Emburse Chrome River Expense

4.4 (166)
Let Business Flow

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(166)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.3/5
Sort by

166 Reviews

Karen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Paperless expense reimbursements with automated routing - great combination!

Reviewed on 22/08/2022

Pros

Our expense reimbursement process improved greatly when implementing Chrome River Expense 12 years ago. No more paper shuffling from in box to in box for approvals, potentially getting lost. Also, Chrome River continues to improve their product and keeps up with client demands as technology evolves.

Cons

Customer service is up and down. Chrome River now charges for changes you want to make, where that used to be baked in the subscription price. Or you can pay for an almost unlimited service model - a bit pricey, but overall worth it if you have a lot of changes to make like we do. (Changes are because our business needs often change).

Adrienne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Emburse Chrome River Expense and Invoice Software is top notch!

Reviewed on 21/09/2022

Centralizing expense and invoice management increased visibility across the firm and streamlined AP processes. The firm reduced invoice processing time by 90%, cutting a 10-minute process per invoice to just 1-2 minutes. This gave the AP team significant time back for more strategic work. Additionally, Emburse’s mobile capabilities and credit card integrations enabled the firm to expedite client billing for more timely payments.

Pros

Emburse automated many AP tasks and cut invoice processing time by 90%, resulting in more time for higher-value work. Users and admins especially enjoy the mobile features and the ability to see exactly where an expense or invoice is in the approval process.

Cons

The Emburse Chrome River help desk needs some work. There are often lengthy turnaround times for their help desk.

Karen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

It has potential to be amazing expense software

Reviewed on 02/11/2022

Pros

Their software allows you to control all your expenses in one area where you can create custom expense reports that can help optimize your business

Cons

I did run into many issues with the software crashing, having problems reaching out to their customer service team and overall having my expenses not equaling up like they should

Philip
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Experience with Chrome River

Reviewed on 18/08/2022

Overall it is a better experience for our review team and users from our old system.

Pros

I really enjoy the compliance tools to help guide policy. This is helpful to take some human elements out to focus on less monotonous review.

Cons

There is major issue in using Hotel expense tools to be compliant with U.S. Federal regulations for travel and expensing to be compliant with FTR, JTR, and GSA per diem policies.

Alternatives Considered

SAP Concur

Reasons for Choosing Emburse Chrome River Expense

The old system was not able to be updated to match the advancements that were in other systems like Chrome River.

Reasons for Switching to Emburse Chrome River Expense

Chrome River pricing was a better match with the qualifications we needed in a new expense report system.
Mario
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Visibility for Business Expenses

Reviewed on 20/08/2020

We are keeping track of all corporate spend, and submitting them all on time now. The visibility of where all expenses are in their approval process has been great for our users. Since everything flows faster, we are able to process reimbursements faster too. Our ability to also track compliance violations helps with know where user need additional training. The compliance reports are very useful.

Pros

Integration with our corporate card program has been such a time saver. All users are able to track and expense their incurred business expenses in a timely fashion, and that helps with decision making. We also integrate with our travel agency, so expencing full trips now take way less time.

Cons

Setting up the routing rules was a challenge with some of the exceptions we had to work through, but once the time was spent to consider everything, the system does what we expect.

Alternatives Considered

Emburse Certify Expense and SAP Concur

Reasons for Choosing Emburse Chrome River Expense

Lacked critical functionality, and recurring problems caused from OTA updates.

Switched From

DocStar ECM

Reasons for Switching to Emburse Chrome River Expense

Best fit in terms of functionality and internal focus group preference.
Alexis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Chrome River Expense

Reviewed on 01/12/2020

Overall the experience has been great and we are happy with it!

Pros

The ease of use and the customization of it to meet our changing needs

Cons

Since the systems is so customizable it can be hard when there is a issue for support to understand why you do something a certain way.

Terry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Chrome River Expense

Reviewed on 30/11/2020

Expenses are now submitted in a timely manner and we now have receipts to match expenses. No more lost receipts.
The approval processes are quicker, making reimbursements happen faster.

Pros

The product is very easy to use and quite intuitive. The CRSnap APP is a great tool and make uploading receipts to the Receipt Gallery less time consuming. Integration on the most part was very good.

Cons

There are two things that I really would like to see some changes and they are, I would like the ability to have more customization on the Tiles. As a religious institution our expenses are often quite different from the corporate world.
Second, we are still having difficulty integrating our feed with our OBT, Egencia. We have to map our expense feed from our credit card company.

Alternatives Considered

SAP Concur

Reasons for Switching to Emburse Chrome River Expense

The flexibility of the program and we were informed that we would be able to integrate with our OBT, Egencia.
Effrim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Changing the Game with Chrome River

Reviewed on 19/11/2021

I can't say enough how happy we are with Chrome River. From our setup through to go live the entire Chrome River team has been great. The fact that the system is so easy helps but the support of [SENSITIVE CONTENT] in pre-purchase and [SENSITIVE CONTENT] in setup meant we had a hand to hold all along our journey.

Pros

The ease of use, implementation and reimbursement means everyone's life is so much easier. Users, administrators, approvers, it just works.

Cons

I wouldn't call this a con but if I had to look at something that I'm not used to with an ERP its the fact that changes are made in a QA environment and then "pushed" to the Production environment. So there are a few extra steps. However, the mistakes I've made in QA have stayed in QA and I haven't had to figure out how to fix what I've broken. So I guess there is a pro hiding in this con!

Reasons for Switching to Emburse Chrome River Expense

Ease of use, cost, ease of implementation and service offering
Ken
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Been on ChromeRiver Expense for over two years and our users are very happy with the product.

Reviewed on 22/05/2018

Pros

The user interface is very easy to use. We have the person load feeding from our HR data, so new employees are automatically fed into the system. When an employee leaves they are also removed from ChromeRiver

Cons

The itemizing of hotel bills has been an issue when the hotel does not send all the information. Not really a chromeriver issue, because the hotel is not sending the information, but the users see it as a problem with ChromeRiver. This process has gotten much better since we originally went on the system

Willian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 19/10/2022

In general is good enough

Pros

Emburse dashboard, easy to submit expense report, user friendly.

Cons

Analytics function - to heavy, not easy to retrieve data, several types of data with same information name, then difficult to select the correct one

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I have worked with Chrome River four years and lead the upgrade from the Platinum to Mercury.

Reviewed on 11/01/2018

Pros

The platform is user friendly and intuitive. Travelers have the capability of taking pictures of their receipts and sending them directly into their Chrome River e-Wallet. We use Egencia Travel which is in the process of integrating with Chrome River. This will result in all travel data also being housed in the traveler's e-Wallet. Our travelers also like the mobile capability of the new web-based platform, Mercury, which allows them to have access to the site while on the go. Credit card integration has also proved very valuable enabling travelers to see transactions they need to submit on their reports. Approvers have the ability audit and approve reports on the go with the ability to easily review receipts that are being billed to their projects. With the ability to program policies and routing, approvers can be assured that reports are meeting programmed company policies. If there is a need to split the allocation of the expense - Chrome River makes it very easy. Employees love the ability to easily delegate access to others and assign approval to coworkers while on vacation.
We have been very happy with this software. It has simplified and made the expense report process very efficient for our firm.

Cons

As a travel manager, the analytics engine that I use frequently could be more intuitive. If reports are required outside of the standard list, the engine to produce custom reports is not very user friendly.

Shawn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Chrome River is Great once Set Up

Reviewed on 24/11/2021

Emburse Chrome River put us in a great position when the pandemic hit and everyone was working from home. It was a much easier transition than it would have been if we were still manually processing with paper. The geographic ease of use across our offices is something I think is huge compared to other options. Due to the effort in setup, we also have a highly customized workflow that handles volume, and we work at a pretty rapid pace now with a relatively small staff.

Pros

Chrome River is highly accessible and available across many devices and platforms. You basically just need and internet connection. This allows us to work and function across many dispersed offices. It's a fairly easy interface for the average user, and puts the ability to quickly submit an expense in the purchaser's hands. We are able to send data to and from Chrome River, which is vital. Emburse stays ahead with technology and is working on AI receipt readers.

Cons

The integration certainly felt like a struggle. Basic data feeds were easy, but when we updated our accounting software from Elite Enterprise to Elite 3E, the export integration - which was fully handled by the CR development team - did take quite a bit of time and effort to get right. It's working great now though, but was more effort than anticipated to set up initially. I would advise to keep custom rules simplified if possible too. Overall the product is good, it's just about getting it set up in my opinion.

Nathaniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Chrome River - Easy Expenses!

Reviewed on 18/02/2020

We went from an in-house excel based expense report to CR so it was amazing to go from a spreadsheet to a real expense submission site. The improvements that came with the app and how easy it is to do expense reports now make the old way seem like a nightmare

Pros

CR Expense makes expense reports incredibly easy, both from the submission to the approval. The newer apps also alleviate the need to collect a folder of receipts that you have to later attach to paper and scan in manually, as with the app you can sign in on your phone or tablet and take a picture of the receipt right there. For other things, like receipts you receive via email, it was just as easy to sign into the site and upload a PDF copy of the email. Or if you still want to do everything at once, you can upload all your receipt images and attach them to individual items that way as well. With the available options and easy use there is no reason for people to be missing images or late on submission

Cons

The only down side/complaint I have is the "old" version (pre-mercury) still requires flashplayer. And I don't believe the admin tool has been migrated to mercury either so you still need to go into the old site to manage anything manually or investigate problems

Jill
Overall rating
  • Industry: Packaging & Containers
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Expense System on the Go

Reviewed on 30/08/2019

The system has streamlines our expense process allowing us to eliminate paper reports and move the whole company to a single expense system

Pros

The flexibility of mobile use and user interface

Cons

The limitation of customization of Mexico VAT

Alternatives Considered

SAP Concur

Reasons for Choosing Emburse Chrome River Expense

Mobile capibilities

Switched From

Boomerang for Gmail

Reasons for Switching to Emburse Chrome River Expense

Reputation, flexibility
Olga
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Compliance and Ease of use

Reviewed on 29/07/2020

A positive overall experience with some very nowledgable and patient team members.
CR Expense has impressed us from the beginning (tendering process). Mobility, integrations, OCR, GUI - very positive about the solution.

Pros

All our Expenses Policy has been built into the system - threshholds, variations, warnings and violations.
The user interface is really straight forward and the solution being fully mobile has put the expenses claim process into a completely different eprspective.
OCR functionality enable quick scan and upload receipt process, integration with Credit Card provider eliminate clunky process we had before.

Cons

The biggest challenge was the implementation and understanding the old-fashioned rule building via excel sheets. Luckily this process is changing gradually as is becoming more sophisticated and current. This will be a benefit not only to new customers but a huge step forward for existing ones too.

Craig
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Chrome River Expense - Expense reports made easy

Reviewed on 21/03/2019

Chrome River has been a great company to work with. They are always open to hear about features that would make our lives easier and try to accommodate when possible. We have since started using their Invoice capture service to help automate AP even more and the results have been fantastic.

Pros

This software lets our users attach receipts hands free by either emailing receipts or using the Chrome River SNAP app. This allows delegates to go in and create expense reports for our users who would rather have their assistant perform this practice. The software is also usable on any computer, smart phone or tablet allowing users to work from anywhere they have an internet connection. Chrome River is also integrated with our Corporate credit card (US Bank) so transactions come through showing our users exactly which items need to be submitted. The product also integrates with Uber, Lyft, and Spot Hero so those receipts are automatically sent to Chrome River.

Cons

We have not had any major issues with the software. The OCR function for reading receipts does not always work as well as you would like but this only makes users select a different expense type than is suggested.

Todd
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Chrome River Expense Review

Reviewed on 06/04/2020

Overall experience has been very positive as all employees are now using it and we are saving time and money. We can rely on the system to help us with the process and the automation helps us manage the process.

Pros

The system creates a workflow that saves us time and money. It enforces our expense policy so the administrators don't always have to be the bad guy. It also integrates with other systems such as our HR system (employee feeds), our corporate credit cards and out Concur travel system.

Cons

The admin features can be a bit tricky to use. Features aren't always in the most intuitive place. The CR team is working on changing everything around. Once things are found/explained, it is a nice system to use. The help desk can also be slow to respond. Most times i want to be able to pick up the phone and call someone rather than dial 1-800 help.

Alternatives Considered

SAP Concur

Reasons for Switching to Emburse Chrome River Expense

I thought the end user features were better with Chrome River than Concur.
Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Chrome River Expense - Easy to Use

Reviewed on 25/02/2020

Monthly expense reimbursement and categorization used to be an extremely time consuming task. With CR Expense, it is now very efficient and streamlined. Our overall monthly close process has been sped up by at least 15%, simply because of CR Expense.

Pros

It is extremely easy to use. Our entire organization now uses it on a daily basis. It has completely streamlined our expense processes.

Cons

Implementation took a while, but we did eventually get it customized perfectly for our organization.

Alternatives Considered

SAP Concur

Reasons for Switching to Emburse Chrome River Expense

Users in our organization had prior positive experiences with Chrome River.
Craig
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Chrome River makes expense management part of my day.

Reviewed on 30/09/2020

Amazing customer support, very simple Apps, great training options.

Pros

Simplicity, great customer support, and fit our budget.

Cons

Implementation was a bit challenging through all the Covid-19 stuff, but the Chrome River team was assume and supported us until we had it figured out.

Alternatives Considered

SAP Concur

Reasons for Choosing Emburse Chrome River Expense

Out grow old expense management software and company.

Switched From

Comdata AP Automation

Reasons for Switching to Emburse Chrome River Expense

People, support, training, cost
Amber
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Mercury is wonderful!

Reviewed on 22/08/2019

Pros

The new receipt functions within Mercury are a life saver for the auditing process. We love the way it crops and attaches the receipts to individual line items, it makes auditing a breeze rather than going through countless pages of receipts. Its a huge time saver and that is important as we have such a high volume.

Cons

Help Desk Turn Around time could be better.

Alternatives Considered

SAP Concur

Reasons for Switching to Emburse Chrome River Expense

Chrome River worked better with our line of business.
Melissa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Customizable User Friendly Expense Platform

Reviewed on 23/08/2019

Chrome River has worked closely with us to understand our business and business needs. The staff is innovative and eager to solve any issues your business presents.

Pros

The ability to build rules around compliance and polices is top notch.

Cons

The reporting (Analytics) isn’t as easy to navigate as it should be.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle PeopleSoft and SAP Concur

Reasons for Choosing Emburse Chrome River Expense

IBM was no longer supporting their tool.

Reasons for Switching to Emburse Chrome River Expense

Ultimately it was the ability to customize our user experience and policy rules.
Wanda
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Corporate Expenses

Reviewed on 21/03/2022

Chrome River expense system has taken us from a paper based expense system which was very slow, lacked the ability to audit, or create reports for spend tracking. We have moved from a very slow process to a quick and prompt paperless way of claiming expenses. No more desk drawers full of papers and receipts. Reports are set up to run monthly and distributed to dept. managers for review. The ability to enforce policy guidelines has been an important part of the expense system implementation.

Pros

The ease of use for the claimant, being able to create the expense tiles to suit our business needs. It was easy to implement and train end users. I can make changes and updates easily on my own or utilize support from the help desk.

Cons

The reporting can be a bit of a challenge to understand and set up.

Anita
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Emburse Chrome River Expense Experience

Reviewed on 19/04/2021

First of all, with all of our rules built into Emburse Chrome River, it keeps us all honest. It automated our travel process which some thought it could not be done. It saves us expenses in all the paper not being used anymore. And last but not least, it is user friendly.

Pros

The ability to track where in the process the expense report is, is my favorite part. The software helped us come from the paper document into the real world. When COVID19 hit, travel could still be approved even though there were many restriction on travel at the time. Thank you Emburse Chrome River for an excellent software package.

Cons

When we first went live with Chrome River then, we went live with the Mercury version and a lot of things were still on the Platinum version so a little inconvenient at the time. Here in 2021, everything is in Mercury so really there is not any cons.

Debra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

You're gonna love it!

Reviewed on 22/11/2021

Reimbursable claims come in faster and are much more accurate. PCard reconciliations are done in a much more timely fashion.

Pros

Easy to send receipts to the product. Very easy for occasional users to pick up. Rarely any down time.

Cons

Customization is able to be done in house, but it is not easy to learn in a non tech department.

Alternatives Considered

SAP Concur

Reasons for Switching to Emburse Chrome River Expense

Easy to use and continuous updating.
Melody
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Business expense reimbursement software

Reviewed on 24/01/2017

my firm has been using Chrome River since 2011 for expense reimbursement processing. Implementation was quick. They have kept up with changing client needs and technology by constantly updating the software and offering new options. End users are happy because they have easy options such as connecting receipts directly from Uber, and can get downloaded transactions daily. Submitting expenses are icon based and are tailored to exactly your specs. Back office is happy because duplicates can be immediately identified and importing into GL packages is almost seamless once set up. Take a look. Chrome River is growing fast because they do it right and to your specifications.

Pros

customizable for my business rules

Cons

we opted for daily feeds of certain information. Sometimes new options are added that I might be interested in, but until I read their updates in detail, I won't know about changes.