Jira

4.4 (11,839)
Project & Issue Tracking Software - See why we're #1!

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(11,839)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.0/5
Customer Support
4.1/5

90%
recommended this app
Sort by

11839 Reviews

César josé R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent, perfect and intuitive

Reviewed on 10/05/2022

Pros

Before using Jira, I found it difficult to keep my team's tasks organized in a neat and visually friendly way. In addition, it provides me with many tools that help create a more productive and efficient team, and generates reports that show if the team is making real progress.

Cons

I consider that the price can be a barrier to entry when planning whether to decide to purchase the software or not, which can deprive many users of trying this wonderful tool. Also, the support one receives for the product sometimes does not solve the problems one may have while using the software.

Meraz H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best-in-class and Reliable Project Management Companion

Reviewed on 22/04/2022

Jira is presently utilized to manage our projects and workflows. We utilize it to manage team members' progress on projects, track outstanding work, and offer context for objectives and procedures. This is utilized across the organization and provides visibility for a large portion of the development effort on a range of projects.

Pros

1) Integrate seamlessly with development tools like Slack, Github, or Bitbucket.
2) Workspace is very configurable; you may customize the components of each task on your board, as well
as create your own icons, labels, and automated processes.
3) Connect all issues/tasks to Epics and view the anticipated outcomes in the Product Roadmap.
4) It offers the flexibility of a kanban board, which provides the user with a clearer view of what has been accomplished, what is in process, and what remains.
5) User story statuses may be used to monitor progress and control workflows.
6) Allows for bulk import of epics and user stories, which speeds up administrative duties if this information was previously recorded in another format, such as CSV.

Cons

1) Only internal users may be allocated to tasks and user stories. This might result in unnecessarily long delays when external users want immediate input or participation.
2) When many boards exist within a project, statuses (user stories) cannot be established explicitly for each board.
3) User stories may be assigned to just two categories of users: assignees and reporters. JIRA does not permit the assignment of numerous assignees to a single user story.

Alternatives Considered

monday.com and Smartsheet

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Jira was more cost-effective and better for us because it met our needs more. It worked better with other Atlassian products that we were going to buy. So, it's clear that Jira is the best modern Project Tracking tool on the market right now.

Switched From

Trello

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Because Atlassian has a lot more products, they were able to keep everything under the same roof. When we used JIRA integrations with other tools, they worked really well at the time and were very useful.
Roldan A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Jira is good enough, but definitely needs more improvements

Reviewed on 27/03/2022

2 out of 5 stars. In fact, we're (my company) is moving from Jira to Monday.com. It might be a little more, but the trade-off is definitely worth it.

Pros

Well, the basics. Assignments, delegations and being able to reply to the assigner and to the client him/herself.

Cons

I'm a UX/UI Designer. So, the workflow is convoluted. The interface needs proper blockings because there are so much thing happening on the main page. Take a look at Monday.com for comparison.

Alternatives Considered

monday.com and Wrike

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Monday.com is pretty much more comely to the users both seasoned and new. Their is more to Monday.com besides having a nice, neat and clean navigation and fucntionality.

Switched From

monday.com

Reasons for Switching to Jira

We're note really convinced, but we just tried it.
Ashish V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent solution as “One stop shop” in IT industry

Reviewed on 07/04/2022

Jira is life savior for many new scrum masters and managers for cost effective project management

Pros

This software is very easy to manage day to day work,progress,assignments and forcast for different phases of projects..It turned out to be very effective tool in order to achieve efficient and cost efffective operational model in enterprise organizations

Cons

This software should have most reporting widgets and open integration ports so that various data connectors can be integrated for limitless reporting

Alternatives Considered

Power BI Connector for Jira

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Jira is more user friendly

Switched From

Confluence

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Jira is easy to handle and support from maintenance perspective
Mirza S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jira can help you tremendously if user the "right" way, or you can shoot yourself in the foot

Reviewed on 25/03/2022

I really like it, as I can configure it to suit my needs, I'm constantly reviewing the testing process in our company, making changes to the workflow, adding custom fields, etc.

Pros

It's rich in features it offers and it's amazingly configurable, two organizations can have Jira installations that are nothing alike!

Cons

It's not a big issue for me, but I think they should offer more best practices in terms of templates for less experienced users to save them from headaches - they are already taking steps in this direction.

Since it's a very large product there are some inconsistencies, doing the same thing in two different parts of Jira can feel like a very different experience.

Alternatives Considered

Trello, Azure DevOps Server and Asana

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Jira is the industry standard and it was more affordable at the time as well.

Switched From

Wrike

Reasons for Switching to Jira

There are a lot of people who know how to use it, both regular and advanced users.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Jira for Professionals

Reviewed on 12/04/2022

I ran many small-medium-large software projects with Jira. Thanks to Jira, I used the Agile software development method in the best way with technological possibilities. I think that it will greatly reduce the burden of teams working on large-scale projects in terms of project management and project follow-up, and it will make work follow-up easier for managers. Even if Jira is not your Agile methodology for individual use, it will save you a lot of time and effort in planning, managing and documenting your projects compared to its counterparts in the market.

Pros

Jira is the most complete, stabilized and user-friendly software among many similar software on the market. Thanks to the support of the mobile application, you can follow your teamwork or individual progress wherever you are. Jira is a unique product for professionals.

Cons

Unfortunately, we do not have the opportunity to add features for each newly added 'issue' in the 'Board' section. It would be a great opportunity to have this feature, even if it didn't cost Jira much. After adding the 'Issue', of course, an 'issue' related to a great user interface can be edited, but there is no such interface at the time of adding.

Waqas a C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jira, the best technical task management tool!

Reviewed on 28/04/2022

Overall, it was a great experience using Jira. We're still using it, exploring it and learning that how to improve our development processes and make ease for both management and the developers.

Pros

- Easy for devs to understand
- Easy to integrate with bitbucket
- Easy to integrate third party apps like slack, zephyr and many more
- Help employees to manage their tasks and track their production time
- Help management to keep track of progress of the project and also to get an idea of employee's performance.

Cons

A bit lengthy tool, for new users, one should be able to use it once s/he will spend 1 month on it.

Alternatives Considered

Asana

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Because of features and ease.

Switched From

Smartsheet

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Because of having more functionalities, and flexibility.
Zack G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Top-notch issues tracker right out of the box

Reviewed on 01/04/2022

We migrated our projects to Jira and are very pleased with this decision. Migration went pretty quickly, onboarding of all our key employees took about 2 weeks. And now Jira is our central tool for monitoring all projects in the company.

Pros

Jira is constantly being improved for the better and Jira 2 years ago this is a completely different product than now. I like the ease of task management and as the other Atlassian products here are closely integrated.

Cons

1) Settings are not always obvious.
2) With a large number of automation and integrations, the system has been slowed down.

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Jira, of course, is a more powerful software for the same price.

Switched From

Asana
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Powerful but heavy tool

Reviewed on 13/05/2022

Pros

It has a lot of features that let you plan and schedule work on application development. It's also highly customizable so you can tweak a lot of features into your needs.

Cons

It's learning curve is pretty steep when you compare it to other tools. But as soon as you get used to it you bother no more as it's an industry standard so most of the companies use it. It can also be heavy in execution time but it depends whether you host it on your own server or use Attlasian cloud.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Tasks management for Software Developers

Reviewed on 12/05/2022

Pros

It's used by a lot of companies (specially IT teams), and easy to be used by developers and engineers.

Cons

Isn't a tool conceived for non engineers members, for who is searching a tool that can be used abroad the whole company I think it's too complex and hard to be used by non technical employees.

Ariel B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Personal review for Jira Software

Reviewed on 03/04/2022

I would prompt program item proprietors ought to utilize this extraordinary item for overseeing their ventures which can allow you more understanding into the advance of your venture. No question this stage is secure as well which bolsters different security offices - getting to git information with private get to keys, SSH certificates and username/password. You ought to too see to induce a trial or free account to play around with the apparatus and at that point on full fulfillment as it were it would be ideal if you go for a permit. I wagered once anybody employments this stage venture administration continuously choice will be Jira.

Pros

I adore the format, checking history. Being able to channel the assignments. And we are ready to see each comment's points of interest just like the correct date. Moreover it is truly simple drag a report Being able to open the task in a modern tab is additionally so precious. Attaching cards to each other moreover makes things simpler.

Cons

Some of the time due to the stack of errands we are taking care of it may allow us difficult time stacking a entirety page. When you attempt to look something within the look bar, it may evacuate some of the letters you're writing down may cause typo otherwise you have to be compose down the precise thing to find the right issue.

Alternatives Considered

Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Jira Software meets the high-end needs of software teams with the power and flexibility an agile team needs to deliver value to customers faster.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great in project management and API integration but UI/UX is a little obsolete.

Reviewed on 15/03/2022

JIRA has been a good choice for project management overall. Easy navigation, dashboards, access controls and setup, Scrum and Kanban boards, tagging and commenting are some of the most widely used features today on JIRA in our organization. Things like simplistic UI and improved UX, reporting and insights could be improved to make the product really holistic, supremely customizable and will bring it on a competitive edge in the market as well.

Pros

As we work in the RPA Team, API integration is the best part of JIRA offering, but also overall project management with Scrum and Kanban has proved to be really useful for us.

Cons

The UI could be made a little simpler and UX can be improved especially with access controls and resource access management. The charts of Scrum and Kanban board also tend to fly away making it hard to understand and sometimes adds in extra effort for the managers or scrum masters.

Alternatives Considered

monday.com

Reasons for Switching to Jira

We are an old organization and tend to trust old companies and partners. Also, Atlassian is one of the leading project management suite provider and we use not just JIRA but many other product offerings from Atlassian like Confluence which is where store all our Documents and Artefacts. This is why we preferred having all things related to project management to buy from one vendor rather than many.
Dilip J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My Review of JIRA

Reviewed on 03/02/2022

As a software developer, I have used life cycle software for many software developments. For more than two years I have been using JIRA in software development. I found it really helpful to address daily developments using this Agile software development model. I have used JIRA software to develop multiple software while using the Agile approach to work for faster software development with continuous development and bug fixes. I found it really helpful to work with JIRA.

Pros

JIRA is one of the best known software used to develop and track software using the Agile method. Using JIRA is easy to track application usage and easy to assign to developers tasks. I have been working with JIRA in software development for over 2 years. At JIRA we used to develop software on the basis of continuous integration and continuous development.

Cons

Honestly, I haven't found a feature or functionality of JIRA that I dislike because it comes with multiple features that are really useful when communicating on a project with team members on the stories.

Alternatives Considered

ProofHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to Jira

I choose JIRA because it's the overall package that is provided by Atlassian. In JIRA it is easy to maintain multiple projects, assigning stories, tracking issues, and moreover the user experience. It's easy to use and interact with the JIRA.
Jitendra S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Agile development software in my eyes

Reviewed on 11/02/2022

Basically using Jira as my go-to software for tracking and managing any project be it business enterprise level or personal level. I would recommend anyone reading to this review to go try it and without a doubt, certainly you wouldn't regret ur decision!

Pros

Quick and easy management and organization of my backlog tasks, the flexibility of setting up almost any integrations for bug tracking with ease, works flawlessly when used alongside other Atlassian products like Confluence. Best pricing options seen till date. Overall takes my agile workflow to the ultimate level with the amount of extensiblity that is second to none in my opinion!

Cons

At times there is some flakiness in the outcomes of the actions but generally not a lot worrisome. Also the availability, although can be improved using a private cloud probably, does suffer some occasional hiccups here and there. The bug tracking is comparatively the most improvable area i suppose. It is good don't get me wrong, but can be so much more better with just a few tweaks here and there that's all.

Alternatives Considered

Trello and Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira

None of them stand a chance to match to this all-in-all amazing product!
Lawrence L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jira is great PM tool for medium to large game development projects

Reviewed on 08/02/2022

Pros

Overall, I really like the flexibility that Jira provides. The one feature that I most appreciate when I use another PM tool is built-in support for Fix Versions. Being able to assign a fix version for a sprint and for each build, makes it easy to see all the tasks and bugs that are in a given full release or an individual build.

Cons

A lot of folks, especially artists, have a general disdain for the Jira UX. It is not as ergonomic, clean, and tactile as Trello or Basecamp. I would love it if there were a way for Boards in Jira to be as simple and powerful as boards in Trello.

Alternatives Considered

Trello, Basecamp and Asana

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Trello did not have the reporting and searching capabilities that we needed for bug workflows.

Switched From

Trello

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Jira was simply more powerful when it came to critical QA search and reporting needs. We still use both Trello and Asana for other sub-teams but I would like to standardize on Jira over time.
Marvin M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Top Tier Organizer

Reviewed on 04/02/2022

I was looking for something that can give me ticket management, reports, workflow, collaboration.

It is top tier product for executing coordination and arranging innovation.

Pros

JIRA permits groups to envision and comprehend assumptions for when to convey an undertaking, have knowledge into project/group/individual limit, and track stay at work past 40 hours.

In a remote-first world, JIRA permits you to keep up with tight correspondence and adjusted degrees even as groups work across time regions.

JIRA is extraordinary for having the option to sort out the extent of significant elements or item dispatches in a manner that can be imagined across groups.

Cons

There is an expectation to absorb information to working in JIRA, it isn't quickly instinctive to another client. It normally requires a great deal of learning to most actually and ideally use JIRA. A great deal of it accompanies time and experience.

There are a ton of extravagant accessories in JIRA. It's truly incredible that you can mark or coordinate tickets in a wide range of ways. It is truly dependent upon the association to make a technique for getting sorted out inside those extravagant accessories. This implies each time you go to another association, there is a great deal of cross-over, however, you are gaining some significant knowledge of new techniques and best practices too.

Alternatives Considered

Teamwork, ClickUp and Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Ease of use, and overall better product
Carla C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Jira is Great for Development, but only Good for Creative

Reviewed on 14/01/2022

A great way to track deadlines between silos and especially developers.

Pros

Jira is out of the box free, and it's amazing because it works with everything by the same company. It also allows for easy organization of projects and silos, which intersect with each other. You can easily hand off tasks and allow people to collaborate.

Cons

Jira has a very development based angle, so if you're trying to manage a hybrid team, it works well. But if your team is marketing heavy, it's very anti-user friendly unless a person has familiarity with code or databases. It's just sparse and less user friendly.

Alternatives Considered

Redmine

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Wanted more customization

Switched From

monday.com

Reasons for Switching to Jira

It had nice integrations like Trello and was easy to share between developers AND marketers.
Sudhir B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

One of the greatest defect tracking and project management tools in the industry

Reviewed on 29/11/2021

Project and Time management in many cutomer projects

Pros

I find this software to be very versatile and useful.

It has functions that make work easier when it comes to organization, planning, and meeting goals.

It facilitates effective teamwork; it is simple to keep track of the activities that must be completed and the notifications of changes to any action work well.

It has multiple views and is used to manage projects, so people who want to see an overview of the work can use the To-do List or simply the Roadmap, and team members who are trying to balance their daily activities can use the Dashboard to plan their workload.

I like it because it easily adapts to what you want to do.

Cons

In some circumstances, receiving notifications has become difficult, preventing real-time monitoring. Although simple and adaptable, defining and organizing the sorts of work items might be difficult at first.

Gayan D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The only project management tool you need

Reviewed on 25/10/2021

JIRA has been an integral part of our software development and project management journey and has just about all the tools you need to successfully manage your project or product offerings.

Pros

JIRA has just about every project management aspect covered in their offering and it's easy to set up and configure to suit your needs.
Reporting, ticket tracking, requirement and comment tracking, workflow customization, task assignment and follow-up + more make the life of a project manager a breeze which would otherwise have to be done using a multitude of tools.

Cons

The permissions structure/permission matrix at the administrative level could be a bit more user-friendly as troubleshooting an incorrectly configured (permission) JIRA instance can be a hassle.
Sometimes when new versions are introduced, some of the older features are dumbed down to make it easier for the user but for power users, this could cause confusion if they were wired to do some tasks using the old methods.

Alternatives Considered

Airtable, Trello and Asana

Reasons for Choosing Jira

JIRA was more feature-rich, had all the project management tools needed under one offering and had integrations with a wide set of 3rd party platforms and programs

Switched From

MantisBT

Reasons for Switching to Jira

More customizable while being user-friendly at the same time.
Brandon S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A robust application that can be used for everything from task management to software...

Reviewed on 02/11/2021

We started using Jira for simple issue tracking for all issue types, from bugs and ideas to backlogged and in progress tickets. We have since expanded this to track our full development roadmap and to produce documentation within Confluence. We have also taken advantage of the integration with Gitlab and Sentry to help give us a more clear picture of what's going on, even when it isn't happening directly in Jira.

Pros

Jira has a weekly release schedule which means the product is always being improved or changed. This is usually a good thing, although I will admit that sometimes it isn't. Jira is also incredibly functional for a broad range of use cases, from managing a simple to-do list, team task tracking, process automation, to software development. They do a good job of making it user friendly and easy to onboard, especially since they started making drastic UI improvements a little over a year ago.

Cons

A consequence of being capable of so much is that it can be hard to configure initially. More specifically, which features you need and which can be disabled. There are a lot of great features but some just complicate the workflow, and it usually takes time to figure this out.

Alternatives Considered

Teamwork, Pivotal Tracker, Trello, Basecamp, Wrike and Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Jira was either more user-friendly or offered a solution that was geared more towards software development than the other applications. I also like the direct integration with Confluence, even though Confluence itself can be annoying at times.
Sourabh S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

JIRA enables business to add velocity to their service management tasks and workflows

Reviewed on 07/09/2021

JIRA is a modern take on a ITSM solution. It is feature loaded yet has a very intuitive User Experience. It has good User Interface as well. JIRA acts as the common interface between Developers, IT ops and business teams and helps different parts of the business colloborate better. It acts as the source of truth for all involves parties and does its basic tasks quite well. It adds velocity to the overall process of task management irrespective of the industry it is used in.

Pros

1. Great User Interface and User Experience.
2. The ability to create custom queues and automatically re-direct issues to these queues saves a lot of time. 3. The inbuilt SLA management and the option of integrating it to third party alert and notification software is impressive.
4. Adding attachment, links and other resources to JIRA ticket is easy and straightforward.
5. It has great audit trail tracking and can act as a source of truth for all parties involved.

Cons

1. The issue search feature could have been a little more customizable and faster.
2. The options available to format the comments on an issue are limited and not very intuitive.

Alternatives Considered

Zepel

Reasons for Choosing Jira

We moved to the Atlassian Ecosystem.

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Jira was more cost effective and fitted our needs better. It better integrated with other Atlassian products that we planned to buy. Jira certainly is the most proven modern Project Tracking software out there.
Niel D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very Powerful but only if your team is techy enough to use it

Reviewed on 17/09/2021

Pros

So far, the gold standard in project and process management, especially in the number of options, features, automations, integrations and workflows that the software is capable of handling. We shifted to this software when the pandemic hit and were forced to stay at home since we needed a more powerful software to handle our workflow. If you have a techy team, nothing else compares.

Cons

Biggest con really is that it is not the most user friendly software. Unlike Trello or Asana where you can just go fire it up and it's good to go. This one takes a lot of set-up to do and a deep familiarity with how it works under the hood. Given that the software is one of the older ones, you can sort of see it's age in both the older workflows (issues, screens, etc) vs the newer templates. The newer project templates sort of partially solved this problem but if you need to tweak the settings, it still has a steeper learning curve.

The con really here is that i tried Jira with my other less techy company (a school) and adoption was really low as users just weren't able to keep up with it.

Alternatives Considered

Teamwork, monday.com and Asana

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Needed something more powerful

Switched From

Trello
Joshua M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Enablement of Team collaboration for Agile projects.

Reviewed on 16/09/2021

JIRA is a great tool that allows for greater team collaboration within Agile projects. It is easy to use and very intuitive. Sometimes connectivity can be a problem especially with the cloud based versions. JIRA definitely provides more value than shortcomings.

Pros

1. Different user roles can be defined to allow for segregation of duties.
2. Epics can be defined to assist with long and intermediate project planning.
3. Duration of sprints can be defined according to project requirements.
4. Statuses for user stories can be used for tracking progress as well as workflow management.
5. Allows for bulk import of epics and user stories which can fast track administrative tasks where this information has been captured elsewhere e.g. CSV format

Cons

1. Only users from within the organization can be assigned to tasks and user stories. This can cause unnecessary delays where external users need to provide urgent input or contribution.
2. Statuses (user stories) cannot be defined specifically for a board where multiple boards exist within a project.
3. Only two types of users can be assigned to user stories, which are assignees and reporters. JIRA does not allow for multiple users (assignees) to be assigned to one user story.

Ogaga U.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

JIRA works pretty great for projects and tasks

Reviewed on 31/08/2021

JIRA has been very beneficial to us across all teams and it's very useful for service and technical management.

Pros

I like the kanban board, it works very well and looks simple to use (but it's not easy to setup). The task management for business project is very nice and the new feature of being able to look at the overall work like in a spreadsheet, definitely beats Smartsheet for me. I like that you can easily move your work when you're done using the board view, if you like.

Cons

Scrum/Agile can be difficult to setup because the Kanban board isn't so great when setting it up. I have run into some difficulties with it, their support board was helpful but it did not resolve the issue.

Business projects do not have the ability to link to Bitbucket, it would have been nice to include task management with Bitbucket integration, it helps to appropriately follow up on tasks.

The board view for tasks and sub-tasks doesn't work for me. I'd like to see that there are major tasks with steps of the child tasks (change the subtask icon too).

Alternatives Considered

Smartsheet

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Atlassian has a wider product range and it helped to keep everything with one organisation. Secondly, at the time, JIRA integrations with other tools we used, worked really great.

Switched From

Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira

There were some drawbacks with Smartsheet when we used it for a short time to try it out. Some liked it but my team and I preferred JIRA and we were the decision makers.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One Stop Project Management Tool

Reviewed on 05/09/2021

We have been using JIRA across the current project and there are at least 10 different teams (Squads) which are working on their projects (Large Project broken into sub projects). From feature describing to user story writing, test cases, defects, reports, matrix, dashboards, time tracking all such activities been handled by JIRA.

Pros

JIRA is one of the best, simple, and user friendly project management tool. We have been working for almost 3 years now and the user experience it offers is applaudable. You can create your agile boards for scrums and can go KANBAN as well. You can create as many different teams and squads. Link your issues to stories and trace it to the feature, Track how much effort is being spent on an item; Track for how long an item has been been sitting idle; Prioritize your issues, backlogs; Create dashboards for ease and convenience; generate reports, traceability matrix, velocity burndown charts; add/remove user access. You can customize it as per requirement and with ease. Recently it has moved to cloud, so down time has been relevantly decreased which is an added bonus. Best part I like about using JIRA is that its very easy to handle, we can do bulk update on items and it takes very less time to understand. This is one of the best tools that is out there and I believe almost every organization is using it.

Cons

There is nothing much to add in this section. Practically I am all thumbs up for JIRA. I have a suggestion though. JIRA needs to have a Instant Messaging option enabled so that an organizations do not need to look out for a separate tool. I think if Atlassian would be able to achieve it, not only they would be able to enhance their customer base but they would be able bring a lot revenue.