NetDocuments

4.3 (30)
Create, share, and collaborate on documents

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(30)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.1/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

83%
recommended this app
Sort by

30 Reviews

Evan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

NetDocuments - Great Cloud based DMS

Reviewed on 20/07/2021

Almost always positive. The search, storage and applications work. When they don't the support staff is usually friendly and knowledgeable

Pros

The whole package exists in the cloud. It just works. Indexing Works. Importing Works. User Management Works. Very little can go wrong as they handle the infrastructure.

Cons

When it does go wrong it can be time consuming to get it fixed. Often the issue requires a patch to their software which can take some time to get and implement from them

Alternatives Considered

iManageRent
Matti
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best document management system

Reviewed on 29/04/2021

Pros

NetDocuments is very intuitive for most employees. Has all of the core features of document management implemented very well. It is fully cloud based, so it takes off our mind all of the duties of archiving.

Cons

Some flexibility is missing. Several features are not completely implemented, so they sort of work but require workarounds. They could take a key from the competition on several UI design choices.

Kyle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Net Docs

Reviewed on 23/10/2022

The overall experience with Netdocs is fantastic except the increasing rates you're forced to pay from the Con section. The other alternative if you are looking for a similar DMS but are in a smaller budget, using Epona from MS and Imanage might be the best gateway before you come into the ND world.

Pros

Fantastic for the Legal Sector for DMS, HYPER secure and great customer service on issues. We've used them for 10+ years and haven't had many complaints with them at all. The best thing about it is they continually improve and produce better and better Intergrations with microsoft.

Cons

The biggest con is the price, you can easily burn a quarter Million on the data storage rates and such easily plus with user licensing, it's mostly due to them being bought by a hedge fund so they screw over everyone with the extreme licensing and piece mealing products that should have been including from the get-go.

Zach
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Could be great but falls short

Reviewed on 12/06/2018

Pros

The e-mail integration is awesome, when it works. We run into too many issues to where it loses a connection or fails to uploaded an e-mail.

Cons

Each update makes the system slower and slower. Every time they update their website, a feature breaks and they have to go back and fix it. Hold times for tech support and times can be a little ridiculous.

Sherry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to save and locate documents

Reviewed on 06/09/2022

Each of our Cases has a workspace in NetDocuments, so I am able to look up my case and quickly search through my documents by date, doc name, sender, document type, etc. There are many was to narrow the search. Also, because this program is integrated with our Case Management software, Zencase, I don't even have to open it separately. Documents are available at my fingertips.

Pros

It's great to be able to associate emails with attached documents directly into NetDocuments for all of my Cases. From NetDocuments, I can pull up any older emails without having to spend time searching through Outlook

Cons

For my purposes, the program works very well. But it would be nice to be able to drag and drop emails to NetDocuments, which would make association even quicker!

BreAnne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Great way to securely share and store documents

Reviewed on 05/05/2020

Our business has many people who all work together on the same projects and this has given us a way to conveniently keep every one up to date by providing updates to everyone almost immediately.

Pros

This software makes it very convenient to keep all documents organized by user or client and has many features which can be used to ensure the security of the documents.

Cons

The search feature can be difficult to figure out the verbiage to use, and if you are searching for a document that you have not been given access to it does not inform you of that, instead it just says “not found”

Response from NetDocuments

Thank you for your kind words and feedback! We are continually working to improve our product and have shared your feedback with our product teams. Please note that for security reasons expected by many customers, we intentionally do not disclose if a document exists if the searcher doesn't have access rights to view that document. Thank you for being a NetDocuments customer!

Cyndy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

NetDocuments

Reviewed on 24/10/2019

Overall, I like the software alot when it is working and Internet Explorer is working.

Pros

We were able to set the matters up the way our paper files used to be organized, so it makes finding documents easier for us.

Cons

it is Internet Explorer based and is not as compatible with anything else (i.e. FireFox, Google Chrome, etc.), so you lose some of the functions if you do not use Internet Explorer. However, Internet Explorer is no longer supported and is not stable. Also, when you have a problem and call customer service the wait is excessively long.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Have to put your documents somewhere

Reviewed on 26/03/2019

If you are looking for a reliable document management system that you can use with no infrastructure cost this is it. It can get pricing based on the use, but it is worth it in the long run.

Pros

-The ability to track version control
-Share documents internally & externally
-Create folder structures to classify documents in addition to document types
-Remote access app
-Security

Cons

-When there is a problem or sync issue, there isn't always a reason
-Speed sometimes (although this is more likely an internet speed issue)

Maruf
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Handy for generating data and content

Reviewed on 29/10/2022

Pros

The interface is good software. Also convenient and suitable for storing and sharing my data

Cons

While using the software, I need some tools, but the ones available at the moment are not quite enough. They are open to development

Alyssa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy Organization

Reviewed on 18/10/2022

Overall my experience with NetDocuments has been positive, for Billing it makes appeals much simpler as I can look and see all the documents for a Matter in one place and I can easily download them as well.

Pros

NetDocs is very user friendly, it is easy to store documents and emails and also to retrieve them later. It's so useful to have everything organized in one place, and I have it integrated with my Outlook and ZenCase which makes saving and searching for things even simpler.

Cons

I occasionally run into issues with the check in/out feature, sometimes it checks back in automatically once I close a document (which I prefer) and sometimes I have to go back and do it manually. That is the only feature I don't find to be consistent.

Sue
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

NetDocuments Document Management

Reviewed on 06/08/2020

Overall NetDocuments is a good app with good components. Sometimes a glitch happens and we need to get technical support, but then again, sometimes it is just operator error. Either way, they are helpful and get to the root of the problem.

Pros

This is a document management system in the cloud that is very user friendly. it is easy to save documents and retrieve them. NetDocuments has various programs to work alongside the document management system - such as scanning documents and saving them just like a document you had just created, and ndMail, which is a program that quickly and easily save emails to your various files. Their support team is very good and easy to get ahold of.

Cons

3 or 4 times each year we need to update the app on our computers and its always a little scary and we all hate doing it. I wish they could just update their files and when we log in we would automatically be logging into the newest version.

Hannah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Well worth it

Reviewed on 10/06/2020

Its a great platform that I would recommend to many businesses/friends.

Pros

This is a great cloud based "filing cabinet" I use it just like you would use a paper file and it works great. Lots of search options if you are looking for a document. Easy to customize the workspace for how you want to use it. You can set up documents as versions, so each time someone makes changes they can save as a separate document so great way to preserve changes.

Cons

Sometimes it has weird glitches, like email integration. But typically customer service is on ball to get it fixed quickly.

Santosh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Net Documents - Review

Reviewed on 04/09/2019

- it was overall an excellent experience working with NetDocuments

Pros

- this software has many features available in which integrating with Salesforce and Drawloop apps are one of the key features
- the folder view, file managing is brilliantly handled
- the support is very helpful and supportive

Cons

- the pricing can be reduced
- can improve more features and backend viewpoints

vinita
Overall rating
  • Industry: International Trade & Development
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

NetDocuments-Ease to use

Reviewed on 12/09/2019

As I am involved in international trade Legal services, I am able to use Netdocs to undertake efficient document management which can be undertaken through creating different folders, and managing those folders event remotely internationally.

Pros

That it can be accessed from out of office, and very user friendly for document management, which in the legal services field is a must.

Cons

The only con it has that it doe snot have an in-built features to compare different versions of the documents. We got to use another software app to do that.

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful and reliable legal-centric document and email management tool

Reviewed on 13/11/2017

Security and collaboration

Pros

Powerful, cloud-based document management system helps our firm effectively store, create and categorize our documents and email. Collaboration tools allow us to easily share individual documents or even entire folders securely with our clients and experts.

Cons

NetDocuments has made big strides in reliability and customer focus and these areas need to continue to be developed as they were not strong suits in years past.

Hayley
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great for Document Management

Reviewed on 16/09/2022

I would recommend it. It is user friendly and I like how it organizes documents

Pros

This program is great for document management and collaborating with team members as I can email links directly to documents to team members for review. The system is effective in organizing file documents and I use it daily, all day.

Cons

There are certain bugs that keep popping up. Document preview is slow to load and sometimes is unavailable for me.

Katy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A helpful file storage program

Reviewed on 08/07/2021

A program that helps me securely manage my documents at work .

Pros

The file organization is next-level .You can setup your folders in any way you want , add notes on files as needed or even link them to photos .Our email server gets overloaded easily and we regularly have to clear your inbox .I like that I can also use NetDocuments to store important ,older emails .

Cons

Integration with other programs is lackluster .You cannot collaborate on files with other people ,except on designated areas. You cannot run multiple versions together and are stuck doing one thing at a time .

Cassandra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

CB Review

Reviewed on 06/04/2021

Pros

Easy to open new matters and save documents. Integrates well with other programs.

Cons

Software often freezes or is slow. Sometimes slows productivity.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

NetDocuments

Reviewed on 05/12/2019

Overall experience is great! I truly enjoy using this software.

Pros

It’s a great tool for having a repository of documents. It makes keeping things organized easy. It’s a great collaboration tool.

Cons

saving and deleting different versions of a document doesn’t work as well as it could. Other than occasional glitches, it’s great software.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Packaging & Containers
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

good product

Reviewed on 21/08/2020

Pros

easy integration with email and safe storage

Cons

searching for documents and emails could be easier

Sophie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 29/05/2019

Pros

Easy to use, lots of features, great support a phone call away

Cons

Some answers can't be found on the support pages but they're just a phone call away anyway

Michal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

NetDocuments: Better Features, Better UI

Reviewed on 06/02/2017

We needed a document management solution a couple of years ago that would allow us to find old, editable text documents in multiple ways, since our legacy practice management software made it impossible to find documents unless you already knew which file they were in. The key NetDocuments feature is in-document text search. We can now search for documents using a key phrase in the document itself, rather than needing a title or tags. If you have a good title and tags, documents are that much easier to find.

Pros

In-document text search, easy UI, competitive pricing

Betsy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Review of NetDocuments.

Reviewed on 22/08/2022

Pros

Ability to organize files in folders. One location is available for documents to be reviewed and a separate location for documents to be filed. Ability to track work.

Cons

The Create Document function and merging data fields function result in multiple error messages requiring multiple attempts to create a document. These functions are very inefficient and frustrating to use.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Solid Cloud Document Offering

Reviewed on 09/11/2017

Pros

We use NetDocuments to share and send documents securely with other companies. It is a pretty straightforward and easy-to-use offering. Because of this, it has been good to work with and easy to get others to get up to speed with it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Net Documents - Only meant for about 5 users

Reviewed on 08/02/2019

Pros

The search functionality with wild card matching it really nice for developers/people who know regex.
It had integrated MS office to view without opening the document

Cons

It was horrendously slow. We have about 40 users and imported documents from another document management service. It was much much slower to search and the way it searches was really bad