Cons

Web UI feels cluttered, even after a redesign. No mobile app last I checked. This doesn't happen nearly as often anymore, but we used to experience random 'hangs' that were not explained by our own processes - canceling and restarting the job always did the trick though.

Tahmidul
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great once you're all set up

Reviewed on 29/09/2020

Pros

- Easy to understand yaml config format
- Integration with GitHub
- Workflows for powerful deployment and release strategies
- Good community support

Cons

- I am not the biggest fan of the recent UI update. If the "expand" toggle is set to true, everything jumps resulting in me clicking things unintentionally.
- Many of us have workflows that we do not use on every push (e.g. deploying to testing). With the next UI changes, the UI has a timer column which is always updating, why???
- Why can't I select a default project? When I now browse to circleci, I always have to select a project. Most developers only ever work on one project at a time, let us choose one!

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Switching to CircleCI

GitHub actions did not support click to approve workflows at the time. Although, now they do offer a viable solution, it may be something we look into.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

One of the top CI/CD service

Reviewed on 05/08/2021

Pros

With a Github/Bitbucket account, it is easy to setup the CircleCI account. It automatically detects all the repositories. We can easily add the configuration file and start using the pipelines. Various customisation and parallelisation options are provided. Lot of possibilities for automation and customisation. Overall a good product.

Cons

It was bit of a hassle to start first, the configuration were not very easy. Also struggled a bit to manage various Github organisations. Once easy and setup, it's easy and fast.

Ogaga
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Continuous Integration and Deployment made easy

Reviewed on 23/10/2021

Pros

It's easy to integrate most of the industry products with CircleCI, including tools used for Quality and Security. You only need some level of programming to get through the integration process. It works well for our model and we do not need the full DevOps suite to use Circle CI

Cons

There is nothing to dislike about this product.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing CircleCI

Jenkins was having a lot of complications integrating with newer industry tools and some members of the team were not comfortable using Jenkins.

Switched From

Jenkins
Noman Chowdhury
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best automated tools for a developer

Reviewed on 22/09/2022

Pros

Circle CI is the best Continuous integration platform that I have ever used. It is fast and reliable, and it allows me to set up different tests for projects and have them run in an automated manner. The interface is clean and intuitive, which has made it a breeze to get started with and learn the ropes with this tool!

Cons

It makes developer life so much easy. So it's 100% recommended . You will never regret of using it.

Karol
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Simple and good integrated with GitHub tool for CI/CD

Reviewed on 13/10/2022

In general works and do it's job in small, experimental projects.

Pros

Easy to start, good integration with GitHub, free for small and open-source projects.

Cons

The pricing is a bit higher compared to its competitors.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A nice CI Tools

Reviewed on 14/11/2022

Pros

Circle CI is a very nice CI tools, especially if you need to build on Apple devices

Cons

It's a bit pricy regarding other service that can be opensource

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

The right CI system for our DevOps

Reviewed on 13/11/2021

We used this CI/CD management software to deliver the products as fast as we can to test the water (product-market fit, validation...), then iterate, and pivoting quickly if needed. It's a good tool to do all of that.

Pros

These features helped us with fixing issues and shipping more: Configuration Management, Build Log and Approval Workflow.
All of that made our workplace headache-free and reduce the number of sleepless nights for our developers...

Cons

The software lacks these features: Chat/Messaging, Authentication and Assignment Management.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub, Travis CI and Incredibuild

Reasons for Choosing CircleCI

Clients request

Switched From

GitLab
Donovan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great, easy to use CI tool

Reviewed on 13/08/2021

Overall it is great. It is fast, reliable, and easy to use. Just the tactics on how they handle customers are something that is lacking.

Pros

It is so simple to set up, run, manage and maintain. It gives really fast feedback and is so versatile. This should be the standard way of doing automated pipelines.

Cons

For some of the pretty common things, like iOS app builds the costs escalate very quickly. Also, their sales team is very aggressive in how they push for upgrades, to the point of removing key items being used in the pipelines to force upgrades.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Choosing CircleCI

It is so much better

Switched From

Jenkins
Steve
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best UX for SaaS CI

Reviewed on 05/08/2019

Pros

When I first starting using CircleCI with version 1 I loved the simplicity. Every code would execute the commands in a relatively simple yml file. Version 2 is far more powerful and flexible. It took me a while to get used to but I still find Circle's ease of use to make it my choice over others.

Cons

Version 2 has a lot of complexity that can make it hard to get started with. Their Orbs concept is bringing back some simplicity.

Petr
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Battle tested and well documented

Reviewed on 29/09/2020

Satisfied ;)

Pros

One of the market leaders. You can bet it is going to be here for at least next few years and your one off implementation and deployment of this service will do for long time without ay significant change and it will serve you reliably.

Cons

For some not_totaly_standartd deployments or integrations it is (as many similar products) a bit tricky. But thanks to the huge community you can find some solution for pretty much everything quite quickly.

Alternatives Considered

Travis CI
Robert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best in class continuous integration

Reviewed on 06/06/2022

My go-to on every SAAS product. Delivers the goods everytime.

Pros

It is incredibly easy to get started, you can be integrated in hours and from then on its a consistent reliable platform for all your CI needs.

Cons

As test suites grow and parallelization becomes important it can get awfully expensive. I still use it on every project but I was at a prior company where we racked up bills in the thousands a month without really trying for not that big a product. This was definitely due to some poor planning but CircleCI makes it easy to land yourself in that kind of situation if you're not careful.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab
Oystein
Overall rating
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good product for our ci needs

Reviewed on 29/09/2020

Pros

Easy to use and mac build system. Docker integration

Cons

User system. Only github and sometimes that is a struggle

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Some quirks but overall it's a product we rely on and use every day

Reviewed on 29/09/2020

Pros

CircleCI is highly configurable for many different types of workflows. We rely on CircleCI for continuous deployment. Our tests automatically run and deploy code to the correct environment depending on the branch it's pushed to. It's also generally reliable these days. Reliability was an issue for us a few years ago but those issues are mostly gone now.

Cons

Since CircleCI is highly configurable it can also be difficult to build out a custom flow that works the way you need it to. We spent more time than we wanted to getting our automated deployment system set up.

Dennis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

CircleCI is a blessing

Reviewed on 03/08/2019

CircleCI is crucial to what we're doing and it's powerful. I've enjoyed using it for awhile now.

Pros

It's powerful, it's got lots of features, and the customization is limitless. CircleCI improves the developer experience many times over. It's also fairly reliable, and makes handling a large project simpler.

Cons

It can go down sometimes, debugging can be a bit hard and cryptic. Support is also fairly lackluster.

Alternatives Considered

Travis CI

Reasons for Switching to CircleCI

CircleCI is cheaper.
Ben
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An amazing product that revolutionized our testing and deployment processes!

Reviewed on 28/08/2017

Pros

CircleCI does everything we want in a CI product, and it works in the way that we want to use it (which is visiting the CircleCI user interface as little as possible). It offers very solid integrations with other services (such as Slack and GitHub) and it works well for managing an entire team's projects without getting too cluttered.

Cons

It can be slow. Especially if you don't have a lot of parallelism, but even sometimes if you do, it can take a couple of minutes just to deploy minor changes sometimes. This isn't much of a problem in reality, it just means you might need a different approach to your deployment process (one that doesn't require you to sit and wait for CircleCI to run before you move on).

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Continuously improving over the years

Reviewed on 11/07/2017

Pros

Responsive support, much faster builds now I can easily parallelize things with Workflows 2.0.

Very easily integrated with GitHub and other code-quality services.

Able to build in macOS if necessary.

Cons

I would like the ability to specify resources available to a machine, fine to charge more for this feature.

I would like to use Workflows 2.0 with macOS builds.

It would also be great to be able to specify which docker images are cached on all executors, fine to charge more for this feature.

Mehak
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of te best on cloud CI/CD for all kinds of application.

Reviewed on 27/04/2020

Used it with a number of applications, the GIT integration was very smooth. It is used for the deployment of the master on test and production environment by simple pull request creation and branch merge.

Pros

The great configurational freedom to the user makes it suitable for any and all kinds of applications. The step by step view provided is very helpful UI to track the whole process. The YML templates make it very easy to set up and the git configuration part is very well documented and just a few steps can make it work.

Cons

The pricing of the tool is a bit on the higher side compared to its competitors. Docker support is not complete.

Andy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Easy continuous build and deployment system

Reviewed on 30/04/2021

We have automated unit testing, deployment and managing pipelines so no one has to do it manually.

Pros

Easy to manage pipelines and deployment to multiple servers and to manage versions from GitHub. Easy to restart pipelines or particular deployments.

Cons

New UI feels less intuitive than the old one, but does work well. Sometimes errors can be hard to track down, but think that may be our configuration / setup rather than CircleCI itself.

Alvaro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

automated test do it right

Reviewed on 25/06/2018

Pros

- Is integrated with several tools like slack
- Configure a project is simple and quick, and most of the cases once you have done this, you will not need to log in into the platform. You will have build going in a couple of hours.
- I have it running in several project and works really well.

Cons

- Pricing could be a little bit better I guess or have a better free plan for beginners, I don't think any cons of using CircleCI actually.

Timothy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great tool

Reviewed on 08/10/2020

We have been able to do some incredible things with Circle CI as our continuous integration and deployment tool. Definitely recommend!

Pros

The flexibility of configuring build environments for various technologies stacks and needs is key. Circle CI provides some getting started assistance through documentation and tooling, and once you’re past that there really is very little in terms of constraints holding you back from near infinite flexibility. It’s a great service!

Cons

The threshold of minimum knowledge required to get started is a bit higher than some of the competitors.

Michal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

CircleCI CI/CD

Reviewed on 26/09/2020

It automates many repetitive tasks such as running the tests, building and deployment to various environments and it makes my life easier.

Pros

I am using CircleCI within many projects and I like it - its feature-rich, supports every usecase we need and from my perspective is absolutely sufficient as CI/CD tool for projects I was working on. It also has free plan which could be enough for smaller teams or projects.

Cons

Not very often, but still, sometimes an inexplicable black magic happens and it requires a bit of debugging and reconfiguring of the project or the CircleCI.