CircleCI

We build CI/CD so you can build the next big thing.

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(90)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Support
4.4/5

98%
recommended this app
Sort by

90 Reviews

Tung
Tung
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great tool but lack tutorials

Reviewed on 27/10/2018

Pros

As any Continuous Integration tool it does what it should do. Builds and runs. Hard to say what's the most because haven't used other CI tools but CircleCI does what's expected and there was no thoughts about changing to other tools. So I would recommend using it.

Cons

The tutorials are not yet clear. They don't lead from start to workable CI.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Top 2 choice for CI/CD

Reviewed on 19/09/2022

Overall experience is quite positive - it was easy to set up and configure, easy to get team...

Overall experience is quite positive - it was easy to set up and configure, easy to get team buy-in, and easy to maintain as our codebase grew.

Pros

The Github integration made migrating our workflows to CircleCI quite seamless. We use the same integration for access control to ensure only certain team members can view/deploy.

Cons

Web UI feels cluttered, even after a redesign. No mobile app last I checked. This doesn't happen nearly as often anymore, but we used to experience random 'hangs' that were not explained by our own processes - canceling and restarting the job always did the trick though.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Pricey, but a competitor in the continuous integration space.

Reviewed on 14/12/2017

Pros

The UI and integration is easy and very straight forward. Were able to get builds going in a couple hours.

Cons

When picking a CI to use for our business we tried a lot of the big names and CircleCi was great except for the price point for how fast the builds were. Alternatives like Strider gave CircleCi a bad taste.

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Some quirks but overall it's a product we rely on and use every day

Reviewed on 29/09/2020

Pros

CircleCI is highly configurable for many different types of workflows. We rely on CircleCI for continuous deployment. Our tests automatically run and deploy code to the correct environment depending on the branch it's pushed to. It's also generally reliable these days. Reliability was an issue for us a few years ago but those issues are mostly gone now.

Cons

Since CircleCI is highly configurable it can also be difficult to build out a custom flow that works the way you need it to. We spent more time than we wanted to getting our automated deployment system set up.

Dennis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

CircleCI is a blessing

Reviewed on 03/08/2019

CircleCI is crucial to what we're doing and it's powerful. I've enjoyed using it for awhile now.

CircleCI is crucial to what we're doing and it's powerful. I've enjoyed using it for awhile now.

Pros

It's powerful, it's got lots of features, and the customization is limitless. CircleCI improves the developer experience many times over. It's also fairly reliable, and makes handling a large project simpler.

Cons

It can go down sometimes, debugging can be a bit hard and cryptic. Support is also fairly lackluster.

Alternatives Considered

Travis CI

Reasons for Switching to CircleCI

CircleCI is cheaper.
Ben
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An amazing product that revolutionized our testing and deployment processes!

Reviewed on 28/08/2017

Pros

CircleCI does everything we want in a CI product, and it works in the way that we want to use it (which is visiting the CircleCI user interface as little as possible). It offers very solid integrations with other services (such as Slack and GitHub) and it works well for managing an entire team's projects without getting too cluttered.

Cons

It can be slow. Especially if you don't have a lot of parallelism, but even sometimes if you do, it can take a couple of minutes just to deploy minor changes sometimes. This isn't much of a problem in reality, it just means you might need a different approach to your deployment process (one that doesn't require you to sit and wait for CircleCI to run before you move on).

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Circle CI trusted by FB

Reviewed on 15/01/2019

Pros

Circle CI is being trusted by FB for React, and Fastlane. So if it works for them I think that is a great testament to it.

Cons

Doesn't allow as many languages and environments out of the box as Travis CI does.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Ease of use and fast

Reviewed on 03/11/2017

Pros

Realy fast, and requires almost none configuration to get going, I didn't know much about it at the start, but then o learned a lot very fast.

Cons

People do not get its importance at first, it's a real pain to make them understand why should them to spend time on this sort of thing.

Jose F.
Jose F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This is the option to increased productivity

Reviewed on 13/06/2020

CircleCI has always been focused on productivity and simplicity without setting aside functionality...

CircleCI has always been focused on productivity and simplicity without setting aside functionality and to me it works very well.

Pros

CircleCI takes away the need to fiddle with infrastructure and lets teams focus strictly on CI and CD. It's enjoyable to use, and helps integrate with multiple technologies in order to keep everything efficiently connected.

Cons

I think the only con is that it can get quite expensive fast, and when you need parallelism for tests then cost can get high quickly.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A CI/CD saas for the future

Reviewed on 24/11/2017

Pros

Fast and resilient, especially when the release of version 2.0, we are able to benefit from docker layers caching..our build time improved by 70%.

Cons

sometimes it goes crazy especially in service discoveries since we are using docker compose to build and orchestrate ci env.

Robert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best in class continuous integration

Reviewed on 06/06/2022

My go-to on every SAAS product. Delivers the goods everytime.

My go-to on every SAAS product. Delivers the goods everytime.

Pros

It is incredibly easy to get started, you can be integrated in hours and from then on its a consistent reliable platform for all your CI needs.

Cons

As test suites grow and parallelization becomes important it can get awfully expensive. I still use it on every project but I was at a prior company where we racked up bills in the thousands a month without really trying for not that big a product. This was definitely due to some poor planning but CircleCI makes it easy to land yourself in that kind of situation if you're not careful.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab
Mehak
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of te best on cloud CI/CD for all kinds of application.

Reviewed on 27/04/2020

Used it with a number of applications, the GIT integration was very smooth. It is used for the...

Used it with a number of applications, the GIT integration was very smooth. It is used for the deployment of the master on test and production environment by simple pull request creation and branch merge.

Pros

The great configurational freedom to the user makes it suitable for any and all kinds of applications. The step by step view provided is very helpful UI to track the whole process. The YML templates make it very easy to set up and the git configuration part is very well documented and just a few steps can make it work.

Cons

The pricing of the tool is a bit on the higher side compared to its competitors. Docker support is not complete.

Michal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

CircleCI CI/CD

Reviewed on 26/09/2020

It automates many repetitive tasks such as running the tests, building and deployment to various...

It automates many repetitive tasks such as running the tests, building and deployment to various environments and it makes my life easier.

Pros

I am using CircleCI within many projects and I like it - its feature-rich, supports every usecase we need and from my perspective is absolutely sufficient as CI/CD tool for projects I was working on. It also has free plan which could be enough for smaller teams or projects.

Cons

Not very often, but still, sometimes an inexplicable black magic happens and it requires a bit of debugging and reconfiguring of the project or the CircleCI.

Nikhil Kumar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple and inexpensive tool for CI/CD.

Reviewed on 06/02/2023

Pros

It's inexpensiveness is the main attraction but also along with that CircleCi provides tons of other helpful features as well you can share the test logs via email as well.

Cons

As for my use case I don't have anything to dislike and it is ideal for me.

Harmandeep
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

CircleCI for build/deployment

Reviewed on 25/04/2018

Pros

It helps me to analyze all build quickly in real time. It is pretty simple to configure, setup and use. It has a pretty good integration with various remote repositories and it can run tests and give you results.

Cons

The learning curve is steep for some developers. It has two versions of the software, which sometimes makes it difficult to manage.

Remco
Remco
Overall rating
  • Industry: Renewables & Environment
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

try building it manually

Reviewed on 09/11/2017

Pros

automated testing, building and deploying really helped or project in reaching maximum velocity for the scrum teams

Cons

What I least like about Circle CI is the slow learning curve for some of the programmers so that they are able to make a build and deploy script themselves

Andrew
Andrew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

If you haven't tried it, you need to

Reviewed on 31/08/2017

Pros

generous free plans for open source projects
easy to set up
plenty of features
plenty of customization
runs quick

Cons

Additional containers are a bit pricey. There are other services offering similar products at much lower prices.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very helpful and resonable pricing plans

Reviewed on 19/10/2020

I'm developing and managing various web services and mobile apps in a small startup. CircleCI is...

I'm developing and managing various web services and mobile apps in a small startup. CircleCI is essential for productivity and maintaining code quality with my team.

Pros

It provides many useful features, and I can use most of them with a free plan.
Customer service is also excellent.

Cons

'Workflows' is useful, but it can not be tested locally by its nature.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very easy

Reviewed on 31/07/2019

Pros

The software works great, is fast, and extremely easy to use.

Cons

None, but I believe paid options could be less expensive

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

CircleCI smoothened our provision process!

Reviewed on 10/04/2019

It was great, as CircleCI helped to save our time. Also, it has a nice interface plus webhooks...

It was great, as CircleCI helped to save our time. Also, it has a nice interface plus webhooks integration for us to build notifications center without any trouble!

Pros

CircleCI is a great software for provisioning software or applications before publishing them on the production environment. It speeds up our provisioning process and allows us to debug our applications really well! Saved us a lot of time so we can work on something better!

Cons

The pricing of concurrent jobs and containers is too high, I can set up one myself using other hosting providers at a way cheaper price.

Kyle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Another Continuous Integration Application

Reviewed on 17/01/2018

Easy to work with and I recommend you try one CI application. Even if its just for running code...

Easy to work with and I recommend you try one CI application. Even if its just for running code test automatically, or even it may make your developer start writing tests for their code.

Pros

Fully integrated with docker and because everything is moving to containers (or should be for scalability) this is huge for us. Tests can run automatically after pushing commits help identify problems before our clients would find them. The earlier you find a bug the cheaper its costs you in the end.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great product to test and automate for teams

Reviewed on 29/03/2020

CircleCI helps organize our build pipeline and catch issues early that would cause problems in...

CircleCI helps organize our build pipeline and catch issues early that would cause problems in production.

Pros

CircleCI is great for doing pipelines and integrating commits from each member of our teams. Great error reporting helps identify errors right away.

Cons

Their mobile experience needs improvement. Not everything is available on their mobile app and a computer is required for some tasks.

Permana
Permana
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very good CI/CD tools

Reviewed on 31/10/2019

I'm on free plan of CircleCI and the software is very useful.

I'm on free plan of CircleCI and the software is very useful.

Pros

I use the free version and it is very good software. You can download CircleCI to your local machine by using docker and then run the test on local before committing your code.

Cons

Documentation needs a bit of work. So far so good, but needs more explanation about how to set it up on a certain framework

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Continuous Integration done right

Reviewed on 24/08/2018

Pros

Robust, easy to use, great documentation, great feature set even on a free plan with sizable 1,500 build minutes per month (quite a lot for smaller projects).

Cons

As you grow, cost rises quite rapidly as well, especially if you require multiple containers run in parallel.

Nick
Nick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Novice review

Reviewed on 27/08/2017

Pros

Ease of use and the extensibility of having your tests ran upon pushing without having to configure the .yml file to find tests.

Cons

The biggest con of the software would have to be the initial documentation on how to set up. This can get kind of confusing.