Jira

4.4 (11,023)
Project & Issue Tracking Software - See why we're #1!

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(11,023)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.0/5
Customer Support
4.1/5

90%
recommended this app

11023 Software options

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One Stop Project Management Tool

Reviewed on 05/09/2021

We have been using JIRA across the current project and there are at least 10 different teams (Squads) which are working on their projects (Large Project broken into sub projects). From feature describing to user story writing, test cases, defects, reports, matrix, dashboards, time tracking all such activities been handled by JIRA.

Pros

JIRA is one of the best, simple, and user friendly project management tool. We have been working for almost 3 years now and the user experience it offers is applaudable. You can create your agile boards for scrums and can go KANBAN as well. You can create as many different teams and squads. Link your issues to stories and trace it to the feature, Track how much effort is being spent on an item; Track for how long an item has been been sitting idle; Prioritize your issues, backlogs; Create dashboards for ease and convenience; generate reports, traceability matrix, velocity burndown charts; add/remove user access. You can customize it as per requirement and with ease. Recently it has moved to cloud, so down time has been relevantly decreased which is an added bonus. Best part I like about using JIRA is that its very easy to handle, we can do bulk update on items and it takes very less time to understand. This is one of the best tools that is out there and I believe almost every organization is using it.

Cons

There is nothing much to add in this section. Practically I am all thumbs up for JIRA. I have a suggestion though. JIRA needs to have a Instant Messaging option enabled so that an organizations do not need to look out for a separate tool. I think if Atlassian would be able to achieve it, not only they would be able to enhance their customer base but they would be able bring a lot revenue.

David V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Love/hate relationship with JIRA

Reviewed on 05/06/2021

I'll focus on the experience of moving from JIRA Classic to Next Gen project types.

Basically, over 19 years of existence, Atlassian made JIRA so customizable, that it was difficult for new users to get started. You had to spend months learning the platform just to make simple changes to process management.

So Atlassian started over with Next Gen projects. Next Gen projects have some cool features like a road map.

Even though I'm experienced with Classic, I decided to try Next Gen. 95% of the time, it works fine. However, there are frustrating limitations:

* Workflow transitions rules are very limited. Next Gen allows transition to any status.
* Custom fields are project-levels, so moving issues between projects is a pain.
* You can only do Sprints or Kanban
* Epics are just grouping issues. They don't do much else and don't show on the board.
* Single board per project

Pros

* Allows the issue flow to be perfectly configured to match your software development practices.
* Highly customizable process management - define the properties of issues and how they transition between states.
* Integration with many other products, like Slack & GitLab

Cons

* "Next Gen" project type lacks many features of Classic projects.
* Classic Project configuration is full of bloated features and complexity
* Next Gen projects sometimes have frustrating bugs and limitations that don't get fixed for years.
* Issue transition between Next Gen and Classic projects is not smooth (custom properties don't carry over)

Craig L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Jira Cloud make tickets easy

Reviewed on 06/05/2021

Jira has been easy to learn and quick to expand. We started with a user base of around 10, this quickly became a 1000 in the space of three years. Every department uses Jira Cloud everyday for a whole range of different reasons.

Pros

The ability to manage tickets day to day was a must. Some of these were coming from external parties and others internally. We ended up using it across the company in many departments so the ability to have multiple projects was a must.

Cons

Cloud version support for plugins and customisation is limited to only the basics. Its not possible with dive in to it inner workings and develop your own without tapping the APIs externally.

Alternatives Considered

Freshdesk

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Excel was not great once a small business started to grow fast.

Switched From

Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Ease of use and it fit our model and gave use the options we needed to cut down on the time its was taking to track and monitor work flow.
Boris T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best way to track time and tasks

Reviewed on 15/03/2021

I have used Jira in a few projects and every time it proved to be a reliable and productive solution. Mostly we use Jira to keep track of our developer's time in the Kanban board. It is a great tool that allows the developers to actually show us how hard they work and what tasks they tackled. Jira has increased productivity in all projects I used it in.

Pros

Tracking tasks is a time consuming effort, and one that is easy to forget. Luckily, there is Jira. Jira lets you track your tasks and time spent on them without encroaching on your day. It is easy to set up (once you know what you are doing), easy to use, and a delight to look at. It provides the time tracking and issue tracking tools that any serious project requires.

Cons

It is hard to set up the first time. You need to know which functions you need and which you should remove. But once you set it up and know how it works, it is a treat to work with it.

Alternatives Considered

Asana

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Trello is a nice idea organization board, but for true time tracking and issue tracking we needed Jira.

Switched From

Trello

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Mostly because it seemed more customizable of the two.
Chirag S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Versatile tool for help desk and task management

Reviewed on 13/02/2021

We use Jira for IT help desk support, miscellaneous administrative and clerical support, staying focused on engineering and resource planning. We've gained several benefits. We can transparently tell all the efforts we are working on, which effort is taking more time, what are the blockers, who's putting how much effort into what work and whether there is value in the work we are doing. Jira has allowed us to stay focused and cut down on non-essential or wasteful work while giving the company a clear idea of what we are working on.

Pros

I love Jira's ease of use. Jira allows our staff and business partners to request from us using Jira Service Desk. Engineers track their effort using Jira Software. We use the default settings for the most part and that works great for us. There is no need to train anyone on how to use it because everything is self-explanatory. That cuts down on confusion and allows us to get/enter accurate information.

Cons

It is slow. It is very slow at times. Jira's makers - Atlassian - have not paid much attention over the years about its slowness. If you are into full-fledged project management, portfolio planning and more, you will have to buy add-ons to get additional functionality within Jira. Did I say that Jira is slow? While the ease of use saves time in accurately recording information in Jira, all that saved time is wasted away waiting for pages to load.

Alternatives Considered

FogBugz, Asana, Basecamp, Trello and Pivotal Tracker

Reasons for Choosing Jira

SharePoint was previously used for task management. SharePoint is good for content management but was clunky for task management. It's reporting was not easy. We were wasting more time in task management in SharePoint rather than doing tasks.

Switched From

Microsoft SharePoint

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Jira was the only product that we felt was reasonable for customers to use to report issues (in the form of Service Desk) and also had an integrated tool to manage tasks (in the form of Jira Software). It could do Kanban and Agile. No training seemed to be required for users. Compared to that, Trello was a close second but it didn't have reporting and fine-grained permissions we were looking for. Asana had speed issues when we were comparing with Jira. Did you see I mentioned that Jira was slow. Think of how slow Asana was then! Basecamp appeared to be too project management-like instead of task management. We noticed fewer and fewer people used FogBugz. The craze of FogBugz had died out and we couldn't tell how long the product would be maintained/available. Pivotal Tracker looked good but Jira was so far ahead of other tools that we just made a switch to Jira.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Ultimate Business Productivity Suite

Reviewed on 12/11/2020

JIRA has been an excellent tool overall - provides the perfect mix of task, project and issue tracking features that every company needs. I have worked with JIRA in two independent fast-growing companies and both times it has been the main driver of productivity.

Pros

The fully integrated task and project management boards with extensive levels of detail to run Kanban maintenance boards, complex sprints and even visualise recruitment pipelines. In collaboration with Confluence and BitBucket, the Atlassian product suite make the management of a growing software team seem easy.

Cons

JIRA has quite a steep learning curve for less software native users and can appear too complex for the average operational or commercial person. As such, it can be difficult to convince new people to use JIRA without extensive training and hand-holding. This could be improved by guided tours and a simpler interface for "new starts".

Alternatives Considered

monday.com

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Asana did not offer the same ease of use when it comes to segmenting projects, running sprints or handling issues. JIRA was much better suited to an agile, fast-growing software company with beautiful Gantt chart and roadmap visualisations that were game-changing for overall project coordination.

Switched From

Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira

JIRA had more detail and was scalable in comparison to Monday.com or ASANA. The ability to flip between Gantt charts, Kanban boards and sprint backlogs made it ideal for a multi-faceted ream. The detail provided in each task/issue card is fantastic with room for various integrations, such as Confluence pages and Slack notifications, made JIRA a no-brainer.
Britt B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Best Option for SaaS Development Management

Reviewed on 12/10/2020

After a number of years working with various tools, Jira is seemingly the best option for managing software development.

Pros

I have used Jira at a number of SaaS companies over the past 6 years and have found it to be easy to use for the most part. It is highly customizable and easy to implement; we migrated our current process from Pivotal Tracker to Jira with relative ease. In comparison to other similar products I have used in the past, it exceeds the competition in flexibility, integration opportunities, ease of use and implementation, as well as configurability.

Cons

I find myself running into minor bug-type issues somewhat regularly; like being unable to imbed an image in an item description at creation and only being able to do so in the edit view. Also have experienced issues with multiple users editing the same item and saving over one another's changes. Only issues have been minor that we've learned to work around.

Alternatives Considered

Redmine and Pivotal Tracker

Switched From

Redmine and Pivotal Tracker
Vlad C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Industry standard for Software Development teams

Reviewed on 03/10/2020

I started project management with this in my toolkit and it has remained my favorite ever since. I have seen other options such as Kanbo or Monday, I believe Jira and its related ecosystem remains far superior. Its pricing scheme is pretty good as well, you can try it for free, adopt it in small teams almost free (10$/m) and can scale it up transparently. It gets pricier when it comes to enterprise grade, yet that is the norm and i believe it is money well spent.

Pros

The software is made around the idea of AGILE collaboration on projects for the entire team. It brings transparency to the processes and is a great information radiator for the entire team. It facilitates commonly used methodologies such as SCRUM and KANBAN and makes project management significantly easier.
It is also very versatile and adaptable to particular needs. Although the standard fields are great, you can also create your own to fine tune your processes. Workflows are also highly customizable, giving the user-base great flexibility on how work is set up.
Based on this, teams which work in areas not related to software development can also reap the benefits. I've seen implementations in recruitment, data analysis and more.
Another great feature is its integration compatibility with other ecosystems such as Microsoft's which makes it easy to pick up.
In terms of services, Atlassian offers multiple ways teams can use Jira: Cloud or Self-managed (Server or Data Center) making it an adaptable offering that can withstand the highest level of corporate security scrutiny.
Another great feature is the marketplace which contains a great number of apps that provide added capabilities to the app.
Last but not least, Atlassian has developed an entire ecosystem geared towards solving projects (especially software ones)like: Confluence (Info silo), Bitbucket (code management), Service Desk and more.

Cons

The plethora of fields and customizations available can make a new user feel a bit overwhelmed. In this regard, it takes a bit to get used to it. The interface could use a revamp to make things cleaner, clearer and more crisp for the more casual user at least. (ex: easier to find timekeeping, task transitions, new task coloring schemes and more)
The workflow engine can also be upgraded to be more user friendly and provide more administrative options (create, apply, delete, manage versions)
The security administration section also needs a revamp in terms of adding or removing users, groups, roles into or from project (ex: if you create a new group, you can't bulk add it to all existing projects without some scripting in the CLI)

Alternatives Considered

monday.com
Jack E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

First class service desk offering

Reviewed on 16/03/2020

We have used this product from the very day we christened our service desk. It has evolved into an enterprise-class, feature-rich ticketing system that we have integrated with several external directories for our customers. So far, we haven't found a requested feature that we couldn't implement easily in Jira and the value proposition is strong. We recently migrated from an on-prem solution to one of their cloud offerings, mostly for ease of customer access, and have been thoroughly pleased.

Pros

Of course there's a little confirmational bias in any review of a product already acquired, but implementing it really was a thoughtful decision. Over the last few years, this product has really matured. When we started with it as an immature FOSS offering, it wasn't really enterprise-class. We were motivated by cost initially, but Atlassian has really grown it. Now with external directory integration, tiered hosting offerings, MSP-level features, and significant customization available, I can't think of another product that beats the value proposition. My most favorite feature? The return on investment. We use this to manage service desk interactions with more than 25 MSP clients, and have never been let down. It costs us less than weekly staff meeting pizza to operate and integration with other Atlassian products is superb.

Cons

Much of the branding customizations fall flat. Inability to resize or edit logos, the prominently featured plugs for Atlassian throughout the UI, and clunky DNS-tricks requires to redirect customer portal URLs to MSP's domain.

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Cost versus features and ease of implementation
Nitin S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Test Management Tool

Reviewed on 20/01/2020

Overall one of the best Free products in industries. Many companies are moving from ALM to JIRA due to cost and effective wider coverage.

Pros

1. It’s freeware
2. Easy to customizable
3. Perfect replacement of HP-ALM
4. Easy to MAnage Defects, requirements/User Stories and TestCases

Cons

1. We can search test execution based on Date=today , we need to use > or < operators (it’s defect in JIRA)
2. Defects can’t link to multiple EPIC.
3. No direct RTM report
4. Person must know queries to use the JIRA
5. Performance Issue

Alternatives Considered

ALM/Quality Center

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Free Customizable Wider support as Test Management tool

Switched From

ALM/Quality Center

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Easy to use Cost Customizable Test Management tool
Adam S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great for Backlogs and Organizing Software Releases - Bad For Agility

Reviewed on 15/07/2019

Great software, but I couldn't believe there was no native chat support for assisting with issues. Really Atlassian? Are you that proud of the UI? You shouldn't be... you probably bought Trello because enough people were having a hard time figuring out all of Jira's quirks. Trello is so much easier and faster to get up and running for projects, so that was a good buy. Take notes.

Pros

The backlog and features for managing the backlog with different methodologies such as Kanban, Scrum, or Kanban + Scrum hybrid are very flexible. Planning sprints, releasing sprints, and looking at history of what was done is very organized.

Cons

Cumbersome to setup. Workflows for issues and UI/UX for creating them is not easy to understand. Sure you can figure it out, but it will require a lot of facepalms. It's good for larger organizations with several cross-functional teams, but if you are a smaller organization stick with Trello and checklists for the cards if sub-tasks are needed. The sub-tasks in Jira are just plain awful to work with, and will end up wasting a lot of time for your team.

Miguel G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Managin Technical Projects The Right Way

Reviewed on 19/11/2018

JIRA has lots of features and functionalities than can take time to master. From most project management applications' perspective, JIRA is one of the most complex to master. But it truly is the most complete in terms of offering development teams all the tools they need. This means that trying to run a fairly large and complex enterprise environment on JIRA might need the addition of a JIRA administrator to keep things organized.

Pros

JIRA offers true Agile support for managing technical projects. Initially developed by developers for developers, JIRA is a powerful tool that captures more than just the project management aspect of any development project.

JIRA offers a complete suite of issue tracking throughout the development life cycle. Starting with the backlog and planning, JIRA lets you layout your entire project across as many iterations (Sprints) as necessary. It provides ease of tracking the project progress and offers a host of tools for collaboration such as commenting threads. Projects and their projects can also be tracked across releases, with its release management capabilities, and provide comprehensive reports on performance and progress.

JIRA is extremely flexible and offers pre-set templates across all functionalities, and allows you to modify them as neededto fit your team and organization's needs. Unlike some products with rigidity built into them, JIRA allows you to define how your team works.

JIRA has a vast number of integrations and add-ons to further enhance its capabilities.

Cons

JIRA is very powerful and very detailed. So much so, that some users often find it quite cumbersome if their development environments are not complex. Essentially, JIRA fits beautifully in any environment, but is extremely robust for enterprise environments, making it perceptively complex in small simple projects.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Market Research
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful tool once you know how to configure it

Reviewed on 29/07/2018

This software helps us to follow the process the team agreed to, and see the progress on issue and sprint level. We manage several projects there.
JIRA by itself is a perfect solution for IT teams when it comes to managing projects. Not only you can create issues there, but also you can build workflow this issue goes through. It is perfect to see the bottlenecks of your process. Scrum and Kanban are supported. In case you need some enhancements, there is an add-on market available, where you can find a big amount of third part addons available, either paid or free. Paid once have a trial period during which you can see if this is really what you need for your business.
Along with JIRA we use other Atlassian products, such as Service Desk and Confluence. Easy integration with these, makes our daily job much easier.
I advice my customers to use JIRA for their business. There are several types available: Cloud and Server. Each one have their own payments depending on the size of the users. However, in some cases price might become an obstackle.
In my opinion, this application can become really helpful if it gets into right hands.

Pros

This software can be used by any type of company. I have configured JIRA to be used by publishing company, by law firm, and of course, IT companies. And it was possible to make everyone happy with what JIRA provides. Even though sometimes it was hard to teach people how to use it, after a month or two they could not remember how they lived without it.

Cons

Recently JIRA started to update its design. My users complain about new design, I get crazy when I can't find things. And JIRA doesn't want to stop at that and is updating its design further and further. I would really prefer that they look through bugs that were raised on comunity portal and do something regarding new features instead of doing design updates.

Josemaria G.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

PM. Agile. Cloud. It works for me!

Reviewed on 20/07/2018

A powerful, mature, and highly customizable Project Management software that works in any scenario. Best suited to match the dynamic nature of Agile projects.

Pros

As a Project Manager, we have a lot of things to do and think about. Good thing I stumbled upon JIRA. It is a very powerful and collaborative PM tool which supported my PM role in an Agile context. (I was on a standard/waterfall project methodology for years... Agile is rather new to me)

It is highly configurable, meant to suit any niche, industry, or user scenario by combining the powers of Kanban and Scrum. You can set up just about any of your workflows, project states, fields, action/issue items, etc, via the default settings (that surprisingly some have worked out of the box), or by easy customization on demand.

Data analysis is easy as well. JIRA collects from all data points you set up into a single data hub that is extractable, searchable, and comprehensive (with all your historical data).

The core program and its APIs are pretty mature and with proper documentation. Our devs didn't really have a hard time since they were provided with a rich toolkit to begin with.

JIRA also comes with its mobile app so that you can manage your projects on-the-go. It is cloud-based via subscription which relieves the admins from the difficult part of infra and server setup. I have not experienced any downtime as of my 1 year use of this service.

Cons

It is cloud-based so you have to make sure you have enough bandwidth provisions to support this (rather challenging for bigger teams working on the same location at the same time). The usual loading times may take longer with poor connectivity.

A rather steep price for small businesses to use. Self-hosting JIRA will also make things more expensive (and risky) as the number of users grow.

Lee Q.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Robust Project Management for Development Sprinters

Reviewed on 12/12/2019

In the long haul, Jira came out on top as the definitive solution and point of reference for every part of the project. It enabled collaboration across many boundaries and increased communication and efficiency for all parties.

Pros

In one word, scalability. We were able to deploy and integrate our software development team contributions with continuous integration, QA testing, and sprint schedules. Project management of several groups was a breeze. Our teams were across 15 timezones and in-house.

Cons

It has a steep learning curve upfront. I came from Trello and a small in-house team so learning to use JIRA and apply it to a QA team with a remote user, a remote development team, a supervisor for reporting, and in-house developers was a bit of a struggle at first. Up to that point, every task was in Trello and we had no sprint schedules implemented.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SharePoint

Reasons for Choosing Jira

We needed scalability and management of teams with reporting and integration to other systems. It was inevitable that we'd switch to this for project management.

Switched From

Trello

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Because Sharepoint isn't designed to do what we needed regardless of intentions.
Richy O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Bang For Your Buck

Reviewed on 25/03/2020

It's the best software out there to manage a team so overall I am very happy and so are all of my developers.

Pros

Jira makes it super easy to manage a team and helps each developer stay on top of their tasks, keep track of everything they are doing, and easily communicate with other team members.

Cons

Maybe a bit of help with integration would be amazing for anyone that has no idea what they are doing but otherwise it is AMAZING.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Project

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Github was not nearly as advanced as Jira when it came to managing a team and collaborating.

Switched From

GitHub

Reasons for Switching to Jira

I tested both of them and Jira was more user friendly.
Tarik M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best collaboration software out there

Reviewed on 26/08/2020

Jira is one of the best collaboration and product/project management solution out there. As a user of many other competitor products I strongly encourage you to consider Jira if you are in the market for such solution.

Pros

Product roadmap feature, project tracking, team collaboration, gantt chart

Cons

For product roadmap user can only go back a year. So for a long time product that already has been developed setting up that product is challenging.

Alternatives Considered

Basecamp and Trello

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Better/missing product features, easy team collaboration.

Switched From

Microsoft Project

Reasons for Switching to Jira

More available features, implementation/integration availability with other tools and support.
Sanjana R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent tool for Agile Project management

Reviewed on 30/03/2020

Overall it is beat suited for an Agile development team to track their stories being completed smoothly in a sprint cycle if your team follows Sprint SDLC.

Pros

It is easy to customize your own team board for managing the user stories/bugs during a Sprint. It helps to keep the development team and Product team on the same page about the progress of the sprint. It is easy for the product team to view the history of a ticket and tag people in their comments if they have any update or questions. The flow of ticket and child-tasks across the board from "To-Do" to "Done" is very easy. You can create your own dashboard and offers built-in bar graphs or pie chart demonstration. The mobile version is smooth to use as well. Defect management is very easy. It's integration with TestRail, Confluence, Octopus and TeamCity works like a charm for the need of my project.

Cons

The UI gets a bit overwhelmed because it tries to display all your columns in a single landscape view. Accessing an old completed story or a closed story can be a pain.

Jessica M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

JIRA is the standard by which others are measured

Reviewed on 28/04/2020

Atlassian has never failed to deliver quality updates, support, and and software. JIRA is no exception.

Pros

JIRA has always been the chosen platform at my last several places of work and its versatility in managing different types of workflows in totally different contexts is unparalleled. It's integration with their other equally strong products is its ultimate winning promise.

Cons

From an administrative standpoint, it can be a bit burdensome to maintain, upgrade, and it is a resource hog

Alternatives Considered

Trello and GitHub

Reasons for Choosing Jira

JIRA was what my workplace used.

Switched From

Basecamp

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Personal history with Atlassian
Max P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A Good Jack of all Trades Project Management Software

Reviewed on 07/05/2019

JIRA was originally and still mainly used as our software development tracking system. We integrated it with Slack, BitBucket, Confluence, and TestRail (The last three are all run and owned by Atlassian). We use JIRA as the default master record for events, issues, tasks, etc. It makes planning work for a team easy to do and allows individual contributors to see what needs to get done as well as managers to see what is being worked on.

Pros

JIRA was originally and still mainly used as our software development tracking system. However, it can be tweaked and used by a wide range of teams in the company, not just software development. Finance, Marketing, HR, etc. can all use JIRA for tracking internal projects, tasks and goals.

Cons

If you don't use the out of the box workflows and fields, there is a learning curve to know how to create fields, templates and workflows that work best for you.

Alternatives Considered

FogBugz and Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira

JIRA was used by our previous project manager so we had to adapt it. Turns out that was great and we haven't looked back. We started using it in 2014 fromFogBugz at the time and was a great choice.
Achal K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

JIRA

Reviewed on 01/12/2020

Jira is itself a technology I will say. I have been using this software for more than 5 years now. With both as a user and JIRA developer. With almost more than 5 years of my career, JIRA helped me in each and every project no matter what process you follow KANBAN, Agile all the tasks, projects,users, tickets can be managed by using JIRA.

Pros

JIRA provides a solution for almost all project management issues. A lot of companies are migrating from Service now to JIRA software due to its pricing and features. Jira has a lot of subsidiaries and compatible with third-party plugins and apps.
Easy to use, customizable to list a few.

Cons

No cons as such but yes with the complex features provided by JIRA software will require good knowledge or hands-on to go with.

Mohd N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Jira Software for Agile Team to Track and improve

Reviewed on 03/03/2019

I have been using Jira for the past 3 years both as an administrator where I manage and optimize its performance and on the other hand I have also creating projects, workflows, screens and users. Jira is very helpful for those organizations also who wants to track their releases whether its small or big, or short term or long term. Jira provides facilities through which users can log in the timeline of their work and invites other developers in the team to provide their inputs. This will make your project to be connected at one place and moreover this connection in now not only limited to companies site Atlassian also offers cloud based solutions too.

The best part of Atlassian Jira is they always ahead in the race which gives you more options to expand your creation, I have implmented few projects in Jira where I have implemented full automation of logging the task and reporting it through Jira, and then assigning to right person. This whole process works very easily in the JIRA

Pros

Supports integration to most of the developer's tools
Complete freedom to design your own workflow and screens
An automated ticketing system can also be generated with its Command line interface and workflow
Customer Support is one of the best in the corporate industry
Multiple tools have given at user end to make admin changes easily like, Restarting tomcat, re-indexing or integration with SVN, git.

Cons

Expensive for businesses who are medium size
Upgradation of the software from one version to another requires real IT skills
If you want to keep Jira running smoothly it has the indexing feature to make it faster but sometimes those index gets corrupted and no one can help in restoring those data.

Marek K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

JIRA a partner to organise Your mess

Reviewed on 05/12/2019

I installed it for a big company, created everything from a scratch, and configured that. I was an administrator at the beginning and a power user to configure external plugins etc. Spend almost 5 or 6 years with that environment.

Pros

Big environment to manage many tasks, different workflows, many users. Clear to manage tasks, nice GUI, many add-ons. Useful tool.

Cons

When You grow, and You need more ane more users, costs are growing very fast too. Because it's a big company, Your requests about issues in that product are not always treated seriously

Alternatives Considered

Redmine

Reasons for Choosing Jira

We needed a more complex solution.

Switched From

Redmine
Binujaya P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Customer service and issues report

Reviewed on 28/10/2019

To conclude, JIRA is a fine, well-organized software that provides good searches and tracks for issues and bugs for anyone who requires that. Their software is pretty much amazing with close to no problems. The one main thing that is kind of bad is that you can’t close tickets. But every software has something that they need to change so it’s not a big deal.

Pros

One of the things that I like about JIRA is how their information is organized for every one project, report, story, etc. They have a unique way of categorizing some of the user stories which can lead to the product owners and to start solving their issues. Another thing that I like is the dashboard. It’s simple and it’s great if you want to monitor something. The best thing about JIRA is that it allows people to use their tools and templates which most of the software companies don’t allow. Plus you can use it for basic workflows tickets and it’s easy to customize the views of the ticket to have the information that you want.

Cons

What I don’t like is that sometimes you can’t close out the ticket if you are not the creator. To close the ticket, you need to create one. That can be a little frustrating. Another thing is the price. I feel like you pay more for upgrading every time than you paid for the first time. Furthermore, they have a complex layout which means that sometimes it’s hard to find something that you are searching for. It just takes away too much of your time. Plus I think that you need to have some previous experience in this area to work with JIRA.

Mark B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful project management, SDLC and bug management software for agile teams

Reviewed on 12/08/2018

Pros

I've used JIRA a few times, along with Confluence when I was on contract with a few large enterprise digital teams. I found JIRA to be excellent as a tool to share files, track project conversation streams, and manage multiple versions of files through the project lifecycle. Though I only ever used JIRA from an end user perspective, I always heard great things about the customizability (it seems to be a word) of the app to different business processes.

Digital teams, such as UX design, development and copywriting are an ideal use case for this app provided stories and projects are set up properly. It's a great way to give stakeholders and PMs and other managers visibility into how projects are trending against milestones.

Cons

There were a few outages when I used JIRA, but it was generally reliable. JIRA seems to be one of those business applications where you're only using a fraction of its capability. Administration access should really be restricted to a qualified few, as you don't want to have conflicting stories tracking the same project, telling different information.

The success of a JIRA implementation/adoption really relies on the quality of the data users, PMs, and development managers put into it. I found that I was writing a lot of updates and @ing people all over the place on one contract, yet certain PMs were still asking me for updates. That was less a JIRA problem, and more a condition of the people I was working with though, so I won't name names. :) - Moral of the story, you get out of JIRA what your teams put in, like many enterprise apps.